Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 16th September 2014, 14:45   #16

Re: India gets its 1st Ducati Panigale 1199R!

Wonder how those tyres handle standing water with aquaplaning concerns?
Old 16th September 2014, 23:31   #17

I've a query, while looking for the import duty for a new motorcycle, I came across this:

1. (I) A new imported vehicle shall mean a vehicle that: -

(a) has not been manufactured/assembled in India; and
(b) has not been sold, leased or loaned prior to importation into India; or
(c) has not been registered for use in any country according to the laws of that country, prior to importation into India.

(II) The import of new vehicles shall be subject to the following conditions:
(a) The new vehicle shall-
(i) have a speedometer indicating the speed in km / h;
(ii) have right hand steering, and controls (applicable on vehicles other than two and three wheelers);
(iii) have photometry of the headlamps to suit "keep-left" traffic; and
(iv) be imported from the country of manufacture.

It says the motorcycle has to be imported from the country of manufacture. The import information says the country of origin was United States. But I thought Ducatis are from Italy?

That said,

I found a site that quotes import duty to be broken up like this:

Basic Duty - 100%
CVD - 12%
Spl. CVD - 4%

Don't know about the authenticity of the information in either case though.
Old 17th September 2014, 10:50   #18

Originally Posted by ashwin.terminat View Post

Don't know about the authenticity of the information in either case though.
If you look at the screenshot provided, it says Panigale 1199 that was imported from the US and not Panigale 1199R.
I don't think it is the same bike mentioned, but yes the 1199R costs 20+ in tax free UAE, so 61 is easily believable if you take into account Bangalore registration and local taxes as well along with the import duties.
Old 17th September 2014, 20:43   #19

A Kawasaki ZX-14R whose import value is around 500,000 INR costs 3.5 times ex-showroom @ approx 17.5 lakhs.

So the Ducati @ 14.5 laks INR would roughly be 51ish ex-showroom. So this Ducati can very much cost 60ish on road Bangalore.
Old 17th September 2014, 23:31   #20

Got this details from a friend:

Bike is $34000 + Indian customs is 137%+ 3 Lakhs air freight on which the customs is calculated and 4 Lakhs for CHA (customs house agent) for clearance + penalty for bringing bike from different country of origin (original country Italy) adding up all on the total u need to pay 14% Karnataka road tax

Sahil, I think it is 137 itself and not 100. Not sure on that though.
Unknownsatan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th September 2014, 22:53   #21

Few Pictures of the Ducati that I shot last weekend !

India gets its 1st Ducati Panigale 1199R!-10360694_755053664549825_4322161457380683373_n.jpg

India gets its 1st Ducati Panigale 1199R!-10547928_755980577790467_6676755475894310217_o.jpg

India gets its 1st Ducati Panigale 1199R!-10603521_754858877902637_6992178292312254578_n.jpg

India gets its 1st Ducati Panigale 1199R!-10610929_756446017743923_6381736119657798993_n.jpg

India gets its 1st Ducati Panigale 1199R!-10622959_754999824555209_666314199107280310_n.jpg

India gets its 1st Ducati Panigale 1199R!-10639594_756926697695855_378268804422864921_n.jpg

India gets its 1st Ducati Panigale 1199R!-10672050_755010131220845_2043489712747867420_n.jpg

India gets its 1st Ducati Panigale 1199R!-10672219_755545494500642_3320642458228063958_n.jpg

India gets its 1st Ducati Panigale 1199R!-10703497_755989504456241_2809850542886138690_n.jpg
mohammedismail is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 19th September 2014, 08:08   #22

Originally Posted by dipen View Post
So the Ducati @ 14.5 laks INR would roughly be 51ish ex-showroom. So this Ducati can very much cost 60ish on road Bangalore.
Maybe a bit more as well. I had gone to the Ducati Showroom at Atria Mall in 2010 and there was a 1098R (IIRC in yellow color) which was priced at 48L. Panigale is more expensive and maybe INR has fallen a bit or something.

Even the S1000RR HP Sport costs ~10L more than the regular, taking its cost to 40+

Feel free to correct me if I am wrong
Old 19th September 2014, 11:40   #23
PPS

Originally Posted by mohammedismail View Post
Few Pictures of the Ducati that I shot last weekend !
Fabulous pictures. Why doesn't the bike as yet have temporary registration? Also, the bike doesn't come with mirrors?!
Old 19th September 2014, 12:01   #24

Brilliant pictures. The bike looks amazing. Could this be the most expensive bike brought into India? I haven't seen anything of this calibre anywhere or even in the TBHP spotting galleries.
Old 19th September 2014, 12:14   #25

A great bike nonetheless, but in reviews the bike gets a lot of flak for its heating issues.

It heats up a lot and much faster as compared to other such bikes like the HP4, the RSV4, etc.

Hope the owner has a trouble-free experience in this regard.

Although, if I have to plonk such money on a bike, it has got to be the HP4 without any doubt. To me, its the best bike money can buy today

-Bhargav
Octane_Power is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2014, 10:25   #26
//M

Originally Posted by Fullrevs View Post
Brilliant pictures. The bike looks amazing. Could this be the most expensive bike brought into India? I haven't seen anything of this calibre anywhere or even in the TBHP spotting galleries.
The most expensive bike in India would undoubtedly be the Virar based Y2K MTT. Should be over a crore atleast.

The second most expensive bike could be either Captain Cool's Confederate Hellcat X132 or this Ducati Panigale 1199R.
//M is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd September 2014, 14:22   #27
PPS

Originally Posted by //M View Post
The most expensive bike in India would undoubtedly be the Virar based Y2K MTT. Should be over a crore atleast.
Do they actually own the bike? I thought they only got that bike here for display purposes.
Old 22nd September 2014, 14:24   #28
//M

Originally Posted by PPS View Post
Do they actually own the bike? I thought they only got that bike here for display purposes.
Pardon my ignorance, I thought it was bought by RT. I always thought it stays in Virar and is not used frequently due to the turbine engine and that noise.
Old 27th September 2014, 16:57   #29

I believe I saw this bike a couple of days back near Banashankari BDA Complex. Driven very sedately, considering it's a Ducati. Man, the naked rear tire looks MASSIVE, take my word for that. Exhaust note was music!
Old 9th October 2014, 21:11   #30

The bike is now being worked on by CMC Customs, Trivandrum.

They're THE best custom painters I've come across.

Takes some massive plums to give away your brand new 60lac Ducati for custom painting. Really can't wait to see how this comes out.

As you can see the bike now dismantled and painted in white. I believe this could be a base coat. As in a canvas for the "art" that's supposed to go on it.
India gets its 1st Ducati Panigale 1199R!-10698454_719599934787413_4665208375975691831_n.jpg  

Scorcher is offline   (7) Thanks