Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 19th February 2015, 18:31   #1

KTM 1050 Adventure: Headed to India!

For many of us the KTM brand has been a great boon, since it has allowed us to own performance at much lesser than what the imports of similar capacity, cost. I for one was hoping and looking forward to the manufacture of the 690 in India, and getting a bargain, again. But looks like that plan has been shelved by KTM and the 790 (which is expected to be the replacement for the 690) is still in the development stage, so not coming any time soon. Here is a link to a related post:
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/superb...ml#post3564816

The good news is that they may launch the KTM 1050 Adventure this year (Thanks to member and friend Susan3004 for bringing it to my notice).

Here is an excerpt from an interview that Autocar did with Stefan Pierer, CEO, KTM:

"Q: Will KTM’s first big bike for India be the 1050 Adventure?

A: It is a new bike and we will launch it in two months in Milan. It will be a global big bike for KTM. That bike, we will prepare for CKD, so that we can come down with the import tax and that we will offer in India as well. And then will come an off-road competition motocross bike. "

For the full interview: http://m.autocarindia.com/Article.as...0761&type=News

A photograph from the web:

KTM 1050 Adventure: Headed to India!-2015ktm1050adventureeicma081.jpg

From the international launch:
KTM 1050 Adventure: Headed to India!-2015ktm1050adventureislightandmaneuverableateicma2014livephotos8854071.jpg

For specifications and other information on the bike: http://www.ktm.com/in/travel/1050-ad...ighlights.html

Related news articles:

1. http://www.shifting-gears.com/2015/0...ming-to-india/

2. http://www.motorbeam.com/2014/11/bik...re-bike-eicma/

3. You will have to scroll down after this page opens: http://www.zigwheels.com/news-featur...nveiled/20186/

So the question is, what price range will the bike be launched at? If the price is reasonable, then it would make for a practical touring option.

And of course, I am praying that KTM and Bajaj spring a bargain!

Last edited by Insearch : 19th February 2015 at 21:49.
Insearch is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 19th February 2015, 23:19   #2

re: KTM 1050 Adventure: Headed to India!

Note from Mod : Thread moved from Assembly Line to Superbikes section.

Anurag, KTM 1050 looks gorgeous and going by how KTM priced its other products this should also be priced the same mouth watering way

I think it would be around 13 lakhs or so which is still a lot of money for a majority of Indians and would be bought only by people who have that kind of money to spend on bikes which is still a fraction of the population

My only grouse is that it puts out only 95bhp compared to 145bhp of the Triumph Tiger 1200 which is also priced 90% higher at nearly 24 lakhs

Hope this one is launched before June 2015 and we get a pleasant surprise with its pricing....
mobike008 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th February 2015, 23:35   #3

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
My only grouse is that it puts out only 95bhp compared to 145bhp of the Triumph Tiger 1200 which is also priced 90% higher at nearly 24 lakhs
The comparable KTM for the Tiger 1200 is the Adventure 1190 that puts out about 150 bhp & 125 nm. Or the 160 bhp/148 nm Super Adventure.

You begin to wonder why they have so many variants spaced 100cc apart, a bit like part-owners Bajaj do with 15cc increments across their range.

Typically the adventure series features a different state of tune from the road/track oriented Superduke or RC models featuring the same engine.
Steeroid is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th February 2015, 00:33   #4

These big KTMs are great bikes, except for one thing: the seat height.
Old 20th February 2015, 07:08   #5

Anurag, KTM 1050 looks gorgeous and going by how KTM priced its other products this should also be priced the same mouth watering way

I think it would be around 13 lakhs or so which is still a lot of money for a majority of Indians and would be bought only by people who have that kind of money to spend on bikes which is still a fraction of the population

Hope this one is launched before June 2015 and we get a pleasant surprise with its pricing....
I doubt that. Its unfair to extrapolate the pricing from the existing KTM lineup in India. The existing products are manuffactured in India hence the unbeatable pricing.

In any case, personally, this doesnt excite me much. I hope they bring 690 Enduro or SMC. 1050 should be good for people who are into primarily into sport touring with a little bit of light off-pavement adventure.
TheCelestial is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th February 2015, 12:35   #6

This is great news for our market. I identify myself as a rider with such adventure touring motorcycles and KTM is one of the names that comes to mind in this category. KTM is known to make some of the best adventure tourer bikes besides its European counterpart BMW and British Triumph and ofcourse the Jap big 4. The market for such bikes in India is slowly and steadily growing which is evident from similar offerings from global manufacturers (read Kawasaki Versys 1000, Suzuki V Strom 1000, BMW R1200 GS and BMW 650 GS, Benelli TNT 600, etc.).

As a prospective buyer I am very eager and enthusiastic about getting these kind of motorcycles in India. It would be great if KTM pulls a Duke 390 on this adventure KTM 1050. If it comes in as a CKD we can expect the prices to be competitive. Since there is a some competition in this space we can expect KTM to price it sensibly. Bring it on KTM! I am Ready To Offoad!
navin_v8 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th February 2015, 22:45   #7

Re: KTM 1050 Adventure: Headed to India!

Originally Posted by VCheng View Post
These big KTMs are great bikes, except for one thing: the seat height.
If you are atleast 5.8ft, it shouldn't be too hard to mount these bikes.

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
The comparable KTM for the Tiger 1200 is the Adventure 1190 that puts out about 150 bhp & 125 nm. Or the 160 bhp/148 nm Super Adventure.

You begin to wonder why they have so many variants spaced 100cc apart, a bit like part-owners Bajaj do with 15cc increments across their range.

Typically the adventure series features a different state of tune from the road/track oriented Superduke or RC models featuring the same engine.
Good Info there Steeriod. I did wonder why space out variants within such small cubic capacity. Doesn't make sense at all

Originally Posted by navin_v8 View Post
This is great news for our market. I identify myself as a rider with such adventure touring motorcycles and KTM is one of the names that comes to mind in this category.
Navin, I know you have been eyeing the Tiger from a long time. I think 6 months wait will help you decide if you want to go the KTM or Triumph way

Goodluck!
mobike008 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st February 2015, 02:22   #8

If you are atleast 5.8ft, it shouldn't be too hard to mount these bikes. ............
I am 5'10.5" and I barely make it on tippy toes. It is not the mounting or dismounting, but to be able to flatfoot them for stability when needed that is the issue.

These are tall bikes.
VCheng is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st February 2015, 13:48   #9

Originally Posted by VCheng View Post
I am 5'10.5" and I barely make it on tippy toes. It is not the mounting or dismounting, but to be able to flatfoot them for stability when needed that is the issue.

These are tall bikes.
I agree. Most average Indians (or Pakistanis) would not be able to flatfoot (or even ballfoot) both feet at the same time astride the big KTMs.
ebonho is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 21st February 2015, 16:49   #10

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
I agree. Most average Indians (or Pakistanis) would not be able to flatfoot (or even ballfoot) both feet at the same time astride the big KTMs.
Perhaps the reason why they've decided to launch 1050 and not 1190/1290. Here's an excerpt from Cycle World's preview of the 1050:

"Perhaps the best reason for the 1050 being built? Its seat height of 33.4 inches makes the bike more accessible to shorter riders than the 1190 and 1290, which have seat heights of 35.0 and to 33.9 inches, respectively. KTM also fits the new 1050 Adventure with narrower tires (110/80-18 front, 150/70-17 rear) that make for easier handling."

Source: CycleWorld First Look

EDIT: Also refer KTM Adventure Comparison

Last edited by Steeroid : 21st February 2015 at 16:53.
Steeroid is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st February 2015, 17:27   #11

"Perhaps the best reason for the 1050 being built? Its seat height of 33.4 inches makes the bike more accessible to shorter riders than the 1190 and 1290, which have seat heights of 35.0 and to 33.9 inches, respectively. KTM also fits the new 1050 Adventure with narrower tires (110/80-18 front, 150/70-17 rear) that make for easier handling."
Most international models have company provided seat lowering kits. But sub 100 bhp from a liter plus KTM is the main downer for me personally. I really wish they bring the 690. I can't see the sense of getting a big adventure and not bringing a much more affordable mid weight top selling model. If the 690 was to have been 8+ lacs, this one would be way way higher.
ebonho is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 21st February 2015, 17:46   #12

Perhaps the reason why they've decided to launch 1050 and not 1190/1290. Here's an excerpt from Cycle World's preview of the 1050:

Source: CycleWorld First Look

EDIT: Also refer KTM Adventure Comparison
Most international models have company provided seat lowering kits. But sub 100 bhp from a liter plus KTM is the main downer for me personally. I really wish they bring the 690. I can't see the sense of getting a big adventure and not bringing a much more affordable mid weight top selling model. If the 690 was to have been 8+ lacs, this one would be way way higher.
It is not just a matter of seat height. It also depends on how much (or little) the suspension sags due to the rider's weight, how the legs are splayed due to the shape of the seat, as well as the weight of the bike and how it is distributed.

Having said that, I am interested in the new 1290 SA myself, if I can manage the seat height. I will probably need a lowering kit, if the lower seat does not do it. I am off to Toronto to see this one in person, and will report back.
VCheng is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st February 2015, 20:33   #13

Most international models have company provided seat lowering kits.
Check the comparison chart where they've provided lowest and highest seat height for each of the models - that is probably the min and max setting on the rear shocks.
Steeroid is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd February 2015, 06:26   #14

I will provide details later, but I can report that on the 1290SA and the 1190AR, a person 5'8" will barely touch his/her feet, 5'10" will touch the ball of the foot comfortably, and a 6'+ will touch the ground comfortably.
Old 22nd February 2015, 07:01   #15

If they price it right, this would be deadly. But 690 makes more sense for our roads than a 1 litre. 1L is just too excessive for our roads or for most of the roads.

The 690 makes the perfect balance between power, cost and affordability as well.

Having said that i cant think if we need anything more than the 390 now but thats me