Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 22nd April 2015, 22:05   #1
//M

Kawasaki Z250SL, Vulcan S and Ninja ZX-6R 636 coming to India

Kawasaki Z250SL, Vulcan S, Ninja ZX-6R 636 India bound

Kawasaki to launch the Z250SL, Vulcan S and Ninja ZX-6R 636 in India soon as per Autocar India. This is indeed a good news for bikers and it is great to see Kawasaki launching almost their entire range here. With the launch of this trio, hopefully the Versys 650 will be on its way too !

At the launch of its flagship motorcycle, the Ninja H2, Kawasaki officials made an important announcement. At the Buddh International Circuit, they stated that they would launch three new motorcycles in India within this year, and would commence operations on their new showrooms too. We have information that the three new models to make way here are the Z250SL, the Vulcan S and the Ninja ZX-6R 636.
Source: Autocar

Kawasaki Z250SL
Kawasaki Z250SL, Vulcan S and Ninja ZX-6R 636 coming to India-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20150422034120_kawasakiz250sl.jpg

Kawasaki ZX-6R 636
Kawasaki Z250SL, Vulcan S and Ninja ZX-6R 636 coming to India-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20150422034120_kawasakininjazx6r.jpg

Kawasaki Vulcan S
Kawasaki Z250SL, Vulcan S and Ninja ZX-6R 636 coming to India-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20150422034120_kawasakivulcans.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 23rd April 2015 at 20:48. Reason: Keeping the fair usage policy in mind, it's best to share an excerpt + link to full article. Thanks
//M is online now   (15) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2015, 22:24   #2
v12

re: Kawasaki Z250SL, Vulcan S and Ninja ZX-6R 636 coming to India

Thats great news! The thread title almost made me cancel my Z800 booking and go for the ZX-6R - until I saw the price range. Isnt 12-13 lakhs too much for a 6R - considering the Z1000 sells for almost the same price?
Old 22nd April 2015, 22:34   #3

Wow man. I'm so happy to hear about the ZX-6R making its way here.
That said, Autocar is wrong in saying that the ZX-6R will be a CBU. It should be a CKD since it's less than 800cc in capacity. If Kawi gets the price right, it'll kill the Daytona in all probability.
The CBU Z800 undercut the considerably less powerful CKD Street Triple in terms of price and killed it almost completely. If Kawi thinks in the same way wrt ZX6R, the demise of Daytona is not too far(not that it is selling too much currently though), esp. since the ZX6R will be a CKD.

All that said, we should be thanking Triumph as I believe that it is the response to their line up which made many manufacturers make up their mind to bring their products here.

PS
Don’t mistake this for the earlier introduced Ninja ZX-6R though
Are they talking about the Ninja 650 here? Since when did a Ninja 650 become a ZX-6R?

EDIT: I think they're talking about the 2012 ZX-6R with 599cc engine which is still being produced.

Last edited by theredliner : 22nd April 2015 at 22:52.
theredliner is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2015, 22:36   #4
//M

Originally Posted by v12 View Post
Thats great news! The thread title almost made me cancel my Z800 booking and go for the ZX-6R - until I saw the price range. Isnt 12-13 lakhs too much for a 6R - considering the Z1000 sells for almost the same price?
Yes the price of the 6R seems to be quite high when compared to the otherwise aggressive pricing of all its bikes, thanks to the high duties and homologation charges for importing a superbike displacing less than 800 cc.
//M is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2015, 22:46   #5
v12

The Ninja 650 is different from the Ninja ZX series. One is a parallel twin while the ZX's are inline 4's. Also the ZX series are fully faired sports/superbikes whereas the other Ninja's are semi-faired/naked bikes. Experts please correct me if I am wrong.

Last edited by v12 : 22nd April 2015 at 22:54.
v12 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2015, 22:48   #6

The Ninja 650 is different from the Ninja ZX series. One is a parallel twin while the ZX's are inline 4's. Also the ZX series are fully faired sports/superbikes whereas the other Ninja are semi-faired/naked bikes. Experts please correct me if I am wrong.
I'm not an expert but you're correct. The Ninja 650/ER-6F is a parallel twin sport tourer. ER-6N is its naked counterpart. ZX-6R is an inline 4 supersport.
theredliner is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2015, 22:55   #7

And you want to do that after waiting for so long? Kawasaki might make people wait even longer for the ZX-6R if its a CBU

I believe Kawasaki will most likely import CKD kits of the ZX-6R and assemble them here to keep costs and profit margins in check. Happy to see so many choices for the customers. Good times indeed for the riders!
amansanc is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2015, 23:47   #8

In the US, the ZX6R lists for $ 11,699 without ABS and $ 12,699 with ABS. The 30th anniversary edition is $ 300 more. In comparison the Ninja 1000 ABS and Z1000 ABS list for $ 11,999. So similar pricing isnt a surprise really.

Here's a link with the model list http://www.kawasaki.com/Category/Motorcycle
neil.jericho is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2015, 07:05   #9

The Vulcan is what interests me. Finally a viable alternative to entry level Harley Davidsons. Let's hope they price it in the same ballpark as the ninja 650
himanshugoswami is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2015, 11:08   #10

12-13 lacs is no surprise for the ZX6R 636. Damn sahme really though. Its currently in joint top place vying for my dream machine (along with the KTM 690 SMR).
Old 23rd April 2015, 11:26   #11

The price is just as expected when you consider that the ZX10R retails for around 17-18L (?)

It is a supersport and cannot be compared, price wise, with the Z1000 which is only a naked or the N1000 which is a sport tourer.

Nevertheless, the ZX6R is finally here and it is time to rejoice.

So it will go headon with the 899 from Ducati I believe.
Old 23rd April 2015, 11:42   #12

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
12-13 lacs is no surprise for the ZX6R 636. Damn sahme really though. Its currently in joint top place vying for my dream machine (along with the KTM 690 SMR).
Doc,
Blame it on the Weak Currency, Poor Market with low Sales and yes whether its a 600 CC Inline 4 or 1000 CC Inline 4, they share many common features/Gadgets/Electronic Gizmos.

Was infact surprised that they were selling it less than 15L Mark

But Street Price is around 15? No...
Old 23rd April 2015, 12:08   #13

I am over the moon considering the fact that ZX-6R is India bound!

But, Indian laws does not allow bikes with engine displacement < 800cc via the CBU route. I am hoping they take the CKD way, and price it well!

And, why don't they bring the Z300-ABS yet?

Last edited by sriramv.iyer : 23rd April 2015 at 12:11.
Old 23rd April 2015, 12:15   #14

Very interesting. The ZX6R will have to be priced well, because somehow 636ccs at 12L+ will find it hard to sell. The Vulcan is a beautiful machine with almost no competition.

I am praying for the Versys 650 to show up. I dream of riding to Leh with pillion some day on that machine

Z250 is 3L ex showroom, so after reducing of a single cylinder, the Z250SL seems unlikely to be priced at 2L. I think it will be priced at 2.5L ex showroom.

Last edited by ani_meher : 23rd April 2015 at 12:20.
Old 23rd April 2015, 12:16   #15

Originally Posted by ku69rd View Post
Doc,
Blame it on the Weak Currency, Poor Market with low Sales and yes whether its a 600 CC Inline 4 or 1000 CC Inline 4, they share many common features/Gadgets/Electronic Gizmos.

Was infact surprised that they were selling it less than 15L Mark

But Street Price is around 15? No...
Its a thoroughbred supersport like the Daytona is. So yes, both are around the same ballpark price-wise. And both are cheater motors with the extra cc's over 600. But with Triumph detuning the Indian Daytonas to sub 120 bhp, this green devil at 130 bhp should rock the sales in this segment. Especially when you compare Kawasaki's established support of many years standing in India to the pretty recent entry of Triumph (not counting or discounting their unsavory scandal).

But I must admit that I am really disappointed with the price. Bajaj is not known to follow the herd on pricing. They like to slash things violently with their brilliant marketing sword. I am still hopeful therefore of it being somewhere closer to the Z8 than the Z1000 in terms of price.

Let's wait and see. Either way, its a great new entry into the biking scene in India. Its a SERIOUS machine.

Last edited by ebonho : 23rd April 2015 at 12:24.
ebonho is offline   (3) Thanks