Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 27th September 2018, 19:58   #121

I am confused. Bite increasing means there must be sufficient pad material left . How is the other way round? New pads means less bite?
Old 28th September 2018, 08:43   #122

re: Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed

Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
New pads means less bite?
They need to bed-in.

I think what Red-Liner meant was, with the older pads, the brake lever travel was getting closer and he could squeeze it hinting at almost finished brake pad thickness.

New oils too provide more resistance, you just might post a faster top speed prior to an oil change.
Sheel is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st October 2018, 00:19   #123

re: Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed

Originally Posted by Sheel View Post
I think what Red-Liner meant was, with the older pads, the brake lever travel was getting closer and he could squeeze it hinting at almost finished brake pad thickness.
Brake pad wear has no impact on brake lever travel, though travel is an indicator of overall braking system health, more sponginess/travel can mean a lot of things including;

1. Compromised brake fluid.
2. Compromised brake seals.
3. Compromised brake lines.
ashwinprakas is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st October 2018, 21:01   #124

Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
I am confused. Bite increasing means there must be sufficient pad material left . How is the other way round? New pads means less bite?
The friction of metal on metal provides infinitely better bite and feel than any pad material can on a rotor.

When you know its close to due in time to replace your pads and you suddenly feel braking to be much improved - change them out!

You are correct - new pads mean less bite for the first few hundred kms until properly bed in.

Last edited by Red Liner : 1st October 2018 at 21:02.
Red Liner is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st October 2018, 13:12   #125

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
I can only talk about my own thoughts and opinions.

My current luggage set up is a SW Motech 350 Dry bag strapped to the rear seat, and the top box on the rear in case I am not going to encounter any offroad. If I do know I will be going through no-roads, the top box stays at home (what ever loctite you do the bolts with, they WILL come off - more so for panniers). Many folks have had their boxes flying off the bike at high speed after attacking a speed breaker or two.

If I had the money, I would put it on Mosko Moto's soft panniers. Taking the world by storm.

But like I said, there are the pro-pannier lobbies too
Great post! Exactly the information I was looking for, can't thank you enough. I ride a Z9, compared to the versys, there is absolutely no room to carry a rear top bag. After a 2000kms trip juggling a tall rear pack, I have ordered a GIVI rack and plate (Monokey), I have still not decided on the actual top box, I am looking for a smallish plastic top box (totally agree on the travelling light bit). 35 liters seems good enough, what size would you recommend?

Think the box will remain intact if one drives slow and carefully on rough roads and speed breakers? I am not sure of the quality of the lock and fitment.

Thanks again
Surajit
Old 31st October 2018, 13:20   #126

Originally Posted by Surajit333 View Post
Great post! Exactly the information I was looking for, can't thank you enough. I ride a Z9, compared to the versys, there is absolutely no room to carry a rear top bag. After a 2000kms trip juggling a tall rear pack, I have ordered a GIVI rack and plate (Monokey), I have still not decided on the actual top box, I am looking for a smallish plastic top box (totally agree on the travelling light bit). 35 liters seems good enough, what size would you recommend?

Think the box will remain intact if one drives slow and carefully on rough roads and speed breakers? I am not sure of the quality of the lock and fitment.

Thanks again
Surajit
Have you considered adding a side pannier option from SW-Motech / Shad instead ? They are pretty conveinient for touring and dont cause as much change to bike dynamics than a top box.
ethanhunt123 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st October 2018, 13:20   #127

I have ordered a GIVI rack and plate (Monokey), I have still not decided on the actual top box, I am looking for a smallish plastic top box (totally agree on the travelling light bit).
Surajit
If you have got the Givi rack and plate, why not stick with the Givi box? Will make for a nice combo, if you can have someone bring the box down (guessing thats not an option).

Alternatively, I would have suggested a Desi rack + Plate (its just metal fabrication) along with a Shad box. Shad's prices have come down dramatically, I think they start from 9k now.

The one I have is from a website called Treknride: https://www.treknride.com/trek-n-rid...e/pid-93564123

Basic and does the job.

Just share your plate dimensions and the holes it has with the seller to be able to determine if another brand box will sit in it in peace.
Old 31st October 2018, 14:23   #128

Originally Posted by ethanhunt123 View Post
Have you considered adding a side pannier option from SW-Motech / Shad instead ? They are pretty conveinient for touring and dont cause as much change to bike dynamics than a top box.
Hey Mihir,

I am not a fan of side panniers for exactly the reasons mentioned in the original post. SW-Motech blaze (Fabric saddles) is a good and clean option, but I am inclined towards a small lockable top box, it brings in lots of conveniences which is not possible for fabric zippered saddle bags. For me hard panniers doesn't work.

Surajit

If you have got the Givi rack and plate, why not stick with the Givi box? Will make for a nice combo, if you can have someone bring the box down (guessing thats not an option).

Alternatively, I would have suggested a Desi rack + Plate (its just metal fabrication) along with a Shad box. Shad's prices have come down dramatically, I think they start from 9k now.

The one I have is from a website called Treknride: https://www.treknride.com/trek-n-rid...e/pid-93564123

Basic and does the job.

Just share your plate dimensions and the holes it has with the seller to be able to determine if another brand box will sit in it in peace.

Thanks, Bikegear.in sources givi, and I plan to stick with Givi, I'm undecided on the size.

I've had bad luck with desi jugaad (current set-up is jugaad), and the Z9 supermodel rear is very tricky and technical, not at all rack friendly, so I decided to invest on a quality rack. Believe me if I had a versys I would have definitely gone the desi way.

Shad's Z9 rack doesn't look well engineered compared to the Givi's hence rejected it. Despite the Z9's sales figures, home grown aftermarket accessories are few, envy the Versys guys though.
Old 31st October 2018, 14:27   #129

Hey Mihir,

I am not a fan of side panniers for exactly the reasons mentioned in the original post. SW-Motech blaze (Fabric saddles) is a good and clean option, but I am inclined towards a small lockable top box, it brings in lots of conveniences which is not possible for fabric zippered saddle bags. For me hard panniers doesn't work.

Surajit
Shad does offer ABS side panniers for Z900. I agree top-b0x can be more convenient than side panniers but there is a big compromise on high-speed handling.
ethanhunt123 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st October 2018, 14:32   #130

Hey Mihir,

Thanks, Bikegear.in sources givi, and I plan to stick with Givi, I'm undecided on the size.
Get a Givi box and you're sorted for the life of the bike. Givi's boxes are the top of the line stuff, none of the other brands even come close. 40 Litres is the bare minimum, dont go lower than that whatever the images may tell you.
Old 3rd December 2018, 13:40   #131

Ride around Madhya Pradesh

This update was a long time in coming.

A mate and I rode to Madhya Pradesh in October 2018. We had a great time, the roads were for the most part non existent in a bad way. Perfect for the Versys 650.

Places we covered:
1. Bhedaghat, Narmada
2. Bandhavgarh
3. Orrcha
4. Khajuraho
5. Omkareshwar

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-screenshot-20181203-1.04.41-pm.png

Distance covered: 4,000 kms
Days: 9 days or so.

The place I loved the most: Orrcha Ram Mandir

Highlight: At one instance, we got split up, and I ended up taking the longer back route to connect back onto the main highway heading towards Bhopal. That country side route was amazing, rode through some really back of beyond villages. A Versys doing the rounds there made me feel quite sad inside, what with people living in some form of poverty or the other.

Some pictures in no specific order.

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181001_123927976_hdr.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181003_063917920.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181003_064249456_hdr.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181003_071709803_hdr.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181003_171229507.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181003_171248950.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181003_173130539.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181004_060251608.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181004_060733973.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181004_062632365_hdr.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181005_080339396.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181005_080625854.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181005_161423862.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181005_162549229_hdr.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181005_172853418_hdr.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181005_173035097_hdr.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181006_170027207.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181006_172739802_hdr.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181007_062608672_hdr.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181007_092144130.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181007_095229916_hdr.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181007_125431385.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181007_174541912_hdr.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181008_074458163_hdr.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181008_083300488.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181010_111413769.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181010_111437867.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181010_111441762.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181010_130310891.jpg

Last edited by Red Liner : 3rd December 2018 at 13:46.
Red Liner is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2018, 13:43   #132

Continuing:

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181011_135257741_hdr.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181011_153141135.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img_20181011_220616592.jpg

Tesseract: Going further with the Kawasaki Versys 650. EDIT: 50,000 km completed-img20181005wa0020.jpg

The Versys did not skip a beat. I on the other hand caught a really nasty viral infection because I stayed in a horrible room in a horrible hotel (MPTDC Omkareshwar) and really caught the chills.

Rode back all the way from there on some really tough knock out medication. My response times on the roads were pathetic. I remember seeing a pothole, deciding to avoid it, but by then was already in the pothole. The heat and dust made things more unbearable.

This continued all the way to Bangalore, by which time I was just mentally and physically wiped out.

I also ended up experimenting on some horrible ear plugs and got an ear infection. So both of these things coupled had me questioning my sanity on embarking on rides like these.

Honestly, riding across the plains to more plains over such long distances are not my cup of tea.

From here on, long distances will only be covered for snow capped mountains. We've got cheap flights or a comfortable car for the rest.

But I'm a fool, and fools can be convinced otherwise quite easily.

Last edited by Red Liner : 3rd December 2018 at 13:57.
Red Liner is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2018, 16:18   #133

Those are some beautiful pictures Red Liner.
We missed the opportunity to visit the Beda Ghat on our way to Ladakh.
Any sightings of the striped predator at Bandhavgarh?
DieselDestiny is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th December 2018, 11:30   #134

Originally Posted by DieselDestiny View Post
Those are some beautiful pictures Red Liner.
We missed the opportunity to visit the Beda Ghat on our way to Ladakh.
Any sightings of the striped predator at Bandhavgarh?
Yes, we had a sighting within the last km on the last safari of the day in the wee hours of the evening just at closing time. The tigress, Solo, was quite far away and was...solo.

Still, it was a great experience to be able to see her completely relaxed in her natural habitat, unaware that we were indeed watching. She was resting on the yonder side of the river, enjoying the evening sun after a good meal (hopefully).
Old 4th December 2018, 12:55   #135

Re: Ride around Madhya Pradesh

This update was a long time in coming.

A mate and I rode to Madhya Pradesh in October 2018. We had a great time, the roads were for the most part non existent in a bad way. Perfect for the Versys 650.

Places we covered:
1. Bhedaghat, Narmada
2. Bandhavgarh
3. Orrcha
4. Khajuraho
5. Omkareshwar

Attachment 1824343

Distance covered: 4,000 kms
Days: 9 days or so.
Stunning pictures! I heard a lot about MP but never was able to cover this stretch. Now, looking at your pics, I would really want to do it sometime soon

About the fool part, make it +1!

BTW, what tires are those on the front? Didn't think of the Pirelli SR?
katoom is offline   (1) Thanks