Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 21st April 2017, 19:44   #31

Re: Intermot: 2017 Kawasaki Ninja 650 unveiled EDIT: Launched in India at Rs 5.69 lakhs

Originally Posted by nkrishnap View Post
I somehow dont like the green and black color combo. An all black edition will be brilliant.

The bike with so many improvements available at the current prices makes it a sweet deal for sure.
True, the black winter edition of the mighty ZX10R would look wonderful on the Ninja 650 too.
Old 25th April 2017, 23:00   #32

Re: Intermot: 2017 Kawasaki Ninja 650 unveiled EDIT: Launched in India at Rs 5.69 lakhs

Originally Posted by hiren.mistry View Post
I don't think a race track is the ideal place for the Ninja 650
But we have seen bhp'ians taking their 650s to the track, even though it was never designed for track use, and come out all smiles.

The new one however, seems to do fine at the track as well - all the weight reduction helping it's cause. A good all-rounder then - which is also what the PD team is hinting at!
Old 26th April 2017, 14:57   #33

But we have seen bhp'ians taking their 650s to the track, even though it was never designed for track use, and come out all smiles.
!
What I mean is the streets and highways are the normal stomping grounds for the Ninja that does not meant that it won't thrill on the track, as it's evident in this case.
Old 11th November 2017, 11:35   #34

Kawasaki has launched the KRT edition of the Ninja 650 at the same price of 5.69L.

Looks like only a cosmetic update, as the bike was launched fresh this year only.

http://overdrive.in/news-cars-auto/2...-rs-5-69-lakh/

Intermot: 2017 Kawasaki Ninja 650 unveiled EDIT: Launched in India at Rs 5.69 lakhs-2017kawasakininja650krtedition.jpg

Intermot: 2017 Kawasaki Ninja 650 unveiled EDIT: Launched in India at Rs 5.69 lakhs-2017kawasakininja650krtedition1.jpg

Edit -

As per Kawasaki India website, KRT edition costs 5.49L ex showroom. 20k cheaper than the launch prices!

http://www.kawasaki-india.com/2017/1...ched-in-india/

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 11th November 2017 at 11:42.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th November 2017, 08:52   #35

Ya but the prices were dropped recently, the normal edition is 5.36 lacs ex showrom in bangalore
AtheK is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th November 2017, 09:11   #36

As per Kawasaki India website, KRT edition costs 5.49L ex showroom. 20k cheaper than the launch prices!
In fact it is costlier by 16k. The normal model has now been retailing @5.33L ex showroom for some time now.

Cheers...
dkaile is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th November 2017, 11:30   #37

Originally Posted by nkrishnap View Post
I somehow dont like the green and black color combo. An all black edition will be brilliant.
Originally Posted by hiren.mistry View Post
True, the black winter edition of the mighty ZX10R would look wonderful on the Ninja 650 too.
All black is available on the Ninja 650. Pictures can be seen here.

Originally Posted by AtheK View Post
Ya but the prices were dropped recently, the normal edition is 5.36 lacs ex showrom in bangalore
Originally Posted by dkaile View Post
In fact it is costlier by 16k. The normal model has now been retailing @5.33L ex showroom for some time now.

Cheers...
Thanks. Had missed this news.
Old 12th January 2018, 12:48   #38

For those who dont like the green -

Intermot: 2017 Kawasaki Ninja 650 unveiled EDIT: Launched in India at Rs 5.69 lakhs-img20180112wa0033.jpg

Intermot: 2017 Kawasaki Ninja 650 unveiled EDIT: Launched in India at Rs 5.69 lakhs-screenshot_20180112124442.png
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 12th January 2018, 14:22   #39

Looks interesting, while i wait for RR310, i am actively looking for a pre-owned Ninja 650 from last year(with ABS), nothing is popping out in market. If something comes up before the Apache gets delivered, i might bite the bullet.
Old 12th January 2018, 14:42   #40

Looks interesting, while i wait for RR310, i am actively looking for a pre-owned Ninja 650 from last year(with ABS), nothing is popping out in market. If something comes up before the Apache gets delivered, i might bite the bullet.
Ninja with abs was launched just a few months back, unless the owner had a bad first night with his bride, you aint' getting one anytime soon.

Last edited by manson : 12th January 2018 at 17:16. Reason: Typo.
Red Liner is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th January 2018, 14:45   #41

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
Ninja with abs was launched just a few months back, unless the owner had a bad first night with his bride, you aint getting on anytime soon.

I think it was in April, i was counting on some richie rich, who suddenly wanted to upgrade to the Ninja 1000, and let go off the smaller sibling.

I have only found one such species, though he was based out of chennai, and the bike got sold pretty quickly.
Old 12th January 2018, 15:03   #42

Maintenance costs would be very different between the two (Ninja 650 and Apache 310RR). Hope you've factored in that as well.

For examples - tyres for the 310RR (Michelin Pilot Street) should cost around 7k and last for 20 - 25k kms. Whereas the ones on the Ninja 1000 (Metzeler / Pirelli as a common replacement) should costs around 20k and last 10 - 12k kms. Chain sprocket set etc are going to have similar costs difference too.

New Ninja 650 is a brilliant machine though. Would prefer it any day over the other 300s like the Ninja 300, Benelli 302 etc. However, Apache 310 is a lot more affordable than these and makes a strong case for itself.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th January 2018, 15:08   #43

Maintenance costs would be very different between the two (Ninja 650 and Apache 310RR). Hope you've factored in that as well.

For examples - tyres for the 310RR (Michelin Pilot Street) should cost around 7k and last for 20 - 25k kms. Whereas the ones on the Ninja 1000 (Metzeler / Pirelli as a common replacement) should costs around 20k and last 10 - 12k kms. Chain sprocket set etc are going to have similar costs difference too.

New Ninja 650 is a brilliant machine though. Would prefer it any day over the other 300s like the Ninja 300, Benelli 302 etc. However, Apache 310 is a lot more affordable than these and makes a strong case for itself.
Yes of course i have, my bottleneck is the budget, i did not want to go over 5 lacs, and max stretch it to 5.5. I made peace with Apache 310 with a thought that i will probably upgrade to 650 in 2 years from now. I should get good selection of pre owned bikes till then, and also it will be a phased upgrade.

Apache 160 - Apache 310 - Ninja 650 (Doubling power as we go).

If the finances allow at that time, i might keep both, Apache doing the duty in the city, and Ninja on the long tours.

But the itch as a biker still remains, and i am sure you will relate.

Last edited by AtheK : 12th January 2018 at 15:09.
Old 13th January 2018, 01:13   #44

Yes of course i have, my bottleneck is the budget, i did not want to go over 5 lacs, and max stretch it to 5.5. I made peace with Apache 310 with a thought that i will probably upgrade to 650 in 2 years from now. I should get good selection of pre owned bikes till then, and also it will be a phased upgrade.

Apache 160 - Apache 310 - Ninja 650 (Doubling power as we go).

If the finances allow at that time, i might keep both, Apache doing the duty in the city, and Ninja on the long tours.

But the itch as a biker still remains, and i am sure you will relate.
@AtheK, curious why you didn't throw the KTM RC390 into the mix? It seems to be similar in weight and riding position to the RR, but slightly more hp and torque.
Old 13th January 2018, 01:29   #45

Originally Posted by rajushank84 View Post
@AtheK, curious why you didn't throw the KTM RC390 into the mix? It seems to be similar in weight and riding position to the RR, but slightly more hp and torque.
Hi, few reasons.

I find the position of RC too committed when I test drove it last year, from all the reviews seems apache is more relaxed, though I can only confirm after test riding.

Majority of my ride will be in city, and I don't think RC can be a daily driver.

I have had a bad experience with bajaj pulsar, and extremely satisfying experience with TVS, hence the bias.

Completely my personal view but I find the looks of RC a bit dated and also a bit too loud, specially for some one who is on the wrong side of 30's. For some reason I never connected with it.

I am a sedate driver so I like my ride being relaxed too and nothing as fast as RC, if I was on the wrong side of 20's, I would have probably got it last year.