Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 21st October 2016, 09:43   #1

Benelli TRK 502 - India launch in Jan 2017

2017 will start on a high note for adventure tourer bike lovers. DSK-Benelli is all-set to ride in the new Trk 502 adventure bike in Indian in January, 2017. The new motorcycle will be the first adventure tourer motorcycle from the Italian brand for the Indian market. It had brought in the Trk Amazonas last year but the bike didn’t make its way to the showroom. The Benelli Trk 502 was first showcased at the 2015 EICMA motorcycle show and had generated a lot of curiosity among Indian bike lovers. What works in favour of the upcoming motorcycle is the lack of options in the adventure tourer segment as after the Royal Enfield Himalayan, the next cheapest offering is the Kawasaki Versys 650 and then the Triumph Tiger range starts north of Rs 10 lakh. DSK-Benelli are renowned for their cutthroat pricing and we feel the Trk 502 will carry a sticker price of around Rs 5 to 5.5 lakh ex-showroom.

The styling of the Trk 502 has been based on the Ducati Multistrada 1200 with its beaky face which we feel isn’t bad as the Multistrada itself is a good looking bike. Powering the new Benelli Trk 502 is a newly developed 500cc, parallel-twin motor churning out 48PS of peak power at 8,500rpm and 45Nm of torque at 4,500rpm. The gearbox is a 6-speed affair controlled by hydraulic clutch.

Fuel tank capacity is a mammoth 20 litres which should be useful while munching miles on the highway. Suspension duties upfront are handled by an adjustable upside down front forks, and at the rear, a monoshock unit, providing suspension travel of 150mm at both ends. Braking is via dual front discs, 320 mm in diameter, and two-piston floating caliper upfront, and a twin piston calliper gripping a single 260mm disc at the rear. Tyres are Pirelli Angel 120/70 R17 at front and 160/60 R17 at the back, mounted on 17-inch alloy wheels.

First I got excited, then I got disappointed

I feel 5 lakh is too much. I would rather put in a little more money and get a Versys 650. But then, good to see the adv segment opening up.
cataclysm is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st October 2016, 09:49   #2

re: Benelli TRK 502 - India launch in Jan 2017

Originally Posted by cataclysm View Post

I feel 5 lakh is too much. I would rather put in a little more money and get a Versys 650. But then, good to see the adv segment opening up.
The pic in the article shows spoked wheels.
Also, to buy the versys 650, you'll have to put in an extra CBR250 That's not a "little more money" if you ask me.
farhadtarapore is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st October 2016, 09:54   #3

Originally Posted by farhadtarapore View Post
The pic in the article shows spoked wheels.
I haven't seen a pic of the Trk sans spoked wheels. So I'm not sure what model (?)Benelli will launch.

Originally Posted by farhadtarapore View Post
Also, to buy the versys 650, you'll have to put in an extra CBR250 That's not a "little more money" if you ask me.
I can go for a pre-owned one
Old 21st October 2016, 10:12   #4

I feel 5 lakh is too much.
Don't think we have any twins below three lakhs. And the TRK 502 seems to be decent adventure bike for the segment as well. Pricing is not bad in my opinion, if they keep it a couple of lakhs below the Versys 650.

CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st October 2016, 12:30   #5

Re: Benelli TRK 502 - India launch in Jan 2017

First I got excited, then I got disappointed

I feel 5 lakh is too much...
Where does it say that's the final price?

Article says :

DSK-Benelli are renowned for their cutthroat pricing and we feel the Trk 502 will carry a sticker price of around Rs 5 to 5.5 lakh ex-showroom.

That's the price ZigWheels feels
SoumenD is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st October 2016, 16:18   #6

People like you and me who are awaiting the launch of this beautiful bike will have to wait till at least April for its launch. It is impossible that Benelli will launch it in January. The bike hasn't even been spied testing once yet. In any part of the world. Having said that, I'd be more than happy if they do launch it in January, that is 2 months from now and the previous Benellis have followed the same course - all have been spotted 2 to 3 months before their launch in our country.

Here are a couple of photos that I clicked at IBW.

Note to mods: Kindly remove the images if found inappropriate for any reasons.
Benelli TRK 502 - India launch in Jan 2017-img_3334.jpg  

Benelli TRK 502 - India launch in Jan 2017-img_3333.jpg  

VR/46_Chet is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st October 2016, 16:25   #7

And the TRK 502 seems to be decent adventure bike for the segment as well.

For Sure it looks like a well made copy of its Italian cousins, hopefully they launch it with a price of 500K ride away prices it will make all the more sense.
Whats the base of this engine though? Have they bought another Japanese Engine to fit into this Trek?
Old 24th October 2016, 07:55   #8

Originally Posted by ku69rd View Post
For Sure it looks like a well made copy of its Italian cousins, hopefully they launch it with a price of 500K ride away prices it will make all the more sense.
Whats the base of this engine though? Have they bought another Japanese Engine to fit into this Trek?
It is an overbored Tnt 300 engine.

Any idea what the suspension travel is on this bike? looks more like a road bike with a beak to me.
Old 24th October 2016, 10:58   #9

Originally Posted by nitro.1000bhp View Post
It is an overbored Tnt 300 engine.

Any idea what the suspension travel is on this bike? looks more like a road bike with a beak to me.
With 19" front, 17" rear and 150mm travel on both ends it sure is an adventure bike and not just a road bike with a beak. Had a chance of sitting on it and I can be sure about the same.

Last edited by VR/46_Chet : 24th October 2016 at 11:13. Reason: Have to recheck with the insider.
Old 24th October 2016, 14:21   #10

Originally Posted by VR/46_Chet View Post
With 19" front, 17" rear and 150mm travel on both ends it sure is an adventure bike and not just a road bike with a beak. Had a chance of sitting on it and I can be sure about the same.
Pulled this out of wiki Suspension WP 43 mm dia. w/150 mm travel.
Front: telescopic fork, Rear: mono-shock swingarm.

(link:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KTM_390_series)

Dear, the Duke has the same travel ergo its a road bike with a beak.

It would have seemed taller bcoz of the wheel combo or maybe it has a jacked-up seat. Cant tell by looking at the pic.

Anyhow, one cant tell how much travel the suspension has by merely sitting on it. only Suspension sag can be measured that way.
Old 24th October 2016, 17:22   #11

Originally Posted by nitro.1000bhp View Post
Pulled this out of wiki Suspension WP 43 mm dia. w/150 mm travel.
Front: telescopic fork, Rear: mono-shock swingarm.

(link:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/KTM_390_series)

Dear, the Duke has the same travel ergo its a road bike with a beak.

It would have seemed taller bcoz of the wheel combo or maybe it has a jacked-up seat. Cant tell by looking at the pic.

Anyhow, one cant tell how much travel the suspension has by merely sitting on it. only Suspension sag can be measured that way.

AFAIK, suspension sag on adv bikes is measured by standing on the bike, unlike road bikes. Yes, it is tall and the 19" front is optional, the stock version most probably being 17" alloys. I'd not compare the suspension with the Duke since both have a very different spring behavior. As for the 150mm part, it was mentioned on Benelli's UK website earlier (the website is down right now) while other mags report of the same figure (although I'm inclined towards benelli's website). IMO, the road-bike-with-a-beak might as well suit the 17" alloy wheel version though.
Old 21st November 2016, 17:34   #12

This and several other sources suggest that the bike has been launched in China, under crowdfunding platforms. 10 bikes seem to have been delivered, all 17" front versions apparently. The bike was recently showcased in a production ready form at EICMA a few weeks back with a different front visor and an underbelly exhaust similar to the TNT300. However, the 19" front version (or offroad version as Benelli calls it) was not showcased at EICMA.

Came across some videos on youtube recently. One video has a Red Black and IMO the color is not meant for this bike.

VR/46_Chet is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st November 2016, 21:12   #13

Zig wheels is saying so but no official news about it. As someone mentioned the Bike has not been seen testing much, so don't know. The Benelli India has been issuing Press Release, one after another in October and one in November, but no information about TRK502. The Press Release has been about opening there showrooms only.

Here is the link for calrification: http://www.dskbenelli.com/in-the-news.php

When I saw the bike in person in the Auto Expo, I loved it. It definitely looks very nice and specially from touring aspect. But again if one is thinking to use it for offroading then I think the Kerb Weigh of 210 kg is bit on the higher side. Though the 20L tank will be good.

Here is the Technical Specifications of the Motorcycle:

Engine Type: Liquid-cooled, four-stroke, two-cylinder inline
Bore x stroke: 69 x 66.8 mm
Displacement: 499.6 cm³
A compression ratio: 11.5: 1
Max. performance: 35 kW (47.6 CV) @ 8500 rpm.
Max. torque: 45 Nm (4.6 kgm) @ 4500 rpm.
Starting the engine: electrical
Transmission: 6-speed
Secondary transmission:chain
Dimensions (L x W x H): 2180 x 912 x 1465
wheelbase: 1535
Seat height: 815
Fuel tank capacity: 20 liters
Tires - Front: 120/70 R17
Tires - Rear: 160/60 R17
Suspension - Front: 50 mm telescopic fork
Suspension - Rear: swingarm
Brakes - Front: 320 mm wheel
Brakes - Rear: 260 mm disc
Curb weight: 210 KG

Source: http://www.benelli-motor.cz/motocykly/trk502

I am also looking forward to this motorcycle. Lets see when it comes in market, unless I don't ride it I wont be able to make a decision.
Old 5th March 2017, 20:20   #14

We are in March 2017 and a dealer who is also a friend- said "we dont know why they are not releasing it, and worse- we dont know why they are not even telling us when they would be releasing it."

A super segment- wasted by the Himalayan, left vacant by the missing KTM 390 Adventure- no sign of the super potent VStrom 650... Price aside- not one decent bike here.

And oh! The Hero guys and their ethereal 250cc Impulse- why cant they dream big and get a 400?

A mentor once told me- "Low aim is a crime."
Hammer & Anvil is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 5th March 2017, 20:46   #15

Originally Posted by Hammer & Anvil View Post
We are in March 2017 and a dealer who is also a friend- said "we dont know why they are not releasing it, and worse- we dont know why they are not even telling us when they would be releasing it."

A super segment- wasted by the Himalayan, left vacant by the missing KTM 390 Adventure- no sign of the super potent VStrom 650... Price aside- not one decent bike here.

And oh! The Hero guys and their ethereal 250cc Impulse- why cant they dream big and get a 400?

A mentor once told me- "Low aim is a crime."
Absolutely second your thoughts and totally agree with the statements.
Time is of essence here and believe me time was never this right to launch the TRK 500. There is a big void in the market currently for a decent priced ADV twin and somehow 500cc is all that one needs heck the KTM 390 adv would have been perfect, however they will take their own sweet time to launch it, and that is why launching TRK 500 now makes a lot of business sense
Wake up DSK Benelli

Last edited by schitre05 : 5th March 2017 at 20:56.