Re: 2017 Kawasaki Ninja 1000 launched @ 9.98 lakh

Originally Posted by Born 2 Be Wild View Post
Lo behold there she stands in all her glory
Taking delivery tommorow of north indias 2nd My 2018 black ninja 1000

Mayank
Congratulations.

Please post some good pictures as soon as possible. Thanks to dkaile sir - there are brilliant pictures of the green 1000, but yet to see some good pictures of the new Black 1000.

The bikes are not even available for display in showrooms thanks to the demand! Hence pictures would really help prospective customers.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 12th November 2017 at 10:59.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th November 2017, 18:14   #227

Took delivery of my bike yesterday and boy o boy totally in love with this amazing machine.

Will try and put up a ownership thread however i am not as talented as Dhiraj sir so just might give it a skip. The bike is so amazing to ride that took it for a 125 km spin straight from the showroom. Precise gear shifts and The 6th gear is good from 35 to in my case 95 for the first 1000kms so ride able in the city also it doesn't heat up much lesser then my enfield which was a welcome surprise for me. Riding it in L Mode with KTRC At level 1. Will post detailed photos in some time going for another spin now i guess i am addicted to it
2017 Kawasaki Ninja 1000 launched @ 9.98 lakh-fullsizerender-3.jpg  

Born 2 Be Wild is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 13th November 2017, 21:56   #228

The 6th gear is good from 35 to in my case 95
The last time i did 35kmph in 6th gear was in my hercules MTB. And the other bike that i ride lugging like that is my cast iron bullet. But they are designed to take that torture.

Its a new bike, try to keep the rpm above 2.5k and if that means shifting down, please do shift down.
VW2010 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 13th November 2017, 22:07   #229

Originally Posted by VW2010 View Post
The last time i did 35kmph in 6th gear was in my hercules MTB. And the other bike that i ride lugging like that is my cast iron bullet. But they are designed to take that torture.

Its a new bike, try to keep the rpm above 2.5k and if that means shifting down, please do shift down.
You can easily do this on this bike without any stress or strain on the engine or the gearbox. That's how well it's designed. It's hard to explain it to the naysayers and you need to ride it to understand.

Cheers...
Old 13th November 2017, 22:19   #230

It's hard to explain it to the naysayers and you need to ride it to understand
A naysayer usually expresses negative comments. I am just asking the user to ride the new engine with some energy. The right naysaying comment is something like "what is the point of buying a litre class and boasting 35kmph cruising in 6th gear at less than 2000 rpm". The early break in helps for long term ownership. Lugging is the worst type of breaking in. The engine is silky smooth to experience the lugging.

35mph and not 35kmph in 6th keeps it above 2000 rpm if i am right. If that advice appears to be naysaying, i have to say it is just getting defensive.
VW2010 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 13th November 2017, 22:37   #231

A naysayer usually expresses negative comments. 35mph and not 35kmph in 6th keeps it above 2000 rpm if i am right. If that advice appears to be naysaying, i have to say it is just getting defensive.
From the Owners Manual -

2017 Kawasaki Ninja 1000 launched @ 9.98 lakh-1510592792597.jpg

I hope Kawasaki knows more than the experts here.

Cheers...
dkaile is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th November 2017, 00:32   #232

I do shift down , i rode a CI bullet for 10 years prior to this and it stalled at 40 in 4th and honestly comparing my CI BULLET to the ninja 1000 is comparing the indian cricket team to the somalian cricket team 😁. Sadly i have never had the good fortune of owning the MTB so i am at a loss of words to express its abilites or the lack of them..

I am just asking the user to ride the new engine with some energy. The right naysaying comment is something like "what is the point of buying a litre class and boasting 35kmph cruising in 6th gear at less than 2000 rpm". The early break in helps for long term ownership. Lugging is the worst type of breaking in
Nowhere in my post did i mention that i ride without energy so for someone to presume that i do so is astounding , also i am not from mars i dint buy the ninja 1000 to lug it at 35 kmph . Its merely an observation any ninja owner would mention it pulls cleanly from 35 to wherever you want it to.

Originally Posted by dkaile View Post
From the Owners Manual -

Attachment 1695850

I hope Kawasaki knows more than the experts here.

Cheers...
Kawaski absolutely does and more then that the rider of the machine in most cases does.!

You can easily do this on this bike without any stress or strain on the engine or the gearbox. That's how well it's designed. It's hard to explain it to the naysayers and you need to ride it to understand.

Cheers...
Absolutely you need to ride this machine to know how it performs
Born 2 Be Wild is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th November 2017, 08:37   #233

From the Owners Manual
Here's a video from MC Commute, which shows the bike easily pulling from standstill - from a red-light in 4th gear!

Skip to 5:00

This bike has good low end torque for sure. Not that it is advisable to do so every day, but guess it's not dead at the bottom end like most inline4 engines.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 14th November 2017 at 08:39.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th November 2017, 11:21   #234

Hi , I have managed to complete 500 kms on the bike in the limited time that i get to ride, My initial observations on this bike i would like to share till this bike i used to ride my bullet electra and in between had a chance to ride a friends Harley for a sort while so, whatever i may have to say is in context with what i have ridden so far.

The day i got delivery of the bike was the day i was dead scared it looked intimidating and i had not sat on a motorcycle for over a year so i was very nervous on how i plan to take this behemoth home, that to a litre class behemoth. however the sales guy at Kawa reassured me he said this is one of the most forgiving bikes and ill ride it easily just dont cross 4k rpm for first 800kms. I had my first whoopsy daisy moment as soon as i left the showroom i was used to the bullets accelerator and with a heavy wrist the damm thing lurched forward i stopped to the side and noticed he had left it in F full power mode , i flicked it to L Low power mode and from there till my house it was easy peasy japaneasy.

OK so now my observations,
Have been stuck in traffic for a good 20 mins more then 3 times and have never felt lot of heat from the bike maybe its the weather but my bullet used to heat up more then this is stop go traffic and the harley i rode for a short while dont even ask.
Gear shifts are very smooth and precise haven't had any issues with gear shifts so far, extremely flick able in traffic, does get a tad tedious when at standstill but when on the move its very comfortable.
seating position is fabulous and very comfortable no wrist aches , no back aches no nothing, maybe i haven't ridden that far longest is 160 kms from jewar toll back to delhi non stop so based on this.
Brakes on this are amazing i guess that is the case with all super bikes, have panic braked twice and first time was painful an unexpected,family jewels went whamm bamm right in the tank . Have not used the rear brakes so far i feel they lack bite, the front brakes are superb coupled with engine braking its awesome.

Apart from this the only drawback i have faced with riding this bike is everyone on the road wants to get up close and personal at times its very risky but what can i say cant be solved.The horn on the bike is absolutely pathetic its the first priority on my list.

a couple of photos from sunday
2017 Kawasaki Ninja 1000 launched @ 9.98 lakh-fullsizerender-4.jpg  

2017 Kawasaki Ninja 1000 launched @ 9.98 lakh-fullsizerender-6.jpg  

2017 Kawasaki Ninja 1000 launched @ 9.98 lakh-fullsizerender-5.jpg  

2017 Kawasaki Ninja 1000 launched @ 9.98 lakh-fullsizerender-7.jpg  

Born 2 Be Wild is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 28th November 2017, 12:19   #235

I recently rode a friend's 2017 Ninja 1000 for a good 100+ kms (mix of highway and broken desert roads). Below are some key things I noticed about the bike in this short run:

Pros:
1. Power is very manageable and liner. Being used to the 10R, I felt like a good boy on the N1000. Personally, I kinda missed that excitement a litre brings but for the target audience this will be a boon (my friend who owns it is slightly elderly and doesnt want a heart attack)
2. The Headlamps are WOW !!! Nothing short of the absolute best I have seen on a Jap bike. Infact a Multistrada owner compared them to his bike and came away absolutely impressed. Those LEDs are worth every penny. Well done Kawasaki. They are so good that you will never bother putting any aux lamps on the bike.
3. Good fuel efficiency. Matters when you are gunning long distances and want minimum fuel stops and expense.
4. The bike ran pretty fine on fuel from questionable bunks in remote locations. big tick mark for a tourer.
5. Very comfortable saddle with good ergos. Can easily do 500km+ in a day without back, neck pains
6. The engine is butter smooth, goes all the way to the redline in a very gentlemanly fashion.
7. She looks the part of a proper BIG sports tourer. Insane VFM when you factor in the price.
8. Decent brakes. Do the part well but the ABS could have a bit less intrusive. Again boon for the less experienced riders.

CONS:
1. The handling on stock suspension is absolutely ridiculous. I weigh around 85 kilos and the bike was set up too soft in the front on stock settings. Not once was I confident of hanging off in corners. The front feels floaty to say the least under some enthusiastic cornering. Definitely needs a tune-up of the suspension if one was to go corner-carving.
2. Ground clearance was an issue with a full load on typical desi speedhumps. One needs to be mindful of it when touring off the NHs.
3. The TC was a bit too intrusive to my liking on setting 2. It kicked in very frequently and was quite enthusiastic in cutting the power. I sort of turned it off in between when the corners got interesting.

Overall, its a fantastic bike without even bringing the price into question. The minute you consider what it retails at, its a no-brainer. Its a superb VFM offering from Kawasaki and I am sure its a very mature upgrade for the tourer breed looking for something which is a bit more sporty than the Tigers/Versys.
narula123 is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 29th November 2017, 12:53   #236

80 units of N300, 13 N650, 8 V650, 40 Z900 and 30 units of the N1000 last month.

Looks like the inline4 boys are gaining ground big time thanks to superb pricing. Ninja 1000 is clearly having more demand than the previous Kawa favourite - the Versys 650.

Source -

http://www.autopunditz.com/wp-conten...017/11/2-1.jpg
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th November 2017, 14:47   #237

80 units of N300, 13 N650, 8 V650, 40 Z900 and 30 units of the N1000 last month.

Looks like the inline4 boys are gaining ground big time thanks to superb pricing. Ninja 1000 is clearly having more demand than the previous Kawa favourite - the Versys 650.

Source -

http://www.autopunditz.com/wp-conten...017/11/2-1.jpg
Not surprised at all. Both Ninja 1000 & Z900 have killer pricing in their segments. From what Rideantur told me - even the next 2 batches of N1000 are sold out already.
Old 29th November 2017, 15:48   #238

68 Street Rods, 69 Street 750, 43 Street Triples, 40 Z900, 38 Fatboy, 30 N1000, the big bike numbers. I'm guessing the N1000 numbers could've been higher if not for the limited production. Hope the numbers are correct.
Old 30th November 2017, 11:59   #239

any info on how long Kawasaki will keep the N1000 production with the same price tag? one of my friends is interested in buying but he can do the booking only in the month of Feb next year.
Old 30th November 2017, 17:09   #240

Originally Posted by narula123 View Post
2. Ground clearance was an issue with a full load on typical desi speedhumps. One needs to be mindful of it when touring off the NHs.
Full load as in two guys + luggage?

Originally Posted by ebmrajesh View Post
any info on how long Kawasaki will keep the N1000 production with the same price tag? one of my friends is interested in buying but he can do the booking only in the month of Feb next year.
Your guess on this will be just as good / bad as any of ours.

I personally feel that the prices may slightly increase over time to cross the 10L mark - but there would not be a drastic increase as the vehicle is currently being manufactured with SKD kits.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 30th November 2017 at 17:20.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks