Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 23rd December 2017, 14:32   #46

Re: Triumph Street Triple RS launched at Rs. 10.55 lakh

dchahal/Ricci, Among all other videos on RS, I found this to be informative. In the video, it discusses some of the points that you guys have brought in this thread (right from comparing the dyno charts of both RS and R, suspension, etc.,)

Old 23rd December 2017, 23:51   #47

Originally Posted by shan_ned View Post
dchahal/Ricci, Among all other videos on RS, I found this to be informative. In the video, it discusses some of the points that you guys have brought in this thread (right from comparing the dyno charts of both RS and R, suspension, etc.,)

https://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=G9yU...&feature=share
Yes, saw this yesterday, quite informative video. I am putting links and texts to the related stories below:

MCN

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/mcn-mo...o-power-1050r/
After testing both bikes on MCN’s regular dyno (BSD in Peterborough), to my surprise the new Triumph Street Triple 765 RS made 126.27hp @ 11,750rpm and 59lbft @9500rpm at the rear wheel, which has made me wide-eyed as it’s actually 4hp more than claimed. To put things in to perspective, the 2016 Speed triple made 128.52hp @ 9250rpm and 77.49lbft @8000rpm, which is a bit shy of the claimed figures by Triumph.

Visordown
http://www.visordown.com/road-tests/...s-yamaha-mt-09
http://www.visordown.com/road-tests/...-triple-765-rs
Triumph’s 765cc three-cylinder motor, which makes a claimed 123hp and 57lb/ft torque. We stuck the RS on the dyno at Steve Jordan Motorcycles in Bookham and it made 121.48hp at 12,153rpm and 55.57lb/ft at 9,666rpm.

Scorpion
https://www.scorpion-exhausts.com/tr...xhaust-systems

Vashfox.com
http://www.vashfox.com/passage-banc-...triple-765-rs/

These are some references. Although there is no issue if the claimed crank HP is 121 but more is always better and there surely is more
Old 24th December 2017, 19:49   #48

Originally Posted by dchahal View Post
The new Triumph Street Triple 765 RS made 126.27hp @ 11,750rpm and 59lbft @9500rpm at the rear wheel
the 2016 Speed triple made 128.52hp @ 9250rpm and 77.49lbft @8000rpm,
wait. The older model has more power and torque at lower RPMs than the newer? That is weird.
Old 24th December 2017, 20:12   #49

Originally Posted by Vysakh View Post
wait. The older model has more power and torque at lower RPMs than the newer? That is weird.
I think the old model being talked about is the SPEED Triple while the new one being compared is the STREET Triple.
Old 24th December 2017, 23:19   #50

Originally Posted by nikhn View Post
I think the old model being talked about is the SPEED Triple while the new one being compared is the STREET Triple.
Oops. Missed that. Assumed the comparison would be with the predecessor.
Vysakh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st January 2018, 13:15   #51

Originally Posted by shan_ned View Post
Great to get some feedback about the RS suspension performance in comfort mode. If you had any chance of comparing the 'RS' with comfort setting and the 'S', please let us know.
Rode the S some days ago. The feel is very different, I mean very different and "S" felt even easier than 675. As you sit with stock preload settings at rear, the bike sags like a cushion, ride quality and power delivery both are soft (comparing with RS otherwise its sharp on its own) and forgiving. There is so much difference in the ride height between S and RS that a person sees tip toeing and easy flat footing between them.

So, as a first big bike "S" is amazing with safety net of ABS and TC, while that low weight and easy handling is boon for India. "RS" will appeal only to the guys/gals who will take an informed decision and know what they are getting into, bcz if you just want a big burly SBK Busa is just 3.35 lac away at 13.35 and Ninja 1000 is cheaper at 11.25. If we talk about value Busa retails at 14599 USD, Ninja 1000 at 12199 USD, S at 10000 USD and RS at 12500 USD before taxes in USA, which are quite comparable even here in India as all 4 discussed bikes are CKD. Z900 which looks like a no brainer at 8.7 lacs on road here retails for 8799 USD before taxes in USA, which is almost same value as above bikes.

Although, there is still a big amount of tax involved with CKD bikes but with all these bikes which are CKD now, we are saved from that 140% plus tax we were paying on CBUs erlier. For example Yamaha MT09 costs 12.55 lacs plus here in India while it retails at 8999 USD before taxes in USA, where is the value? and Yamaha says we are not ready. I went little off topic but still this is the truth.
dchahal is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 1st January 2018, 18:30   #52

Rode the S some days ago. The feel is very different, I mean very different and "S" felt even easier than 675. As you sit with stock preload settings at rear, the bike sags like a cushion, ride quality and power delivery both are soft (comparing with RS otherwise its sharp on its own) and forgiving. There is so much difference in the ride height between S and RS that a person sees tip toeing and easy flat footing between them.

So, as a first big bike "S" is amazing with safety net of ABS and TC, while that low weight and easy handling is boon for India. "RS" will appeal only to the guys/gals who will take an informed decision and know what they are getting into
Thanks dchahal for your feedback on the comfort part of S vs RS. This certainly helps for those who are confused of choosing between the S and RS.

I think people nearing 6 feet in height may not see a big difference in the saddle height of the S and RS. Though I rode the S few months back, I like to ride the S and RS back to back just to get an experience of my own on the ride quality difference. Apart from all other factors, just the TFT display alone can pull the hearts of people who are deciding between the S and RS (irrespective of what they choose).

Regarding the STriple sales, I am pleasantly surprised that they are doing well even though the price is quite on the higher side compared to the competitors.
Old 1st January 2018, 19:02   #53

So, as a first big bike "S" is amazing with safety net of ABS and TC, while that low weight and easy handling is boon for India. "RS" will appeal only to the guys/gals who will take an informed decision and know what they are getting into, bcz if you just want a big burly SBK Busa is just 3.35 lac away at 13.35 and Ninja 1000 is cheaper at 11.25.
Who is selling Busa at 13.xx Ex-showrom - i want one

I think you meant 15.5L - there is a cool 5L diff
Old 1st January 2018, 19:04   #54

Enjoying the running in period with Betty. Got the Puig frame sliders for her and the triumph dealership was extremely helpful in sourcing these for me and installing as well. Some pics of Betty

Triumph Street Triple RS launched at Rs. 10.55 lakh-imageuploadedbyteambhp1514813541.370606.jpg

Triumph Street Triple RS launched at Rs. 10.55 lakh-imageuploadedbyteambhp1514813601.811933.jpg

Triumph Street Triple RS launched at Rs. 10.55 lakh-imageuploadedbyteambhp1514813624.033113.jpg

Triumph Street Triple RS launched at Rs. 10.55 lakh-imageuploadedbyteambhp1514813640.414712.jpg
RohanDheman is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st January 2018, 19:06   #55

Originally Posted by ethanhunt123 View Post
Who is selling Busa at 13.xx Ex-showrom - i want one

I think you meant 15.5L - there is a cool 5L diff

Sorry I meant 12 plus 3.35 which is 15.35 not 13.35. Difference is 3.35 only though.
Old 1st January 2018, 21:05   #56

Sorry I meant 12 plus 3.35 which is 15.35 not 13.35. Difference is 3.35 only though.
Sorry i dont know where are you getting you numbers from. According to bikewale the ex-showroom prices are

765RS - 10.55L
Hayabusa - 15.5L

So thats a cool 5L or 50% premium for the busa. And i am not even counting the diferential due to higher road tax (~20% in KA) + insurance. Definitely not in the same price bracket.
Old 1st January 2018, 21:26   #57

Sorry i dont know where are you getting you numbers from. According to bikewale the ex-showroom prices are

765RS - 10.55L

Hayabusa - 15.5L

So thats a cool 5L or 50% premium for the busa. And i am not even counting the diferential due to higher road tax (~20% in KA) + insurance. Definitely not in the same price bracket.

The price as per the Suzuki website is 13.87 ex showroom. I wouldn't blindly trust bikewale etc. anyways, the two bikes are as different as chalk and cheese and shouldn't be compared. My two cents.

Triumph Street Triple RS launched at Rs. 10.55 lakh-imageuploadedbyteambhp1514822146.699985.jpg
Old 1st January 2018, 22:09   #58

Originally Posted by RohanDheman View Post
Enjoying the running in period with Betty. Got the Puig frame sliders for her and the triumph dealership was extremely helpful in sourcing these for me and installing as well. Some pics of Betty

Attachment 1711806

Attachment 1711807

Attachment 1711809

Attachment 1711810
Wow! The LCD screen looks amazing. But am sure it takes some getting used to. The layout of information seems completely new.
Old 1st January 2018, 23:06   #59

765RS - 10.55L

Hayabusa - 15.5L

Dear friend, I am not referring bikewale. I bought RS for 12 lac on Road and my friend got Busa for 15.35 lac on Road recently. You are referring one bike's ex-showroom while other's on Road price. Cheers.
Old 2nd January 2018, 09:35   #60

Originally Posted by Nilesh5417 View Post
Wow! The LCD screen looks amazing. But am sure it takes some getting used to. The layout of information seems completely new.
Thanks Nilesh.

The screen did not take any time getting used to. There are plenty of options on how you want to set it up (display wise). Irrespective of the setup, the information that is always available is speed, mode in which the bike is, the gear, time and ambient temperature.

the dash beneath the speedo can be fully customized as per the information you want to see and is extremely easy to use with a switch on the left handle bar. Following options are available to chose from

- 2 trip meters
- Lap timer
- Coolant Temp
- Fuel consumption details (instant, long term and distance to empty)
- contrast settings
- theme setting (2 themes with 3 options each)
- Service intervals

Rohan
RohanDheman is offline   (3) Thanks