Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 1st November 2017, 10:18   #76

re: Kawasaki Z900 RS (W800 replacement), now launched at 16.47 lakhs

Originally Posted by nasirkaka View Post
After going through some closeup pics from the Z900RS launch, i still feel the level and attention to detail on the Triumph's Modern Classic range aka T100, T120, bobber, Thruxton, etc is a notch higher but have always maintained they are highly overpriced.
+1

I totally agree that the build quality, detailing and general oomph factor is much better in Triumph products than the Kawasaki

If you step into a Triumph showroom there is a general feeling of awe looking at those gleaming products on display especially bikes like T100,T120, Thruxton and Bobber etc

Perhaps the difference is due to usage of more metal (Triumph) than plastic (Kawasaki) for the overall product development

And, take care Nasir and get well soon !!
mobike008 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st November 2017, 11:14   #77

@mail4ajo

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/superb...9-98-lakh.html

Z900 replaced Z800. Then there is Ninja 1000 and Z1000.

I would always recommend to skip 900's and get the 1000. Simply put its a litre class and adds more than just 100cc of smugness and usually kills the itch to upgrade.

I totally agree that the build quality, detailing and general oomph factor is much better in Triumph products than the Kawasaki
Their W800 was exactly the model that we should compare with the T100, T120. They are moving towards a much more sporty looking yet carrying the retro image bike. The new bike in all honestly may look like your regular motorcycle except for the 4 pipes. Imagine it came with single pipe you will think it is probably a detailed 110cc 4 stroke bike that runs in the market.

I like the triumphs but they are over priced. Thruxton is a brilliant looking bike but priced so high, it no longer appeals to a buyer to pay that much for a triumph.
Old 1st November 2017, 12:09   #78

Originally Posted by VW2010 View Post
Their W800 was exactly the model that we should compare with the T100, T120. They are moving towards a much more sporty looking yet carrying the retro image bike.
Have you stepped into a Triumph showroom with all their products lined up?

Also, not sure if you have seen the video posted by Dkaile in post #68 of this thread? If you look at the close-up of Z900RS it is a huge notch below any of the Triumph line-up (T100, T120 or Bobber)

If you make the Z900RS stand next to a T120 and compare the level of detailing

T120 will win hands down with respect to the build quality and overall detailing of the product

Originally Posted by VW2010 View Post
I like the triumphs but they are over priced. Thruxton is a brilliant looking bike but priced so high, it no longer appeals to a buyer to pay that much for a triumph.
Agree. Triumphs are just overpricing themselves out of the market

However, one point to note. Triumph prices are generally negotiable and if you bargain hard most dealers throw in a discount or give free accessories which makes me believe they have better dealer margins compared to Kawasaki who do not believe in giving any discounts as their products are already competitively priced

Last edited by mobike008 : 1st November 2017 at 12:10.
Old 1st November 2017, 12:19   #79

My friend owns a Thruxton and I have seen it quite up close. It is a work of art, no doubt. But to say that this Z900RS is 'huge' notch below is something I will not agree with. It's in-line 4 engine alone is worth it's weight in gold compared to the Triumphs. Let it come out in the flesh. From all the reviews I have seen and with this thing coming at least 3-4 lacs below the Thruxtons of this world, and with much superior overall tech and engineering, I see no reason at all why it will not be a great success. Kawasaki might just be hitting the right mix of price to tech ratio with many of it's products which may let it grab a good foothold in India, unless the competition awakens soon.

Cheers...

Last edited by dkaile : 1st November 2017 at 12:20.
dkaile is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 1st November 2017, 12:40   #80

Originally Posted by dkaile View Post
My friend owns a Thruxton and I have seen it quite up close. It is a work of art, no doubt. But to say that this Z900RS is 'huge' notch below is something I will not agree with.
Dhiraj, this is purely for the level of detailing aspect. Nothing else to be compared and from what I can assess from the video my opinion remains

Originally Posted by dkaile View Post
It's in-line 4 engine alone is worth it's weight in gold compared to the Triumphs. Let it come out in the flesh. From all the reviews I have seen and with this thing coming at least 3-4 lacs below the Thruxtons of this world,
You are mixing up things. Comparison was only for built quality and level of detailing and not other parameters
mobike008 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st November 2017, 16:18   #81

T120 will win hands down with respect to the build quality and overall detailing of the product
Lets call it speculative and waiting to be compared and tested. I do not agree one is better than other in terms of quality. Do we measure build quality by fotos?

I think i will wait to see in flesh before i take a side.
VW2010 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2017, 11:52   #82

I have lost count on how many websites have quoted the torque figure for the Z900RS (incorrectly) at 72.6 Nm. That is the figure in foot pounds. That translates to about 98.5 Nm.

You would think that someone writing about bikes would know the difference. Autocar had first quoted the same, but have corrected it after I pointed it out to them on Twitter.

72.6 Nm would put the torque in Z650 territory.

A few examples:
https://auto.ndtv.com/news/tokyo-mot...-cover-1766791

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/busin...otor-show.html

https://www.outlookindia.com/website...or-show/303722
amitg79 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2017, 12:32   #83

Originally Posted by amitg79 View Post
I have lost count on how many websites have quoted the torque figure for the Z900RS (incorrectly) at 72.6 Nm. That is the figure in foot pounds. That translates to about 98.5 Nm.

A few examples:
https://auto.ndtv.com/news/tokyo-mot...-cover-1766791

http://www.deccanchronicle.com/busin...otor-show.html

https://www.outlookindia.com/website...or-show/303722
I was wondering the same and was confused which source was right. Thanks for the confirmation.

Any idea about the availability of this beauty in India ?

I am seriously considering this, to be my first big capacity vehicle (or rather second, if classic 500 can be counted as one.)
Old 2nd November 2017, 12:42   #84

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post

Avi - I would compare the Z900RS with the Street Twin rather than the T120. And in that sense - I do agree with you. It's not a pure retro like the T120, but a modern take on the retro design lines - just like the Street Twin.

PS- I personally like the Street Twin better than the T120.
Old 2nd November 2017, 13:56   #85

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
+1

If you step into a Triumph showroom there is a general feeling of awe looking at those gleaming products on display especially bikes like T100,T120, Thruxton and Bobber etc

Perhaps the difference is due to usage of more metal (Triumph) than plastic (Kawasaki) for the overall product development

And, take care Nasir and get well soon !!

What's most annoying is that horrible seat height of 32.9 inches for something that looks retro and harks back to the beautiful Honda CB 750. This is a tall bike and will be difficult for people below 5'10" to enjoy. So this remains a sports bike with a quick retro makeover. Plus with 13 dealerships across India and pathetic sales and service, can Kawasaki really overcome Triumph? The bike will be rock solid, but you will soon want to sell it and move to something with real retro charm. And that only Triumph can provide.

This would have made a lot of sense to me if it were less than 790 mm tall.
Old 2nd November 2017, 14:14   #86

Originally Posted by jithudigitised View Post

Any idea about the availability of this beauty in India ?
The Mumbai dealership has started taking bookings, as per some previous posts on this thread.

Originally Posted by Oreen View Post
What's most annoying is that horrible seat height of 32.9 inches for something that looks retro and harks back to the beautiful Honda CB 750. This is a tall bike and will be difficult for people below 5'10" to enjoy. ...
This would have made a lot of sense to me if it were less than 790 mm tall.
There is a seat option (as an accessory) which drops the seat height to 800 mm. I checked that first as I am on the shorter side.

In fact, in the Tokyo show videos, you can see that the quoted seat height is 800 mm in the specifications chart in front of the bike.
amitg79 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd November 2017, 14:20   #87

gaaaah, am about to buy a T120. Like in December itself.
Old 2nd November 2017, 15:00   #88

Then wait for a few days and see if it gets launched here?

It should be a brilliant bike. Retro looks, but a naked sports bike under the skin.
Old 2nd November 2017, 16:19   #89

This bike is incomparable considering the inline 4 engine itself. Oreen, dont buy the triumph without test riding this bike...
Old 2nd November 2017, 17:05   #90

Didn't you have the ER6N? Atleast test ride the current Z900, the engine characteristic should be closer to the Z900 RS. I have test ridden the old gen Bonneville, there is no comparison, unless ofcourse your requirement is different. Happy shopping.