Old 23rd February 2018, 20:10   #151
v12

re: Kawasaki Z900 RS (W800 replacement), now launched at 16.47 lakhs

Originally Posted by quickdraw View Post
Please find attached import price and price with duties data for some popular motorcycles. You will get an idea to what extent we are getting ripped off from the likes of Kawasaki and Ducati.
I did some analysis based on some useful data shared by Quickdraw in the above post.

Kawasaki India is indeed using the best of the Free Trade agreement between India and Thailand to give us bikes at the best prices. The duty being charged for Kawasaki Z900 imported from Thailand is 31% - whereas the duty charged for Germany (BMW), Italy (Aprilia), USA (Harley) and Japan (Yamaha) is around 132%.

I have also attached the Ex-Showroom price of the bikes as per Bikewale. Can someone please explain what the difference between the Value+Duty & Ex-Showroom price constitute (any other tax, duty etc)

Kawasaki Z900 RS (W800 replacement), now launched at 16.47 lakhs-all-import.png

However, since the Z900RS is being imported from Japan, it will attract a 132% duty - which means if I take an estimate import price of Rs 500,000 for the Z900RS - the value + duty should come upto Rs 11,60,000.

Kawasaki Z900 RS (W800 replacement), now launched at 16.47 lakhs-z900-rs-japna.png
v12 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th February 2018, 10:16   #152

Surely expensive especially considering the product it is based upon is competitively priced. Kawasaki is probably making this look like a lifestyle vehicle for people with a penchant for retro design language.
Old 24th February 2018, 11:57   #153

The pricing is beyond insane! You can get a BMW R nineT Scrambler at this price!
timuseravan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 24th February 2018, 14:45   #154

It's almost like they have odd even strategy for pricing! Launches with even number get VFM, while odd ones get over the top asking price 50% more expensive than an Z1000?

Hope they launch 600cc supersports with VFM price next
giri1.8 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th February 2018, 15:31   #155

Originally Posted by v12 View Post
The duty being charged for Kawasaki Z900 imported from Thailand is 31% - whereas the duty charged for Germany (BMW), Italy (Aprilia), USA (Harley) and Japan (Yamaha) is around 132%.
What about the recent reduction of import duties to 50%? Isnt it applicable to Japan as well?

Originally Posted by giri1.8 View Post
Hope they launch 600cc supersports with VFM price next
Most probably it's the Ninja 400 next, and it'll be an odd one (out) again.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 24th February 2018 at 15:33.
Old 24th February 2018, 18:42   #156

Originally Posted by v12 View Post

Kawasaki India is indeed using the best of the Free Trade agreement between India and Thailand to give us bikes at the best prices. The duty being charged for Kawasaki Z900 imported from Thailand is 31% - whereas the duty charged for Germany (BMW), Italy (Aprilia), USA (Harley) and Japan (Yamaha) is around 132%.

Can someone please explain what the difference between the Value+Duty & Ex-Showroom price constitute (any other tax)
I guess the cost involved in assembling the CKD is the additional delta amount added to the Import cost+duty and that becomes the Ex-showroom price. There may be some other cost/tax added.

For the CKD import options from Thailand, the duty is either at 30% (for CKD kits having engine and gearbox internal parts coming in per-assembled form) or at 10% (for CKD kits having engine and gearbox internal parts not in ore-assembled form). Going by these import duty on these two CKD options, Z900 CKD import duty seems to be in sync. For T100, the import duty seems to be at 44% and that is not in sync with the prescribed import duty. Any reason for this ?
Old 25th February 2018, 17:43   #157

This pricing is insane! I had finally decided on the RS over the Bonnie t120 for it's 4 cylinders and retro styling. Looks like I"m going back to the Triumph dream. Or maybe get yet another Enfield -the 650.

It's really difficult to understand. the Ninja 1000 for 10 lacs was really good pricing. The RS should have been in between the regular z900 and the Ninja 1000. About 9-9.5 Lacs ex showroom.

Looks like they killed a great product in India. What a pity.
Puffdamgcdragon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th February 2018, 11:47   #158

Kawi could have taken some more time to figure out the best possible route to get the bike to India. As the bike is based on z900 which is one of the best value for money in India, am not sure why the 900RS variant could not be close-by. Opportunity missed as India seems like emerging market for modern classics. :(
nasirkaka is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th February 2018, 12:26   #159

Originally Posted by nasirkaka View Post
Kawi could have taken some more time to figure out the best possible route to get the bike to India.
I think they are just testing waters. They will definitely bring it CKD down the line, if you can wait. This will be a great city bike, otherwise for touring and wind protection, and for people looking for bulletproof alternatives, I think the value offered by Ninja 1000 is still unparalleled. That is so much more bike for the price.

Cheers...
dkaile is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th February 2018, 18:37   #160

This is just insane pricing, did not expect this from Kawasaki. After such brilliant pricing for the Ninja/Z 650, Z900 and Ninja 1000 this comes across and absolutely foolish. As far as I am concerned this is DoA.
I was hoping that it would be priced closed to Z900 on which this 900RS is based on.. but sigh!!
Old 26th February 2018, 19:00   #161

Originally Posted by dkaile View Post
I think the value offered by Ninja 1000 is still unparalleled. That is so much more bike for the price.

Cheers...
Which was the case even if Z900RS was launched at 8.5L also. People who want value would have defenitely picked the Ninja. 900RS had a different audience.

At this price - I would be surprised if I spot even a single bike on the road.
Old 27th February 2018, 18:00   #162
NIP

Killed at birth!! Another bike I dreamed of owning and shot through the heart! Even if they offer discounts at a later point, this will be a stillborn! Way to go Kawasaki India!!
Old 28th February 2018, 10:25   #163

I echo the same feelings as everyone on this pricing. Kawasaki made a mistake of bringing it in India at such a ridiculous pricing. It has all the trappings of a great bike and would have been a runaway success if it was priced < 10 lakhs.

IMO, Z900RS seems like a modern and much improved version of the legendary Bonneville

As a matter of fact, this pricing is almost like dissuading people not to buy it which is against their policy of selling this bike in the first place. So should we take an action against them for this atrocity?

I would have loved to own this as a "second" bike to be added to an ADV category which personally for me is an irreplaceable category
Old 2nd April 2018, 12:38   #164

They've managed to sell one. The first one, thanks to Kawasaki Mangaluru -

Congratulations Mr lobo on your country's 1st and only Z900RS. Welcome to Kawasaki family, At this occasion we happened to have a @bikewithgirl with us to celebrate the delivery of the bike.

Kawasaki Z900 RS (W800 replacement), now launched at 16.47 lakhs-29541689_357023634815628_5453530329053448720_n.jpg

Kawasaki Z900 RS (W800 replacement), now launched at 16.47 lakhs-29060042_357103848140940_5280032884393441004_o.jpg

Kawasaki Z900 RS (W800 replacement), now launched at 16.47 lakhs-29355055_357103821474276_8102974274281790813_o.jpg

Kawasaki Z900 RS (W800 replacement), now launched at 16.47 lakhs-29351532_357103898140935_5333853089658240125_o.jpg

Source -
https://www.facebook.com/kawasakimangalore/
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 6th May 2018, 14:52   #165

Originally Posted by timuseravan View Post
The pricing is beyond insane! You can get a BMW R nineT Scrambler at this price!
The RNineT scrambler is around 20L. I really like the bike but the pricing was just too high. I just stumbled on this thread while searching for alternatives to the RNineT.
My main requirement was a retro looker. I started looking at the Bonnieville and then the Ducati Scrambler. But these 2 are no match for the RNineT and the Z900RS.
Till the pricing was announced there was not a single negative comment about the Z900RS. However if I had seen the thread then and commented, it would be about the exhaust. I think the 4x1 exhaust ruins the otherwise perfect looks. They could have gone with quad pipes (2 each side) or dual 2x1's (1 each side).