Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 11th October 2021, 09:20   #196

re: Kawasaki Z900 RS (W800 replacement), now launched at 16.47 lakhs

@SnS_12

In the UK, Z900RS costs £10,649 while the Street Triple RS costs £10,700. Both are priced almost the same.

Thereby, an ideal price of the Z900 RS here should be around 11-11.5l ex-showroom.

The Z900 RS SE costs £12,499 in the UK (+ £1850). Thus an ex-showroom of 13-14l for Z900 RS SE could be fair.

Coming to the previous pricing of Z900 RS in India, perhaps Kawasaki was in an illusion that the per capita income of India is more than that of the United Kingdom.

Hope they price it fairly this time around (it was discontinued during transition to BS6). Also, would be good if they could offer all 3 variants in India:
1. Z900 SE
2. Z900 RS
3. Z900 RS SE

Last edited by GoBlue : 11th October 2021 at 09:22.
GoBlue is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2022, 13:56   #197

Does anybody know if Kawi are planning to bring back the Z900RS? They had discontinued it due to the BS6 shift (or due to the attrocious price which attracted nobody).

If its still a CBU from Japan, then I suppose it will be more than 15.3L ex which Kawasaki charged last time. Unless Kawi surprises everyone with a CKD.
loki is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2022, 20:53   #198

Z900RS (and it’s variants) are manufactured exclusively in Japan.

There is nothing special about this motorcycle that it cannot be re-launched as a CBU.

The only problem - market acceptance of the pricing. It was a flop back then, and it would be a flop if it were to be re-launched at a 16.5-17L sticker price.

This could be why Kawasaki may not be interested in launching it here.
GoBlue is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 27th September 2022, 10:34   #199

Originally Posted by loki View Post
Does anybody know if Kawi are planning to bring back the Z900RS? They had discontinued it due to the BS6 shift (or due to the attrocious price which attracted nobody).

If its still a CBU from Japan, then I suppose it will be more than 15.3L ex which Kawasaki charged last time. Unless Kawi surprises everyone with a CKD.
Any updates on this? At a slight premium over the Z900, this could be a very desirable machine - not at that obnoxious previous price
dinu2506 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th October 2022, 14:59   #200

Originally Posted by dinu2506 View Post
Any updates on this? At a slight premium over the Z900, this could be a very desirable machine - not at that obnoxious previous price
+1

Indeed was just wondering exactly the same and hence did a search and landed up on this thread. Wondering whether they’ll bring it in in place of the w800 which they’re clearing. But 15L is insane pricing fo sho!
Old 14th March 2023, 16:22   #201

Well it’s been launched. And at 16.5L ex showroom, it is utterly BONKERS!!! I mean, what are Kawasaki smoking?!

Kawasaki Z900 RS (W800 replacement), now launched at 16.47 lakhs-46e9fa60fb6641f4ae938dadc24ef086.jpeg

Kawasaki Z900 RS (W800 replacement), now launched at 16.47 lakhs-75c31ecc106f425386d5e6c08d2245f4.jpeg
RT13 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 14th March 2023, 18:22   #202

There is hardly anything extraordinary about this bike for this pricing to be justified.

Kawasaki seem to be milking this model for margins.

Parallel-twin engine?!?

Last edited by GoBlue : 14th March 2023 at 18:26.
Old 14th March 2023, 19:47   #203

Originally Posted by GoBlue View Post

Parallel-twin engine?!?
Overdrive made a mistake. Kawasaki doesn't have a parallel twin 948cc engine. It's the Z900 engine In a lower state of tune for more low and mid range grunt at the expense of top end performance.

Guess Kawasaki didn't learn it's lessons the last time. Can't imagine anyone interested in a less powerful Z900 for a massive additional asking price.
bf1983 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th March 2023, 20:05   #204

Nearly 20 lakhs for this monstrosity? Nobody would buy it, Kawi would end up taking it off the website in 3 months.
Old 14th March 2023, 20:43   #205

Originally Posted by RT13 View Post
Well it’s been launched. And at 16.5L ex showroom, it is utterly BONKERS!!! I mean, what are Kawasaki smoking?!

Attachment 2428934

Attachment 2428935
RIP, dear Z900RS. What a joke. A premium of around 50K over the Z900 would have been palpable. This is insane and I don't think this is going to sell at all. Had a thought of replacing my 2015 Bonneville with this, but my decision is now easy. Thanks Kawa
dinu2506 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th March 2023, 21:01   #206

RIP, dear Z900RS. What a joke. A premium of around 50K over the Z900 would have been palpable. This is insane and I don't think this is going to sell at all. Had a thought of replacing my 2015 Bonneville with this, but my decision is now easy. Thanks Kawa
Ok I’d even accept up to 2L (on road) of a premium because this is one of the models that’s actually built in Japan and I can believe people would be willing to pay for that, particularly given the Z900 is ridiculously well priced when you consider it’s an inline 4 that’s nearly litre class and when you look at just about everyone else on the market. If anything one could perhaps argue that it’s under priced. But 16.5 for this is just downright mental.

Btw, given the way prices are soaring you should probably just hold on to the Bonnie. And if you do get bored of it, hit me up and let me know as I’ve been window shopping for a decent Bonnie

Parallel-twin engine?!?
That’s an error. Had me taken aback too for a second. Should’ve clarified in my post. It’s the Z900 in a different avatar.
Old 15th March 2023, 00:48   #207

There is hardly anything extraordinary about this bike for this pricing to be justified.

Parallel-twin engine?!?
CBU pricing GoBlue, built in Japan and in line four engine. Seen one on the road in Mumbai, was looking really, really good, but 20 lacs, no way.

Cyborg is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th March 2023, 08:52   #208

Originally Posted by RT13 View Post
Btw, given the way prices are soaring you should probably just hold on to the Bonnie. And if you do get bored of it, hit me up and let me know as I’ve been window shopping for a decent Bonnie
Thanks. Truth be told, even if this came in at a palatable price, I still might have retained the Bonnie. 7.5 years on, it still tugs the heart. One of the last no-fuss, straight-forward, forgiving (I mean less electronics) air-cooled classics.

Will watch the space for the Street Triple R pricing now
dinu2506 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th March 2023, 13:05   #209

Knew this will happen. Hence took the plunge and picked up the Suzuki Katana a couple of months ago (which is now looking decently priced despite being a CBU).

But i guess, there will definitely be discounts on the Z900RS during the end of the year - which might be a good time to pick it up.
loki is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th March 2023, 14:18   #210

One of the last no-fuss, straight-forward, forgiving (I mean less electronics) air-cooled classics.
Indeed it is (a classic)! And with every passing day, simplicity holds greater and greater attraction to me. Electronics have their place but automobiles are rapidly transforming into gizmos and, to me, are losing their charm with it. Guess the child of the eighties in me shows Savour every minute with it! Cheers,
RT13 is offline   (1) Thanks