Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 1st February 2019, 15:32   #16

Re: 2018 Kawasaki Versys 650 launched at Rs. 6.50 lakhs

Originally Posted by ani_meher View Post
Wasn't this 2019 Versys 650 supposed to be a new design? Or is it now expected from 2020 version?
There will be a new design only if launched in EICMA. Only the V1000 has been redesigned. I guess the V650 will follow suit by 2020/2021 EICMA.

I also think the V650 might be heavily redesigned/re engineered to compete better in the travel enduro segment and replace the KLR 650. Else they might place two bikes there, which doesn't make much sense.

However, the Versys brand for the 650 series has a superb fan following and purchase power around the world, so I don't think that name will be going away any time soon.

One bike that straddles both the KLR and the Versys monicker and take the game to the Yammie T7/KTM 790 ADV/750GS?

Wonder what's brewing in the green cafe. Whatever it is, I do know that Kawi will bring it to India as soon as it is launched for sure.
Old 1st February 2019, 18:57   #17

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
One bike that straddles both the KLR and the Versys monicker and take the game to the KTM 790 ADV/750GS?
Versys 650 is a great bike but no way is it a comparison against BMW 750 / KTM 790 / Tiger 800 / Multi 950. They are a class above in both features & performance.
Old 1st February 2019, 19:00   #18

Originally Posted by ethanhunt123 View Post
Versys 650 is a great bike but no way is it a comparison against BMW 750 / KTM 790 / Tiger 800 / Multi 950. They are a class above in both features & performance.
Arre bhai, read my second para in full. There are words like heavily redesigned re engineered etc. I don't think kawasaki, zuki, and honda will be far behind since yamaha has made its first move against the europeans.

The tiger is too old in that category. Pretty much a dino.
Old 1st February 2019, 19:21   #19

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
Arre bhai, read my second para in full. There are words like heavily redesigned re engineered etc. I don't think kawasaki, zuki, and honda will be far behind since yamaha has made its first move against the europeans.

The tiger is too old in that category. Pretty much a dino.
I did - whatever Kawa does to the rest of the bike - it cannot compete with the bigger boys (KTM / BMW / Tiger) until it has the same 650cc parallel twin engine.

Besides Yamaha/Kawa dont even move a lot of their bigger ADVs compared to the European big boys.
ethanhunt123 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st February 2019, 20:26   #20

Originally Posted by ethanhunt123 View Post
I did - whatever Kawa does to the rest of the bike - it cannot compete with the bigger boys (KTM / BMW / Tiger) until it has the same 650cc parallel twin engine.

Besides Yamaha/Kawa dont even move a lot of their bigger ADVs compared to the European big boys.
I expect the yamaha t7 tenere to put a good dent in that pie... When it launches

The japs have missed a sign or two, but i expect them to get to the party sooner rather than later. Let's see where all this goes in the next few years.