Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 1st January 2007, 15:23   #1

yamaha R1

Can anbody guide me in getting a Yamaha R1?I am from bangalore and am interested to buy it...wat is the approx cost to get it?
Old 1st January 2007, 15:42   #2

Try contacting BHPians Ice Mari and Scarlet. They deal with Yamaha R1s and R6s respectively.
Old 1st January 2007, 17:27   #3

Originally Posted by raghuram.cg View Post
Can anbody guide me in getting a Yamaha R1?I am from bangalore and am interested to buy it...wat is the approx cost to get it?

just adveritse in paper + auto mags , wont cost you more than 3K in all and may help a lot in getting a good bargain !
Old 1st January 2007, 17:47   #4

U can speak to Joe (Joes racing) - he is one of the biggest in South India. If you want his number, send me a mail at bunnypunia@gmail.com (cant type in his number here for obvious reasons)

A brand new 2007 Zero milage R1 should set you back by around 9-9.5 lakhs
Old 1st January 2007, 19:27   #5

I have a friend who can get u a good deal.pm me if u want his no.
Old 3rd January 2007, 17:16   #6

Thanks for the info guys...i heard someone saying 9L for a new one??? i check the actual cost of it is around 4L by Yamaha....9L is tooo much...Can i get a second hand one for aroound 3-4L good condition
Old 3rd January 2007, 18:20   #7

Thanks for the info guys...i heard someone saying 9L for a new one??? i check the actual cost of it is around 4L by Yamaha....9L is tooo much...Can i get a second hand one for aroound 3-4L good condition

second hand at 3-4l ???? which year one? For R1's you need to stretch your budget to get a nice piece.
Old 3rd January 2007, 18:55   #8

i heard someone saying 9L for a new one??? i check the actual cost of it is around 4L by Yamaha....9L is tooo much...
You are right. The bike costs about 4.5 - 5 lakhs on actual Indian currency conversion. Close to about USD 12000. But many import duties and other costs get added to the actual price by the time it reaches your hands. Superbikes sales in India are mostly handled by the grey market. Try your luck with the company directly or through a known person in countries like Singapore, Malaysia etc. If no luck, all the best with the grey market.
Old 3rd January 2007, 19:37   #9

I have a friend of mine who is selling his new R1, but he is from delhi and he bought the new bike,,, if u want his no. message me
Wadhwa Ajay
Old 3rd January 2007, 22:53   #10

i check the actual cost of it is around 4L by Yamaha....9L is tooo much...
Welcome to Superbikes in India!
Old 5th January 2007, 12:24   #11

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Welcome to Superbikes in India!
hey nitrous i second that
Old 5th January 2007, 12:53   #12

Hmmmm.....are there any chances of Superbikes Officially coming to india in the near future. I d rather wait for that.... i will be a fool if am ready to pay twice as much for the bike...
Old 5th January 2007, 13:19   #13

Hmmmm.....are there any chances of Superbikes Officially coming to india in the near future. I d rather wait for that.... i will be a fool if am ready to pay twice as much for the bike...
wait till 2008 for sbk's by yamaha.

or get indian super bike rd350 or p220!
Old 6th January 2007, 00:56   #14

Yeah, if u want it for 4L, u've gotta go and live in the US
Even a R1 in bad condition would cost u more than 4.
R1s were launched around 98 and even that model would cost u around 4.5-5 depending on the condition.

Even if they do come, it's not gonna be in the near future.
And even then, it would still cost u more than 9 as they're not gonna be built here but brought as CBUs.
Old 6th January 2007, 07:41   #15

after all this, are you still thinking about R1?

agreed JK ( about your RD 350 or P 220 )

Cheers !