Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 16th November 2018, 20:18   #16

re: EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs

Originally Posted by ethanhunt123 View Post
@Crazy Driver - S1000XR is a beast of a machine. If only BMW Bangalore had one for Test ride - i may have bought that instead.
Bangalore doesn't have it, but they were supposed to order one recently - not sure if they did.

Cochin dealership has a TD bike. Never bothered to take a TD because even in my daydreams i can't afford it.

But having said that - there is a reason why most touring bikes are Twins or Triples (Triumph) - low end torque.
Not my experience with N1000 and the old V1000. That motor just starts pulling from low down. Didn't face any low end struggle even in slow speed run.

Ofcourse, i understand your point. Z900 had little bit of lag and ZX10R had a LOT of lag before they started going crazy.

BTW calling V1000 sporty is a long long stretch !!
Never did. 'Sporty' was only with reference to the inline4. V1000 is a sofa, that's the exact one word I would use for it.
Old 19th November 2018, 19:44   #17

re: EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs

Versys 1000 to be made available in pearl stardust white on customer demand

19th Nov 2018 India Kawasaki Motors would like to inform all the stakeholders that the Versys 1000 MY2020 will be made available in pearl stardust white colour instead of candy steel furnace orange. On 16th November 2018, the Versys 1000 MY2020 was launched in candy steel furnace orange colour with pre-booking facility.

Speaking on the change in availability colour, Mr. Yutaka Yamashita, Managing Director of India Kawasaki Motors Pvt. Ltd., said, “After launching the new Versys 1000, we received demands from customers for pearl stardust white colour. As for India Kawasaki, fulfilling customers’ demands is paramount. Therefore, we made a decision of changing the colour from orange to white. In future, we will decide on brining the Versys 1000 in orange.”

The pre-booking facility has been made available on Versys 1000, which will be open till 31st December 2018. For more details about product and booking details, customers are advised to get in touch with the nearest dealership.
https://www.kawasaki-india.com/versy...stomer-demand/

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 19th November 2018 at 19:46.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th November 2018, 19:53   #18

That should be a nice colour, though I am not sure if this is due to customers feedback or were there some other reasons. They are yet to give any other colour apart from green on the 650 despite so many guys asking other colours.

Coming to the bike, do you really think they will be able to price it at 12 lac ex-showroom given the costs of existing 1000 and the way they increased prices in US market? Will this be competing with the new 1250 RT in foreign markets?
Old 19th November 2018, 22:12   #19

Coming to the bike, do you really think they will be able to price it at 12 lac ex-showroom given the costs of existing 1000 and the way they increased prices in US market? Will this be competing with the new 1250 RT in foreign markets?
11 or 12 Lacs ex-showroom is for standard version of Versys 1000. SE LT+ version is the one which costs 5000 dollars more in USA. Apparently they are not launching the same here in India. I personally feel Black/Grey version would have been more apt.

Last edited by Vasuki : 19th November 2018 at 22:17.
Vasuki is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th November 2018, 09:50   #20

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
For the biggest elephant in the room: Inline four.
They're watching every word you say -

Name:  Screenshot 20181120 at 9.36.24 AM.png
Views: 1580
Size:  353.5 KB

That should be a nice colour, though I am not sure if this is due to customers feedback or were there some other reasons. They are yet to give any other colour apart from green on the 650 despite so many guys asking other colours.
As per the discussions in Bangalore groups - heard there were interests expressed by some groups with the colour being their main issue. Not sure if it has something to do with it. Rather than customer demand for the white, I guess it was lack of customer interest in Orange.

Personally, the new front end in Orange reminds me of Tweety, the cartoon bird.

OT: V650 doesn't come in green anymore. Its this grey (Much lighter the original dark grey / black combo)

EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs-19my_versys650_shot2.jpg

As mentioned in the above post, what we are getting is the standard version, not the SE LT+ which is feature loaded. With the Ninja 1000 priced at 9.99L, V1k will be a hard sell above 12L ex-showroom for sure - even the Versys is more of a sports tourer only!
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th November 2018, 12:46   #21

https://www.kawasaki-india.com/versy...stomer-demand/
Kawasaki finally heard you - when are you booking the bike now

PS: Now if only kawasaki hears the feedback on launching the fully loaded SE LT+ as well and price matches with Tiger XrX
Old 20th November 2018, 13:00   #22

Kawasaki finally heard you - when are you booking the bike now
What sir, joking! Can't even afford the booking amount now!

PS: Now if only kawasaki hears the feedback on launching the fully loaded SE LT+ as well and price matches with Tiger XrX
IMO - XrX is not a right match. It sits somewhere between the Versys 650 and 1000 in most respects - be it displacement, power, road presence or equipment. But yes - in terms of getting some sales, that would be just about the right price for the SE LT+

However, as per US prices - I expect an ex-showroom price of 14.5L ex-showroom instead. Would i buy it for that price? Not really, unless the active electronic suspension gets brilliant reviews, worth that big extra price tag.

Ideal competition product wise for the V1k would be the new Multistrada 950 with its Skyhook active suspension. Matches more aspects at par IMO - except the Ducati brand and styling which can carry its own premium.
Old 23rd November 2018, 07:18   #23

Haven't tried the Multi 950, but i would pick the V1000 over any other bike for two reasons - 1. Japanese sofa on two wheels and 2. Inline4.

PS - I'm no offroader!

PPS - Am i claiming it to be the best bike for me? Nopes. If budget was no constraints at all, I would liked an S1000XR. Same format once again - sporty inline4 in a tourer body. That would be 'my' ultimate dream machine.

Only if I had spoken to you when I was finalising one. Every single Tiger, Ducati, Vstrom owner out there asked me to stay away from the V1000. I wish I had listened to my heart and gotten the bike then. You and I think alike: Jap sofa, only in-line 4 and no offroading were the USPs that made it attractive back then.

People however said it’s heavy, not so great in handling, buzzy, etc which made me look away. Once my Z800 is sold, I’ll surely contemplate between a VStrom 1000 and the Versys 1000. Hope they launch the SE+ variant.
moralfibre is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2018, 15:19   #24

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
People however said it’s heavy, not so great in handling, buzzy, etc which made me look away. Once my Z800 is sold, I’ll surely contemplate between a VStrom 1000 and the Versys 1000. Hope they launch the SE+ variant.
Still true about this bike - Heavy (250kg+), not great handling & standard version is stripped down. But yeah - if you want a inline-4 ADV - its the only option below S1000XR
ethanhunt123 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th November 2018, 23:15   #25

Mods :: This was posted here because there was some comments on 1000XR & mutlistrada in this thread.

Bangalore doesn't have it, but they were supposed to order one recently - not sure if they did.

Cochin dealership has a TD bike. Never bothered to take a TD because even in my daydreams i can't afford it.

Never did. 'Sporty' was only with reference to the inline4. V1000 is a sofa, that's the exact one word I would use for it.

Still true about this bike - Heavy (250kg+), not great handling & standard version is stripped down. But yeah - if you want a inline-4 ADV - its the only option below S1000XR

I am seriously contemplating an upgrade towards tourer bikes. Currently using a Kawasaki Z800.

So did the test drive of Kawasaki Ninja 1000, Ducati Multistrada 1200S(they didn't have a TD 1260S) and BMW 1000XR . Kawasaki bought Ninja 1000 to my home, almost 100 km from the showroom. Took the TD of 1200S and 1000XR at their respective showrooms at Kochi.

Thanks Crazy Driver for mentioning 1000XR, never had that in mind, always knew about BMW 1200GS but was really ignorant of 1000XR.

Acceleration

Personally felt 1200S accelerates much faster, there is an initial lag in BMW 1000XR.

Although I rode 1200S in touring mode, the front just lifts off when we twist the throttle north. The sales manager told me you should have tried the sports mode to experience a real wheelie.

It doesn't mean 1000XR is any slouch, but felt 1200S is much aggressive. But as per experts, 0 to 100 speed run in's tells a totally different story.

Brakes

We can safely say 1000XR is the best out of the lot, it sheds the speed so fast, you need to experience it first hand to see the magic bite.

1200S is also very good, after all it has brembo.

Didn't find that much difference between Ninja 1000 and Z800. They cannot be compared with 1000XR & 1200S

What to say, the sales manager at BMW specifically cautioned me about of 1000XR's braking abilities. He told me this has the best braking across the tourer lot.

Handling

With Z800 and Ninja 1000 we have to plan a lot while taking a U turn.

Found 1200S fairly easy to handle. 1200S feels like a baby when coming from Z800.

1000XR too is a good handler, but 1200S is much easier to turn. I may be foolish, but 1200S felt like a Hero splendour at slow speeds.

Headlights

Ninja 1000 has excellent head lights. Have driven it in night,under overcast rainy conditions, it is very good when compared to pathetic Z800.

Was not able to ride 1000XR and 1200S during the night.

Have heard 1200S has excellent headlights.

Sound

Ninja 1000 is an inline 4, so for me coming from Z800 it sounds good. I'm really not a fan of loud exhaust and really hates it.

Now don't kick me, felt the 1200S sound like an auto, and that too a diesel one.

1000XR is the loudest out here. It can really Snarl. Don't know whether I will really enjoy a prolonged usage.

1000XR has quickshifter. This is the first time, I'm experiencing a quickshifter. Man it is really a joy to use. Once you experience this, you'll never want a bike without quickshifter. Also must say it never hesitated in both going up and down across all rpm. I tired it in both low and high rpm. The BMW sales manager told me it works best above 3000 rpm.But i did not find any issues in lower rpm too.

A personnel at ducati told me there is no need for quickshifter in an adventure tourer bike, basically no need to go for 1260S. He was saying even a 1200 or an old 950 is more than enough. I would happily beg to differ. And it seems ducati has started providing quickshifter in all its new MY 2019 models.

It is said Ducati has improved quite a lot in 1260S, ethanhunt123 can comment on that better

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
You and I think alike: Jap sofa, only in-line 4 and no offroading were the USPs that made it attractive back then.

Now I'm waiting to get my hand on the Japanese sofa.. As per the showroom guys, launch of SE LT+ variant is remote.

Last edited by Vasuki : 24th November 2018 at 23:29.
Vasuki is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th November 2018, 23:43   #26

Originally Posted by Vasuki View Post
Now don't kick me, felt the 1200S sound like an auto, and that too a diesel one.

It is said Ducati has improved quite a lot in 1260S, ethanhunt123 can comment on that better
Diesel auto? He should already be on his way to your home.

Btw : I'm told that there is one more lesser known gem in the BMW stable - R1200 RS. And i had never even heard of it till last month.

Check this post -

https://www.instagram.com/p/BpFIrtiB...d=amir1wglmtiq

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 24th November 2018 at 23:57.
Old 25th November 2018, 20:48   #27

Anyone knows contacts for a hitman ?

Jokes aside - Ducati exhaust notes can be quite "different" for someone used to a inline-4. Put a nice Termi/Akra on it though and it sounds really sweet.

1260s vs 1200s - The biggest difference is engine, 1200S used to have a dip in torque curve after 4-5k rpm which has been taken away in 1260S. Result is this constant surge of torque from 3.5k rpm which fights to keep your front tire in the air ! Also - 1260S has both up-down quickshifter as standard like XR. Once you get used to it - its so convenient and enjoyable as you said. The Ducati rep is probably trying to get rid of old 1200S stock - 1260S is superior to it in every aspect.

I am surprised with your braking comment though - Multi 1200S/1260S have the top of the line Brembo M50 monoblocks which are best in the business. The bike just stops when you tell it to - super confidence inspiring.

Btw : I'm told that there is one more lesser known gem in the BMW stable - R1200 RS. And i had never even heard of it till last month.

Check this post -

R1200RS is a hidden bike because its totally outclassed by its siblings - S1000XR if you want a sporty ride and R1200GS if you want to have go-anywhere chops.
ethanhunt123 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th November 2018, 17:50   #28

One more point while comparing Ninja 1000, Multistrada 1200 & 1000XR.

Seats

Multistrada wins hands down when compared to 1000XR, it is better cushioned. We sit much lower too. Both have relaxed position.

Ninja 1000 seats are much better than Z800, but the seating/riding position is still aggressive compared to the above two. It still cause strain on hands.

Check this post -

It seems he is contemplating on giving a QUOTATION

Regarding BMW 1200RS like Ninja 1000, I feel the ground clearance would be an issue. I'm not saying offloading per se.

Anyone knows contacts for a hitman ?

Jokes aside - Ducati exhaust notes can be quite "different" for someone used to a inline-4. Put a nice Termi/Akra on it though and it sounds really sweet.

1260s vs 1200s - The biggest difference is engine, 1200S used to have a dip in torque curve after 4-5k rpm which has been taken away in 1260S. Result is this constant surge of torque from 3.5k rpm which fights to keep your front tire in the air ! Also - 1260S has both up-down quickshifter as standard like XR. Once you get used to it - its so convenient and enjoyable as you said. The Ducati rep is probably trying to get rid of old 1200S stock - 1260S is superior to it in every aspect.

I am surprised with your braking comment though - Multi 1200S/1260S have the top of the line Brembo M50 monoblocks which are best in the business. The bike just stops when you tell it to - super confidence inspiring.

R1200RS is a hidden bike because its totally outclassed by its siblings - S1000XR if you want a sporty ride and R1200GS if you want to have go-anywhere chops.
I fell in love with the italian, only if it would sound better in stock condition itself. Sigh..

I'm not complaining about the brakes, only saying 1000XR has better feel and bite.

Various reviews have mentioned a concern on the Multistrada's quickshifter, particularly during the down shifts. Is it so? How do you find it?

My query to you and Sujai, Why did you quote in earlier posts that you would prefer 1000XR over Multistrada?

XR has dated LCD panel, seats are not perfect, missing LED's, no cornering lights, not key-less, costs nearly 3 lakhs more on road.

Last edited by Vasuki : 26th November 2018 at 17:53.
Old 26th November 2018, 18:24   #29

My query to you and Sujai, Why did you quote in earlier posts that you would prefer 1000XR over Multistrada?
Just the ever present Indian itch to own an inline4 at some point, combined with my love for comfort - But I haven't tried the XR till date.

So my comments are neither technically sound nor authoritative - just what 'I' would want in a future bike.
Old 28th December 2018, 18:59   #30

This pic from Thailand gives a good perspective on how the new Versys 1000 will look in our conditions.

PS: Ignore the custom engine guard.

EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs-img20181228wa0029.jpg