Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 12th February 2019, 13:41   #31

re: EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs

Versys 1000 priced at 10,69,000 Rs ex showroom as per their website
Old 12th February 2019, 13:44   #32

re: EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs

Versys 1000 launched @ 10.69 lakhs

Kawasaki India reveals price of the Versys 1000

12th Feb 2019 India’s largest premium motorcycle manufacturer Kawasaki announces the price of Versys 1000. Popularly known as “any road, any time”, the Versys 1000, available in pearl flat stardust white/metallic flat spark black colour, will be sold at Rs. 10,69,000 (Ex-Showroom, Delhi).

Kawasaki’s Rideology philosophy focuses on rider-centric development of legendary machines. This philosophy is visible in the Versys 1000, a crossover sport model of Ninja 1000, which has engine and chassis designed to maximise riding enjoyment on the street. And to offer sporty riding experience with even greater confidence, new Kawasaki’s top-level electronic rider support, which includes Kawasaki Traction Control (KTRC), Electronic Cruise Control, and Kawasaki Cornering Management Function (KCMF) etc. plays a pivotal role.

Mr. Naoki Matsumoto, Managing Director – India Kawasaki Motors Pvt. Ltd., commented, “The bespoke Versys 1000 has a style of adventure model, but it is most suited for sport riding and long touring. Technically, it is a crossover from the Ninja 1000 with a purpose of thrilling performance with everyday versatility. I hope our customers explore endless possibilities with the Versys 1000. ”

While the cruise control in the Versys 1000 is ideal for long touring, a highly comfortable seat and good wind protection complement the relaxed riding position which also make it easy to spend a long time in the saddle. Windscreen height can be easily adjusted from the rider’s seat for comfortable highway cruising. Besides, tyres selected for their road sports potential offer superb cornering performance for more fun in the hills, great high-speed stability, and a strong on-road image to go with the Versys 1000’s sporty character.

The “all day, every day” Versys 1000 is manufactured in Kawasaki India’s factory situated in Chakan, Pune. Customers who booked the Versys 1000 during pre-booking period can expect the delivery of their motorcycle from March 2019 onwards. New interested buyers can contact their nearest Kawasaki dealer for booking related information or can also send a booking enquiry from the website of India Kawasaki Motors.

Vehicle Features at glance:
  • Exciting In-Line Four Engine, based on Ninja 1000, with strong torque at all rpm (especially in the low-mid range),
  • Aluminium twin-tube frame
  • Suspension: Updated front and rear suspension settings contribute to plusher feeling suspension.
  • Radial-Mount Front Brake Calipers
  • Twin LED Headlamps
  • Adjustable Windscreen
  • Handy power source (DC socket for accessory)
  • High-Class Instrumentation

Notable features in Electronic
  • Electronic Throttle Valves
  • Kawasaki Cornering Management Functions (KCMF)
  • Kawasaki Traction Control (KTRC)
  • Kawasaki Intelligent anti-lock Brake System (KIBS)
  • Electronic Cruise Control
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 12th February 2019, 15:15   #33

Re: EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs

Versys 1000 launched @ 10.69 lakhs
Looks competitive price. So how does it compete with BMW globally? I guess smaller GS variants like 750/ 850 will be out of consideration for most folks?
Old 12th February 2019, 15:46   #34
//M

Re: EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs

This is incredible pricing by Kawasaki. I recall my Tiger 800 XR base variant had a 10.87L ex-showroom price when I bought it last year. The new Tiger 800 XR has an ex-showroom price of 12.12L in Pune. The Versys 1000 in comparison is from a higher segment, yet priced so aggressively. Well done Kawasaki !

The only fly in the ointment, and a big one at that, is the massive 255 kg weight of the Versys 1000. This sure would be intimidating for most folks.
//M is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th February 2019, 17:14   #35

Originally Posted by //M View Post
This is incredible pricing by Kawasaki. I recall my Tiger 800 XR base variant ha

The only fly in the ointment, and a big one at that, is the massive 255 kg weight of the Versys 1000. This sure would be intimidating for most folks.
I agree that the pricing is Incredible.

But frankly - kawasaki knows how to make the weight feel lot lesser than what it is. On my V650 even though its 212 Kgs, I never felt the weight to be that much. In fact the bike is very flickable. I am sure even the V1000 we mask the weight.
kailashnj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th February 2019, 09:20   #36

So how does it compete with BMW globally? I guess smaller GS variants like 750/ 850 will be out of consideration for most folks?
I personally wouldn't compare, except for the seating position. Versys 1000 is a sports tourer with an upright seating position, not an adventure motorcycle! I personally describe it as an 'inline4 sofa on two wheels'.

That said globally, the Versys 1000 goes up against the road version of the big litre class tourers and not the 800cc class. In India however - the pricing undercuts everything now.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th February 2019, 09:21   #37

The bike looks disproportionate, specially the rear. The 17 inch wheels are looking tiny in the images. And then the nose is borrowed from the Ninja 400 but it doesn't look good on this bike. Hopefully the bike will look good in flesh. In the images, it's just plain ugly.

Pricing wise, Kawasaki just kills it in the high end segment. Be it the Ninja 1000, ZX6R, ZX10R or this Versys 1000, all are very well priced machines for what they offer.
Old 13th February 2019, 11:57   #38

Kawasaki India seems to be on the right track post their divorce from Bajaj. Their strategy seems to be reaping benefits going by their sales numbers as well. Going CKD to be competitive will surely increase footfall in their showrooms and promote cross shopping in their portfolio.

I wonder why they couldn't get the higher spec LE+ variant? Not that it would cost them much but the bike does have really interesting and usable features like the TFT console that connects to your smartphone. Self repairing paint and the semi automatic suspension in the rear. Add to that the omission of riding modes which is key for sport touring. Since the bikes come as CKD kits, it shouldn't have been difficult to offer an option.

EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs-vers3.jpg

EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs-vers2.jpg

EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs-vers1.jpg
moralfibre is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th February 2019, 12:21   #39

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
I wonder why they couldn't get the higher spec LE+ variant?
The bike shown in pictures is the India spec variant, and not the LE+.

The LE+ is about 40% more expensive compared to the normal version in the US market, with all those additional features. So I guess the ex-showroom price would have been closer to 15 lakhs, not that it is a bad deal at that price! (The old CBU one costed near this much anyways). However - I doubt if the Versys has that much purchasing power in the 15L market as compared to the Multistrada and the likes.

Going by Kawasaki's aggression though - we can expect it to arrive as a limited stock at some point. They are bringing almost their entire range to our market anyways.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th February 2019, 12:43   #40

The bike shown in pictures is the India spec variant, and not the LE+.
Yes I am aware. I should have captioned them because we didn't have clear studio shots of what has been launched yet

The LE+ is about 40% more expensive compared to the normal version in the US market, with all those additional features. So I guess the ex-showroom price would have been closer to 15 lakhs, not that it is a bad deal at that price! (The old CBU one costed near this much anyways). However - I doubt if the Versys has that much purchasing power in the 15L market as compared to the Multistrada and the likes.
I agree with the economics part of it. But, compare it with the H2 launch. They pretty much have the entire lineup which probably no one will buy.

EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs-ninjarange.png
moralfibre is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th February 2019, 12:54   #41

I am more interested in what these bikes will cost used 2 years down the line. 7-8 Lakhs or thereabouts? Makes for a great sweet used deal for anyone thinking about upgrading their car instead!

I am definitely keeping an eye out for the used market in a few years...plenty of such bikes should be around ready for the picking.
Red Liner is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th February 2019, 21:32   #42

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
I am more interested in what these bikes will cost used 2 years down the line. 7-8 Lakhs or thereabouts?
You stole my thought. Even 7 to 8 lakhs for these in the used market will be steal.
Old 14th February 2019, 03:32   #43

I have seen this bike in person and it is Massive. Loved the ergonomics and the seating is indeed like a sofa. I believe you could do many hundred kms without breaking a sweat.

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
I am more interested in what these bikes will cost used 2 years down the line. 7-8 Lakhs or thereabouts? Makes for a great sweet used deal for anyone thinking about upgrading their car instead!

I am definitely keeping an eye out for the used market in a few years...plenty of such bikes should be around ready for the picking.
I too am expecting the same, however Indian vehicle market still lacks the maturity as overseas like in UK or USA. I do not see this bike being priced at 7-8 lacs for a 2 year old. Maybe more around 10 lac mark if the on road price is at 13 lacs. Say, any person buying this bike will not being be willing to part away with 35-40% of its actual price in depreciation. We are not even considering the interest behind this as there is a high chance of the bike being on loan.
aghate is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th February 2019, 17:30   #44

Production starts in India -

EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs-img20190220wa0003.jpg

EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs-img20190220wa0004.jpg

Meanwhile, Mumbai dealer rolls out offers for Versys 650 owners -

EICMA 2018: Kawasaki unveils new MY2019 Versys 1000. Edit: Launched @10.69 lakhs-img20190218wa00702.jpg
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 20th February 2019, 21:15   #45

Meanwhile, Mumbai dealer rolls out offers for Versys 650 owners -

Very Sad offer .... almost 30% depreciation (once you add in road tax) for 1 yr old bike being offered. Wonder whether anyone will fall for this.
ethanhunt123 is offline   (1) Thanks