Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 8th October 2019, 12:02   #1

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?

If you are in the market to buy a Motorcycle for yourself in India, you really have a plethora of choices, ranging from SuperBikes, SportsBikes, Cruisers, Cafe Racers, Adventure Tourers, Off-road, cruisers, street/naked...

Though, there are few bikes which have not been launched in India and may make sense, at least to me, it appears so.

This thread isn't about what desirability, but a bit more about practicality and fun you can have on 2 wheels in India given our varied road infrastructure.

While there are gem of Motorcycles from various stables, I feel, we have a scope for few more. I haven't included off-road [MX] or extreme cruisers/Harleys, you may please add, if you feel so.

Yamaha

MT-03 Source

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-8700261b3019021001000.jpg

and MT-07.

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-psdlboxed640x480.jpg

Maybe MT-10 as well. The Tenere range? It should.

Will the Tracer range make sense, for tourers, for sure. And hardcore tourers will love the FJR series and the futuristic Niken.

And for looks, the XSR series, I love the way it looks. Source

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-xsr900black.jpg

Honda

While few will lap up the VFR 800 for its touring ability over good roads, I personally would lap up the CB-650F without a second thought.

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-hondacb650fslantrearviewfullimage669140.jpg

CB-500F can be a good alternative to something like the Z-400 or even the Z-250 [its been discontinued]

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-2019hondacb500fscene4.jpg

Kawasaki

N-400, but, IKM should try to price it below 4L OTR for places like Bangalore for it to make sense.

Name:  19ER400D_540GN1DRF3CG_A_2.png
Views: 8334
Size:  473.2 KB

Suzuki

I wanted to include the legendary SV, but, I think its too dated now to garner interest.
Sheel is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 8th October 2019, 12:35   #2

re: What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?

I would love to have any of these motorcycles (list not in any order):

1. From Yamaha, the MT 03 2020 Model-

2. Honda Rebel 500

3. Honda CBR 400R

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-cbr-400-r.jpg

4. Honda CB Super Four

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-cb-super-four.jpg

Last edited by NH08 : 8th October 2019 at 12:55.
NH08 is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 8th October 2019, 13:21   #3

Honda
- 500 X / 500 F / 500 R : Practical, sensible, more than adequate power and plain logical. These are the bikes we need in India. It's time, Honda.
- CB 650 R : I hear it is coming. Will make a terrific option in the middleweight segment.

Yamaha
- R6 : Do a limited run with 50 bikes. Watch them sell out.
- MT 10 : The transformer styling and insane power should help it sell well.
- MT 03 : Volumes, volumes and volumes. Long time R15 owners will look for options to upgrade to within the Yamaha family.

Suzuki
- V Strom 250 : Good way to build on the exciting new 250 platform.
- Katana : Offbeat, quirky styling with so much legacy.
neil.jericho is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 8th October 2019, 14:36   #4

Kawasaki KLR650

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-klr.jpg

Some dinosaurs still roam the earth and the KLR is one of them, word is that they'd be phased out soon internationally, I was counting on them being dumped into the Indian market.

Honda Monkey

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-img_2886.jpg

After they'd gone crazy with the latest iteration of the Cub(Key Less Entry on a Classic, Really?) the Monkey seems to be the only product left in Honda's stable that is a reminiscence of the old times. Would be fun to own and ride one I presume.

Plus the dedicated threads on various international forums really do make this seem to be a tempting proposition.

That's two just off the top of my head.
ashwinprakas is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 8th October 2019, 19:33   #5

Back in 2009, I dreamt of owning a Ninja 250R and thankfully, I did.

A decade later, I dream of owning the Yamaha XJR1300 (will never be launched in India ) or the Honda CB1100RS (my second choice which may see the Indian shores someday but with an astronomical price tag for sure! ).

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-xjr1300yellow.jpg

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-2017hondacb1100rsreviewmelling11.jpg

Last edited by Porschefire : 8th October 2019 at 19:35.
Porschefire is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 8th October 2019, 20:13   #6

Kawasaki Z900RS.

But not as an insanely overpriced CBU!

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-images2018kawasaki26_1600x0w.jpg
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 8th October 2019, 21:39   #7

The Honda Grom instead of the Navi. It would be the perfect alternative to the KTM Duke 125 but with Honda reliability and smoothness. Sadly not a possibility though, considering the price at which it retails at abroad (~US $3600).
What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-2020gromcherry_red1950x1140.jpg  

itisravi is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 9th October 2019, 00:06   #8

Originally Posted by Porschefire View Post
Back in 2009, I dreamt of owning a Ninja 250R and thankfully, I did.

A decade later, I dream of owning the Yamaha XJR1300 (will never be launched in India ) or the Honda CB1100RS (my second choice which may see the Indian shores someday but with an astronomical price tag for sure! ).

Attachment 1921385

Attachment 1921384
I am also waiting for Honda CB1100. This practical bike will find many takers in India.
Old 9th October 2019, 13:35   #9

Yamaha XT 250 / Serow is my pick.
Reasons:
It's practical
More than half of components are already here on FZ25 including Engine.
Opens a new segment of motorcycles in India for Yamaha.

Here is link of thread I started:
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motor...not-india.html (The Yamaha Serow 250 - Why not for India?)

Moderators: Kindly consider merging if found suitable.
Old 9th October 2019, 14:04   #10

Re: What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?

I have always wanted Suzuki SV650 in India. It is a simple motorcycle. A template to modify and improve it. It has a V-twin.

To me, that is a Ducati Monster without the burden of owning a Ducati.

It is the same engine from the V-Strom 650.

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-sv650.jpg

Also the Yamaha Ténéré 700. The same engine as the XSR 700/ MT-07. Both globally appreciated bikes, they all relatively are simple and just look at it!

Last edited by puneeth2 : 9th October 2019 at 14:27. Reason: typo
puneeth2 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 9th October 2019, 16:27   #11

Originally Posted by Sheel View Post

Yamaha
MT-03 and MT-07.

I have always likes MTs/XSRs, especially the 700s and 900s. I'd love to see them here.

Originally Posted by ashwinprakas View Post
Kawasaki KLR650

The KLR650 could be the no-nonsense bike we all want in our lives. I hope we get it although the chances are slim.
puneeth2 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th October 2019, 19:10   #12

I'd love to have the legendary Honda cub . The Cub 125 - 2019.
https://images.app.goo.gl/9wwFskt2kHhzM69G6
Old 9th October 2019, 21:57   #13

Honda NC750X
  1. Decently powered 750cc engine
  2. Dual Clutch Transmission
  3. ABS and long travel suspension
  4. Honda Reliability
  5. Even a storage compartment!
I have been eyeing this bike for a decade now. Would be perfect do-everything bike for India. Off course Honda would never actually launch it here.

What motorcycles do you wish to be launched in India?-nc750x.png
timuseravan is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th October 2019, 22:07   #14

The KTM Adventure series. It may be launched soon.
Electric bikes such as Zero SR, Energica Ego, Alta Motors Redshift MXR etc.
There is great potential for electric vehicles specially bikes as it will be relatively easy to create charging infrastructure for bikes.
Old 9th October 2019, 22:48   #15

In the current situation or in the next few years to come, I feel that the Indian market will accept an adventure tourer with open arms. Especially if its capacity is between 300 to 800 cc and comes with a price tag up to 8 Lacs, we will love it.

Currently many are buying big capacity sports bikes mostly for love/passion and weekend/breakfast rides (and a few just for status).
Very few us actually make the actual use of the bike like it is supposed to be. I mean a very few people who actually get the super-bikes take them to the tracks.
Otherwise the super-bikes are modified with loud exhausts and are taken to Charoti/Lonavala or Igatpuri on weekend mornings, never utilized for the potential they have.
Well I cant say same thing about the sports naked. Which are probably the most famous bikes in the current market, likes of Z900, Triumph Street triple, Z650, etc... Well, I believe they are meant for the same and serve no other purpose. OR can be taken both to track and touring, but they are not comfortable in either.

Then come the adventure tourers, high ground clearance, fast and comfortable bikes, They are modification friendly as well, easily modify to fir panniers, fog lights, hand guards, etc... The likes of Triumph Tiger, Kawasaki Versys, Suzuki V-Storm. These are the ones which can take you long and in a very comfortable manner. They can very well handle bad roads and don't really need a super high octane fuel. And I personally feel, that's the current market trend in India. People want to roam on bikes, and these bikes can satisfy this urge.

PS. These are only and only my views, yours can vary.

Last edited by iamahunter : 9th October 2019 at 22:50.