Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 29th December 2019, 08:29   #1

BS6-compliant Kawasaki Z650 facelift launched at Rs 6.25 lakh

India Kawasaki Motors has announced the launch of the BS-6 compliant Z650 in the Indian market.

BS6-compliant Kawasaki Z650 facelift launched at Rs 6.25 lakh-actionphotoz650.jpg

The MY21 version receives the below major updates -

• 649cc parallel twin engine, now BS6 compliant.
  • Updated Z “sugomi” styling
  • LED Headlamps
  • 4.3” TFT colour instrumentation
  • Smartphone connectivity via RIDEOLOGY app.
  • Dunlop Sportsmax Roadsport 2 tyres.

The updated range is priced between “INR 6,25,000 – 6,50,000", compared to the 5.69L pricetag of the outgoing version.

BS6-compliant Kawasaki Z650 facelift launched at Rs 6.25 lakh-z650bsvi.jpg

Read the full press release - https://kawasaki-india.com/kawasaki-...z650-in-india/

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 29th December 2019 at 08:40.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 29th December 2019, 09:33   #2

re: BS6-compliant Kawasaki Z650 facelift launched at Rs 6.25 lakh

Finally some decent upgrades over the previous generation. The 2017 till 2019 models AFAIK has just colour and graphics updates. I couldn't believe the 2019 Z650 still had plain old halogen bulbs when even Activas are coming with LED bulbs.

The colour display is a very neat feature as it should eliminate the need to put a smartphone holder and one can rely on the screen instead.
Old 29th December 2019, 14:04   #3

Does it make sense to pick up MY19 Z650? I am told it would have some nice offers to clear the stocks. I would love to get my hands on one at a good discount as I am so tired of waiting for the ktm adv.
If indeed the discounts are good then may as well pick the z650. I think it would be a great bike with just the right amount of power one would need.

What say? Any pointers most welcome please.
Old 29th December 2019, 19:30   #4

Wow that will make the z650 around 7.8 lacs OTR and Ninja 650 for around 8.25 in Bangalore, that is quite a lot of money for just cosmetic upgrades as power-train remains the same.

@scorpian Go ahead, it's a brilliant bike and with discounts on offer and new one becoming lot more expensive, you won't be missing out much. The update you can't do is the TFT screen, LED light upgrade is very easy, and tyres you can switch to one of your choice later. The BS6 engine probably is future proof, but BS4 engine woukd last you the distance too. Would have been good if they had kept it around 5.99 lacs.

The new bike would still sell well, but an opportunity missed.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 30th December 2019 at 13:59. Reason: Fixed typo.
AtheK is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 29th December 2019, 19:33   #5

My personal experience. I just bought the old 2019 Z650 yesterday for 5.49 on road. The 2019 version is exactly the same as the 2017 version except for the colour scheme. The 2020 version finally gets significant updates but will be at least 7.5l on road with the taxes which is a huge difference.

The main advantages are as follows -

1. LED lighting
2. 4.3 Inch TFT screen
3. Improved seating

The LED lighting you can upgrade the halogens in the 2019 model to LEDs easily for less than 10k. However the main USP I believe is the new TFT display and RIDEOLOGY app which after pairing with your smartphone keeps a log of your rides, screens calls etc but lacks navigation which means you would have to keep a phone connected anyways if you wish to use maps.

The styling has finally changed so thats good and the seats are supposedly better but you can do work on the existing seats on the 2019 version as well.

So all in all I feel the 2019 model is a good buy at 5.49 lakhs assuming you can get it at this price. If it crosses the 6 lakhs barrier it may make sense to just wait for the new version instead and get all the electronic goodies and updated styling as well.
bf1983 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 30th December 2019, 12:05   #6

Re: BS6-compliant Kawasaki Z650 facelift launched at Rs 6.25 lakh

Originally Posted by scorpian View Post
Does it make sense to pick up MY19 Z650? I am told it would have some nice offers to clear the stocks. I would love to get my hands on one at a good discount as I am so tired of waiting for the ktm adv.
If indeed the discounts are good then may as well pick the z650. I think it would be a great bike with just the right amount of power one would need.

I would definitely recommend it if you get a decent lakh or so off it. The present and incoming Gen bikes are mechanically the same and LEDs are something you can fit after-market as well. For under 6 lacs OTR the current model makes for a compelling buy in my opinion.
narula123 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 30th December 2019, 15:30   #7

I own a 2017 edition and I must admit that the Z is quite an underrated bike! For the discounts that Kawasaki is currently offering (don't know the numbers in Goa) - go for the MY2019 one! Take a test drive if you can, to get a better idea. It has the right amount of power and the weight distribution makes it easier for city commutes and highway rides.

As others have rightly pointed out, barring the TFT display in the newer BS-6 models (I wish they could be backward compatible with older models *sigh) - the LED headlights and the tyres can be easily replaced and it'll still be light on the pocket. For the seat, well, if you aren't going to ride with a pillion - the existing one is good enough too. A gel-seat or a visit to the local seat-maker can do wonders. I've modified both the seats for a more comfortable/plush ride (will be posting on this soon!).

It's a good time to go green! (pun intended)
TheVaas is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 31st December 2019, 12:20   #8

Just an update from my side, there is not a single z650 available.

I have been following up on a continuous basis and have been told there are no bikes of MY19.I do not know how to verify this information since there is only one dealership in goa.
So i guess i have to wait for January, hopefully there should be some discounts as per the kawasaki sales people.
Old 2nd January 2020, 10:53   #9

I have been following up on a continuous basis and have been told there are no bikes of MY19.I do not know how to verify this information since there is only one dealership in goa.
So i guess i have to wait for January, hopefully there should be some discounts as per the kawasaki sales people.
You can always buy from the Mumbai, Pune or Bangalore showrooms and register in Goa. Should'nt be an issue
narula123 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th January 2020, 22:48   #10

Some used and well-maintained MY17 and MY18 Z650 models being sold at great prices (with the accessories included) at the dealerships in Mumbai and Thane. You could check with them as well.
Old 12th January 2020, 17:49   #11

Originally Posted by TheVaas View Post
Some used and well-maintained MY17 and MY18 Z650 models being sold at great prices (with the accessories included) at the dealerships in Mumbai and Thane. You could check with them as well.
Thank you I am going to Mumbai in the coming week and surely will check them out.
Any further info where exactly or which dealership should I visit would be of great help.
Old 12th January 2020, 20:26   #12

Thank you I am going to Mumbai in the coming week and surely will check them out.
Any further info where exactly or which dealership should I visit would be of great help.
There are three dealerships which you can visit depending on where you'll be located (all easily found on Google maps) -

Anzen Kawasaki, Jogeshwari
Kawasaki Thane, Thane
Kawasaki Navi Mumbai, Vashi

All the best
Old 12th January 2020, 23:11   #13

For those who are interested, I feel the 2019 Z650 is absolutely VFM at this price.. I'm sure this may also be negotiated a bit further for spot deals.
BS6-compliant Kawasaki Z650 facelift launched at Rs 6.25 lakh-screenshot_20200112230557.jpg  

camitesh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th January 2020, 10:34   #14

Originally Posted by camitesh View Post
For those who are interested, I feel the 2019 Z650 is absolutely VFM at this price.. I'm sure this may also be negotiated a bit further for spot deals.
Thats a superb pricing deal from Anzen. Anyone sitting on the fence for a naked middleweight bike should close their eyes and grab this in my opinion. I am sure they are already inundated with calls post this announcement.
narula123 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th January 2020, 21:34   #15

Yes they had this deal for December as well. I came to the showroom to look if I could pick up a ninja 400 if I got a good deal and instead booked a z650. Its a good 1.5 lakh cheaper than the new z650 2020 which should be a little more than 7 lakhs otr
bf1983 is offline   (1) Thanks