Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 20th January 2020, 15:46   #16

re: My Silk White Ducati Multistrada 950 - One bike for many roads

Congratulations and best wishes!!

Read about your driving experience in city. However, don't recollect reading anything around heating. Might be a trivial question, but still. Is it bearable if you ride it in city traffic for an hour or so? I have heard that on highway, its not a big issue.
prajakt_23 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 16:05   #17

Congratulations on your new ride. Welcome to the team-bhp Ducatista club. The Multi is a great bike with a BMX bicycle ease to ride. Hope you have many enjoyable miles.

The front brake reservoir overflow is a common Ducati trait and you will soon see some bubbling and peeling of paint on the caps. Only solution I have seen are Ducati Corse aftermarket caps which are anodized and seem to hold up better.

It's common to see angled valves on the front tires to avoid fouling with the larger brake discs while pumping air. Rear wheel discs usually not that large and won't restrict.

Ride Safe
gthang is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 16:29   #18

Congratulations!, on your new bike. The bike looks fabulous in this colour.

Almost all the adventure tourers, with their beaks, look like raptors. The multistrada is the only one which looks like a beautiful, graceful one at that. I know looks are subjective, but as far as looks of adv tourers go - if the Triumph tiger is at the bad end of the scale, the MS is definitely at the better end of it, if not the best. From your description, it does seem like this is one bike which ticks all the boxes, of what one has come to expect of a adv tourer.

Keep riding many thousand miles on it and let it spread its raptor wings.

Cheerio!
alphadog is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 16:31   #19

the only bike I rode in that segment was the Triumph Tiger and that was enough to completely put me off that category for good.
What did you dislike about the Triumph Tiger?
renegade004 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 17:41   #20

Originally Posted by anshumandun View Post
I think the Multi is the most beautiful ADV bike. ...
It almost never happens that a Ducati is sold in Bangalore and Ethanhunt is not involved
Thanks for your kind words. A birdie told me our man has set his sights on you, saying you need to let go of the Z . Now that you have admitted to liking the looks of the bike don't be surprised if he comes knocking on your door.

Originally Posted by vikrantj View Post
I have a MS950 which I bought in 2017 and loving every bit of it.
First off I am extremely sorry I missed your thread and I titled mine similar to yours. I apologize if it causes any confusion, I have asked the Mods to rename my thread title hopefully that happens soon. I did read your thread post that and thrilled Im getting to experience what you have before me.

Originally Posted by neil.jericho View Post
This thread will be of big help to others looking to jump into the world of big bikes but who stay away from super premium brands like Ducati,
Thank you for your kind words. I do intend to be totally transparent about my ownership experience. If it helps even one person then I would feel happy about it.

Originally Posted by neil.jericho View Post
Any plans to upgrade the halogens? .... The malfunctioning gear indicator is definitely something worth checking before the first service I guess, the rest of it is plain old Italian character.
I have my doubts on the thread title but for now let me not say more!
If I feel the need for better lighting based on my usage then will look at aux lights as opposed to replacing the halogens. Im already due for service so will get these character traits checked out. Don't worry, I have asked for a change in the thread title already. May not be my last Ducati after all.

Originally Posted by tilt View Post
Great review and photographs, Deepak - as usual I always enjoy reading your posts.
Thanks a ton for your kind words Mohan. I still remember on our Kolli ride when you were escorting me with your Jetta and I was on the D390 ,you asked me "What is the maximum speed will you be comfortable with so I dont hassle you?". I can't wait to return the favor now

Originally Posted by mohansrides View Post
Just in case you are wondering, I am cautiously scanning the horizon for my next motorcycle. But, so far, nothing is really grabbing me by the scruff of my neck.......purely rational decision making process (as opposed to an emotional one), then I am having a hard time finding offerings out there.
Thank you very much for your kind words. First off, in my opinion a big bike can never be a rational decision so best to stick with trying to find what excites or relaxes you. That said, in my very limited physical evaluation of a few bikes the two that completely caught me by surprise were the Triumph Speed Twin (Its a genuine sleeper hiding a locomotive engine and you can crank the engine and listen to that exhaust note all day. Looks gorgeous too) and the second was the Multistrada. Try them out. You might find what you are looking for

Originally Posted by mohansrides View Post
One question though, and forgive me if you have already answered it in your write-up. What's the engine heat like in city and on the highway?
Originally Posted by prajakt_23 View Post
However, don't recollect reading anything around heating. Might be a trivial question, but still. Is it bearable if you ride it in city traffic for an hour or so? I have heard that on highway, its not a big issue.
I am sorry guys, I intentionally left out the heat part because I assumed that was a given, much like "What mileage do you get". But since you asked and now I feel there are others out there who want to know, All big bikes heat up in the city and there is no escaping that .It is part of the territory. If you can reconcile with that fact you might get away without being miserable. Do I feel it? Of course I do, but it doesn't bother me. That said if you ride with regular jeans you deserve to cook your body parts. When you are stuck in peak summer heat in traffic wearing all your riding gear you wont notice the engine heat because you will already be miserable being cooked from the inside from your boots to your head. So yup it heats up in the city like any big bike would. Now you know why I am a fair-weather rider.

Originally Posted by gthang View Post
Welcome to the team-bhp Ducatista club...

It's common to see angled valves on the front tires to avoid fouling with the larger brake discs while pumping air. Rear wheel discs usually not that large and won't restrict.
Thanks for you kind wishes and yes, that makes sense.

Originally Posted by alphadog View Post
Congratulations!...if the Triumph tiger is at the bad end of the scale, the MS is definitely at the better end of it
Thank you very much for those kind words!

Originally Posted by renegade004 View Post
What did you dislike about the Triumph Tiger?
You ever come across a product that does what its supposed to do extremely well that its annoying or boring? No offence to existing owners, but if my goal was to tour the length and breadth of our country with relative ease the road variant Tiger would be my first choice. Its almost commuter like in that regard. But here I was looking for a bike that was capable of scaring me silly and making me hyperventilate after a ride and should also be able to carry a pillion in comfort. The Tiger, in my opinion fails on the first count. Also have you seen the on road prices
deepfreak15 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 18:45   #21
sud

Beautiful writeup and pictures. Congratulations and all the best for many more miles to crunch.
sud is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 18:47   #22

Originally Posted by deepfreak15 View Post
The Tiger, in my opinion fails on the first count. Also have you seen the on road prices
Just curious, in B'lore what is the on road price difference between a Tiger 800 XRX and a MTS 950?
Old 20th January 2020, 18:54   #23

Originally Posted by Axe77 View Post
Just curious, in B'lore what is the on road price difference between a Tiger 800 XRX and a MTS 950?
Around 3 lakhs difference, though in all fairness I am comparing post discount pricing of Ducati vs pre discount pricing of Triumph. Somehow based on the adverts Keerthi has been sharing and my talks with them I don't see them knocking off 3 lakhs to match the MTS pricing as they seemed pretty confident of clearing their BSIV stock (sounded like they had only few bikes in stock). Though it looks like they have excess Striples to sell and are giving some really good deals on those.
deepfreak15 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 19:15   #24

Many congrats Deepak on - dare i say - a wonderful machine ! I can easily see you doing many a mile on it and reach Desmo within 1 year :P

BTW for ppl congratulating me - i just showed the well to the thirsty fellow
ethanhunt123 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 19:27   #25

Originally Posted by ethanhunt123 View Post

BTW for ppl congratulating me - i just showed the well to the thirsty fellow
Kindly stop with that. I have no appetite or thirst for any accessories.
Old 20th January 2020, 20:13   #26

Congratulations deepfreak15, wishing you guys miles and miles of fun. You got the best bike at the best price. We can't wait to check it out.
zebo is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 20:21   #27

Only a matter of time before you splurge on LED headlamps, Aux lights, top box for pillion comfort, SENA, and a red ARAI to match.

By then, hopefully, the Multistrada V4 will be ready.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 20:55   #28

We shall see about that

Only a matter of time before you splurge on LED headlamps, Aux lights, top box for pillion comfort, SENA, and a red ARAI to match.

By then, hopefully, the Multistrada V4 will be ready.
You are forgetting a few things - Full Exhaust, Clutch Cover, Rizoma bling stuff etc etc
ethanhunt123 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th January 2020, 21:26   #29

Originally Posted by sud View Post
Beautiful writeup and pictures. Congratulations and all the best for many more miles to crunch.
Thank you very much ,already waiting for the next overknighter

Originally Posted by zebo View Post
Congratulations deepfreak15, wishing you guys miles and miles of fun. You got the best bike at the best price. We can't wait to check it out.
Thank you very much buddy, lets catch up for a ride/drive soon

Only a matter of time before you splurge on LED headlamps, Aux lights, top box for pillion comfort, SENA, and a red ARAI to match..
I thought you were my friend Although the Mrs did notice our color co ordinated Dainese bulk order rider and said "Hey that looks so cool"

Originally Posted by ethanhunt123 View Post
You are forgetting a few things - Full Exhaust, Clutch Cover, Rizoma bling stuff etc etc
Do you have an extra parking lot and a place for me to keep my riding gear, pillow and mattress in your house?
Old 20th January 2020, 22:24   #30

“Screw the Hyper, I want the Multi, when can I get one!”
Congratulations on the wonderful bike!! It looks gorgeous in white. Great chassis, great engine; overall a wonderful sports bike with comfortable ergos.

A lot of folks progress through various stage before ending up on a Multi. Congrats on skipping the boring in-between phases

Expensive, unreliable , high maintenance costs are some of the words associated with the brand
So how did the heart convince the head about the upcoming expenses... What do you expect the cost per KM to be for the first 30K KM? Please keep the thread updated. I am sure the upfront discount will take of the first desmo and probably more.
highlander is offline   (2) Thanks