Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 6th November 2020, 18:24   #91

Re: BMW Motorrad India's incompetence & horrible after-sales service

What's with these guys lol, like barbers at a certain place of high foot fall, do 50% shave

Jokes apart I have a feeling it is a powerplay from manufacturer and not a dealer issue. Dealer seem to have coughed up for the front wheel, since it is basically there issue. Rear the BMW folks still want to play around with your life and their ego....

By the way, atleast the process of tightening spokes (order) and the torque setting (using a mini torque wrench), was that adhered to?

Locktite will lock the thread, but if the spokes are not set properly all around, chances are the ones without locktite will now have issues and locktite one that is incorrectly torqued will mess the trueness

Just can't figure what the heck is wrong with these big premium guys, first Triumph and now BMW!!!
Jaggu is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th November 2020, 21:07   #92

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
By the way, atleast the process of tightening spokes (order) and the torque setting (using a mini torque wrench), was that adhered to?

Locktite will lock the thread, but if the spokes are not set properly all around, chances are the ones without locktite will now have issues and locktite one that is incorrectly torqued will mess the trueness

Just can't figure what the heck is wrong with these big premium guys, first Triumph and now BMW!!!
Being fully aware of how it is supposed to be done basis the document in the opening post, it wasn't done as per process. I agree that BMW Motorrad HQ and their dealers seem to have a lot of friction and disagreements on how to fix issues in customer vehicles.
moralfibre is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th November 2020, 21:45   #93

Thanks to Arun Prasad for sending this in. Heartfelt gratitude for sharing it with other enthusiasts via this Team-BHP page!

Dear Sir,

I bought a new BMW F 750 GS Pro (cost around Rs. 17 lakh on-road) on 25/03/20 from the Chennai showroom. After riding it for around 700 km, I saw heavy smoke coming from the engine of my brand new bike (video proof attached). This is the quality BMW Motorrad India maintains. Moreover, my Pro version has to be activated through a chip during my 1st service. But they have not handed over that chip during the delivery of my bike. Now they are asking me to pay for the chip only after which the Pro gets activated on my new bike. They are also very careless and fraudulent too. Serivce department is not even attending my phone calls now. Kindly alert all bike lovers who want to buy BMW bikes.

Thank you

BMW Motorrad India's incompetence & horrible after-sales service-20201003_211741_resized.jpg

BMW Motorrad India's incompetence & horrible after-sales service-20201003_211957_resized.jpg

BMW Motorrad India's incompetence & horrible after-sales service-20201003_211959_resized.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 7th November 2020 at 08:06. Reason: typo
ChiragM is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 7th November 2020, 01:28   #94

Originally Posted by ChiragM View Post
Thanks to Arun Prasad for sending this in. Heartfelt gratitude for sharing it with other enthusiasts.....
Oh my God!! This thread is getting worse by the day. Time to remove the “buy a BMW” line from my life-goals list. I am simply not rich enough to let this level of lack of reliability slide without a second thought. I would go out of my mind.

Thank God for the Japanese. Actually wait; thank God also for our homegrown brands - Bajaj, Hero and TVS. They don’t play in this league (yet). But they sure know how to make motorcycles that run and run and run.... and run.
mohansrides is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 7th November 2020, 13:32   #95

Tried the bike out for a short ride and it is so much, so much and I repeat so much better that it's unbelievable! I cannot insist enough on not working on spokes unless an expert like Woody's from the US offers to do it for you. This is the Achilles heel of the GS!

The handle bar is rock steady and maybe there is a tad bit of improvement on the handling front since I can now focus on riding than a jittery handlebar. It may be my mind playing games on the handling bit but on a calm Saturday morning I was more at ease with the bike this morning.

Here's a pic of the brand new replaced rim:

BMW Motorrad India's incompetence & horrible after-sales service-img_2682.jpg

The grub screws are factory fresh and there is no rusting on the screw inners. That's how it should have been from day zero. Will ride a bit more and confirm on the rear rim as well.
moralfibre is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 7th November 2020, 19:07   #96

Originally Posted by himanshugoswami View Post

I'm still going ahead with my purchase since i love the bike. But if I face any issues, I will make them face hell in courts (I happen to be a lawyer). I am documenting everything....
Although indirectly related to this topic of BMW Motorrad issues, on International GS forums and Facebook groups, I gather right now there is a Stop Sale for the 2021 model R1250GS/Adventure as well as for R1250RT, S1000RR and S1000XR due to some brake issue. Heard there WAS already a recall on the 19 & 20 models for the same issue which has now been extended to the 2021 model, hence stopping new sales.

Any idea if these have been rectified in your case?
Haroon is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th November 2020, 19:42   #97

Originally Posted by Haroon View Post
Although indirectly related to this topic of BMW Motorrad issues, on International GS forums and Facebook groups, I gather right now there is a Stop Sale for the 2021 model R1250GS/Adventure as well as for R1250RT, S1000RR and S1000XR due to some brake issue. Heard there WAS already a recall on the 19 & 20 models for the same issue which has now been extended to the 2021 model, hence stopping new sales.

Any idea if these have been rectified in your case?
He has a 310gs...which unfortunately has other problems to be wary of

Your question should be directed to dkaile.
Red Liner is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th November 2020, 19:45   #98

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
Tried the bike out for a short ride and it is so much, so much and I repeat so much better that it's unbelievable! I cannot insist enough on not working on spokes unless an expert like Woody's from the US offers to do it for you. This is the Achilles heel of the GS!
Great to know that a resolution has been reached Moralfibre. This is a fantastic update. Your post got me thinking. If you were an potential Indian buyer of the Big GS, would you recommend that you get the cross spoked wheels? Or would the alloys be less of a headache given your experience.

Folks, I'm not getting into the debate on alloys vs. spokes so please don't beat me up . This is a specific question on a specific bike for a specific country.
ranjitnair77 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 7th November 2020, 20:22   #99

Originally Posted by ranjitnair77 View Post
Great to know that a resolution has been reached Moralfibre. This is a fantastic update. Your post got me thinking. If you were an potential Indian buyer of the Big GS, would you recommend that you get the cross spoked wheels? Or would the alloys be less of a headache given your experience.

Folks, I'm not getting into the debate on alloys vs. spokes so please don't beat me up . This is a specific question on a specific bike for a specific country.
Check this thread out and their replies https://advrider.com/f/threads/spoke...1200gs.619644/

I would go cast wheels all the way. It’s bent? Replace it like every other manufacturer of cast wheeled motorcycles in the country. Am not about to motocross around the country on this one.
Red Liner is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 7th November 2020, 23:03   #100

........... If you were an potential Indian buyer of the Big GS, would you recommend that you get the cross spoked wheels? Or would the alloys be less of a headache given your experience.

Having banged & bent my own 1200GS alloy wheel on potholes multiple times, this is my opinion specifically for the GS:

Back in 2010 following a STC bus on a curvy road, I hit a pothole very hard in Kerala on my way to Bangalore and bent the front wheel. Luckily, it didn't leak air and I completed my journey to Blr. Based on some recommendations, I went to A1 Car Care near Lalbhagh and they did a beautiful job and straightened it in about half an hour and paint touched it also and charged Rs 500. Last year I had another encounter with a pothole in TN and I again got back to Blr and got it straightened from the same place, but this time bill was like Rs 800 (Inflation I guess!). Anyways, I am not a metal specialist but I remember reading somewhere that BMW alloys are some Tungsten-Aluminum alloy combination and hence costly but can be straightened more easily than other cheaper alloys. BTW, long back a guy I knew on a long journey in Morocco also put a tube in a bent alloy wheel and ran it till he was able to fix the bent alloy.

While spoke wheels are 'preferred and heavily recommended' for off road use, how many GS riders actually take it on serious trails that are long way from civilization? Probably, from a touring perspective the Leh circuit could be considered one with some serious 'off road conditions'. Otherwise broken tarmac and bad roads (standing on footpegs and riding like a GS advert) are not exactly off road. And frankly, the 1200/1250GS is a very heavy offroad bike. If you really need to enjoy off-road (riding, handling & falling), without burning a hole in your pocket when you drop it (which you are eventually going to do), a lighter and less powerful bike is more suitable for the job. Even a RE Himalayan is great for that.

So basically the GS/GSA being a brilliant touring bike, from the perspective of the bad and broken roads that you will encounter in India, if you ride sensibly, then like the hundreds of bikes from other 'lesser blessed brands' with alloy wheels, you can also keep the fun going. I have seen round the world travelers using alloy wheeled bikes riding in Africa, Mongolia and South America without any major issues. So its not necessary to have spoke wheels for that. I know of 2 Tiger 800XC bikes that had to terminate their rides in Bhutan & Leh due to broken spokes and ship the bikes back to Bangalore & Chennai respectively.

Of course, if you like the GS Adventure model, it comes stock with spoke wheels only and you will have to order and pay for a set of extra alloy wheels if you wish to change them. Whereas with the standard GS, you have an option to order them with alloys although BMW gives you an option to buy it with spokes or alloys.

Originally Posted by Red Liner View Post
He has a 310gs...which unfortunately has other problems to be wary of

Your question should be directed to dkaile.
Ooops. Thanks for the correction and sorry for the mix up. My bad

Last edited by Haroon : 7th November 2020 at 23:09.
Haroon is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 9th November 2020, 11:40   #101

If you were an potential Indian buyer of the Big GS, would you recommend that you get the cross spoked wheels? Or would the alloys be less of a headache given your experience.
Haroon has answered this in detail. I'd go with cast wheels any day. Bhpian Nitrogary has a GS similar to mine. His bike has had the front wheel replaced in insurance around the same time mine were repaired. The difference in cost is a mere Rs. 10,000/- between cast and spoked wheels. Since the alloy wheel doesn't have any child parts, the entire wheel was replaced in insurance and he never had to doubt the quality of work done by the workshop.

Having banged & bent my own 1200GS alloy wheel on potholes multiple times, this is my opinion specifically for the GS:
Well said Haroon. I am with you on this one.
moralfibre is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 9th November 2020, 12:48   #102

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
Finally! And good news indeed. Rear how much you have to ride to check and report? But anyway good that the guys finally reverted with a good resolution. Should have done it at the first place and saved all the harassment.
Jaggu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th November 2020, 13:00   #103

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Finally! And good news indeed. Rear how much you have to ride to check and report? But anyway good that the guys finally reverted with a good resolution. Should have done it at the first place and saved all the harassment.
No clue on the rear run in time. Thankfully now there are follow ups. I got a call this morning to check on the status. The rear might need some run in to check on the health of spokes. I'll keep you posted.
moralfibre is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th November 2020, 17:57   #104

I got tension just by reading this thread.
Then I checked for loose spokes on front+rear and have none, thankfully.

I have a couple of pesky issues that have cropped up lately. The rear left indicator has conked off (I have no electrical accessories at all) and the front TPMS is wonky too - so I have raised a replacement request under warranty. It's been a few days, let's see how these guys respond - the dealer indicates that only the central (BMW Motorrad) people can approve warranty replacements.
tanayr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th November 2020, 12:34   #105

Originally Posted by ChiragM View Post
Thanks to Arun Prasad for sending this in. Heartfelt gratitude for sharing it with other enthusiasts via this Team-BHP page!
So the pro chip is nothing but a metal wire encased in plastic. No matter if you don't get the chip, just go ahead and connect the two ends by a metal copper wire. The pro mode will get activated.

Back in 2010...

Of course, if you like the GS Adventure model, it comes stock with spoke wheels only and you will have to order and pay for a set of extra alloy wheels if you wish to change them. Whereas with the standard GS, you have an option to order them with alloys although BMW gives you an option to buy it with spokes or alloys.
Boy am I glad to have alloys on my GS. Alloy wheel GS's are so few in number, its actually a rare bike. Maybe one out of 20-30 is typically one with alloys. Maybe less!
If you were riding the bike in 2010, then it was the air cooled bike. Interesting to know that even the aircooled GS had alloy wheel problems.

Moralfibre - any progress / updates on the rear wheel?