Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 11th July 2022, 09:30   #61

Re: Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs

Originally Posted by mohansrides View Post
Correct. But very expensive and very debatable as to its value.

Open the seat. .....

Thank You @mohansrides.

Felt the exact same for the low height seat accessory. I have kind of decided on this bike. Just wanted to know of ways to reduce the height temporarily till I get adjusted to this vehicle. Just got a few more stuff to iron out and convert the booking to purchase or postpone the delivery to year end.

Fingers crossed
skviknaraj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th July 2022, 15:17   #62

Originally Posted by mohansrides View Post

Wrong.
I was referring to any mechanism inbuilt in the bike, provided by the manufacturer to lower the seat. Otherwise there are lots of "jugad" if you put your mind to it
DevilisH is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th August 2022, 22:16   #63

Where I live, there are now three Wees!
The senior statesman took the newbies for a ride towards Gudibande. A water crossing was involved too, though with pure tarmac under, but an adventure nonetheless!

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-pxl_20220731_0301391502.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-pxl_20220731_0302054612.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-pxl_20220731_0303079372.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-pxl_20220731_0305166042.jpg
shyamg28 is online now   (15) Thanks
Old 18th September 2022, 22:41   #64

Enjoyed a very early morning ride starting at 2AM and ending at 10AM rounding off around 300kms. This bike can be good fun, safe, exciting, downright boring in its efficiency and more, and all that in a matter of 10 minutes. Satisfying ride!

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-pxl_20220917_002249917.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-pxl_20220917_002257645.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img20220917wa0002.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-pxl_20220917_011755966.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-pxl_20220917_014527009.jpg
shyamg28 is online now   (12) Thanks
Old 7th October 2022, 00:16   #65

Wife, Wee & I head to Kerala. Here's a glimpse -

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-f8d1b603a5084d4c90001d4db6d66834.jpeg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-pxl_20221002_022745538.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img_5459.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img_5463.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img_5567.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img_5464.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img_5862.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img_5811.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img_5919.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img_5961.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img_5965.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img_5826.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img_5981.jpg
shyamg28 is online now   (22) Thanks
Old 16th October 2022, 11:25   #66

Sharing a breakdown of parts and their cost for the Wee. All the best

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img_20221016_112120.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img_20221016_112051.jpg
shyamg28 is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 7th November 2022, 21:59   #67

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT - Ride experience

A friend of mine tossed me the keys to his Suzuki VStrom 650 XT, for a ride in the mountains. Here is some feedback on the most overlooked big bike in Suzuki's Indian lineup.
- In the Champion Yellow paint scheme, the Vstrom 650 is a very handsome motorcycle. The visual symmetry between the yellow and black panels is perfect. The golden wheels are simply lovely.
- The dash is old school but it works so well. On the move, you just need to take a quick glance, for your eyes to lock onto the exact information that you need. There's none of the unsafe puzzle solving due to a poorly design TFT dash nonsense (Im looking squarely at you, Tiger 900), that makes you take your eyes off the road for 2 - 3 seconds.
- The ergonomics are just perfect. If you want to ride from Kanyakumari to Kashmir, in comfort, this could be the perfect motorcycle for you.
- I rode the bike in the hills and the performance was more than enough for these conditions. I didnt get a chance to ride it on the highways. For the few kilometers that I rode the bike, the engine's performance was exactly what I wanted it to be. You dont need 160 BHP in the hills.
- Each of those mirrors are the size of the television that my family owned when I was a kid. The view out of them is phenomenal.
- If you have never stood and ridden a motorcycle, you can do so on the VStrom 650, without thinking twice about it. Im not a stand and ride guy, but within 30 seconds of being on the bike, I was confident enough to try it and maintain it, for as long as I wanted.
- The motorcycle's balance is so on the money, that you easily can do what you want with the bike. The owner (who is a fellow TBHPian) did tell me that the balance of the motorcycle was something to be experienced. Oh, how right he was!
- With its 19 inch front wheel and mild offroading credentials, the VStrom 650 swallows up bad roads without even furrowing its brow, forget thinking about breaking into a sweat.
- One might think that the large front wheel and mild offroading focus, will make the bike handle like a whale in the twisties. You couldnt be more wrong! I was immediately able to corner the bike with complete confidence. In the moment, this did surprise me but in hindsight, it shouldnt have. Suzuki has spent years perfecting this motorcycle. There is a reason why it is so dearly loved around the world.
- If there was one minor gripe, it was that the footpegs fouled with the natural position in which I would like to keep my feet on the ground. It would probably take me a day or two, to find the ideal position to place my feet. In this regard, the VStrom 250 was a bigger offender.

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img20221105wa0063.jpg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-20221105_151209.jpg

A lot of motorcycle enthusiasts end up finding that the VStrom 650 and the Versys 650 are boring motorcycles. They fall into the category of being the bikes you need, rather than the bikes you want. Granted, neither of them are going to win a spec sheet battle, when you bring in the bigger, more glamourous and much more expensive adventure bikes, into the fray. However, the VStrom 650 and the Versys 650 are like your old childhood friends who have stuck by you through thick and thin, and watched you grow up in front of their eyes. They are the folks who were there for you yesterday, who are there for you today and will be there for you tomorrow. No tantrums. No fuss. No midnight drama. No hot messes.

Over the past few months, Ive started warming up to the idea of owning a middleweight adventure bike, like the Suzuki VStrom 650. After this short ride, Ive started toying with the idea of buying a middleweight adventure bike, like the Suzuki VStrom 650, in the year 2023.

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-img20221105wa0091.jpg
neil.jericho is offline   (46) Thanks
Old 8th November 2022, 16:40   #68

Re: Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT - Ride experience

Somehow I felt the Vee felt at home even in the Bangalore traffic.

The 6k km service interval is a small gripe, liveable though.

Originally Posted by neil.jericho View Post

Over the past few months, Ive started warming up to the idea of owning a middleweight adventure bike, like the Suzuki VStrom 650. After this short ride, Ive started toying with the idea of buying a middleweight adventure bike, like the Suzuki VStrom 650, in the year 2023.

My guess, V650 is going to be pulled off the market and the new 750/800 will come in, sometime 2023. ( this is just my speculation)
skviknaraj is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th November 2022, 18:39   #69

Originally Posted by skviknaraj View Post

My guess, V650 is going to be pulled off the market and the new 750/800 will come in, sometime 2023. ( this is just my speculation)
Categoric and emphatic NO. The 650s will continue to exist alongside the new models. Confirmed by their global team.

Red Liner is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 8th November 2022, 21:21   #70

Well the new Suzuki V-STROM 800DE has broken ground. Seems like lots of changes to the bike but looks like Suzuki will still keep the older 650cc bike around maybe by reducing the price ?

https://www.globalsuzuki.com/globalnews/2022/1108a.html

The Suzuki 800 might be more a competition to the Tiger 850/900 GT though at 83 bhp it's still down a good 11 bhp from the Tiger 900 and a little less torque
bf1983 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th November 2022, 10:25   #71

Originally Posted by neil.jericho View Post
A lot of motorcycle enthusiasts end up finding that the VStrom 650 and the Versys 650 are boring motorcycles. They fall into the category of being the bikes you need, rather than the bikes you want. Granted, neither of them are going to win a spec sheet battle, when you bring in the bigger, more glamourous and much more expensive adventure bikes, into the fray. However, the VStrom 650 and the Versys 650 are like your old childhood friends who have stuck by you through thick and thin, and watched you grow up in front of their eyes. They are the folks who were there for you yesterday, who are there for you today and will be there for you tomorrow. No tantrums. No fuss. No midnight drama. No hot messes.

A very spot-on writeup buddy.

I had ridden the vstrom at Lonavala and was immediately at home with the riding posture. I found it too easy to ride on the corners are well, the bike would dip and rise like a sports bike, and still care for your back.

Then I rode the Vstrom and Versys back to back and hardly found any major noticeable differences with regards to comfort and riding characteristics. However, I was more at home with the Vstrom than the test-ride Versys. I think that was probably because how the versys was setup and its top-heavy nature.

I went in for the versys given the obvious initial cost difference of more than 2L.
At present, I have setup the versys according to my body posture, thanks to the adjustable front and rear suspension, and I am very much at home with the versys as well.

Currently the 2022 versys comes in with traction control, tft screen and LED headlights, however its still a top heavy bike. But where it compensates that is the adjustable suspension. I would suggest you to tune the verys suspension to your body characteristics when you try it on, it will make a huge difference.
iamahunter is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 9th November 2022, 10:40   #72

800 is unveiled at the ECMIA this year, launch in 2023
Ikran is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th November 2022, 11:31   #73

How is the clutch of the motorcycle? I found it very hard compared to the Himalayan
100Kmphormore is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th November 2022, 14:01   #74

Originally Posted by 100Kmphormore View Post
How is the clutch of the motorcycle? I found it very hard compared to the Himalayan
I own a BSVI Wee & a BSIV Himalayan. Personally, not too dissimilar in terms of hardness of clutch as well as gear shifts.
Of course, the significant difference I've felt is, once the Himalayan heats up, gear changes become harder. The Wee...well it just doesn't heat up that thing.

Last edited by shyamg28 : 9th November 2022 at 14:07.
shyamg28 is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 9th November 2022, 14:48   #75

Originally Posted by shyamg28 View Post
Wife, Wee & I head to Kerala. Here's a glimpse
Lovely pics there. I'm really pleased to see someone putting high quality (Givi) soft side panniers to use. Most people on the bigger ADVs seem to be going the hard pannier way. I am keen on moving to soft saddles bags myself and was toying between Mosko Motos vs Kriega OS series. Finally, the logisitic ease of buying Kriega locally will drive this decision towards the latter although I really do have my heart set on the Mosko Motos if I could have bought them easily here.

The previous owner of my Multi kindly lent me his Kriega OS for a few weeks before I decide to invest in a set for myself. Took them to Lons on a breakfast ride and will now try them on a longer ride this weekend.

Some specific utility preferences aside, I really love the aesthetic look that soft side panniers bring to these ADVs. Attaching a few pics from the Sunday ride here.

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-multi-kriega-1.jpeg

Suzuki V-Strom 650 XT BS6 launched at Rs 8.84 lakhs-multi-kriega-2.jpeg

Last edited by Axe77 : 9th November 2022 at 14:51. Reason: Submitted incomplete post accidentally.
Axe77 is online now   (8) Thanks