Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 26th August 2008, 04:17   #376

Just got back from a ride to Bandra. Went to checkout a friends new '07 Busa. On my way back, look what I came across. Finally, something for the Yamaha fans in Bombay to cheer about. That's not all. There are two of them. I'm guessing the second one is a workshop. The opening is in a few days time.

Pictures are taken with the phone in night mode so they aren't the best.
Yamaha to bring R1, MT-01 superbikes: Edit: Now launched at 10.5 lakhs-dsc00568.jpg  

Yamaha to bring R1, MT-01 superbikes: Edit: Now launched at 10.5 lakhs-dsc00569.jpg  

Yamaha to bring R1, MT-01 superbikes: Edit: Now launched at 10.5 lakhs-dsc00570.jpg  

Yamaha to bring R1, MT-01 superbikes: Edit: Now launched at 10.5 lakhs-dsc00571.jpg  

Yamaha to bring R1, MT-01 superbikes: Edit: Now launched at 10.5 lakhs-dsc00572.jpg  

Last edited by straight6 : 26th August 2008 at 04:18.
Old 26th August 2008, 04:37   #377

Originally Posted by hollywoodhogan View Post
service every 1000kms??? why? due to the heat and dust? some parts of north america are no less when it comes to heat and dust and the same bikes run there for about 3000 miles before oil change. am sure that fully synthetic oils suitable for the ambient temperature would be used here. so why such a short interval?
Nothing can be worse than Death valley. Does MT01 have a digital thermometer with engine and ambient temperature on the dash? Servicing at 1000kms = 625 miles is ridiculous. I have done 3K to 4K miles on a single trip through the deserts.
-Prasadee
Old 29th August 2008, 16:38   #378

The R1's have arrived at the Bombay showroom. They were just taken out of the crates and didn't have the mirrors and the fairing. There seemed to be a third one that was still in the crate. The opening of the showroom is on the 8th.
Old 29th August 2008, 17:05   #379

where in bombay is this staright6??
Old 29th August 2008, 17:10   #380

So straight6 where is the location and also are they going to keep all their bikes here?
As in R15 and FZee's
Old 29th August 2008, 17:33   #381

Originally Posted by SohailPistawala View Post
where in bombay is this staright6??
Its in Malad near Inorbit. They have one in Vasai as well.

Originally Posted by maddy42 View Post
So straight6 where is the location and also are they going to keep all their bikes here?
As in R15 and FZee's
Yes, there are lots of R15's. Didn't see any FZ's.

Last edited by straight6 : 29th August 2008 at 17:36.
Old 30th August 2008, 12:08   #382

Even i spotted the R1's at the showroom day before.Also saw a MT-01.However went there yesterday and saw only one R15,are they really planning to make this a outlet for the imports too?
Old 30th August 2008, 14:12   #383

Originally Posted by diesel_headrock View Post
Even i spotted the R1's at the showroom day before.Also saw a MT-01.However went there yesterday and saw only one R15,are they really planning to make this a outlet for the imports too?
What time did you go there yesterday? I saw the R1's there at around 1 pm. Yes, its definitely going to be an outlet for the big bikes.
Old 4th September 2008, 03:34   #384

@straight6: Which Yamaha showroom in Vasai were you mentioning?

Guys, just heard some interesting news. A friend has confirmed that the insurance for the official R1 & MT-01 are given as per invoice, that is, ex-factory price, Japan. Which is less than 4 lacs INR odd. I asked if this was the norm, and found out that if, God forbid, somebody bangs his precious ride and the estimates cross 3.5L, the bike would be written off as a "total loss". This is for a bike that costs around 12.3L on-road, ex-octroi.

Fair? I doubt so, because replacing the fairing, headlamps, rims and front suspension/brakes alone would push the bill over that figure....
Old 4th September 2008, 04:52   #385

Originally Posted by veyron1 View Post

I asked if this was the norm, and found out that if, God forbid, somebody bangs his precious ride and the estimates cross 3.5L, the bike would be written off as a "total loss". This is for a bike that costs around 12.3L on-road, ex-octroi.

And what happens after it is written off, they give you a new bike or just 3.5 lakhs in cash ?. I guess the latter ?
Old 4th September 2008, 05:16   #386

@artofzen; Precisely...give cash and well...chalte bano....

One more reason to hate the duty structure over here....I would've loved to see variable rates of premium on import- insurance rather than the customs, excise and additional duties...
Old 4th September 2008, 10:49   #387

Originally Posted by veyron1 View Post

Guys, just heard some interesting news. A friend has confirmed that the insurance for the official R1 & MT-01 are given as per invoice, that is, ex-factory price, Japan. Which is less than 4 lacs INR odd. I asked if this was the norm, and found out that if, God forbid, somebody bangs his precious ride and the estimates cross 3.5L, the bike would be written off as a "total loss". This is for a bike that costs around 12.3L on-road, ex-octroi.

Fair? I doubt so, because replacing the fairing, headlamps, rims and front suspension/brakes alone would push the bill over that figure....
I don't know where the showroom is exactly but the workers at this showroom told me that they worked at that one and there is a "sardarji" managing it. Why don't you find it and let us know? Its fully done up and waiting for the opening on the 8th.

Does your friend have the official R1?
Old 8th September 2008, 02:23   #388

Went to the showroom today with the FZ1. The manager said they will service it (which means they will service an R6 or FZ6 as well). The showroom in Vasai is a 3rd party dealer for Yamaha. They are getting ready for the opening later today.

They had a Blue R1 on show and in apparel there was a full body leather suit and an ARAI helmet. The servicing will start in around 15 days.
Old 8th September 2008, 19:28   #389

Just got information that the R1 and MT-01 will cost 13 lakhs on road in Bombay.
Old 9th September 2008, 17:03   #390

I had been there yesterday at around 5.30 pm. the showroom was pretty much functional except the service area (which seemed well equiped & neat) , The blue R1 which was kept right infront of the entrance looked HOT.. & they will also be servicing grey imports (think that should be good news to a few others). All in all a decent showroom.