Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 23rd August 2007, 02:01   #136

Originally Posted by veyron1 View Post

The point here being that superbikes should be affordable to those who "need" it; not "want" it. IMHO.

(Need=Necessity;
Want=Luxury.)
In that case NO BODY i mean no one needs a litre bike or even a 600cc. Its all about want. If you're riding on indian highways with 80"KM"ph speed limits which lets increase it to 120 "KM"ph I think a decent 250cc twin would be great. in terms of performance + handling.
Old 23rd August 2007, 02:02   #137

Originally Posted by speedy View Post
the whole harley davidson deal was to allow mangoes to be exported to the U.S.A and in return harley got entry in INDIA. now harley fans like me get dissappointed in the bargain as they are not comming.
Worry not they're just loud cool sounding motorcycles. wait till they start breaking down and you have to push em' all that 200+kgs weight will have u visiting the chiropractor
Old 23rd August 2007, 02:26   #138

Originally Posted by highwayblaze View Post
Worry not they're just loud cool sounding motorcycles. wait till they start breaking down and you have to push em' all that 200+kgs weight will have u visiting the chiropractor
i had a friends 1997 harley davidson electra glide with me. rode her for a while till he took the bike back with him. i had my fair share of break downs and pushing fortunately i had my car following and another friend on his fireblade rideing with me.
Old 25th August 2007, 01:12   #139

Originally Posted by highwayblaze
In that case NO BODY i mean no one needs a litre bike or even a 600cc. Its all about want. If you're riding on indian highways with 80"KM"ph speed limits which lets increase it to 120 "KM"ph I think a decent 250cc twin would be great. in terms of performance + handling.
Au contraire, my friend. A 600cc ST would do just great. Although... you can exploit a litre bike here and there; but you can't squeeze out it's full potential; attack corners at 60 degree plus lean, I mean.
Old 2nd September 2007, 18:11   #140

Back to topic... Any one see any new news on the R1 entry ...

whats the latest Yamaha has to say?

Did someone show them this thread?

etc/.?
Old 4th September 2007, 10:27   #141

They are coming this year. 100% confirmed. I would guess they would be launched i Diwali. Price will be around the 11.5 - 12 lakh range.

Honda and Suzuki are confirmed for March 2008.
Old 4th September 2007, 12:51   #142

Today's Hindustan Times, HT City (Delhi Edition) has an article on this.

Yamaha R1
Expected: late 2007
Price: About 9 lakh

MT 01
Expected- soon after R1
Price: A little more then R1 but seven figures for sure.

Suzuki GSX-R1000
Expected:March 2008
Price: Around 9L

Hayabusa
Expected: March 2008
Price: 11 Lakh
Old 4th September 2007, 12:58   #143

great news, but i hope they will start getting some mid range bikes as well.
Old 4th September 2007, 20:56   #144

These machines are too much for us to ride. Is there entries of any 400-600 CC bikes foreseen in our country??
Old 4th September 2007, 21:19   #145

Originally Posted by -GS- View Post

Yamaha R1
Expected: late 2007
Price: About 9 lakh

MT 01
Expected- soon after R1
Price: A little more then R1 but seven figures for sure.

Suzuki GSX-R1000
Expected:March 2008
Price: Around 9L

Hayabusa
Expected: March 2008
Price: 11 Lakh
Good news for India & those who have that much money.

Any news of a decent below 500cc category
Old 4th September 2007, 21:30   #146

Wow. Not bad. Which means when Honda & Suzi enter, we'd have some decently priced machines by 09'. Yippee....
Old 4th September 2007, 22:30   #147

Originally Posted by -GS- View Post
This is the article
Old 4th September 2007, 23:48   #148

the priceing for the bikes is not bad at all. its what you pay to get the bikes down yourself with the help of a dealer and not being sure of the paperwork and other hassles. now with them comming officially it makes them hassle free. hope they stick to these prices and not increase them.
Old 4th September 2007, 23:51   #149

These are probably ex-showroom. Expect another 15% before they get into your hands, if you can afford them.
Old 5th September 2007, 00:07   #150

Originally Posted by quadra View Post
Good news for India & those who have that much money.

Any news of a decent below 500cc category
The only less then 500cc bike you can expect is from Bajaj.

There is news of a 350cc FI HH Karizma.

Though what we really need is a V Twin, Mono Shock 400cc bike, 50bhp and around 2.5Lacs, Thank you