Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 4th July 2022, 16:21   #31

re: Suzuki Katana launched at Rs 13.61 lakh

Originally Posted by loki View Post
The Ninja 1000 retails for around 15.15L on road Blore. The Katana will come in at approximately 16.8L :O
While the Katana (Middleweight sport naked) and N1K (Sport Tourer) belong to different genres and therefore cannot be compared directly, the Katana has the following objective benefits over the N1K, which do justify the pricing delta IMO:
- 21 kg lighter
- 20 mm longer wheelbase
- 5 mm more ground clearance
- 10 mm lower seat height
- Brembo Monoblocs at the front
- Upright ergonomics (more comfortable than N1K)
- Exclusivity (very few shall be spotted on the road pan-India)

Subjective:
- Matte Blue paint with bronze alloys
- Suzuki I4s have a different feel from Kawasaki's
- Suzuki's build quality is better (specifically referring to this bike/segment)
GoBlue is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 16:27   #32

Ngl, the pricing is spot on. The bike’s got a wonderful USP, its unique design. Not to mention, it’s a literal blade, this.

Originally Posted by Black_Star View Post
Actually I wouldn't mind that, there was a 250cc Katana previously, Suzuki GSX 250S Katana however with a in-line 4 cylinder engine. If they launch an affordable Katana
Do you really believe Suzuki would bring in a 4 cylinder, 250cc Katana? Or heck, even a parallel twin? Look what they did to the ‘Strom 250…
TheHelix0202 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 16:54   #33

That’s good pricing and it’s a beautiful bike. Still can’t justify the premium over Z900 specially if some one is looking for a naked four cylinder.

In fact I’m on a lookout for a good used four cylinder bike for myself, want to experience four fire breathing cylinders under me before the whole thing goes electric.
Zanskar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th July 2022, 19:44   #34

Nobody asked for this!!! Suzuki should've launched GSX S750 and they could've challenged Trident 660, Ninja/Z650, Honda CBR 650R etc. Those bikes are selling quite well and that segment could really use a new entrant.
mad4nfs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th July 2022, 18:01   #35

Re: Suzuki Katana teased ahead of India launch. EDIT: Launched at Rs 13.61 lakh

Originally Posted by mad4nfs View Post
Nobody asked for this!!! Suzuki should've launched GSX S750 and they could've challenged Trident 660, Ninja/Z650, Honda CBR 650R etc. Those bikes are selling quite well and that segment could really use a new entrant.
On the contrary, I feel that there is a gap in the Indian market that can easily be filled by the Suzuki Katana. There are scores of enthusiasts who have owned bikes like the Street Triple 675, Z800 etc, who are looking for an upgrade. They can only move to adventure bikes, as there arent any litre class naked bikes. Only the Triumph Speed Triple 1200 is available but thats rather expensive.

With standout looks, unmatched pedigree, honest pricing and exclusivity, I am sure that Suzuki India will sell out all their Katana motorcycles. They may not fly off the shelves like the latest Hayabusa did but they will be a hot favourite in the Indian market.
neil.jericho is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 5th July 2022, 21:12   #36

Re: Suzuki Katana launched at Rs 13.61 lakh

This is absolutely a gem of a bike. I used to have a die cast model of the 1992 650cc in silver The bike has a massive fan following overseas and was a perennial track favorite in Europe. Really excited to see Suzuki stirring up the pot.

I concur with Neil that in the naked segment, for the 1000cc category, the options are limited when it comes to pricing. The Katana fits in well within the budget and with the GSX 1000 engine, it is a no brainer. I wonder if Kawasaki will step up and bring the Z1000.
no_fear is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 5th July 2022, 23:44   #37

The K5 motor is probably Suzuki's best ever. Broad spread of torque and also a searing top end. The motor was probably the reason the GSXR K5 won all the bike shootouts that year.
Styling could be slightly better but I'd take it over the new stacked headlight GSXS1000 any day
doga is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th July 2022, 19:14   #38

Originally Posted by TheHelix0202 View Post

Do you really believe Suzuki would bring in a 4 cylinder, 250cc Katana? Or heck, even a parallel twin? Look what they did to the ‘Strom 250…
Of course not, 4 cylinder 250cc engines are dead except Kawasaki one

I just mentioned the displacement to show that there was a 250cc Katana in past.
Black_Star is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th July 2022, 23:18   #39

This is a good introduction in the market, personally I will pay the extra money and pick this over Z900, which IMHO has no character at all (No offence to current owners). This will stand out and looks the part too.

I will wait for 2-3 years and probably pick a good pre owned one down the lane, would love to have one of these in my garage.
AtheK is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 8th July 2022, 14:07   #40

Originally Posted by no_fear View Post
This is absolutely a gem of a bike. I used to have a die cast model of the 1992 650cc in silver
As much as I like the Katana, it's out of my reach at the moment, so I went and got this off Amazon :

Suzuki Katana launched at Rs 13.61 lakh-pxl_20220708_0728309782.jpg

Seriously though, it's an amazing motorcycle for the price. I hope to find a nice pre-owned example a few years down the line .
Turbojc is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 8th July 2022, 14:31   #41

Seems deliveries have started. The customary India's first video is out!

Old 8th July 2022, 15:25   #42

This particular 750 version which was I guess built only for the Japanese market will be so cool to ride now especially In India, when a cop stops you thinking he got a bait for riding without headlight and then you flick the magic switch. Epic!!

Name:  SuzukiGSX750SKatanaIVbyMaxMotoModelingTamiya09696x503.jpg
Views: 536
Size:  53.2 KB

Name:  44fae25a86d3a868cf5d50539f6a916b.gif
Views: 640
Size:  3.44 MB
SnS_12 is online now   (15) Thanks
Old 8th July 2022, 20:05   #43

Checked it out in the flesh. Loved this rear treatment, and the bike looks classy/well put together overall. Nothing flashy about it. But at Rs. 17,25,000 on road, very few will go for it
Suzuki Katana launched at Rs 13.61 lakh-img_6435.jpg  

Sebring is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 8th July 2022, 20:45   #44

Originally Posted by AtheK View Post
This is a good introduction in the market, personally I will pay the extra money and pick this over Z900, which IMHO has no character at all (No offence to current owners). This will stand out and looks the part too.
Not a fair comparison against the Z900 I feel, even if on a positive note.

This would have gone up against the old Z1000 if it were still on sale.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th July 2022, 20:47   #45

Not a fair comparison against the Z900 I feel, even if on a positive note.

This would have gone up against the old Z1000 if it were still on sale.
Yup if it was, but in current scenario the only naked four cylinder that comes close is Z900, that said i was wrong as I just looked up the price and difference is almost 5 lacs Ex-showroom, which is huge.

So Katana is basically in a segment of it's own right now with no direct competition.