Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 9th December 2024, 19:55   #121

Re: Suzuki Katana launched at Rs 13.61 lakh

There is a demonstration Katana for sale with the Mumbai dealer. They are asking for INR 10.5 lacs, I believe the bike has done only 400 kilometres.

There should be room for negotiation here because they have been trying to sell it for sometime with no success. Possibly their asking price would go down further with the calendar year changing in January 2025.

Please do your due diligence because I have just heard this in the biking community, no idea about the condition of the bike otherwise. No affiliation or motive, just posting this information in case it helps someone.

Cyborg is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 23:04   #122

Originally Posted by Petrichor View Post
Hope you're loving all your trips on the Katana every time you hit the road! I'm curious to learn how expensive it has been to maintain it in Bangalore? How much does the average service cost, which would include oil change, chain maintenance etc.?
Completely tore my PCL in November (Crashed my scooter ) and haven't taken the bike out since.

I'll go with what @ENTSurgeon is mentioning here. A 15L bike would cost as much as an equivalently priced car for regular maintenance (including Insurance). Its the consumables that are more expensive (eg: Tyres). But if you are pinching pennies, you wouldn't be shopping a 150bhp motorcycle right. That being said, Suzuki big bike service isn't as relatively expensive as lets say Ducati / BMW. Maybe a tad cheaper than Kawasaki in India.

As far as your jump from a Pulsar200 is concerned, I go with what the others are suggesting here. A. You can either graduate to a 80 odd Bhp / 600 to 800cc motorcycle first and experience first hand what it means to own and live with a big bike in India OR B. you can make the jump now itself if financials permit. Although if you are on the younger side, I strongly recommend option A where you upgrade gradually and build your own temperament / patience which is required while riding these high horsepower machines. Also, needs evolve. Almost everyone i know who picked up a 650cc Sport-ish bike (Eg: CBR650) went for a different genre as their next bike).

In either case, please invest in proper riding gear. Happy riding !

Last edited by loki : 5th January 2025 at 23:06.
loki is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th January 2025, 23:16   #123

A silver katana!!! When swords are silver in colour, blue katanas should be illegal
Old 6th January 2025, 15:49   #124

Originally Posted by loki View Post
Completely tore my PCL in November (Crashed my scooter ) and haven't taken the bike out since.
That's sad to hear loki. Hope you are recovering fast and the torn ligament will be back to normal.

After all, who doesn't want more frequent updates on Katana
abhi_tjet is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th February 2025, 18:24   #125

Get well soon Loki! Hope you're back out riding! I’m still so drawn to the Katana. Recently got my KTM 390A serviced and my FNG noticed a weak water pump seal. Such an easy replacement and small price. Barring costs - are the service centres (at least in Blore) stocking up for spares from your experience so far?

Last edited by Axe77 : 10th February 2025 at 16:10. Reason: Minor typo.
thevwguy is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 10th February 2025, 09:52   #126

Originally Posted by abhi_tjet View Post
That's sad to hear loki. Hope you are recovering fast and the torn ligament will be back to normal.
Thanks Man. Yeah its a bummer. Never know when you will pick up unwanted injuries

Originally Posted by thevwguy View Post
Get well soon Loki! Hope your back out riding! I’m still so drawn to the Katana. Recently got my KTM 390A serviced and my FNG noticed a weak water pump seal. Such an easy replacement and small price. Barring costs - are the service centres (at least in Blore) stocking up for spares from your experience so far?
Thanks man. I hear Aryan Suzuki (the Bangalore Suzuki dealer) has sold a few Katanas to Chennai customers.

I think service centers should be pretty well stocked when it comes to regular service-consumables - Eg: Filters, Oils, Brake Pads etc. But I think we need to keep expectations realistic when it comes to other parts which might not have frequent demand. I guess this should apply all motorcycles and brands which are CBU / CKD /SKD imported into India. I got my Katana 2 years ago and haven't needed anything except regular service. So it all depends on your luck as well. You can never compare this part availability to your 390A which is Manufactured in India itself.

Meanwhile, I finally managed to get the bike out for a ride this weekend. Went to Horsely Hills (about 160km one-way from Bangalore).
Suzuki Katana launched at Rs 13.61 lakh-img20250208142435-2.jpg
loki is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 10th February 2025, 15:46   #127

Yes there is one bike in Chennai and one in Coimbatore AFAIK.

Oh no - they (Suzuki Katana service vs KTM390A) cannot be compared and its not apples to apples. Hopefully, no big bike owner gets to have to experience waiting for an integral part that knocks the bike out of action for months.

Glad you're back Loki and out riding - please continue to post. Gosh thats one beautiful motorcyle.
thevwguy is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 9th March 2025, 12:30   #128

2 Katanas are better than 1 ! Did a quick breakfast catchup with another Bangalore rider who picked up a Katana. The Matt Blue version does look lovely
Suzuki Katana launched at Rs 13.61 lakh-untitled.jpg
loki is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 14th April 2025, 11:31   #129

Visited Aryan Suzuki recently for a bits & bobs service on my V Strom.

I was always interested in the Katana from a very practical and logical standpoint...lol!
Many called it an inline-4 Splendor for its looks. I call it an inline-4 Splendor for its apparent practicality

Suzuki Katana launched at Rs 13.61 lakh-pxl_20220716_035705550.jpg

The more I think about it, I'd love to own one, but my current economics can only support a TBHP post and nothing more.
Life is strange and I never thought I'd be where I am...so, never say never.

Got to know that the Katana is being offerred at quite a discount.
17.2L - 2L + additional discounts that Aryan Suzuki is willing to offer.

I declined the coffee and departed quickly

Suzuki Katana launched at Rs 13.61 lakh-img20250404wa0011.jpg
shyamg28 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 14th April 2025, 12:38   #130

Originally Posted by shyamg28 View Post
Many called it an inline-4 Splendor for its looks. I call it an inline-4 Splendor for its apparent practicality

Got to know that the Katana is being offerred at quite a discount.
17.2L - 2L + additional discounts that Aryan Suzuki is willing to offer.
Would have considered this to be interesting discounts last year - but I guess many now would just hold on and wait for the rumoured Hornet launch.

Although Honda is likely to overcharge in India, the international pricing of undercutting the Z900 makes even this discounted price very unattractive!

And wasnt there also a chance of price cuts on CBU motorcycles due to the tariff discussions?
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th May 2025, 16:33   #131

Would have considered this to be interesting discounts last year - but I guess many now would just hold on and wait for the rumoured Hornet launch.

Although Honda is likely to overcharge in India, the international pricing of undercutting the Z900 makes even this discounted price very unattractive!

And wasnt there also a chance of price cuts on CBU motorcycles due to the tariff discussions?
I anticipate the Honda will just about undercut and land in a similar price range as the discounted Katana price (12.5 to 14L). I really will be surprised if we get the SP. But barring the digital dash, the Katana and the Hornet are direct rivals with the Katana having an edge in build quality (aluminum frame and swing-arm) and the Hornet gaining ground with practicality.

- both 150 bhp nakeds
- both derived from legendary MotoGP engines
- bare boned
- low down torque and real work city commuting

Not sure on the price cuts, hopefully we see better days with reduced taxes on these CBUs.

Last edited by thevwguy : 12th May 2025 at 16:35.
Old 14th May 2025, 11:56   #132

I find the most normal-looking Suzuki big bike to be the Bandit 1250S. It literally looks like a slightly beefed up Honda Unicorn. I will let pictures do the talking.

Suzuki Katana launched at Rs 13.61 lakh-screenshot-20250514-11.53.478239am.png

Suzuki Katana launched at Rs 13.61 lakh-screenshot-20250514-11.54.448239am.png
after is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 14th May 2025, 16:43   #133

@loki-
Are there any ground clearance issues with the stock silencer? I notice the collector is huge. Is it any trouble over speed bumps or potholes?
Also, where did you source the t-rex sliders from?
Old 14th May 2025, 17:43   #134

The more I think about it, I'd love to own one, but my current economics can only support a TBHP post and nothing more.
Attachment 2748029
YOLO man. Inline4s are a dying breed. Especially ones like the Katana. Get one before they disappear. On the practicality bit, I just keep it to Ride Mode 'C' in the City and its pretty easy to commute and does decently in traffic.

The Hornet 1000 has crazy pricing and even undercuts the Z900 in most western markets. Don't think HMSI will following similar strategy in India. if they do, then the Hornet1000 will be the most frequently seen big bike during breakfast rides The Katana does have exclusivity though (if that matters) and makes a solid case for longer retention.

The Hornet 1000 is a great package overall, though I feel the styling now is a bit generic for the category (mix of old Z1000 and current Streetfighter). The retro version (CB1000F), however, should be neat ! I gave up waiting for that one to come.

Originally Posted by doga View Post
@loki-
Are there any ground clearance issues with the stock silencer? I notice the collector is huge. Is it any trouble over speed bumps or potholes?
Also, where did you source the t-rex sliders from?
Stock Ground Clearance is around 140mm. Its mostly fine but scrapes some of the monster Bangalore speedbreakers sometimes. Also, I've added around 7 kgs to my kerb weight since I got the bike , so I think I need to be a tad extra careful. But its mostly fine. I was much more careful with my old CBR650F.

Got a friend to carry the TRex sliders from the US
loki is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th May 2025, 19:59   #135

Originally Posted by loki View Post
Stock Ground Clearance is around 140mm. Its mostly fine but scrapes some of the monster Bangalore speedbreakers sometimes. Also, I've added around 7 kgs to my kerb weight since I got the bike , so I think I need to be a tad extra careful. But its mostly fine. I was much more careful with my old CBR650F.
140 sounds too low to me, lower even than the Trident which always comes up as a low ground clearance bike in all internet discussions. A casual google suggests almost all big nakeds are better 'cleared' in India. I recently acquired a preowned GSX S1000 which basically is the same bike. It comes with a decat header and SC project end can. Have already had to part with a sizeable fine/'baksheesh' even though the DB killer was in and it isn't proper loud like these other big bikes on IG/Youtube.

Ever since I feel very anxious stepping out for rides as big bikes are easy money for our hardworking diligent Police force. I have already ordered header gaskets so I can slap the stocker back in, but the reduced ground clearance makes me nervous!
doga is offline   (1) Thanks