Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 20th January 2024, 19:30   #1

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs

Man, am I getting lazy or what? This is a ride pulled between 11th and 17th November 2023.

Day 1: Pune to Indore 640 km

Gurpratap (Ducati Multistrada V2 S) and I (Ninja 1000) set out early amidst a wet rainy morning and headed for Nasik and then Indore in MP. Except for the Chakan crossing in Pune which had heavy traffic even early morning the remainder of the ride was a breeze. Post Nasik and till Dhule there is an overkill of speed breakers which loom up every couple of kilometers, really irritating. Rest stops are mainly Dhaba's along this route.
We didn't take any pictures along this leg but I did manage to get some video footage.

Separately, Sunny Khan aka Khan Sahib rode from Nagpur to Indore on his Ninja 1000 and did take some pictures. Here are some of them.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0003.jpg
Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231126wa0001.jpg

We reached our hotel Blue Leaf Resort before sunset and met with Sunny who had also reached from Nagpur. My friend Inder visited us for a short while and the evening was spent chilling out and catching up.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0011.jpg
Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0005.jpg

Day 2: Indore to Bundi 360 km

Sunny was the first at his bike in the morning and we rolled out heading towards Ujjain. Once out of Indore this road is two-way, tarmac but in good condition. Being early the roads were clear and we reached Ujjain pretty quickly. Past Ujjain, the road becomes a wide 4-lane, tarmac road right till Kota and Bundi. Again, not many pictures but some video footage.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0015.jpg
Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0016.jpg

We reached Bundi by 1 pm and settled into our hotel Nawal Sagar Palace.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0022.jpg

Lake by the Hotel Lawn

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0023.jpg

Bundi Fort in all its splendour

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0025.jpg
Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0026.jpg

This is the living room in the Hotel

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0028.jpg

Let me introduce Bikram who joined us in Bundi from Chandigarh on his Ducati Multistrada V2S. Some pictures from his ride to Bundi.
Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0002.jpg  

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0007.jpg  

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0021.jpg  

Last edited by AKSO : 24th January 2024 at 12:15.
AKSO is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 20th January 2024, 19:42   #2

Re: Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs

These are a few pictures from the Taragarh Fort and Bundi Fort Palace which was situated just outside the hotel and within walking distance.

Comrades, Bikram and Sunny

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0054.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0056.jpg

Be prepared to do a lot of walking.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0069.jpg

Taragarh Fort

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0072.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0068.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0074.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0075.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0085.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0088.jpg

Beautiful night view of the lake alongside the hotel lawn

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0061.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0047.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0048.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-jevwvfi6ggvdcjunolxdemdff8zdhk8cfkrsj9i9q_plaintext_638366653862093597.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 12th February 2024 at 10:48. Reason: Rule #11, thanks for sharing
AKSO is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 20th January 2024, 19:49   #3

Some more pictures from Bundi

Line up your Kwacks and Ducs. Parking at Hotel Nawal Sagar

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0089.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-jevwvfi6ggvdcjunolxdemdff8zdhk8cfkrsj9i9q_plaintext_638366653862093597.jpg

This is the video for the ride from Pune to Bundi.

Last edited by GTO : 12th February 2024 at 10:49. Reason: Rule #11, thanks for sharing
AKSO is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2024, 19:30   #4

Day 3: Bundi to Mount Abu 430 km

We set out from Bundi rather late by Gurpratap and my standards and after a hearty breakfast at the hotel we headed for Mount Abu.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0030.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0031.jpg

Bundi Fort in the background

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0046.jpg

The roads in Rajasthan are just fabulous. Mostly tarmac and either 4-laned or 6-laned smooth roads is what we rode on. The only downside are the numerous stray cattle and dogs that lurk in the median and many times squat in the middle of the road, dangerous stuff.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0096.jpg

There is some indescribable feeling about being alongside a railway track!

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0091.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0092.jpg

A little later and somewhere along the way we came across this water body. Bikram and Sunny decided to venture closer to the water.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0094.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0101.jpg

Some pictures along the Rajasthan highways

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0209.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0210.jpg

Plenty of straight roads

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0211.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0212.jpg

For some reason or the other, there are no pictures from the stay at Mount Abu. Our hotel for this stay Hotel Lake Inn situated at Nakki Lake was a small property but we managed to park all four bikes within the hotel premises which was a relief. It was Sunny's birthday and we celebrated this occasion with some dinner on the hotel terrace overlooking Nakki Lake and some cake cutting.

Day 4: Mount Abu to Dholavira (Rann of Kutch) 370 km

Though the distance wasn't much, the going was slower on this day. The fabulous Rajasthan roads gave way to the over-hyped Gujarat highways. There are unmarked, random and dilapidated speedbrakers around Bhildi in GJ which loom up at the most unexpected places, like in the middle of an incline portion of a flyover.

There is a portion of road for about 8 kms before getting to "Road of Heaven" around 8 kms which is completely broken. Google Maps, aka Google Aunty took us through some village backyards before putting us on to this broken road. Nevertheless, post these difficulties and some sweat, the road opened up to the following vistas

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0109.jpg

This is how dirty your bike will end up that 8 km of broken roads

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0111.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0113.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0114.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0115.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0116.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0117.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0118.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0119.jpg

Those magnificent men in their flying machines

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0120.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0121.jpg

Surrounded by Salt Flats

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0127.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0128.jpg

Ready, Get set, Go

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0129.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0131.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0134.jpg

Brothers in Arms

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0138.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0139.jpg

Last edited by AKSO : 24th January 2024 at 13:08.
AKSO is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2024, 20:06   #5

Our stay at Dholavira was at Flamingo Resort. There are not many options as you can imagine. The place is dry and pure veg. Some pics from the resort.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0150.jpg

The rooms were housed in this section of the resort

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0152.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0155.jpg

Each room had this ornate doorway

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0157.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0158.jpg

Day 5: Dholavira (Rann of Kutch) to Navsari 625 km

Due to some unforeseen circumstances Gurpratap and I had to return back earlier than scheduled. Sunny and Bikram were headed to Udaipur for some R&R.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0166.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0187.jpg

Gurpratap and I stayed at GD Hotels Navsari which is highly recommended for a comfortable stay, ample parking, the most friendly pets and is situated along the highway for an easy pull in and exit.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0194.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0195.jpg

Separately, some pictures from Bikram and Sunny's return leg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0175.jpg

Sunny and Bikram began their ride to Udaipur by taking a few more pictures from "The Road to Heaven" Hopefully, in time to come, they will refer to this T-log at Team-BHP as their scrapbook and relive the happy memories.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0176.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0177.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0180.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0181.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-img20231127wa0186.jpg

The bike line up at Mangal View Residency, Udaipur of Bikram, Sunny and one of Bikram's friend who had ridden down to Udaipur from Chandigarh on his Kawasaki Verysys 1000.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20231125-20.05.48_73000cc7.jpg

Day 5: Navsari to Pune 385 km

We left early from Navsari and after a hearty breakfast at Atithi near Vapi and then we split ways. I headed back home to Pune via the crowded, jam packed traffic in Thane and Gurpratap headed for Mumbai.

The remaining videos from this fabulous ride are below. Do subscribe if you haven't already and hit the button.

Last edited by AKSO : 24th January 2024 at 13:18.
AKSO is offline   (24) Thanks
Old 25th January 2024, 11:58   #6

Thread moved to the Superbikes forum, so our motorcycle fans don't miss this epic road-trip!

Also on our homepage today
GTO is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th January 2024, 19:02   #7

A few pictures that got left out from the earlier posts.

The signboard says it all
Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20240125-11.28.52_3a27956f.jpg

Bridge across the Narmada River

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20240125-11.29.48_0c4a2abc.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20240125-11.29.48_9afa1c32.jpg

Early morning start from Blue Leaf Resort, Indore. Sunny, Gurpratap and I posing for the shutter to drop.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20240125-11.32.10_3414ed87.jpg

Breakfast. All this and more for the three of us at the princely sum of Rs.70/-

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20240125-11.32.12_9e270492.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20240125-11.32.12_400ac416.jpg

A small curious crowd gathered to see us off.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20240125-11.32.12_3483a2d4.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20240125-11.32.12_a893b72d.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20240125-11.32.12_cf5a442f.jpg

Amongst one of the numerous fuel stops on this ride.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20240125-11.32.12_381a0034.jpg

A simple "Happy Diwali" greeting to this lovely couple on the bike made both our day brighter and happier.

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20240125-11.32.12_bcfa727d.jpg

View from the terrace of Hotel Lake Inn, Mount Abu

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20240125-11.39.47_2e9da77a.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20240125-11.39.47_781ad03c.jpg

Rajasthan: 2 Kwacks and a Couple of Ducs-whatsapp-image-20240125-11.39.47_8607c410.jpg
AKSO is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 7th February 2024, 20:22   #8

Really nice writeup. Being a Rajasthani myself, I never thought of visiting Bundi. Its just a small town for us. But after seeing the pictures, I am definitely going there along with that Kutch road!
mad4nfs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th March 2024, 21:53   #9

Originally Posted by mad4nfs View Post
Really nice writeup. Being a Rajasthani myself, I never thought of visiting Bundi. Its just a small town for us. But after seeing the pictures, I am definitely going there along with that Kutch road!
It's a Nice place to spend & explore for a day only. Don't plan more than day pls. We stayed there in Oct. 2023, exactly same hotel ( Nawal Sagar) and the lake was smelling a lot with tons of garbage at that time. They need to clean the lake badly. Next day with nothing to do we choose to have lunch at Sekhawati Dhaba for Bajra roti and explore Kota. If you are too hygiene conscious, avoid Dhaba

Last edited by .sushilkumar : 13th March 2024 at 21:54.
Old 28th March 2024, 20:43   #10

Originally Posted by .sushilkumar View Post
It's a Nice place to spend & explore for a day only. Don't plan more than day pls. We stayed there in Oct. 2023, exactly same hotel ( Nawal Sagar) and the lake was smelling a lot with tons of garbage at that time. They need to clean the lake badly. Next day with nothing to do we choose to have lunch at Sekhawati Dhaba for Bajra roti and explore Kota. If you are too hygiene conscious, avoid Dhaba
Apologies for the late reply. Fortunately, the lake wasn't smelling at the time during our visit but the water didn't look very clean. Despite so many Do Not Litter signs being put up all over the place and especially in the hills, it is commonplace to see how dirty the surroundings are.
Old 29th March 2024, 18:10   #11

Thanks for sharing. Nice travelogue on some awesome machines and inspires me to ride further on my 650F. Gujarat is still on my bucket list esp. Rann of Kutch. Maybe, someday.

I like the post structure, photos with one line description.

On multiday rides like these, my anxiety revolves around breakdowns, esp for big bikes. I usually go solo and just wanted to know how do you guys take care of that. Do you have RSA for things like these or managed it yourself when you're out on the roads? Looking at your tail/saddle bag, do you also pack the basic repair kits?

Old 29th March 2024, 19:12   #12

Originally Posted by minzanurag View Post
Thanks for sharing. Nice travelogue on some awesome machines and inspires me to ride further on my 650F. Gujarat is still on my bucket list esp. Rann of Kutch. Maybe, someday.

The 650F is an awesome bike with an incredible sounding inline 4 engine. I hope you make it to the Rann of Kutch but frankly it didn't rock my world compared to the rides down South

I like the post structure, photos with one line description.

On multiday rides like these, my anxiety revolves around breakdowns, esp for big bikes. I usually go solo and just wanted to know how do you guys take care of that. Do you have RSA for things like these or managed it yourself when you're out on the roads? Looking at your tail/saddle bag, do you also pack the basic repair kits?

I have always installed Tyre Protector, the puncture sealant liquid and this has resulted in zero punctures for over 1 lac kms that I have ridden. Given that this can be the no. 1 problem faced by a rider, this has been a blessing for me. Timely maintenance like oil change, chain & sprockets, spark plugs etc all help towards a hassle free long ride. Basic tools which are supplied in a kit with most bikes are there with us, but honestly most of these engines are bullet proof and reliable under most Indian conditions. In the off chance should something go wrong there is not much one can do besides sending the motorcycle home by tempo. I have not opted for RSA service. My tail bag besides chain lube contains only clothes.
AKSO is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th March 2024, 20:12   #13

Originally Posted by AKSO View Post
I have always installed Tyre Protector, the puncture sealant liquid and this has resulted in zero punctures for over 1 lac kms that I have ridden. Given that this can be the no. 1 problem faced by a rider, this has been a blessing for me. Timely maintenance like oil change, chain & sprockets, spark plugs etc all help towards a hassle free long ride. Basic tools which are supplied in a kit with most bikes are there with us, but honestly most of these engines are bullet proof and reliable under most Indian conditions. In the off chance should something go wrong there is not much one can do besides sending the motorcycle home by tempo. I have not opted for RSA service. My tail bag besides chain lube contains only clothes.
Thank you for the points. I will explore the option of the Tyre Protector during the next tire change.
minzanurag is offline   (1) Thanks