Old 23rd January 2025, 22:25   #1

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review

BMW R1300 GS

Initial Ownership Review

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_1043.jpeg

Prequel

Dreams are a funny thing. You read and hear about the power of manifestation and things coming true if you manifest strongly enough. But what when some things are beyond even your wildest dreams, let alone manifesting.

We’ve all sported superbike and supercar posters on our walls and cupboards as children … well at least the sorts reading this thread would have at some point, dreaming of owning one some day. That yearning continues as you get access to your entry level bikes and scooters as young college going adults.

But there are some things that are even beyond your wildest dreams. Which brings me to a specific period sometime in the late 90s. We were all college going late teens (18 - 20) with our cool “2 stroke” motorbikes. I had a KB 100 RTZ - my two closest pals had ‘big’ bikes though - a Yezdi Roadking 250D and a Bullet Machismo 350. I guess in our eyes, that makes the pecking order as cool, cooler and coolest. The hefty Machismo in this trio felt massive - and as much as successfully kick starting that thing was like a 50:50 lottery for me, I felt like I was riding a BIG bike whenever I was astride it. The cooler 100 cc dudes had the amazing RX 100 while the uber cool graduated to the newest kid on the block - incredible Suzuki Shogun.

We didn’t know much about the world of motorbikes and an aspirational bike in our head were the supersports like R1, 10R or even the 600 cc supersports. The world of tall adventure bikes was relatively alien to us. And that’s when I first saw it for the first time. A BMW F650 Funduro outside our college. To my completely uninformed eyes, it looked absolutely grand with its tall stance in complete contrast to the sporty supersports. I didn’t even bother dreaming about ever owning a bike like that. It cost a princely sum of around 5 lakh at the time - an unfathomable amount for us to reckon for anything, let alone a motorbike. It was beyond any realm of even dreaming that I could ever afford a machine like that, and even if I could, in my freshly minted noobish 19 yo rider avatar, that I was could even manage to get a leg up on it even if someone offered me a spin!! (When I think about it today, it wasn’t even as tall as some of the modern day adventure bikes that we now tame with ease).

Why the long winded trip down memory lane - well coincidentally there were two incidents that brought back that memory for me in the last one year. The first and the more obvious - finally owning a GS 1300. Yes - a tall, 240 kg+ adventure bike, piloting which was beyond even my wildest dreams about 3 decades ago. The second was the BSA 650 parked beside my GS, sporting a derivative of the same 650 Rotax engine that powered the famed F650 Funduro I had ogled at back then. And here it was, standing in my garage - a media unit on test with me for 4 days, for me to formulate an informed opinion of what I think about the bike and a derivative of that very same engine.

Life has a funny way of turning out in ways you can’t imagine, isn’t it. But no more soppy life gyan, this forum isn’t Shifting Gears, this is about gear shifts, and torque curves and general adventure on two wheels - so with that little life tidbit out of the way, lets dive right in!!

The F650 Funduro: Gotta have some grey hair to remember this beauty from the late 90s.

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0226.jpeg

Fast forward to 2024
A tale of two GSs: The GoldStar* meets the Gelände/Straße
(*media unit)
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_2478.jpeg

————XXXX————

Note: I got my bike on 26 July 2024. At the time of publishing this thread, I’ve got about 5000 kms on the odometer. My riding has mostly involved Sunday / weekend rides of various distances and some off-roading in a controlled setting at Panchgani. There are a plethora of settings to be explored and this is an ongoing discovery process for me as well.

Last edited by Axe77 : 24th January 2025 at 12:39.
Axe77 is online now   (38) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 22:25   #2

Glossary / TOC

The initial review:

Prequel
Introduction
Likes and Dislikes
Contenders, Variants and Dealership experience
Accessories and Luggage
Design, Ergonomics and Tech
Engine, Suspension and other Miscellanea
Closing Notes

Key updates:

{Link future updates here}

Last edited by Omkar : 23rd January 2025 at 22:45.
Axe77 is online now   (12) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 22:25   #3

Introduction

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0631.jpeg

Its been more than 4 decades since BMW launched its GS family of bike with official production of the first R80 GS (or G/S as it was then called) being launched sometime around 1980. BMW purists may even argue that this is the pivotal moment that actually gave birth to the entire adventure touring segment of bikes with its increased travel and suspension being mated to a more traditional road bike.

The R 80 G/S yielded way to the R 100 GS in 1987 which ultimately led on to the 1150 GS series, followed by the extremely successful and iconic 1200 and 1250 GS (/GSA) models, which Indian customers are largely familiar with given its formal launch in India.

While the generational development of flagship GS in recent generations (1150 to the 1200 and then to the 1250) have largely been evolutionary, albeit fairly significant in many ways regardless, the 1300 is nothing short of a revolution, being a ground up design reimagining the GS far more substantially than any other recent generation change. Where the last few generations at least retained a very similar chassis design, the GS 1300 has completely overhauled its approach discarding the previous trellis architecture in favour of a brand new frame. The focus has clearly pivoted towards not just weight savings but also compactness and a leaner form factor overall, a design direction that has in equal parts attracted praise for its functional superiority as well as criticism from GS purists for the visual departure from the outgoing models.

At the heart of the all new design is still the same classical boxer engine though, albeit with a higher compression ratio (13.3:1 to the previous 12.5:1), now pushing out 1300 cc and mated to a redesigned underslung transmission - this updated iteration cutting weight by up to nearly 4 kg.

The redesigned drivetrain sits in a brand-new frame, eliminating the previous generation’s dated trellis architecture. There’s a lighter Lithium Ion battery now and you can see that overall, the GS has been redesigned to save weight wherever possible as well as make the overall form factor more compact. The model retains its standard features like the Evo Telelever Front Suspension and the Evo Paralever Rear Suspension but with key improvements on this front as well.

It’s a bold move overall and personally, my compliments to BMW to take this giant leap where it could well have taken the path of least resistance instead and not tinkered substantially with an already winning formula. For most part, this has worked well although its missed a few tricks in the process. All of that and more coming up in the following few posts.

Get those reading glasses on then if you haven’t already my GS afficianados, and put those Starbucks beans to brew for your weekend read!

Last edited by Omkar : 23rd January 2025 at 22:32.
Axe77 is online now   (23) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 22:25   #4

Likes and Dislikes

• Form factor: Slimmer, sleeker and sportier. Feels less intimidating and widens its appeal to a broader range of riders.
  • Engine: More power, more torque and smoother than the outgoing 1250. This definitely feels sportier and quicker off the block than the previous generation.
  • Comfort: The 1300 remains a comfortable mile muncher - an excellent bike for all day touring on good roads or bad (although its come a notch lower on this front from the 1250).
  • Price: I’m feel it’s well priced at launch considering the segment, brand and relative to the outgoing version's price, despite being a nearly ground up, all new generation. Of course the whole segment per se is and has always been pricey.
  • Shaft drive convenience: No more periodic chain cleaning and lubrication duties, specially while on long rides.
  • 19” front wheel: I personally find this the best front wheel size. It’s just the right combination of sporty handling and stability.
  • Handling, balance, low CG: Carries its weight nice and low and belies its ~240 kg body in the way it feels and handles.
  • Suspension: An excellent suspension set up by any standard, with a range of further customisation possible via the DSA / damping adjustment. The updated version of this Evo Telelever continues to deliver excellent ride quality that can range from plush to stiff as required. The unique anti dive feature continues on this generation, specially handy in our unpredictable touring conditions.
  • Windshield: Absolutely the best in class - excellent range of movement and adjustment, combined with the convenience of electronic adjustment. Makes for an excellent rider cockpit that offers super wind protection as well as adequate ventilation as conditions may require.
  • Adaptive Ride Height: Absolutely top notch in its conceptualization and is the best executed version of this feature. Both the front and rear of the bike lower down below a certain speed without any additional rider intervention. Can be disabled too if desired by the rider. Has thrown up some niggles though which hopefully BMW will resolve comprehensively with its updates.
  • Riding Modes: 7 different riding modes with customizable Dynamic and Enduro modes means wide range of flexibility. Importantly, you can change modes 'on the fly' and the bike remains in the last selected mode even post shutdown. Additional customization of damping levels is also possible.
  • Ergonomic versatility: With a combination of suspension, seat and adaptive ride height options, combined with a few aftermarket solutions, the bike can be adapted to fit riders across a wide range of height and build.
  • ADAS: For those who would like it, the GS now comes equipped with ADAS controls. More importantly, for the majority who don't care for it, its limited to one variant and unlike the Multistrada, you can buy a 1300 GS that is not foisted with ADAS.
  • BMW support: Initial niggles are well dealt with under an excellent and proactive warranty and recall ecosystem. I’ve had great after sales support from the Navnit as well as BMW India team here so far on most issues. But watch this space for longer term feedback on this front.

Dislikes

• Weight: It’s still heavy, make no mistake - an overall segment issue of course. The weight difference on a well specced 1300 isn’t as dramatically lower than the 1250 as it’s hyped to be. At standstill, you WILL feel a remarkable difference between a 1300 GS and 900s like the Tiger 900 and F 900 GS.
  • Heat: Heats a tad more than the 1250, for some reason. Bummer, because that was one of the strong suits of the GS 1250. Nothing too uncomfortable though and certainly nowhere as hot as its Italian counterpart.
  • Exhaust note: Debatable but some may argue that its not got as much acoustic pleasure as the comparable Tiger / V4S. Personally though its super refined nature has grown on me tremendously.
  • Visual presence: Its deliberately pursued a more shrunken and compact form factor, in the process losing some of the impactful presence that the 1250 had. The triple black scheme only accentuates the compact form factor.
  • Looks: Perhaps the most polarising GS in recent iterations and I daresay has upset many more than it’s pleased. The headlight in particular didn’t win it any friends and it also doesn’t have the overall visual presence of the outgoing 1250 on account of the slimmer silhouette and for the AVHC equipped bikes, slightly shorter stature.
  • Comfort: A comfortable mile muncher in isolation. However, compared to the 1250, the comfort seat combined with its sportier suspension, the 1300 has definitely taken a sportier shift that’s a step down from the overall comfort that its predecessor provided.
  • Some ergonomic misses: … and some creature comfort misses. Small rider footpegs (wasn’t an issue in the 1250); no heated seats; suspension adjustment removed from certain variants etc.
  • Controls: No backlit switchgear is a very basic and annoying miss. The convenience factor too seems to have reduced as more operations need diving into layers of the menu than before.
  • Information screen idiosyncrasy: ... requires toggling through for information like fuel level, DTE, trip meter, odometer, FE etc. Ideally core information like fuel gauge meter, odometer & tripmeter, DTE etc should be simultaneously visible on the screen.
  • Some functional missteps:The ridiculous merging of indicator and brake lights and removing the default centre placed brake light.
  • Needless complexity: … in some areas. Trying to make the vario panniers system keyless for instance, merging lights into the handguards (makes incorporating sturdier Barkbusters more complicated). Lights can needlessly get damaged in the event of drops and falls.
  • Tank range: I feel is slightly lower than the outgoing 1250. FE dips in particular in Dynamic mode and the 1 ltr smaller tank size to slim down the overall silhouette hasn't helped the range cause either. Depending on road vs dynamic mode, I think it’s throwing up between 260 - 280 kms before you get the warning to refill. Better than Multi V4S still but a slight step down from its predecessor.
  • Forged wheels absent: ... in the variants launched in India. It was an interesting new addition with this generation of the GS. Perhaps they’d like to gauge its performance in other markets before offering it here.
  • Variants: Cannot be custom specced like in most other markets. On the positive though, they have pre-specced the variants really very well with almost all the key set of options one might want.
  • Extended warranty pricing: is definitely very rich at INR 45k. It used to be INR 28k for the 1250 GS. That is a whopping 60% hike over the outgoing EW pricing.
  • Gen 1 gremlins: Last in the list but I reckon the biggest concern is the electronics and other gremlins that first year production model of an all new generation throw up. That is always going to be a pain factor for early adopters. I have already had two scheduled recalls (undertaken promptly) and one electronic gremlin with my adaptive vehicle height control (which took its time getting addressed) in my first 6 months of ownership. I will periodically update my experience on this front.

Last edited by Omkar : 23rd January 2025 at 22:31.
Axe77 is online now   (26) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 22:25   #5

The contenders

To be honest, this section is almost moot. I was pretty much set on buying the flagship GS as my next purchase, as something I want to experience having owned the Tiger 800 and Multistrada (MTS) 1200S already. But I’ll briefly cover the competition from the standpoint of this particular purchase - this is not an objective pros and cons or comparo between the 1300 GS and these models by any stretch.

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0319.jpeg

As far as other brands go the contenders for a purchase (in order of likelihood of consideration):

1. Ducati Multistrada V4S
This was the single most compelling option outside the GS 1250/1300 options, and the closest competition so to speak. A few reasons I chose not to proceed with it at this point of time at least:

- I had already experienced brand Ducati and sub-brand Multistrada via the 1200S. While the V4S is a very different animal from its L twin predecessor, it was time to have the GS experience as well.
- Shaft drive vs Chain maintenance. The convenience is compelling.
- Heats. A LOT!
- Tank range. The Multi is a guzzler and I'm convinced it's still a clean 40 - 60 kms less than the GS on when it'll cue for a refill. It's terribly annoying to have 220 - 235 kms sort of refill cues when you could instead be more aligned on fill up requirements to the bulk of your riding group (mostly on GS / Tigers). The only way to overcome the range issue is opting for the Rally version but that pushes the on-road price to almost 36 - 38L on road. That's GS 1300 plus used Street Triple RS money for context.
- Purchase price plus depreciation hit. It's a LOT more expensive to buy and drops value like a stone.
- The V4S is a lot more road biased where the GS is a bit more of an all rounder.

Honestly, if I was completely sold on buying the Ducati, aspects like price, depreciation and heating would not have deterred me from buying it. But for now, the above reasons combined with my desire to own the GS did not help swing the vote towards team red.

2. Ducati Desert X
- It's GORGEOUS and a testament to the kind of magic only brand Ducati can pull off.
- BUT, it's just WAY too tall. Could I have made it work with all kind of jugaad, including maybe even hacking down the seat a bit - most likely yes. But didn't feel inclined enough to go down this path at this point with a more versatile and accessible GS being the alternative.
- It's also a very niche bike and likely to drop value even more than its relatively more conventional choice - the Multistrada.
- As a comfort oriented road tourer and an all rounder, the GS will surely be superior. I do expect the bulk of my riding to be more road biased.

3. Tiger 900 Rally Pro
- Again, a beautiful bike but a clear segment lower than the 1300, in every sense.
- I've already owned the Tiger 800, so something different was welcome.
- Buzzy ride and of course, predictably, it will not have the same power and grunt as a 1300. It's not adequate by any measure but for now I'm looking to remain in the 1200 - 1300 segment for performance.
- If I'd expected to off road a lot more, I could have considered this much more seriously (along with the F 900 GS as well). As things stand, that's not going to be the case and my long tours are largely going to be road biased. So 1300 it is.

4. Honda Africa Twin 1100 DCT
I'd certainly have liked to think about it but Honda simply can’t be bothered to sell them here. Unlikely I’d have gone for the DCT at this point but end of story even before I could consider it.

5. GS vs GS: The 1250 vs 1300 conundrum

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_6830.jpeg

The closest competition to be honest was from within its own stable - choosing between the 1250 GS and 1300 GS. I have ridden the 1250 on and off on occasion and am familiar with the general GS riding experience. There is plenty to love about the 1250 GS - its got a more commanding visual presence, the seats are more comfortable, and most importantly, its now a tried and tested generation of the model with less Gen 1 issues to contend with. Last but not the least, buying an outgoing model means some strong discounts.

But that wasn’t enough to swing it to the 1250.

- Price wasn’t the topmost consideration here. If I was spending close to 2.5 - 3 mio INR on a flagship ADV, I’d buy the bike I really wanted, then whether an option was 2 - 3 lakh lower or higher wasn’t going to change that decision either way.
- Size: I preferred the slimmer, sleeker and with adaptive ride height, the slightly shorter form factor of the 1300. It certainly makes it more accessible to me with my shorter stature.
- Latest: I did want the very latest iteration, convinced that on overall balance it would not only be a step or more forward, but also its pros suited me better.
- Risk of gremlins and brand support: I was willing to live with the risk of v1 gremlins with the confidence that brand BMW as well as dealer Navnit would have my back for genuine issues and concerns. So far, that’s been the case indeed but fingers crossed on this front.
- Performance too has moved on, although arguably at those levels of power the difference is by no means a game changer.

Variants overview

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_9953.jpeg

Internationally, the BMW can be custom ordered with a multitude of bespoke options that can be selected. In India though, they typically pre-configure variants in consultation with BMW HQ and bring the bikes pre-specced into the country. While all Indian marketing literature points to 5 variants including the base white one, the cheapest one hasn’t formally been brought in yet and it’s really only four variants to choose from. The image of the variant sheet above is self explanatory, I don’t need to explain it too much here. I will outline what I like and dislike about how they’ve managed the variants in India.

Variants: Hits
  • Choice of all 3 main color schemes at launch - Triple Black, Trophy and the beautiful green Tramuntana.
  • No mandatory foisting of ADAS on those who don’t want it. There are at least 3 variant options you can buy without ADAS - important since I know very few riders / buyers who actually want this feature.
  • All models are very well specced out with what the majority of customers would want. Each variant currently on sale gets the Comfort, Dynamic as well as Touring package with the Tramuntana also getting the full suite of ADAS features along with the option 719 feature list.
  • The Triple Black and the Trophy variants are both decently priced and the mark up to the outgoing 1250 GS, spec for spec, is very competitive. Prices are slated to go up though some time in 2025 I hear, if they haven't already.

Variants: Misses
  • Very specific and slightly limiting variant distinction. If you want ADAS, you can only have it in green. Also vice versa of course. If you don’t want ADAS, you simply can’t select the Tramuntana color scheme.
  • Adaptive ride height is limited to the Triple Black variant. I genuinely feel more buyers may have liked this option and they should make this feature available for each or at least a couple of color ways.
  • Trophy variant by default comes with a high seat. I think they should have kept the normal seat across all models as the widest acceptable choice with customers being able to buy low seat or high seat as an accessory as needed.
  • Heated seats are not on the options at all. Surprising omission although thankfully heated grips are there at least.
  • Some options are simply missing in India - specifically alloy or the new forged wheel options and the Sports suspension. Not sure if they’re offering the wheels as post facto accessories instead.

Variant selection for me was an extremely simple process. I was clear I didn’t want ADAS and if BMW had gone to the trouble of trouble of lowering the ride height when the bikes slows down, I was gonna get it. So Triple Black Model 2 it was. I still think the Trophy looks absolutely smashing but even the Triple Black is beautiful in its own right and the color has properly grown on me. It does accentuate the slimmer form factor though compared to the more vivid Trophy and Tramuntana shades so that’s something to keep in mind while picking your paint scheme.

The Purchase

Navnit BMW Motorrad, Kalina

The purchase process itself was pretty smooth from Navnit Motorrad Kalina. I know those boys since some time now and the dealership is now headed by an ex Ducati chap I know pretty well - the same person who had sold me my used Multistrada 1200S back in 2022 while he was still with Ducati.

I think my booking was within the first 10 bookings or so and the first in line to get the Adaptive Vehicle Height Control (AVHC) variant from Navnit, which pushed my delivery into the second lot of bikes they received. This is perhaps the first bike I’ve bought without even a test ride. I had a general idea of how a 1250 rides (I’ve ridden it on and off on a few occasions) and that was enough to take the leap towards the 1300, just from online reviews. Was already without my Multi for several months by now and was itching to get back on a full fat ADV sooner rather than later.

Other than my wife & the kiddo, there were at least 10-12 folks from my riding group who landed up for the bike delivery making it quite a boisterous and fun affair overall. Navnit was really sweet in hosting our group, many of who are GS customers from Navnit group anyway.

The final tally. There’s a fair chunk of change that gets added to this figure under the Luggage and accessories head.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-1b53b60bf26e415db07f8a2c06801f22.jpeg
* - They had charged a ballpark figure of 28k towards extended warranty based on the old 1250 EW pricing. The final confirmed amount towards this (communicated in mid December 2024) is Rs. 45,000. Final figures adjusted accordingly.

Delivery day pictures.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0850.jpeg

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0848.jpeg

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-33094ccf08374ac5974097278c853d1e.jpeg

Key takeaways: The bike as well as the fuel lid run with keyless operation. You get only one main key fob and this other spare plastic key, both of which support the keyless function. The small single metal key is additional and runs my entire luggage set up.

Surprisingly, there is almost no visible or overt BMW branding on even the main key, except a tiny, self colored logo somewhere.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_7020.jpeg

Recalls, niggles and general A.S.C experience

Buying a brand new, ground up variant in its first year of sales always meant that there were going to be typical version 1.0 gremlins to deal with. Sure enough that’s been the case but BMW has been running its recall program quite proactively and there is the additional benefit that India sales has trailed the global launch by at least 8 - 9 months. I’ve had 4 specific issues / recall campaigns I've gone through so far, details outlined below:

1. Starter Relay and right switchgear:
Both of these have had recall programs and BMW was reasonably prompt in sending the updated units which got changed by the dealership. When I saw the new design of the starter relay, it was clearly redesigned to be more “sealed up” than the previous version. With the right switchgear too it seems to be a similar redesign although that’s internal to the part. I do know a couple of folks who had problems before this recall was completed for them but luckily I managed to get these replaced before I encountered any problems on this account.

The updated starter relay. Basically it came across as a better “sealed” unit than the one it replaced.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_1476.jpeg

The right side switchgear, old and new. Can’t tell any visible difference between the two on a plain look.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_4440.jpeg

Work in progress of the switchgear replacement.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0367.jpeg

2. Side panel lockset:
Seemed to be running a bit loose not only in my bike but in a few other bikes also that I came across. I showed this to the dealer and they acknowledged and had it replaced after engaging with BMW HQ.

3. Warning sign for adaptive vehicle height control:
This is the most serious niggle of all. On one particular ride, I got some warning message that the adaptive ride height function was not working although this did not come in the way of continuing to run the bike. Once the bike had shut down and restarted, this did not come back again and the bike’s auto ride height adjust was functioning normally again. No specific issues was pinpointed on this one. Then it happened again, this time around the first week of December. The bike was sent to ASC, the errors cleared but a few rides later the issue was back.

International forums suggest a few possible reasons - one being some software update that sorts this out and the second being a hydraulic pump replacement which some have gone through. I was in touch with both Navnit and the BMW India team on this and they were both extremely responsive and supportive on all fronts during the issue. Ultimately they addressed this by replacing the hydraulic oil pump unit under warranty. I'm hoping (fingers crossed) that this issue will not occur again after this fix. But overall this meant the bike was grounded for a clean three weeks or so while I waited for the part to land in India.

The various error messages that crop up when this issue occurs.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0359.jpeg

As a general matter, I am banking heavily that BMW as well as the dealer will be customer centric and dependable to deal with such niggles and recalls and so far, there’s been nothing in my experience that’s suggests otherwise. While my experience on these interactions has so far has been very good, I will of course keep this thread updated on all my interaction with these teams on routine as well as any extraordinary issues.

Standard and Extended Warranty

Standard warranty is 3 years which can be extended to a total of 5 years via the extended warranty program. The km limit for either option is set at an extremely generous 500,000 kms (yup - that's 5 lakh kms) - enough to do a world tour of every Starbucks I reckon!! On a more serious note, I know they're few and far between but I do know a few riders who cross well over 50 - 70,000 clicks in a period of five years so they should have some good reassurance with that healthy mileage limit on the warranty.

Pricing for the extended warranty is a bit rich though, having gone up to INR 45K from the previous price of INR 28k for the 1250 GS. Regardless, in the context of an ~INR 28 lakh purchase, the 45k is a no brainer. There’s no way I wouldn’t take max warranty on any really expensive superbike. Even for those who may not consider this otherwise, I’d say for a V 1.0 of the 1300 at least, this is a must have.

Last edited by Axe77 : 24th January 2025 at 16:08. Reason: Minor typo.
Axe77 is online now   (31) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 22:25   #6

Accessories

Accessories are a world unto themselves and there really is no end to the extent as well as the level to which these are available as well as often the pros and cons of each choice made. I had really helpful conversations with some past owners as well as the few early 1300 adopters like Adi_Sun (thank you mate!) and a couple from Bombay. Its TMI to dive into the why of each specific choice (which brand and why etc) although I’ll be happy to address any specific questions to that end should prospective buyers have any.

In summary, these are the various accessories etc that I have added. I’ve broken up the list into three broad buckets:

Protection
  • Lower crash bar: BMW OEM
  • Cylinder head protection: BMW OEM
  • Upper crash bar: Wunderlich
  • Front and rear Axle sliders: Evotech
  • Headlight protectors: Wunderlich
  • Radiator guard: Evotech
  • Graphene coating from OCD detailing studio

The lower crash guard including the cylinder head is critical given how the engine itself juts out. The upper crash guard I could have managed without but since there’s not handlebar guards I added it anyway, plus it’s useful to mount aux lights etc and in future if you want crash bar bags etc.

The front and rear axle sliders are again what most people add even on their supersports. Whether the GS really needs it is debatable but again, didn’t want to take a chance with it.

Headlight protectors are important for protection from flying stones etc. In fact Navnit’s demo had a damaged headlight on this account early on itself. I chose a glass cover instead of cage style since it’s better protection and easier to clean too. On design, I preferred the X style design from Wunderlich over the OEM’s triangular design. Radiator guard is again important from the standpoint of possible damage from flying stones etc, something I’d put on most bikes.

Finally, given this was the Triple Black and slightly high maintenance, I opted for a high quality graphene coat from the extremely well regarded OCD detailing studio. This includes semi-annual touch ups as well for three years.

The only high priority item missing at this point that I would consider adding is an exoskeleton like protective cage for the handlebar. Hepco Becker makes one like I mentioned but it’s not compatible with bar risers. I’m waiting for Barkbusters to come up with a suitable design that works with the new 1300 with its integrated lights.

Ergonomic / Utility
  • Evo footpegs: SWM
  • Rox 2 pivoting (pullback) riser: Rox
  • Side stand extender: SWM
  • Phone mount: SP Connect
  • Aux front lights (along with CANopener7 system with wiring harness): Clearwater
  • Jr. Billie rear brake lights: Clearwater

Better (broader) footpegs were a must as the stock ones are inexplicably small - smaller than even the pillion ones. This was not the case with the stock pegs on the 1250 btw and clearly designed to upsell BMW’s higher end enduro footpeg setup. Not cool, BMW.

The pullback risers were important too for more comfortable reach to handlebar. The side stand extender is handy, very marginally improves lean angle but mainly to provide a broader base if this heavy bike is standing on very rough surfaces. Phone mount (SP Connect) was a direct carry over from my previous bike. Aux lights too were a carry over although buying the overall kit like CANopener, relay and wiring harness etc also cost a tidy sum (a bit over 30k IIRC). Finally, I added the rear brake lights since I’m not a fan of this integrated set up at the rear although this still doesn’t solve for the rear indicator lights having impeded clarity when they’re lighting up along with the brakes.

The only thing on this front that’s on a non essential wish list at this point is a Carpuride (or similar) device. I am holding back on that for now as the phone mount does adequately for the moment - I might feel the need for such a device much more in the rains, which is some distance away.

Luggage
  • SWM pro side carriers with lock (for side panniers)
  • SWM adventure rack (for top box)
  • SWM toolcase
  • SWM tank ring: For micro tank bag
  • SWM DUSC set of 3 cases with locks and installation adaptors
*{SWM = SW Motech}

Luggage Setup

I had carried over the SWM Sys Bags from my Multistrada combined with the Trax top case. However, I had seen the newly launched DUSC cases from SWM and I really took a fancy to those. Happened to be able to sell my Sys Bags for a decent price and flipped the set up over to the DUSC side cases in Medium size. This remained paired with the robust SWM Trax top case. In due course, I also purchased the Larger size DUSC top case too so all three match up for a seamless look.

The Dusc case has the obvious advantages of being a quick lockable luggage solution with a clip on and clip off installation setup. I’m using the two 33 ltr version for side cases and the 41 ltr one as a top case. The mounting points are such that these cases can interchangeably be used as a side OR a top case.

However, one important point of note. Once you put the inner felt lining into the 41 ltr bag, even my M sized helmets are a “very” snug fit. I would seriously caution before choosing this as a top case without taking this aspect into consideration - I have personally taken a considered call on this since my helmet just about fits (and I use the soft cloth helmet bag to avoid scratching it). Alternately, please consider the soon to be launched 55 ltr version which should fit more comfortably although personally I’m not a fan of such a large box as a top case.

I continue using a SWM micro tank bag for the smaller ready access knick knacks like wallet, specs, phone etc. I have also retained my old Kriega US series bags if it ever warrants use.

The Carbonado bags on the upper crash bars have no critical purpose. I just added them on to see how the visual bulk added looks (I’m not sure yet if I like it) and as a bit of a bumper around the crash guards itself. Functionally, it helps storing small items like cleaning cloths, medical kit, rain pants and some small cleaning stuff which can simply remain on the bike full time. For the moment, I've removed these opting for the cleaner look without the bags. I might add them occasionally while touring or while doing slightly rougher off roading to be that slight cushion in the event of a fall.

In the course of the review, you may find a mix of pictures with the sys bags and / or the Trax top case or the full DUSC set up. This below is pretty much what my final luggage set up for the bike now looks like.

The SW Motech Micro tank bag (3 - 5 ltrs expandable).
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_4182.jpeg

The SW Motech tool case. For some inexplicable reason, it just wouldn’t fit on the left side. BMW as well as Naila tried this twice.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_4178.jpeg

With the Dusc side cases. (Both medium, 33 ltrs)
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_4168.jpeg

The Dusc top case (Large, 41 ltrs). You can also see the design of the SWM pro side carriers in this image.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_4642.jpeg

A legacy picture of the side Sys bags, both with and without the Trax top case.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_9750.jpeg

What the final DUSC three case set up looks like today.

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_7008.jpeg

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_7009.jpeg

On that note, here is a quick review of the DUSC cases:

[+] Lightweight compared to traditional Aluminium cases.
[+] Lockable solution as opposed to soft / semi rigid bags.
[+] Quick installation and removal.
[+] Cheaper to buy than same brand Alu cases (although they’re not inexpensive by any stretch).
[+] Functionally, the same case can be mounted as a side case or a top case. Quite handy if you wanted only a 2 case and not a 3 case solution.
[+] Now available in 3 sizes - M (33 ltr), L (41 ltr) and XL (55 ltr). (Obviously the 55 ltr one will not be practical as a side mount).
[+] Can be purchased as any combo - M with M; M with L or L with L as per preference depending on staggered or even set up
[+] The Trax inner bags (which I’ve previously used for my Givi side panniers as well as Sys bags) fit flush inside these cases, thereby mitigating some disadvantage of the side loading factor.
[+] Single key solution is convenient if you plan your purchases together. In fact, even my SWM tool case uses the same key as my 4 lock purchase accounts for 3 luggage cases + SWM toolcase.
[+] Cases are tough and sturdy and yet have some handy flex for those occasional bumps etc. Review videos show reviewers even standing on them.

[-] When used as a side case, the case opens side-on -i.e. it is not top loading. I use inner bags so doesn’t matter for me but for many, top loading is the only way to go. Makes for more efficient packing (stuffing the case) too.
[-] Material is coarse and therefore catches dust very easily and is a nightmare to keep clean.
[-] Helmet fit is sideways and even in the L case it’s far from optimal. It is way too snug a fit if you’ve got the inner lining and they REALLY should have given it a few more mm of width / height. This is the BIGGEST miss of this design.
[-] They are pitch black and only come in one color. Reflective stickering (which will have to be relegated to the small non-corrugated bits which will hold it) are important for improved visibility in night riding as panniers, specially dark ones, are often not noticed by other vehicles. I am still to do this on the panniers.
[-] Will need some inner lining or inner bag for sure else things kept inside can get quite rattly. This is not an issue for soft bags.
[-] Has the usual disadvantage vs a soft bag of the bumps that a soft bag can take in traffic etc. Not specific to the DUSC though - that’s more a generic soft vs hard luggage difference.
[-] AFAIK, it’s not possible to put a back rest on the case when it’s working as a top case. Not a fatal issue specially when the pillion is wearing a riding jacket with a back protector. But for city rides if the pillion is not wearing a jacket, the absence of back rest could detract from comfort.

Last edited by Axe77 : 24th January 2025 at 04:26.
Axe77 is online now   (32) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 22:26   #7

Design

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-replacement-head-bike-pic-edited.jpeg

So I guess we’re kickstarting with perhaps the most controversial aspect of the bike - its looks. Let’s get one thing out of the way right up front - it ain’t pretty. But then, IMO neither was the previous 1250 GS. What the previous 1250 did have though was visual presence. In spades! The 1300 has clearly departed from that overt bulk and pursued a slimmer and sleeker form factor with this all new generation.

One thing to keep in mind, specially when you see photos from this review is that the 1300 with AVHC, at any given point when parked, sits lower than even the standard suspension 1300 GS. Combined with its all black look, this amplifies its smaller form factor. Pictured here are two triple black 1300s, mine with the AVHC and the demo without this feature. Ignore the artificial bulk of the crash bar bags - but if you use the headlights as a reference my 1300 sits distinctly lower than the demo bike. Also ignore windshield as reference because I’ve set my windshield on a lower setting. If this was the more colorful Trophy edition with standard suspension, it would have looked ‘slimmer’, but not ‘shorter’ than a 1250.

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_4791.jpeg

The headlights too have been widely panned but I am now fine with them - I think it’s a matter of getting used to but I’ll leave that to each one’s personal opinion and preference. If I had to choose one over the other, I’d likely pick the asymmetrical ones from the 1250 too but honestly it doesn’t matter all that much to me anymore.

The overall look at first glance still is very much a GS and its instantly recognizable as such. However, let that gaze linger and you will find significant design departures between the 1250 and the 1300 when viewed from almost any angle. Viewed side on, the first thing that strikes you is the absence of the signature trellis frame architecture, which has now made way for an all new frame that’s touted to be lighter, stronger and more rigid, accentuating the visual compactness of the overall motorcycle. Move further back and you will notice that the 1250 exhaust was notably bigger as well as swung slightly higher up along the bike giving it a nice chunky look.

Viewed from behind, the first thing that hits you is the missing tail light, which is now annoyingly integrated into the rear side indicators, an absolutely inexplicable trend. I have actually installed an aftermarket tail light below the number plate to compensate for the missing conventional tail light. This still doesn’t change the fact that the brake lights lighting up in the indicator dilute the visual impact of the indicator light itself.

Not sure where to cover this but speaking of design, I’m just not a fan of the front indicator lights being integrated into the hand guards. Firstly, these handguards are not usually as heavy duty as aftermarket options like Barkbusters etc. This integrated design makes replacing them with the Barkbusters impossible for the moment. Hepco Becker has a nice exoskeleton styled protective case but unfortunately those cannot be used in conjunction with handlebar risers. I definitely wanted the pull back risers for more comfortable reach to the bars so I have had to make do with the stock set up for the handlebar guards for now. I'm keeping fingers crossed that dropping the bike is not going to result in more expensive damage to these integrated handlebar guards, lights and of course the handlebar itself.

Below: A few pics with a 1250 Triple Black.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_2857compressed.jpeg

Note the difference in the bulk of the exhaust, as well as its overall position.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_6853.jpeg

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_1084compressed.jpeg

Even the fuel tank of the 1250 has a chunkier look, adding to its heftier presence.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_6827.jpeg

Ergonomics and Comfort

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-seating-posn-stationary.jpg

Ergonomically speaking the 1300 has a slightly sportier riding stance than the 1250. In stock form, and on account of my shorter arm reach, I was digging into the tank to an uncomfortable extent but installing the pull back risers has improved that immensely and I can now sit a bit further back in the seat. From a sheer seating comfort perspective, the 1300 has taken a notable step back from the 1250 - with the seat of the 1250 presenting a more comfortable 'in saddle' experience than the 1300 the former being wider as well as better cushioned. Stand up riding on the 1300 is spot on as well from an ergos perspective but here again there is a minor miss. The 1300 has put really narrow rider footpegs and I've had to install wider SWM pegs for better comfort. This was not the case in the 1250 and perhaps an attempt to upsell the BMW enduro footpegs.

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-seating-posn-moving.jpg

Other than these aspects, the bike is very sorted. The windshield itself has excellent range of adjustability and is beautifully designed to offer not only superb wind protection but also allowing enough air flow to not allow the rider cockpit to overheat. The button operated 'on the fly' adjustability means you can fine tune this further while riding to keep the visor at the most comfortable setting, choosing between airflow / cooler rider cockpit vs max wind protection, depending on conditions. The windshield even has two different levels it can be screwed on to further alter the overall height range in which its vertical movement operates.

If you're doing 10 - 12 hour riding days, I guess you're going to disapprove of the slight step down from the uber comfort that the 1250 saddle offered.

One final word on the side stand and main stand. Firstly, off the bat the bike comes with a main stand which is very handy. The design itself is outstanding, with a small pull out lever that juts out beyond the main stand to provide a suitable leverage point to place it on the stand. The side stand too comes easily to the foot without any undue hunting around and is very very easy to operate. I'm making a point of this because far too many bikes get these little aspects wrong from an ergonomics and ease of use perspective. If I had to make one minor peeve, its that I feel the lean angle when on the side stand is just a hint more than I'd have liked. Having said that, for a 250 kilo heavy adventure bike (kitted up), I'd rather they err and get this wrong on the side of extra lean than 'too upright'. The latter can be unnerving and risky when parked on uneven or imbalanced surfaces.

The excellent stock windshield with its range of button operated vertical movement. Absolutely best in class, hands down!
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-windhsield-stock-image.jpg

You can screw on the windshield at either of these two points shifting the entire range of movement either higher up or lower down. Pictured here the windshield is bolted on at the higher positioned screws. Since then I’ve moved this down to the lower bolt points.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-windhsield-marked.jpg

The windshield at its lowest and highest settings. This is with the screen affixed at the lower placed bolts.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_7015.jpeg
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_7016.jpeg

Top vs bottom: Stock 1250 vs stock 1300 rider footpeg. The replaced SWM footpeg is much closer in size and form to the 1250 design.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-footpeg-comparison.jpg

Tech, Features and Controls

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_3562.jpeg

When it comes to tech and features, BMW has thrown the kitchen sink at the new 1300. For the first time, the GS sports ADAS tech including Radar, adaptive cruise control, rear radar with brake lights warning, hazard warning in mirrors etc, essentially catching up with the Multistrada on this front. Importantly though, this is limited to one variant so unlike the Multistrada where this is foisted by default, buyers have the ability to opt in or opt out based on personal preference.

TFT
The bike retains the same familiar console set up but unfortunately has not opted to add in Apple / Android carplay into the ecosystem - you will have to continue to rely on aftermarket solutions for this like Chigee, Carpuride, Innovv or similar. In terms of information displayed, another irritant is that essential information like fuel level, DTE, odometer, tripmeter etc are in a ticker on top that only displays one of these at a time unlike most other TFTs that will display several of these. Personally, I like to see fuel level, trip / odometer and DTE at the very least on the console at all times without having to toggle through a list. The TFT also adds the Sports riding display which is found on models like the S1000RR. Not something I've found myself using much but it does provide some trippy information like lean angles etc.

Riding Modes
The optional packs included offer the 7 riding modes (Eco, Rain, Road, Dynamic, Dynamic Pro, Enduro and Enduro Pro), which can be selected while on the move and helpfully, the preselection remains even after the bike is switched off. Annoyingly however, the quick access Riding Modes button only allows toggling through 4 of these 7 modes as per your custom pre-selection, not all 7. I would have liked at least 5 of these to be available via quick access. My choices would have been Road, Dynamic, Enduro and the Pro modes for the latter two being the five. Easiest of course would have been all 7 to be available all the time.

Controls
Controls have a few changes too. Again, somewhat contra-intuitively, the power button has moved from the centre to the right handlebar. For a bike that has even more functions to choose from and customize, one would have thought they'd have retained status quo and offered another button to direct access one of the many features. Similarly, the hamburger button gives quick access to a range of functions including windshield, heated grips, damping, adjustable ride height etc. But this can only pre-select up to two functions for quick access and for any of the others you need to navigate through the menu instead.

Final pet peeve on the controls is the much complained about lack of back lit buttons. Come on BMW!! Its a 25 lakh Rupee bike wanting for a simple 50 Rupee LED function. Just do it already. In the dark and with gloves on, I've actually struggled on the odd occasion to see which button I'm pressing. Other convenience features like cruise control remain and are easy to use. I've actually used this more than I had expected. Its easy to use with a flick of a switch on the LHS controls. Other than this, the buttons and controls itself are of a high quality as one would expect and feel well built overall

Adaptive Vehicle Height Control (AVHC)
Another new feature that the 1300 GS has introduced is the adaptive vehicle height control. Previously, shorter riders would often opt for a low chassis variant to get comfortable reach to ground, thereby sacrificing the benefits of a longer travel suspension permanently. The AVHC is an excellent fix to this predicament offering the best of both worlds - shorter reach to ground when you need it with the full suspension travel otherwise.

Notwithstanding that I’ve had some issues with the function itself that required some sorting under warranty, this is one of the standout features of this new bike and one that’s implemented absolutely brilliantly. Unlike the Pan America, where only the rear suspension lowers when the bike comes to a standstill, or the Tiger 1200 where you need to manually lower the bike if you wish, the AVHV equipped GS 1300 brings the entire bike (front and rear), seamlessly and smoothly down by about 30 mm when the bike speed reduces below 30 kmph. The operation itself is absolutely seamless and one never realises when the bike lowers or lifts up when it regains speed (beyond 50 kmph IIRC).

I really hope they sort any initial niggles with this system asap but for those who’ve previously balked at the bulk of the full fat GSA, bear in mind that this set up is going to be standard across all the options they bring in India for the 1300 GSA. Its going to be an absolute game changer and despite the size and heft of the larger GSA, it will widen its appeal to a larger section of riders. I guess it’s less critical in the leaner and nimbler 1300 GS for many but for a shorter stature rider like me, this feature was quite welcome indeed.

Miscellaneous
Other features like cruise control are standard as are features like heated grips although heated seats are prominent by their absence - I suppose another way of keeping price in check for the India spec offerings. The bike works off a remote key as is standard for this segment. Helpfully, even the fuel lid is a keyless function by default - something that was an added extra in my previous Multistrada.

BMW also tried to move their luggage game on with the 1300 but only to fall flat on its face. The pannier system was virtually held back from official release with massive flaws detected early on with its purported keyless operation - a feature that perhaps 7 people may have wanted globally. Even the vario top box is not a perfect design IMO, since it does not open with a flat open top (ideal for ‘stuffing’ max items) but instead has a car boot like structure. I’m personally more than happy to stick with high quality, premium aftermarket brands for my own luggage solutions.

There are a whole host of other technical features that are associated with the suspension etc but we will leave that to the dedicated section dealing with those aspects.

LHS and RHS controls. The multi-rocker (hamburger icon next to hazard switch) takes you into these various settings. Only two can be pre-selected for quick access.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0288.jpeg

The default TFT display. Note the top line that is displaying (only) the fuel level at the moment.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_4191.jpeg

Navigating through a button toggles through these various options (what options that should be in this toggle list can be increased or reduced from settings menu). I would like at least a few of these to be showing full time on the screen.

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0284.jpeg

Set out below are the various options from status line content that can be enabled to toggle through. Pick and choose as per preference.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0364.jpeg

Navigate down into the menu for these various parent functions, including Settings.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0285.jpeg

Sports display is now available. Toggling through these tabs shows headline vehicle data as well as trip computer etc.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0286.jpeg

The "Settings" menu including preselection options for the shortlisted four riding modes for quick access.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0287.jpeg

Dynamic Pro and Enduro Pro allows for further customisability for functions such as engine, DTC, ABS etc. ABS for front wheel never fully switches off though. Even engine / throttle response can be controlled in these pro modes. For any offroading, my preferred choice would be Enduro Pro so both rear ABS and traction control are off / at reduced levels respectively.

Sample settings for Dynamic Pro for throttle map, DTC and ABS.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0360.jpeg

Sample settings for Enduro pro for throttle map, DTC and ABS
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0362.jpeg

All new damping configuration feature is outstanding. It allows one to select from -2 (softest / plushest) to +2 (stiffest)
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0363.jpeg

Last edited by Omkar : 23rd January 2025 at 22:29.
Axe77 is online now   (23) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 22:26   #8

Engine and Gearbox

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_4882.jpeg

The 1300 continues to sport its trademark air / liquid cooled, twin cylinder boxer engine albeit in a more potent avatar, with BMW claiming this to be the most powerful iteration of its Boxer engine ever. The larger 1300 cc engine now runs at a higher compression ratio of 13.3:1 (previously 12.5:1) and churns out max power rated of 145 HP at 7,750 rpm and max torque of 149 NM at 6,500 RPM.

The engine has a notable torque increase across the entire rev range and its definitely got more poke to it across the powerband. Despite these upticks, the overall engine design has become more compact with the revised gearbox no longer located behind the engine but is now located underneath it to facilitate this more compact packaging. The redesign has also resulted in a newer set up for the driveshaft and rear axle assembly with the rear axle now sporting a longer wheel axle stub.

Compared to its predecessor, the 1300 definitely feels nimbler, more agile and overall just torquier and quicker. The difference in Dynamic mode is particularly stark compared to the road mode and the bike is really very sporty and combined with that smooth and refined exhaust, makes for an extremely rewarding riding experience. I personally love the directional shift that the 1300 has taken with this engine and overall package. On pure performance thrills, sure it won't trounce a Multistrada on road or perhaps a KTM off the road - to that end, its core competence still remains being the best all rounder bike and sure, in the process of this directional shift, its also lost a bit of its erstwhile comfort. But for those who may have found the GS a tad staid, it’s certainly walked more than a few steps towards the sportier end of the curve and I for one am happy for that.

The riding modes also, combined with the ability to customise the key riding modes via settings, offer a wide range of riding experiences with the calmer rain / road modes capable of delivering easy highway cruising while switching to dynamic can really unleash the Mr. Hyde part of the GS's personality where the bike virtually transforms to a much more aggressive avatar.

Engine braking is really quite strong and as soon as you release the throttle, you almost feel a braking like shove. Depending on your personal preference that can be a good or not so great thing - it definitely means you can play around with the throttle a lot more effectively if you don't want to hit the brakes as the first port of call to cut speed when approaching a corner or similar.

The exhaust still has the trademark boxer drone although like most engine development cycles, it has gotten even smoother and more refined in this newest iteration. At first blush, and especially at city speeds, one might feel that it’s even boring and has lost character. But over time I’ve gotten to appreciate its sophistication and smoothness, specially when out on the highway on longer rides. Sure I’d have liked a bit more bass but on the plus side, it is never ever intrusive and when you’re riding several hours, you begin to appreciate that what you may lose in outright aural drama, you win in overall comfort that comes with the associated smoothness and refinement.

Gearshifts too are a marked improvement and this is a much smoother shifting experience compared to any of its predecessors. The gearshifts have definitely lost the slight clunkiness of previous iterations, specially from the 2nd to 6th gears. The quickshifter too operates seamlessly for most part. To the point made by Adi_sun too in his review, I agree that the levers themselves could have been a bit sturdier although they’ve not bothered me yet to the extent of wanting to replace them.

All in all, this engine and gearbox combination continues to deliver in spades and BMW has indeed moved the game notably forward on this front with the 1300.

Suspension and Handling

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-763f418fb22148acbb4f1b591ab13468.jpeg

Suspension is another area where the GS 1300 has moved the game further on from the 1250, improving even further on its trademark telelever and paralever set up. In keeping with its sportier aspirations, even the overall suspension set up and tune has taken a turn towards a stiffer set up and as per the technical data provided by BMW, the erstwhile tubular steel structure is now replaced with a die case aluminium construction. The telelever retains its conventional pro and con - i.e. more confidence inspiring with its anti dive feature specially under urgent braking but the slight lack of resultant feedback whether on tarmac or off road. This additional stiffness from the frame is with the intention of mitigating that latter aspect to some extent by providing a little better steering precision and better feel from the front. Again, it won't transform it into a Multistrada when it comes to steering and handling but it definitely makes an improvement from the 1250 GS on this front.

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_0385.png

Dynamic Suspension Adjustment (DSA): The dynamic suspension adjustment (DSA) is another new feature which basically enables you to customize the handling and suspension within each ride mode (road, dynamic and enduro). If you are test riding a GS and have the older 1250 as your benchmark, I would urge you to play around with this DSA setting if you're finding the ride too stiff, perhaps opting for a -1 or -2 setting if you're seeking out a slightly plusher ride.

Variable rate spring: The suspension also comes with a new feature called the variable spring rate. What that means is that the suspension reacts real time based on load as well as road conditions to stiffen the spring rate in the suspension - all on the fly executed in milliseconds. This is all the tech speak of course - to what extent this has made a difference in the way in which the suspension operates is perhaps best judged by someone who has put in extensive miles over a period of time on both the 1250n and the 1300 but overall, its yet another technical development in the way the overall suspension operates.

Just as a layperson rider, at even a simplistic level, depending on whether you set damping etc at the plushest to the stiffest, the bike will transform notably to provide an uber cushy ride to a fairly stiff and taut set up bordering almost on harshness on broken services. Depending on the nature of roads and the kind of riding experience you want on any given ride, you can play around with these range of settings to get the perfect set up.

Suspension and the various riding modes:
There really is a lot to learn on how the entire suspension co-relates to the numerous riding modes. It really took me a good few viewings of going through a video posted specifically on suspension settings for the 1300 GS posted by this channel (called "Just the way it is") who has broken this down very simply and provided an overview of the suspension settings in the various ride modes. I have tried to explain this via some screenshots from the same video.

The GS 1300 basically comes with 7 riding modes which you can think of in three buckets. The eco, rain and road mode (I've actually never ridden the bike till date in eco or rain) are basically where the bike operates in a "road" or "comfort" mode, with differential levels of power delivery.

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_6791.jpeg

The road / comfort settings.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_6795.jpeg

The dynamic (and dynamic pro) modes are where the bike is operating in a sportier avatar. Dynamic pro gives the ability to customize the various elements of the dynamic mode, including engine response, wheelie control, ABS, traction control etc.

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_6796.jpeg

Last is the Enduro mode which is meant for off road riding. Again, the pro variation of this allows you to further customize Enduro mode as per your specific preferences. For instance, you can switch rear ABS off in Enduro pro if you want to slide the bike around comfortable while in Enduro setting as well as set the engine response for suitable wheelie control (or not!).

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_6797.jpeg

If you're a GS 1300 owner, I highly recommend you give these two videos a full watch to really understand this in better detail (from this channel - “Just the way it is”, as mentioned previously). I've seen the first of these two videos more than once in detail but am yet to see the second one in full - have only managed to speed view parts of it in bits and bobs. But overall, the best explanation I've found out there of playing with the suspension settings.

* - Some of the images like the engine, suspension etc are taken off the internet or YouTube videos that I could locate these from. Unfortunately I can’t recall the specific videos of each one although for most part they’re from the above linked channel.

Fuel efficiency and tank tank range

As mentioned earlier, the new 1300 GS is running a higher compression engine which means that my preference now is to fill her with 95 RON fuel as far as possible. This does mean that I need to think through refueling with a hint more planning than on my previous bikes where I would just stop at any bunk with regular fuel. That in turn brings me to a minor pet peeve - tank range. I think I can now say with reasonably regular checks that it’s at about the 260 - 270 km mark that the fuel warning comes up indicating I have about 60 kms more to DTE. That’s the point I start looking around for fuel bunks. I think this is about 20 - 25 kms sooner than the 1250 GS, I suppose on account of the fact that the 1300 has a 1 litre smaller tank.

I know BMW has gone all out for a slimmer and sleeker form factor but I’d really have preferred it if this wasn’t at the expense of reducing tank capacity, however marginally. The fuel efficiency I’ve seen on the TFT usually ends up anywhere between 17 - 18 kmpl during highway rides. I could keep this to over 18-19 kmpl if I wanted to by adapting a categorically sedate riding style, but then, may as well take the Mercedes in that case! Give the right wrist a free hand (pun intended) and the FE very quickly drops into the early 17s. Not complaining at all but just something to keep in mind when touring slightly off the main highways.

Wheels, Tyres, Braking

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_4175.jpeg

BMW has kept its India spec bikes simple on the wheels front - there are no alloy wheel options including the all new forged alloy wheel options (the former to simplify inventory management I reckon and the latter to temper the landed price perhaps). It’s got the usual 19” front and 17” rear set up sporting road biased Michelin Anakees off the showroom floor on all its models I believe. In fact the variants offered in India are mostly specced out for a heavily road biased touring mode, without any specific variant that is off-road biased in its spec - ergo, no offroad biased tyres, no sports suspension with the extra travel and no enduro style single seat either.

Brakes continue to be top spec offerings from Brembo although unlike the 1250, instead of simply reading Brembo on the calipers, these are now branded BMW. The braking system is more than adequate with the front running a combined / linked braking system with the rear - i.e. even engaging the front brakes will automatically engage the rear brakes as well to the extent needed. At first blush, it may seem that the brake levers and operation is a bit too progressive and even a bit soft / squishy but over time I’ve gotten used to the manner in which the braking system is calibrated and its certainly got more than enough stopping power commensurate to the horses and torque underpinning the hefty boxer.

Off-roading with the 1300

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-cones-exercise-edited.jpeg

I had my first proper off roading experience with the big daddy GS at Panchgani with the good folks from Prospect and Goodwind Moto Tours - (linked thread).

This was incredibly useful in getting to understand how the 1300 behaves off road in a controlled environment. Now I’ve done two previous iterations of this training on my Tiger as well and right off the bat, it is evident how brilliantly the heavier GS manages its low speed handling as well as how low it carries its weight compared to several other ADVs, the old Tiger 800 included. Where my previous ADVs have felt distinctly top heavy in comparison, the GS just effortlessly eggs you on in all kinds of off road situations including low speed maneuvers and every obstacle I tackled inspired more and more confidence in handling the GS. Ground clearance though remains just about ok and there was one spot where both my bike and another 1300 Trophy did make contact with the sump guard but other than that, we both managed to go about our way through the two days without breaking a sweat.

It is of course still a very heavy bike make no mistake - but for its size and bulk, it handles incredibly well. While the Enduro mode allows some basic dulling down of traction control etc for off road conditions, my preferred mode is the custom specced Enduro Pro Mode which also turns off rear ABS and allows for some other personalized settings including in relation to ABS and throttle response. Sure, it doesn’t have the mountain goat like persona of a 900 GS but for a machine that’s weighing in much over 240 kgs with all its accessories accounted, it performs incredibly off tarmac.

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_4928.jpeg

Last edited by Axe77 : 24th January 2025 at 14:10.
Axe77 is online now   (30) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 22:26   #9

Closing Notes

Its been about 5000 kms since she came home and across the different adventure bikes I've owned as well as those I've ridden extensively, I can understand why the GS is the highest selling adventure bike in its class for all these years. Coming to this updated edition, barring the odd area like seat comfort, it’s fair to say it’s improved in almost every measurable way against its predecessor. It’s faster, torquier, nimbler, feels more agile, tauter handling and just plain superior on every aspect of pure performance. It also still remains an excellent all rounder as such and while it may not be as outright brutal as a Multistrada on tarmac it does remain the best all rounder in its category.

Its become even more sophisticated and feature packed and has taken a definitive directional shift towards a sportier form. With the 1300, its also evident that BMW has made a much clearer distinction between its two flagship lines of the GS and GSA. The GS is now the distinctly sportier sibling while the GSA will serve as the uber comfortable touring mile muncher retaining all the goodness of the 1250 GSA on this front but enhancing its appeal to a wider range of riders thanks to its newfound tech wizardry like the adaptive ride height etc which will make the larger GSA accessible to slightly smaller riders more easily.

Is it too complicated in some parts - perhaps yes. The first couple of years will also prove to be trying for early adopters with the inevitable gremlins that will predictably keep popping up every now and then. But if you're willing to take that leap, the GS is an incredibly versatile and rewarding machine in so many different ways.

As someone who’s not coming to this bike as a prior GS owner, it was instant love. For those who are existing owners of a 1200 or 1250 and attuned to those bikes, I can imagine this is a bit of a jolt in terms of where its taken the model and they either may not approve or it may take a while for the bike to grow on them. Once you’re past the design as well as size departure from the status quo you’re used to, there is certainly plenty to love, but depending on what you want most from your GS. For many, its the GSA (1300) that will eventually hold more appeal for that ‘XXL street presence’ - for some though, its this nimbler and more agile version that will hold more draw.

I thoroughly enjoyed every bit of penning this review and I do hope all of you found this informative if you're prospective buyers or at least entertaining as a biking enthusiast. I look forward to sharing my ownership journey and life in general with the 1300 over the next few year. Until the next update, signing off with this beautiful picture from Panchgani, against the setting sun.

BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-e9fc516ccb1548a68e8c025f26edd12b.jpeg

Last edited by Axe77 : 24th January 2025 at 06:15.
Axe77 is online now   (47) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2025, 22:35   #10

Re: BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review

Thread moved out from the Assembly Line. Thanks for sharing!
Omkar is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 24th January 2025, 13:10   #11

Hearty congratulations Axe77 and thank you for the really well written review. This is the kind of bike that will let you enjoy it for many years even as one's riding style evolves with age. And a really nice list of accessories you have on it as well.

And yes, absolutely second watching the 'Just the way it is' videos for those still not happy with the direction 1300 has taken the GS to. 48deg lean, without trying hard, just speaks for just how much this one is an all-new grounds up machine that can let you eat your cake and have it too.

As someone who has a Multi1260 and 1250GS (friend's bike) in the garage, and has put some miles on both - it is the GS that has won me over as an ultra capable but fun mile muncher and I am really looking to move to the 1300GS sometime this year. Please keep this thread updated!

Last edited by Axe77 : 24th January 2025 at 13:55.
niranjanrvce is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 25th January 2025, 05:08   #12

Originally Posted by niranjanrvce View Post
This is the kind of bike that will let you enjoy it for many years even as one's riding style evolves with age. And a really nice list of accessories you have on it as well.

As someone who has a Multi1260 and 1250GS (friend's bike) in the garage, and has put some miles on both - it is the GS that has won me over as an ultra capable but fun mile muncher and I am really looking to move to the 1300GS sometime this year. Please keep this thread updated!
Thank you for the kind words Niranjan. I will definitely keep the thread updated on all fronts and my experiences both good and not so great, if any.

A dear friend and neighbour has a 1260 Multi too and that’s a beautiful bike in its own right (having owned the 1200 L twin myself). All these generations, whether the Multi or the GS are getting far smoother and more refined with each iteration so I’m well familiar with the sense of drama that these old beauties come with which has now gone missing (the ‘missing character’, as some put it). But TBH, they’re all making for a better and better experience of living with the bike on a daily basis.
Axe77 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 25th January 2025, 13:46   #13

Beautifully captured in detail the various attributes of the GelandeStrasse!

Wishing you many miles of happiness and touring. May be Ladakh trip too on this one.
MileCruncher is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th January 2025, 15:33   #14

What a fantastic and descriptive review of a superlative adventure tourer, in the most elegant color! This thread should be the ready reckoner go-to place for all 1300GS aspirants and owners, so many details about the features and traits, even fence-sitters will be turned to buyers with all the trivia added here. Congratulations and happy motoring!

Glad to see you pick this one up after the Tiger and Multi days, and it is a befitting upgrade that someone like you will definitely put through its paces in the coming days. Happy riding once again, and eagerly looking forward to your ride reports and updates .
KarthikK is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th January 2025, 18:34   #15

26th Jan ended up in a really long Sunday ride, a nod over 400 kms, door to door. Rode early AM with the lads to some windmills somewhere between Igatpuri and Nashik, followed by Misal brunch somewhere inside Nasik city before returning home.

The ride marked a minor landmark. Hit 5000 kms today. Sorry for the poor quality pic just quickly snapped something on the RayBan Metas instead of stopping and clicking a clear one.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-photo7893_singular_display_fullpicture.jpeg

Catching sunrise well before Kasara ghat … here’s one from the glasses …
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-photo7680_singular_display_fullpicture.jpeg

… and a better one, stopping on the side, with the iPhone.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_7109.jpeg

Stopping at the base of Kasara ghat for some chai and small nibbles. That’s only part of the line up - I think we must have been almost 20 bikes today.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_7130.jpeg

Finally, somewhere near the windmills.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_7167.jpeg

Some customary posing …. coz .. why not!
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-15495f856e574e27b71c9f368d2c6bc8.jpeg

With a pal’s newly acquired used 1250 Triple Black - hardly 2 years old I think (and barely 2 days with him).
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-img_7173.jpeg

Boxer twin’ning in a trio of triple blacks!
Nimbu soda break around the old defunct IRB toll Thane.
BMW R1300 GS Triple Black | Initial Ownership Review-bdeb94d40d7a4ec99c5b706816da1b79.jpeg

Last edited by Axe77 : 26th January 2025 at 18:37.
Axe77 is online now   (10) Thanks