Team-BHP - Ducati officially launched in INDIA - 15 to 50 lakhs

-   Superbikes & Imports (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/superbikes-imports/)
-   -   Ducati officially launched in INDIA - 15 to 50 lakhs (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/superbikes-imports/39337-ducati-officially-launched-india-15-50-lakhs-2.html)

Originally Posted by IronWolf (Post 822292)
I know Ducati is worth a lot being the Ferrari of bikes so to say.. but still ?? 50 lacs?

Its absurd. I dont even want to go to the Ducati site see the US prices and do the usual math. Either way it will not make any sense to me.

50 lakhs is probably for the 1098R dude. With all that carbon fiber, exotic metal and what not data acquisition. It runs 40K USD, so that would be 100K USD in india which is right in the area of around 50lakhs. I'd love to see who buys this one!

Originally Posted by highwayblaze (Post 822247)
I'm sure they know they're not going to sell as many. Its the same in the US and rest of the world as well although sales numbers are high , they're way lower compared to Japanese and else.

Another case of the Japs stomping on the competition.
Sales numbers being high for Ducati? Thats odd,I thought they were really low in the US.I do know that for obvious reasons,sales in Europe is fairly good.

50 L for a motorbike????????? These guys are crazy. Even the cheapest one at 15L is a big rip off. This more than double of the US pricing. Do they think that Indians are overly rich with money to burn and stupid?

Ducati is not even that good of a bike compared to Japanese superbikes. They are just stupidly noisy and not that reliable by comparison. The Yamaha R1 is better than any of these Ducatis.

My prediction: None of this Italian junk will sell. Ducati will flop in India with ZERO sales.clap:

Gaurav

Originally Posted by Nitin (Post 822299)
Another case of the Japs stomping on the competition.
Sales numbers being high for Ducati? Thats odd,I thought they were really low in the US.I do know that for obvious reasons,sales in Europe is fairly good.

Ducati sales are at its highest ever right now. When you say they sell in low numbers in the US its in comparison to other bikes. But compared to earlier Ducati sales as compared to last year and this, they're doing really well. All I'm saying is I'm sure they know / and i'm sure they're not aiming at Japanese kind high sales figures either!

Originally Posted by RedMM340 (Post 822309)
50 L for a motorbike????????? These guys are crazy. Even the cheapest one at 15L is a big rip off. This more than double of the US pricing. Do they think that Indians are overly rich with money to burn and stupid?

Apparently.. someone called George Bush thinks on those lines.

However, getting back to the topic, am sure there will be ppl to buy these. Ducati wouldnt price anything without enough market research. Or for that matter any manafacturer. Will be good to see a Ducati on our roads soon.

Quite true,Bhupi. Sales numbers won't match that of the Jap bikes,but it must be somewhere on the overall sales list of bikes.

i want to see if they sell that one 48 lak bike in the first place. first insane car prices with fuel prices now insane bike prices. weird country i tell you. tell these prices to any other country and they will laugh and say oh we can buy 2 or more in that price.

All this money in India and all those sport-bikes and we still lack enough race-tracks around the country. The folks down south still have some, start moving northwards and you have no place to ride :( ! Make a race track and have fast bikers pay for use. It'll be safer and more fun.

As the price range of the Ducatis to be launched in India is being discussed, here is the news already discussing racing tracks for these super bikes.

There is good news for bike racing lovers in the country. As companies like Ducati, Honda, Suzuki and Yamaha are cruising in with an array of power bikes, efforts are also on to bring the premium MotoGP racing event in India.

For speedsters, who can afford the 'lakhpati' bikes - priced between Rs 10 and Rs 50 lakh - but do not know where to run them, this is indeed a pulse-racing development. As millionaires in India are rising, companies are pushing hard to get this prestigious event and set up special track to create excitement and make these top-end brands more visible.

“This is the right time to enter the market and India is set to become an important destination for premium bikes,” Ducati CEO Gabriele Del Torchio said after the company introduced a series of iconic bikes with prices ranging from Rs 14 lakh to nearly Rs 50 lakh for the flagship super brand '1098R'.

Ducati is not the only one to count on India for power bikes. Yamaha has already introduced its 1670cc MT01 cruiser and 1000cc R1 racing bike, both priced a little over Rs 10 lakh. Suzuki also plans to get its power bikes and so does Honda.

Torchio said he has already approached Carmelo Ezpeleta, CEO of Dorna Sports, the commercial rights holder for MotoGP, to organise this event in India. Ducati's India CEO Ashish Chordia said companies have already raised the matter with the Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers (SIAM) and a senior functionary of the association said the matter is under discussion with the government.

Vicky Chandhok of Federation of Motorsports Clubs in India (FMSCI) said there is a need to have specialised tracks to promote safe racing in India. “We are exploring the options to get the MotoGP in India and the upcoming Formula 1 track at Greater Noida (being built by the Jaypee group) could be a possible site.”

“It would make sense to use that track not only for the designated F1 event but also for MotoGP and other motorcycling action like Superbike events. Also, it could well be a place where amateurs could fulfil their biking thrills for as low as Rs 300 for half a day,” he said. Currently, there are two private racing tracks in India - in Coimbatore and Chennai. But both lack the necessary safety standards and the requisite infrastructure to run the bikes above 300 km/hour.

Source: Racing time for bikers-India Business-Business-The Times of India

Originally Posted by jesal (Post 822521)
i want to see if they sell that one 48 lak bike in the first place. first insane car prices with fuel prices now insane bike prices. weird country i tell you. tell these prices to any other country and they will laugh and say oh we can buy 2 or more in that price.

According to the right sources the 1st Ducati 1098R has been Sold at an Insane price of 48 lakhs, read doctorque's post in the thread called : Ducati in india.

I read it in the newspapers today - some top model costing 48 lacs ex-showroom, Now I know its a good bike BUT 50 Lacs OTR for a Bike !!!

I'd rather buy a 5 series and save some !!

You can get 5 R1's for that money !!!

Believe me These will sell even if they cost 80-90 Lakhs..Ducati would be a Style statement for the "Netas" of our country with their "DADA" "NANA" Scorpios !!

what no ducati monster ?

Dang! Wish I had a few millions lying around somewhere. I'm wondering if importing a similar Ducati model would be cheaper, I've no idea on the import duty on bikes. Makes me remember the title on one of the Times Drive articles about the Rolls Royce Phantom "Read this only if you have 2 crores and don't know what to do with it" :Frustrati

I'd love to import a Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R. Had the chance to ride the 250 aeons ago, simply loved it! 15L for a ducati and 15L for a fiat 500 or Honda civic, Hmmm. What would you wanna buy if you had 15L in your piggy bank?

Originally Posted by highwayblaze (Post 822295)
50 lakhs is probably for the 1098R dude. With all that carbon fiber, exotic metal and what not data acquisition. It runs 40K USD, so that would be 100K USD in india which is right in the area of around 50lakhs. I'd love to see who buys this one!

Read my earlier posts ... a 1098R is already sold for 48L .:) .Do no about the owner .