Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 15th February 2005, 00:37   #1

Yamaha R1s and Honda CBRs

Don't have any pictures of any sorry, but I do have some questions. I'm going to be moving back to India soon from the States, and I really want a nice sportbike. I hear India has no market for these beasts and that I have to have one brought in myself. Is that completely true? If so, can I contact let's say a Yamaha or Honda dealer there to have an R1 or CBR brought in? Would they arrange that for me or do I have to make all the arrangements myself? Any help would be gladly apprieciated! Thanks!
Old 15th February 2005, 10:19   #2

I hear India has no market for these beasts and that I have to have one brought in myself. Is that completely true?
Yup. Sad but true.

If so, can I contact let's say a Yamaha or Honda dealer there to have an R1 or CBR brought in? Would they arrange that for me or do I have to make all the arrangements myself?
No chance of them helping you out in any way. You're on your own for this one.

I was in a similar situation as I wanted to bring my bike after I finished my studies, but there is just too much red tape and too many horror stories. If finance is not a problem, the simple way is to get in touch with some grey market dealer here and pay him to get your bike through customs.

Or else, just do what most of us end up doing, buy a "power" bike from here. A 150hp Pulsar sould be fine. Or is that 15 hp....
Old 15th February 2005, 10:29   #3

Someone asks about R1s and CBRs and u end up advising him to get a pulsar!! LOL.....
Like Rt said, if money aint a problem, I guess there are guys in Mumbai who get these machines..
Guess the Mumbai guys have some info on these!!!! Surely u'l get help from them to contact the right guys..
Long time back there was a post here of R1s for sale in mumbai(By domnic ??).. they all got sold within weeks...
So guess it wont be a problem to get one for about 6-7lks....
Old 16th February 2005, 01:18   #4

brand new 2005 R1s available for 10 lakhs.

CBR 1000RR s also available.

pm me if serious.
Old 16th February 2005, 09:27   #5

brand new one for 10lks?! Is it the raven color one?!! Damn, she is really hot...
Old 17th February 2005, 00:59   #6

Originally Posted by nitrous
brand new 2005 R1s available for 10 lakhs.

CBR 1000RR s also available.

pm me if serious.
Prices slashed :
S600 offering 2005 R1 with MH reg for 8.5
also 2005 R6 with MH reg for 7.5

Click
http://team-bhp.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3941
post #12
Old 17th February 2005, 12:37   #7

prices are dependant on:

duty paid
whether imported as a complete bike or parts

these 2 factors can vary ther price by a few lakhs &may/may not get you into trouble with custom authorities
Old 4th April 2005, 20:37   #8

can you tell me the price of yamaha r1
Old 4th April 2005, 21:13   #9

totally agree with eldvapo...a good 05 r1 with decent papers and registered as A FOREIGN bike will be 10 lacs+....nowadays busa and r1's are registered as 150cc or some indian bikes....
Old 5th April 2005, 09:30   #10

nowadays busa and r1's are registered as 150cc or some indian bikes....
WTF?????? U really serious ICE..... Dont they get caught?? Hard to believe.....
Old 27th April 2005, 01:13   #11

Originally Posted by iceman91
totally agree with eldvapo...a good 05 r1 with decent papers and registered as A FOREIGN bike will be 10 lacs+....nowadays busa and r1's are registered as 150cc or some indian bikes....
I wonder how do they do it, don't they get caught when they are registering ??
Old 19th April 2006, 00:17   #12

Hey Guys,
Could someone tell me What would be the dough i need to have if i want to buy a decent Imported bike.Of somewhere around 300-500cc.
Old 19th April 2006, 00:21   #13

Contact Dream bikes in pune. They handle all this stuff...