Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 3rd November 2008, 19:37   #16

Sweet bike there.
well about the secondary throttle butterfly valves.what you have done i guess is removed them.thats the only way you're making power from 3000rpm.
but in the way you're leaning out the mixture too much.you'll damage the engine.so i'd suggest is that you get a power commander asap and put the butterflies removed map.
i was contemplating buying this bike hence i had a lot of info on it.especially the butterfly removal thing.
a lot of members at bikeland.org as well as brock davidson have done lots of dyno runs on the 14 with the valves removed.and the A/F graph was very disturbing.it went up to 22-25:1.
Now that is dangerous.
brock supplies a pc3r loaded with the map with the butterflies removed.why don't you buy that online.check out his site.you'll find a lot of good stuff there.he's the hero of 14 tuning in USA.drag specialist.he got the bike before the launch so that he can present a tuned machine along with the launch.

Last edited by manson : 29th October 2011 at 16:06. Reason: Cleaning up.
Old 3rd November 2008, 20:42   #17

I rode insaneroller's ZZR a few days back and noticed that it was running lean straight away because it was making the "pop" sounds when I rolled off the throttle in high revs. This wasn't happening prior to the experiment and used to sound awesome when the revs were going down.

Its a super comfy bike though. What a relief after riding the track oriented bikes. Handling was impressive for such a big bike. Didn't feel its size at all.
Old 3rd November 2008, 21:13   #18

hi guys.sorry for going off topic here.i own a 2003 model 12r,will post pics soon.i am facing one problem with it,whenever i run my bike in traffic or whenever i ride it on slow speeds it tends to heat up very quickly.but if riden on high speeds like 80+ temp remains normal.plz throw some light on this topic please.
Old 3rd November 2008, 21:24   #19

Originally Posted by straight6 View Post
I rode insaneroller's ZZR a few days back and noticed that it was running lean straight away because it was making the "pop" sounds when I rolled off the throttle in high revs. This wasn't happening prior to the experiment and used to sound awesome when the revs were going down.

Its a super comfy bike though. What a relief after riding the track oriented bikes. Handling was impressive for such a big bike. Didn't feel its size at all.
Dude, it does pop normally also due to the t- head & micron slip-ons. Sorry about that night. I just was riding really hard.
Nav, thanks mate. U do know ur stuff, but i havent removed the secondaries yet. Though my maps are all in place for that. Can pm u the setting details. Secondaries i'll be doing after i get the Pc3. Thats for the special occasion :-)

Last edited by manson : 29th October 2011 at 16:06. Reason: Cleaning up.
Old 3rd November 2008, 21:30   #20

Originally Posted by prateek View Post
hi guys.sorry for going off topic here.i own a 2003 model 12r,will post pics soon.i am facing one problem with it,whenever i run my bike in traffic or whenever i ride it on slow speeds it tends to heat up very quickly.but if riden on high speeds like 80+ temp remains normal.plz throw some light on this topic please.
Mate, one question I have for u. When did u get the bike & is this your first sports bike. Nav would be best to answer that question, but really mate, that question is asked by riders who've just started
Old 3rd November 2008, 21:45   #21

Prateek, thats the case with most 400cc and upward bikes. These were not designed to be stuck in traffic, the motors and cooling systems for these are designed keeping in mind that these are going to be moving at reasonably high speeds for most of their life cycle.

So, basically there is no real problem with your bike. If sometimes you tend to get stuck for prolonged periods, stop by the roadside, let the bike cool down a little and then resume your ride.

manson.
Old 3rd November 2008, 21:57   #22

thanks manson for help.yes insane roller its my first sbk bought 3 months ago.i enjoy riding it.only thing bugging me was heating issue but now its solved.i thought that its my bike with the problem.thanks once again for help guys.
Old 3rd November 2008, 22:05   #23

Prateek, ideally just touch base with Navpreet. You will not need a manual, zx12 forum browsing or anything of that sort after that. He knows the ZX-12R inside out, and can surely help you troubleshoot the regular stuff.
Have fun, and take it easy with the kwacking!

manson.
Old 3rd November 2008, 23:00   #24

thanks manson for help.yes insane roller its my first sbk bought 3 months ago.i enjoy riding it.only thing bugging me was heating issue but now its solved.i thought that its my bike with the problem.thanks once again for help guys.
Man you got yourself a killer 1st sbk. Its a general issue with all sports, though the kawa ninja's are way less when compared to the heating dept of below 08 busa, infact in the speed department also the zx12R is no less. Enjoy & be safe. Read alot about the turning / leaning etc etc. Those are the initial riding issues usually.
Old 3rd November 2008, 23:05   #25

Prateek: well its an 03 right.so two fans like mine.are you well verse with mechanicals and electricals of the bike.
a simple solution to this problem(or better said characteristic of the bike) is that you cut the wires and install a switch for the fans.this way whenever you're moving slow you can just switch on the fans.simple and effective method which a lots of busa owners have also adopted.these litre plus bikes generally tend to get heated up more than normal.but then its what they are.hotter

BUT and here's a big big BUT.if you or whomsoever you give your bike for servicing,doesn't know this then PLEASE don't try this.you'll end up frying the electricals.
Even i haven't done this because i have never faced this issue.i never ride in traffic.no point.for that i have a honda dio.lol.

Also we're blessed with very cold winters without snow here in most parts of india.enjoy your bike in the coming months.you'll find it faster and more powerful owing to the cooler air.

manson brother i don't think i deserve this kind of recognition.i just know a little bit of my bike.thats all.i wish i knew even 10% of what the real gurus know.i wish.

'roller check this out.this will definitely take you to your dream speed.

http://prostores2.carrierzone.com/se...200-MPH/Detail

and i guess the it'll be the monster to recon with at the special occasion.
Old 4th November 2008, 06:42   #26

The GSXR 1000 is a really well cooled bike. It does heat up, but the rider will not feel the heat at any point through the tank or the frame.
Old 4th November 2008, 10:00   #27

Originally Posted by navpreet318 View Post
thank you.well i was planning to part off when it was just 6 months old.i couldn't handle all that power.but then i just kept it.its smiling face too cute to let go.worked on it.installed many things.now its the bike i'd like to keep so that my kids can boast about me when they're in kindergarten.lol.

by the way netchef,Sir,you yourself have a beautiful bike.It was for sale a while ago.Have you kept it with you?

Oh yes and "Sir" would be an overstatement to call me.Navpreet would be suffice.afterall i'm quite younger than you.

manson ji,yaar ae sheepishly ki honda hai.mai te facts likhe hain.
navpreet318: Real pity- my loss especially since you seem to have bestowed much TLC on her, but your kids will turn up their collars and walk with a swagger for that fast, cool dad AND his cool, fast wheels.

I sold my Blade a couple of months back and now I'm simply bereft. Didn't think it would take me this long to find a bike, didn't think I'd be so broke, didn't think I'd miss her and the riding so much. Now, every time I see or hear an SBK, every time I go within spitting distance of a highway, I feel these terrible pangs.

SIGH!
Old 4th November 2008, 10:59   #28

The GSXR 1000 is a really well cooled bike. It does heat up, but the rider will not feel the heat at any point through the tank or the frame.

its a real boon if a bike is such.other wise on my bike i face a big problem.the legs take a lot of heat from the engine.as well as private parts.can't have long rides in the summer season.
Old 4th November 2008, 12:03   #29

soo mnay kwacker owners here fianally i feel at ease.
i bought myself a 08 ninja 10r recently and been facing the same dumb things all noobies face like hehehe the heating problem. man it didnt worry me but was a little concerned till i knew it was normal. yeah however u do feel the heat blast once in a while. however winters are very cold here so no probs will make me feel warmer atleast .

1- ive heard from a couple of people that run-in is not required . i am not ripping it hard but still im not driving it acording to the manual which says under 5000 rpm for first 1000kms. what should i do drive as i am or follow the manual.

2- is it allright to remove baffles for a better growl than buying a new slip-on what changes need to be made
Old 4th November 2008, 12:20   #30

I really dig Michail's 06 gixxer, that bike looks blown, is comfortable, lightning fast and now sounds mind numbing!

manson.