Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 9th April 2009, 16:06   #1

MTT Y2K - The Baap of all Superbikes

Faster and Faster: MTT Turbine Streetfighter: The 420 horsepower, US$175,000 rocket-bike

Based in South Louisiana, in the US and headed by Ted McIntyre II, MTT are turbine engine specialists. According to a note on the company’s website, ‘MTT is made up of the world's most experienced professionals in the turbine engine industry, having completed more diverse, custom turbine engine installations than any other company in the world.’

The best part is, the guys at MTT seem to be putting their expertise to damn good use, by building turbine-engined two-wheeled rocketships. A few years ago, the company had made the MTT Y2K Turbine Superbike, which was powered by a Rolls Royce-Allison turbine that made 320 horsepower and 576Nm of torque. The bike’s top speed was in excess of 400km/h…

So, since a 320bhp bike that can do 400km/h simply isn’t adequate for everybody, MTT are now ready with their next bike – the Turbine Streetfighter. The MTT Streetfighter’s Rolls Royce-Allison turbine now pumps out as much as 420bhp and 680Nm of torque. Other changes over the Y2K Superbike include a bigger swingarm, Pirelli Diablo 240-section rear tyre, increased fuel capacity and an enhanced cooling system.

The MTT Turbine Streetfighter is also fitted with a full carbonfibre fairing, 17-inch carbonfibre wheels, tubular aluminium alloy frame, a rear-mounted camera with LCD color display, computerized ignition and two-speed automatic transmission. Suspension components comprise of a 55mm USD fork and oleo-pneumatic, fully adjustable monoshock from Ohlins. Brakes are Brembo units, with 320mm discs all around. The bike runs on either diesel or kerosense (!), and has a 34-litre fuel tank.

As you would expect, the Streetfighter isn’t exactly inexpensive. The turbine-engined bike sells for US$175,000 and once you’ve placed an order, you’ll need to wait for 12 weeks before you get your hands on your jet bike. Then again, you can get your bike in whatever colour you want and design your own graphics etc. if you wish…

It may not be the most practical thing in the world – a Hayabusa or a ZZR1400 is usually plenty fast for most people – but owning a jet-engined bike has got to be the stuff of dreams for bike-mad speed junkies. Imagine the look on your neighbours’ faces when you start up your MTT Turbine Streetfighter in the morning, before leaving for office. Ooooohh..., now that would be some trip…!

(all text from the site mentioned above)

more on it can be seen on these videos

more would be the site itself ...
Old 9th April 2009, 16:12   #2

This particular bike was used in a movie called "Torque" in the climax chase ... When I watched the movie, I did not realise that this was a production bike ...

@Jonny, great fine. The videos are absolutely stunning.
Old 9th April 2009, 16:19   #3

I remember this bike from the movie bike featuring Martin Henderson...same guy in Balle Balle...Amritsar to LA..lol
Old 9th April 2009, 16:22   #4

In fact i too was shoked when i saw Y2k & found that it indeed is production bike thats why also put up the factory video. Its really cheap when comparered to price of helicopter ...Jussssssssst for Rs.90lakhs (crude cal of 1.90L US$) plus Customs duty Plus VAT etc etc. My god the duty officers will also faint when they know what they are taxing

I wanna buy One of this & one of the New Rolce Royce RR4 !

BTW The film TORQUE was a great fun to see esp the final chase scene
Old 9th April 2009, 16:23   #5

Next on line is a Bike with an after burner. Conversation between 2 speed junkies could be like this
Junkie1: Hey, do U know my bike has NOS power?
Junkie2: Thats nothing dude, I have an after burner. You know what the means?
Junkie1: What the ^&%#
Old 9th April 2009, 16:30   #6

totally crazy mann!!! its just brilliantly insane! i saw an interview of this guy once, and the interviewer asked him " why would you put a jet engine in a bike?" and he replied "because you can!" amazing stuff mann. 242 Mph on a bike! wooow that is something.
Old 9th April 2009, 16:38   #7

Here is the interview ... a refresher for you ...

Old 9th April 2009, 16:39   #8

Originally Posted by Jonny Bravo View Post
In fact i too was shoked when i saw Y2k & found that it indeed is production bike thats why also put up the factory video. Its really cheap when comparered to price of helicopter ...Jussssssssst for Rs.90lakhs (crude cal of 1.90L US$) plus Customs duty Plus VAT etc etc. My god the duty officers will also faint when they know what they are taxing

I wanna buy One of this & one of the New Rolce Royce RR4 !

BTW The film TORQUE was a great fun to see esp the final chase scene
Yup, I can watch Torque again and again for the chases. I liked the chase around the train as well and the one on the expressway with the Nascar. Some insane chases ...
Old 9th April 2009, 16:50   #9

@jonny Bravo: yup!! thats the one buddy, just love it!!
Old 9th April 2009, 17:15   #10

I always wanted to ask 2-3 dumb questions about the Turbine bikes. Now that there is a thread for it. here goes..

a) If it has gears, what would the gears be 1) Burn 2) AfterBurner?
b) How do you keep something like this on idle?
Finally
c) Mileage kithna saaab?
Old 10th April 2009, 00:47   #11

me too very much interested in MILAGE even on KEROSENE its will be costly.
Old 10th April 2009, 08:05   #12

The engine seems to be a monster, but, it could have been better in the looks department. I'm not sure how many guys want to have their bikes sounding like planes. I love the R1 exhaust note but i'm not mentally prepared for this one.

If I hear one on the road I'd be ready to duck for cover more than anything else.
Old 10th April 2009, 09:12   #13

Originally Posted by IronWolf View Post
I always wanted to ask 2-3 dumb questions about the Turbine bikes. Now that there is a thread for it. here goes..

a) If it has gears, what would the gears be 1) Burn 2) AfterBurner?
b) How do you keep something like this on idle?
Finally
c) Mileage kithna saaab?
I read somewhere it has two gears, and also heard it gives decent milage as well.
Old 10th April 2009, 09:21   #14

well for someone who spend a Rs.crore & more then he will say "who cares the damn average"
Old 10th April 2009, 09:41   #15

Old news.. very very old news.
The exhaust on this bike would melt plastic car bumpers if not careful in traffic