Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 7th June 2009, 12:52   #1

Interested in this bike ( Honda Aero 400cc ) need some feedback.

Team-BHP Classifieds - HONDA CBR 400 R AERO - Powered by PhotoPost Classifieds

I was browsing in the classifieds section and came across the above ad for a Honda Aero 400cc bike. I have been looking to supplant my 150cc uni with something bigger like a 250cc bike. Since there doesn't happen to be any release from any brands I thought I will checkout this one.
I read some reviews about this bike and it's has got good ratings. Since it is a dated model (1987) I am concerned about spares and maintenance. Also the OT has quoted 2lacs for that which I feel is higher.
I want to know from knowledgeable people here about this bike and offer price.

Zaks
Old 7th June 2009, 13:06   #2

My '88 CBR 600 Hurricane was similar. Check the bike for mechanical condition and its papers and bargain accordingly.

Last I heard, my bike was for around 2.10L and its an official TR import. This one should be close to 1.5L.
Old 7th June 2009, 13:13   #3

Why 400? You will pretty soon be bored with it. Go for 600/750 instead. They are best of both worlds-- not small and are closer to litre class in size and performance. Also 2 L for an 87 400 is high. I bought an '89 CBX 750 for that money and it is in mint shape. 1.5-1.6 should be more like it for a 400, in my opinion.
Old 7th June 2009, 13:28   #4

Do remember to Check the Papers and Make sure it is not in the DRI hitlist.
Old 7th June 2009, 13:43   #5

Originally Posted by Cyrus43 View Post
Do remember to Check the Papers and Make sure it is not in the DRI hitlist.
They wouldn't bother with such an old bike but, its better to be safe.
Old 8th June 2009, 10:03   #6

This bike was seen in my apartment's parking lot a couple of times. I have seen this closely and I have doubts about the engine despite being a Honda, because there was a lot of carbon deposit around the exhaust tip. However, the exhaust does have a powerful note & fairing has faired the age pretty well. The ODO is at about 26K as per the milometer. You must go thru proper checks before owning it. Try bargaining the dude into it and insist on a full check-up before full payment, whatever may the amount be. You might just get a nice fun bike.

BTW, It's an MH-20 (Aurangabad) registration and was seen pretty frequently around NIBM area until last month. Since the ad showed up, it has literally disappered from the scene.
Old 8th June 2009, 22:38   #7

Originally Posted by pgsagar View Post
Why 400? You will pretty soon be bored with it. Go for 600/750 instead. They are best of both worlds-- not small and are closer to litre class in size and performance. Also 2 L for an 87 400 is high. I bought an '89 CBX 750 for that money and it is in mint shape. 1.5-1.6 should be more like it for a 400, in my opinion.
Hmm.. that is interesting. I showed an interest in this bike since I don't see many other 300+ cc bikes up for sale anywhere and the 1000cc ones cost me a fortune!

Still it being so old even with 26k on the odo makes me very concerned.

Originally Posted by straight6 View Post
My '88 CBR 600 Hurricane was similar. Check the bike for mechanical condition and its papers and bargain accordingly.

Last I heard, my bike was for around 2.10L and its an official TR import. This one should be close to 1.5L.
How much would it cost to import one like this?
Old 8th June 2009, 23:48   #8

Zaks, my point was, if you can get an '86/'87 750cc bikes for 2.25 to 2.5 lakhs then why settle for a 400 cc bike? But yes, one thing is right. You do not come across such deals very often. It takes a while and some patience to buy one. BTW, if that bike you mentioned is used judiciously then 26k mileage is not a problem. You can go ahead. Try to bring it down to 1.5-1.6 lakhs.