Old 10th December 2013, 15:48   #391

Re: Which is the best diesel 4WD (Not AWD) SUV under 22 lac INR?

Originally Posted by zulfi hansi View Post
But yes it does look quirky.
That is my second biggest issue with the Santa Fe. Quirky looks and too small an engine to be lugged around in city traffic or off road/trails.
Old 14th December 2013, 08:02   #392

Yesterday i got a chance to evaluate a friends 2 year old XUV500 W8 having run just over 20K. Pretty impressive..very very comfortable 1st and 2nd row seat (better than the Scorpio) smooth engine..no vibrations an not quirky electronics on his, great options around the 3rd row seats. and wife liked it.

i did again take a hard look at the Fortuner and the nissan X-Trail (I am very impressed by the latter, much more than the Fortuner..especially its ride comfort, space options and 4WD operation)

its back in contention.. and for the price a great value for money at 10L less than the above which means the price of my wife's VW Polo + some more (good ICE and accessories)
if the VW tiguan were being announced some time in 2014 i may have been really tempted but for now no other option for me :(

Mod Note : Please avoid typing with excessive dots.........like................this.

Last edited by GTO : 18th December 2013 at 11:00. Reason: STRICTLY no acronyms (e.g. T-Fort) on Team-BHP
Old 14th December 2013, 16:38   #393

So are you saying that you have been able to review a pre owned X-Trail being offered for INR 10.00 lac at Bangalore?

Last edited by Aditya : 16th December 2013 at 12:00.
Old 15th December 2013, 18:47   #394

Originally Posted by n.devdath View Post
So are you saying that you have been able to review a pre owned X-Trail being offered for INR 10.00 lac at Bangalore?
no..i meant OTR for an XUV is 10L less than the other 2 ..apologies for making it confusing
Old 15th December 2013, 19:18   #395

Originally Posted by sh@rpshooter View Post

no..i meant OTR for an XUV is 10L less than the other 2
Absolutely. In fact coming to sheer VFM nothing beats the Scorpio today and the XUV and the Storme too are not far behind. This is one of my issues too.
n.devdath is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th December 2013, 21:03   #396

Does this mean that you are now considering it along with the Storme?
I have already asked the dealership to get details of the car I am considering, but the manufacturer is yet to revert back.

I want a 4WD Scorpio in VLX trim with mid captain seats. Not in white.
Old 15th December 2013, 21:15   #397

Why is Skoda Yeti not in this list? A great compact 4x4, both for City & Rough ride.

Captiva was also superb, but didnt get desired sales numbers.
Old 16th December 2013, 09:20   #398

Originally Posted by Sheel View Post
Oh, so you have finalized on a Scorpio VLX 4wd. Interesting, but how come?
Your inputs could help me.
Originally Posted by gsurya View Post
Why is Skoda Yeti not in this list?
You see, after being used to the kind of space and respect that a Scorpio gets, I am not willing to settle for anything lesser in terms of exterior size. Also, I need a proper 4WD with 4H and 4L ratios. The Yeti doesnt have them.
Old 16th December 2013, 11:01   #399

I have already asked the dealership to get details of the car I am considering, but the manufacturer is yet to revert back.

I think that the Scorpio LX 4x4 is the best buy, as you have no quirky electronics to go bad. The only thing missing is the rear washer, which I think can be retrofitted.
Old 16th December 2013, 12:26   #400

Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
The only thing missing is the rear washer, which I think can be retrofitted.
While the rear defogger and the washer wiper can be retrofitted, there are quite a few complications in doing it. For example, the rear door needs to be changed, the wiring harness needs to run from the door to the bonnet to the dashboard, the washer bottle needs to be changed to accomodate two motors..the list is quite long.

Also, in today's day and age, most people prefer buying cars with ABS (if not airbags) and the LX doesn't offer that.

What would I miss if I were to buy an LX 4WD?

1. Rear defogger and wash and wipe.
2. Hariya (my Scorpio CRDe SLX) has better interiors.
3. VMS.
4. Tiltable steering.
5. Armrest on the driver and co passenger seat.
n.devdath is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th December 2013, 15:24   #401

VLX 4WD comes as a 7 seater in the following combinations :-

1> Middle row captain seats with front facing 3 seater last row.
2> Middle row 3 seater with 2 side facing rear seats at the back.

If you dont want white, you have the option of buying one with a Black-body with Silver lower cladding.

Last edited by 1100D : 16th December 2013 at 15:36.
1100D is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th December 2013, 18:18   #402

Oh, so you have finalized on a Scorpio VLX 4wd. Interesting, but how come?
Your inputs could help me.
I don't want a Tata* What other option do I have? [For a proper 4X4 with ladder on frame]

Originally Posted by Aroy View Post
I think that the Scorpio LX 4x4 is the best buy, as you have no quirky electronics to go bad. The only thing missing is the rear washer, which I think can be retrofitted.
As Devdath points out, I have to have ABS (its a tall, heavy SUV), rear wash-wipe, can do away with defogger, but arm-rest is a must as well.

While the rear defogger and the washer wiper can be retrofitted, there are quite a few complications in doing it. For example, the rear door needs to be changed, the wiring harness needs to run from the door to the bonnet to the dashboard, the washer bottle needs to be changed to accomodate two motors..the list is quite long.

Also, in today's day and age, most people prefer buying cars with ABS (if not airbags) and the LX doesn't offer that.

What would I miss if I were to buy an LX 4WD?

1. Rear defogger and wash and wipe.
2. Hariya (my Scorpio CRDe SLX) has better interiors.
3. VMS.
4. Tiltable steering.
5. Armrest on the driver and co passenger seat.
* It is pretty evident as to why. And I don't want to answer this bluntly...
Old 16th December 2013, 18:25   #403

I don't want a Tata* What other option do I have
I thought that the Storme was able to woo you, pretty much into purchasing it. What put you off?
Old 16th December 2013, 18:34   #404

I thought that the Storme was able to woo you, pretty much into purchasing it. What put you off?
The Storme excels in braking, looks, ride. Elsewhere, Scorpio prevails. [as per me]

It is significantly cheaper, has lesser share of niggles/quirks, engine is smooth and at my place Mahindra's ASC is better by 10 times.

I believe that is enough.
Sheel is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th December 2013, 21:14   #405

@Sheel: Having owned a Scorpio VLX 4x4, my suggestion would be to get a Storme 4x4.

But, since you have more or less decided, try to get the version with the side facing rear seats as it is more practical than the front facing third row. You cannot really use the front facing third row as the middle row has to be moved forward making seating very uncomfortable. The front facing third row also leaves no space for luggage. You cannot even fit a carry on bag used on an airline.

Also if you want luggage space and try to fold the front facing third row, you will have to move the middle row forward and make the seat back erect to fit the third row. This make seating in the middle row uncomfortable.

Buy a Scorpio only if comfort in middle row and ergenomics is not a priority for you.
4x4addict is offline   (3) Thanks