Team-BHP - Duster vs other SUVs & MUVs
Team-BHP

Team-BHP (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
-   SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/suvs-muvs-4x4s/)
-   -   Duster vs other SUVs & MUVs (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/suvs-muvs-4x4s/124187-duster-vs-other-suvs-muvs.html)

Tsk had started a thread called "When truck drivers go hatch hopping" when he bought his Micra. I liked it, so I thought I would plagiarize it.

I have been a hatch driver all my life. First my father's 800, then my trusted wagon R which has been with me for 9 years now. I have always loved my hatch -- it can go where bikes fear to tread and help me navigate the Delhi traffic well.

But, Gurgaon / NCR roads being what they are, and my 9 year old suspension even after an overhaul being what it is, my beloved is increasingly complaining of getting her bottom pinched in potholes and speed-breakers. Additionally, in the last couple of years, we felt the need of a "baddi gaddi" for outings when my parents or in-laws visit. Sedans were ruled out as we regularly see Civics etc. squealing much more than my Wagon R at our friendly neighbourhood bumps. Additionally, we felt the sedans are all very similar looking these days. The only sedan we actually liked was the Cedia, but HM being in the state it is in and the service network being what it is, we decided not to risk it.

So a "truck" it was to be. But trucks don't come cheap. So 2 years back, we started putting money together for a truck. A budget of 10 L was agreed on. And about a year back, we actively started looking.

First, the budget ruled out Endeavours and Fortuners and Grand Vitaras (although we liked the Vitara). I liked the Yeti (followed Shankar Balan's thread) but it was too much of a stretch budget-wise. And Skoda's notorious service. That left us with the Scorpio, the Safari and the Innova.

The Scorpio was ruled out by home ministry: "I don't like the looks".