Team-BHP > What Car? > SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 20th July 2006, 13:22   #1

Need Guidance to buy an offroader

Hi All,

Iam new to the forum. I work as a business analyst in a software firm in bangalore.
I own a Zen at this point of time and I am planning to buy an offroader shortly.
Though I learnt to drive in a Mahindra MM540 DP, I dont have too much of experience driving an offroader in the city or on a long drive. Could u please guide me as to what should I look out for if am buying an offroader.I have made up my mind to have an offroader soon.
My options are: Mahindra Classic/MM540, Bolero Camper, Scorpio,TATA Safari/TL
Old 20th July 2006, 15:15   #2

Well the useage will be daily city travel,10-15kms max and on weekends complete offroad..cosidering this my choices were bolero camper, Mahindra CJ3B and MM540..
Old 21st July 2006, 13:18   #3
BANNED

In your thread u mentioned safari is one of the option u look @.
I suggest Tata Safari Dicor will give comfort of zen and satisfy ur offroad passion.

Note - It would be costlier, but worth it.....
Old 21st July 2006, 18:02   #4
BHPian

Hi Pradeep

welcome team-bhp. As u have mentioend in ur post that u r planning to buy an off roader and since you already have a Zen. i would suggest you to drop the idea of a safari or for that matter any new luxuary Jeep. You can consider the mm540, the classic or the CJ3B. You don't need A/c while going offroad and am sure you woud't want to take a new jeep offroad, so spend some 60-70grands and pick up a 4*4. 2nd hand, modify it a bit and start hitting the road. Even am planning to buy a 540, i have checked out quiet a few vehicles and have one 540 in mind, check the link below
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-c...uggestion.html

You can always get in touch with Arka or PM him, he will be of great help and will be the right person to guide you.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motor-...tml#post261287

Regards