Old 24th July 2006, 13:54   #1

Safari TCIC LX or Safari DICOR LX

Hello All,

If I had to choose between Safari TCIC LX and Safari DICOR LX - which should I choose? As I know it

TCIC
Pro
1. Ex show-room as low as 6.4 L
2. The engine has been around for quite sometime in Safari and should be mostly trouble-free?

Cons
1. Is the engine strong enough to pull the bulk of a safari
2. What about fuel efficiency? How much miles can make it in city and highway?

DICOR
Pro
1. 3000 cc engine - so should have more power
2. Power/Pick-up etc is supposed to be significantly better than TCIC

Cons
1. Costs almost a lakh more than TCIC
2. I am told that its fuel efficiency is even worse than TCIC

So which is the right option?

Brgds
Old 24th July 2006, 15:09   #2

Checks thread by Steeroid etc for long term review of Dicor. Dicor would be a better buy.
Old 24th July 2006, 15:16   #3

I second jkdas here .......
Old 24th July 2006, 15:17   #4
SUV

Can we continue this topic on your Original Thread ...
Old 24th July 2006, 15:30   #5

I didnt get that SUV....
Old 24th July 2006, 16:01   #6
SUV

Originally Posted by Proxima
I didnt get that SUV....
Sorry that was for Arindam ... here is the Link to his other Post http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/what-c...e-suv-muv.html
Old 25th July 2006, 11:09   #7

Originally Posted by arindam
DICOR
Pro
1. 3000 cc engine - so should have more power
2. Power/Pick-up etc is supposed to be significantly better than TCIC

Cons
1. Costs almost a lakh more than TCIC
2. I am told that its fuel efficiency is even worse than TCIC
Dicor definitely has more power & importantly, Torque.
I get around 10 kmpl in city and 13+ on highway on my Dicor LX 4x4. If you are going for 4x2, this should improve a bit.

My suggestion would be to go for Dicor without even thinking about TCIC..
Old 25th July 2006, 13:42   #8

If you're only looking at Safari, wait until the new, more powerful engine comes out. Otherwise you might feel cheated when you buy Dicor and within a year it becomes obsolete.
Old 25th July 2006, 14:32   #9

Boom, the price difference betwiin the dicor and the new safari will be about 1.5 lac .............
Old 25th July 2006, 19:14   #10

Bro,
go for the Safari DICOR.
It should give a better average (CRDi Tech.), is more powerfull and torquier (the TCIC safari was criticized for its lethargic performance ever since it was launched).
It should also give lesser problems AFAIK as the old TCIC safari was very unreliable.
Old 10th January 2007, 16:21   #11

I know that everyone recommends teh Dicor over the TCIC.

But, today, I test drove the TCIC during my lunch break. And believe you me, I came back, well lets say, not disappointed. I expected a car that would be asthamatic and painfully slow. But surprisingly, the car felt quite sprightly from second gear onwards and the NVH levels were really impressive. Switching on the AC did put load on the negine, but nothing more than what happens in my Palio!

Also, the interior design and finish is far improved from the earlier (2001) safari that I had driven a couple of years back in Delhi.

I will be taking the test drive of the Dicor over the weekend, and unless there is a major difference in the drive experience between the two, I am thinking the TCIC may not be that bad a deal after all. also it is 1L cheaper than the Dicor!

Lets wait and see- although my heart still says go for the Dicor
Old 10th January 2007, 16:33   #12

Originally Posted by Boom Shiva View Post
If you're only looking at Safari, wait until the new, more powerful engine comes out. Otherwise you might feel cheated when you buy Dicor and within a year it becomes obsolete.
There is one more reason to wait for the new 2.2L engine to get launched. Chances are that TATA will then cut the DICOR prices down and move TCIC entirely to Sumo range.
So, wait for another 6 months-that is what I am doing now. You might get a better deal
Old 10th January 2007, 16:37   #13

Himanshu

I would say bad option to consider, but then its your money.
Old 10th January 2007, 16:50   #14

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Himanshu

I would say bad option to consider, but then its your money.

Hmmmm.....

Like I said, I will decide only on driving the dicor this weekend.

OT- BTW Steer, I want to write (and maybe I will!) to Tata Motors to nominate you for an award or something- your review of the Dicor has converted a whole bunch of BHPians, yours truly included.
Old 10th January 2007, 16:56   #15

Originally Posted by himanshugoswami View Post
OT- BTW Steer, I want to write (and maybe I will!) to Tata Motors to nominate you for an award or something- your review of the Dicor has converted a whole bunch of BHPians, yours truly included.
The tragedy is....he is now a converted man himself and is going about recommending Rhino Rover ......