Old 19th June 2018, 10:21   #16

Re: Need a 4x4 SUV with a strict eligibility criteria

^ whatever mileage you see on the Odo of a dealer car, multiply by 2 to get the real mileage.
BUXX is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th October 2018, 22:56   #17

Im on a very similar boat. Looking for a 4x4 SUV, 10lac budget. Im looking at a 2010 4x4 Fortuner that has done around 100k kms. My usage will be around 60-40 On/Off road use. And I'll be travelling around 200-300kms a week. I know that Toyota diesels are really good, but how is the Indian Fortuner in terms of long term reliability?
Old 21st November 2018, 10:45   #18
AVR

Originally Posted by ashwin1224 View Post
Im on a very similar boat. Looking for a 4x4 SUV, 10lac budget. Im looking at a 2010 4x4 Fortuner that has done around 100k kms. My usage will be around 60-40 On/Off road use. And I'll be travelling around 200-300kms a week. I know that Toyota diesels are really good, but how is the Indian Fortuner in terms of long term reliability?
The Fortuner is a solid vehicle. I looked at a few of them but the trouble is that quite likely even a 100k odo is a tampered one. In one case, the odo said 80-odd but we enquired about the service history and it was serviced at 1.98 in 2015! The beauty of all this is that the engine and drive was quite alright but the interiors gave away the abuse. Quite confidently the engine/gb could last you a few lakh kms easily and hence is misleading but the interiors and body will give away the truth. Eventually I decided to stay away from the Fortuners especially from the dealers.

Adi
Old 21st November 2018, 12:58   #19

Originally Posted by AVR View Post
Eventually I decided to stay away from the Fortuners especially from the dealers.
+1
Originally Posted by ashwin1224 View Post
Just stay away from dealers and you should be ok. Take as many test drives as you can of all Fortuners that you come across and get a service history check done.

However, you should be aware that zero dep insurance isn't easy to get for an 8 yr old vehicle and it being at 30 lac+ car some parts would cost you dearly, unless you have already accounted for them.

A set of 4 tyres is going to cost you anywhere between 44k to 60k or even 80k depending on which brand you choose. Headlamps cost you a 100k so a minor accident means shelling out a good amount.

If you have factored these things in then just try to find Fortuners that are with their respective owners, get a service history check and you should be ok.