Old 4th October 2021, 09:53   #1

Maruti XL6 vs Kia Seltos

I know that it may not be a correct comparison but I am confused between two. Actually we are a family of 5 (Papa ,Myself ,wife and 2 kids aged 16 & 10). I have got a driver from my office for daily commutes. Now I have to take a new car and I am shifting from 2011 Honda City.

Though Seltos will do, as my father travels less with us as he is aged 76 and wants to stay at home most of the times, but still sometimes, I think that if we all want to go together then with a driver we are 6 persons in a car. Seltos is also tempting me as a SUV which is the in thing these days.

XL6 fits the requirement of 6 but Maruti interiors are not that plush and switching from Honda to Maruti is also not easy and seems to be a downgrade.

Safety wise both are 3 stars so are evens here.

Please guide friends as I am in a dilemma.

MOD NOTE : Please go through posting etiquettes before proceeding any further.

Last edited by Sheel : 8th October 2021 at 09:13. Reason: Mod note attached.
anurag_khurana is offline   (1) Thanks Received Infraction
Old 4th October 2021, 11:44   #2

re: Maruti XL6 vs Kia Seltos

XL6 fits your bill.
It has oodles of space and is decently equipped as well.
Seltos is a pseudo SUV with high ground clearance and XL6 is a people mover like the Innova Crysta on a budget.
You could also wait for the XUV700 which has plush interiors and looks quite nice.
MANE is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 4th October 2021, 11:53   #3

I would suggest the Maruti Suzuki XL6 over the Kia Seltos. There has been a few discussions regarding Kia/Hyundai Brake issues on Creta and Seltos. Also Global NCAP rating wise, Both Seltos and Ertiga are 3 star rated car but Ertiga scores better than the Seltos. And XL6 being based on the Ertiga, it will be better or atleast equal to the Ertiga in safety ratings.

And for your requirements, XL6 will be a amazing choice for comfort and space.
dr_TJ is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 5th October 2021, 08:06   #4

Originally Posted by MANE View Post
Seltos is a pseudo SUV
You could also wait for the XUV700 which has plush interiors and looks quite nice.
Thanks ! Actually XUV 700 is out of question as we have parking problems and this car is simply huge. Though I went & saw the car and it is just awesome. But may be some time in the future when we will have big house and ample parking then we may be able to buy such big cars !
Till that time...XL6 or seltos !!

Originally Posted by dr_TJ View Post
I would suggest the Maruti Suzuki XL6 over the Kia Seltos. There has been a few discussions regarding Kia/Hyundai Brake issues on Creta and Seltos.

And for your requirements, XL6 will be a amazing choice for comfort and space.
Yes I also read that on this forum .Though Braking of XL6 is also not that great as shared by some owners.

Last edited by Sheel : 8th October 2021 at 09:15. Reason: Please put a space after a punctuation mark & not between words. Capitalizing where it is not required. Thanks.
Old 5th October 2021, 08:13   #5

Originally Posted by anurag_khurana View Post
XL6 fits the requirement of 6 but Maruti interiors are not that plush and switching from Honda to Maruti is also not easy and seems to be downgrade.
Since you're looking at NEXA would request to TD the S-Cross as well. Better built and plusher interiors than most Marutis.

Let us know how your views post the TD.
shancz is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th October 2021, 08:35   #6

Though Braking of XL6 is also not that great as shared by some owners.
But the Brakes on XL6 does the job every single time. Just that the sharp bite we feel on some cars like the Crysta, is missing. To put in other words, they do the job adequately well, but the feel isn't there.

Shashi
Leoshashi is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 5th October 2021, 08:58   #7

Yes I also read that on this forum . Though Braking of XL6 is also not that great as shared by some owners.
Well, there is a difference between total brake failure in the Seltos/Creta to brakes lacking bite on the XL6. XL6 is a people mover, it need not have super sharp brakes, rather a brake pedal should be progressive and one that gives a sense of connection to the driver.

So, I would suggest you to get a test drive of the cars.
dr_TJ is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th October 2021, 10:22   #8

Originally Posted by shancz View Post
Since you're looking at NEXA would request to TD the S-Cross as well.
Apologies forgot your requirements at hand, please ignore.

I would vote for the XL as the 6th seat might actually influence your Dad to join in.
For the rest you already have Leoshashi.
shancz is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th October 2021, 03:30   #9

Just compared the variant wise equipment's list and in seltos ,only meaningful variant is HTK+ which is priced at around 11.80 L ex showroom .Compared to that XL6 Zeta version is what contains all the bells and whistles. It is priced at 9.99 lac. So difference of around 2 lac considering increased road tax and TCS when we cross 10 L.

MOD NOTE : Please put a space after a punctuation mark, not before or between words. Please capitalize where required.

Last edited by Sheel : 8th October 2021 at 09:17. Reason: Mod note attached.
Old 8th October 2021, 07:39   #10

Given the choice between XL6 and Seltos, it has to be XL6. You'll get peace of mind in ownership with XL6, as Maruti/Nexa will take care of your service requirements adequately. But this will not be the case with Kia.

lsjey
lsjey is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th October 2021, 08:41   #11

Originally Posted by lsjey View Post
You'll get peace of mind in ownership with XL6, as Maruti/Nexa will take care of your service requirements adequately. But this will not be the case with Kia.

lsjey
Anything specific about services of Kia. Is this very bad? I will switch from Honda and my experience with Honda had been very good. Earlier, we had wagon R so Maruti is well trusted.

Last edited by Sheel : 8th October 2021 at 09:17. Reason: Punctuation spaces.
Old 8th October 2021, 08:58   #12

Anything specific about services of Kia. Is this very bad? I will switch from Honda and my experience with Honda had been very good. Earlier, we had wagon R so Maruti is well trusted.
I moved from Maruti to Kia and my experience hasn't been any different from the former. Service experience has been good, with prompt follow-ups from the service center.

However I must say, the Kia service centers feel over-worked given the volume of cars they have to handle regularly. I don't see any impact on quality of service but waiting time increases.

You can check/post further on the following thread:
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/india...r-company.html (Kia Owners: How is the after-sales service experience from the dealer & company?)

Last edited by Sheel : 8th October 2021 at 09:18. Reason: Quoted post edited. Thanks.
ashis89 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th October 2021, 09:22   #13

Yes I also read that on this forum . Though Braking of XL6 is also not that great as shared by some owners.
I used to be one of those owners who used to crib about the poor brakes of the XL6. That changed when a brain dead tractor waala cut into my lane when I was doing >85kmph with barely 60m of space. The brakes brought the fully loaded car down to about 20kph with enough space left. I have started respecting the brakes ever since. Keep in mind that my car is an Automatic. The Manual will have better braking feel and effectiveness. Attaching a video of the aforementioned incident.

TLDR: The brakes do a fine job for the type of vehicle the XL6 is. Just don't drive it like a hot hatch and you will be fine.

Last edited by sierrabravo98 : 8th October 2021 at 09:27. Reason: Adding something
sierrabravo98 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th October 2021, 11:06   #14

Amongst the two, my advise would be to go ahead with XL6. More space inside, interiors are actually livable, and is slightly safer than the expensive Seltos. Plus, safety wise, Seltos with more powerful engine will be more risky.

Seltos (design wise) have already started looking old and too common now (except that bold black color in GTX line. That still looks WOW!). XL6 is less common, and actually have quite good road presence as well.

I test drove both last year when I was looking to buy new car. normal day to day case basis, XL6 won't disappoint you. That petrol engine packs quite a bit of low end torque.

I have nothing against Seltos, but the crash test rating it got, have somehow affected me too much I think. Can't get over the fact that a car that demands such premium for blings and "good-to-have, but not at all necessary" features, is built as badly as a much more VFM Maruti car.
Nav-i-gator is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th October 2021, 11:24   #15

As a Seltos owner myself, I can tell you that you cannot seat 6 adults in this car. Your kids are already 16 and 10 and you can treat them as adults for seating purposes.

However, do compare that with the third row of the XL6 and whether they will be comfortable there.

I've driven a friend's XL6 quite a bit and can tell you that there is a huge difference in look & feel and features, especially when you consider the higher-end variants of the Seltos. Of course you will also pay much more for that, but I can tell you that it will be worthwhile.

In case those features are not what you are looking for, better to stick to the XL6 since it will work out a more sensible choice, is my opinion. You can't really go wrong with a Maruti!

All the best.
noopster is offline   (5) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com