Hyundai Alcazar 10 1.51%
MG Hector Plus 23 3.47%
Other (please specify in your post) 15 2.27%
Voters: 662. You may not vote on this poll

Old 19th June 2024, 00:09   #151

Re: Mahindra XUV700 vs Tata Safari vs Toyota Innova Crysta vs others

Hello BHPians, I am looking for advice on my next car. I currently drive a 12 year old Chevrolet Optra 2.0 Diesel. I bought the car when I was looking for a performance car with luxurious seats (the back seat is a living room sofa) and the car has not disappointed. Even now, I can outrun many modern cars on the highway with the torque that this car delivers.

However, I am finding the clutch hurting my knee and my back and after 12 long years, it is time for a change.

A few priorities have changed. I don't drive my car much. Max of 5k per annum (I am retired and do equities trading from home), with not much of highway driving. Buying a petrol car with low mileage figures is not a concern.

I am tall and big. I need extra legroom and knee room.

Comfortable back seat is a must. Auto gear and cruise control a must.

Despite safety concerns , my family wants panoramic sunroof. I would prefer a safe car, despite low highway driving. City driving and manoeuvrability would be a great advantage. And finally, SUV it has to be.

I did consider 4.3m cars like Seltos, Creta, Tiguan, Kushaq, Elevate, Astor... But given my bulk and knee room requirements, I have shortlisted two final choices within my budget of about 24-25 lakhs on road in Bangalore:
1. XUV700 AX5 Petrol 5 seater
2. MG HECTOR 1.5 Select Pro

I understand XUV700 is a saner and sensible choice with the better engine and reliability plus proven safety standards. The Hector is tempting given that is 1.5 lakhs cheaper and perhaps gets a few extra bells and whistles.

Would I be prudent to go with XUV or should I fancy my liking for the Hector?

I will be keeping this car for the next decade at least, hopefully. Thank you for your inputs!

Last edited by chetan_l : 19th June 2024 at 00:10. Reason: Added a sentence
Old 19th June 2024, 00:55   #152

I'd suggest to go for Innova crysta than the XUV700. The XUV700 is no doubt feature loaded and 70% similar to a Ford (courtesy the Ford territory inspired body, independent suspension, steering wheel and some tech from the erstwhile Mahindra - Ford partnership), however has a higher maintenance cost and occasional niggles as compared to the EcoSport. If you're open to used, I'd suggest to go for an Innova crysta(used or new both are good) or an Endeavor (parts are still available) or a Skoda Kodiaq. If you're keen on new, you can wait for the new Isuzu MU-X, Alcazar (though questionable safety, has a decent pep for it's size and engine) or the Jeep Meridian (with discounts it's a mechanically sorted car).
jithin23 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th June 2024, 11:49   #153

Originally Posted by chetan_l View Post
Hello BHPians, I am looking for advice on my next car. I currently drive a 12 year old Chevrolet Optra 2.0 Diesel. I bought the car when I was looking for a performance car with luxurious seats (the back seat is a living room sofa) and the car has not disappointed. Even now, I can outrun many modern cars on the highway with the torque that this car delivers.

I understand XUV700 is a saner and sensible choice with the better engine and reliability plus proven safety standards. The Hector is tempting given that is 1.5 lakhs cheaper and perhaps gets a few extra bells and whistles.

Would I be prudent to go with XUV or should I fancy my liking for the Hector?
Innova Hycross Petrol fits very well for your requirement however it lacks Cruise Control & Sunroof. Suggest take a test drive with family may be they change views

Last edited by KarthikK : 26th June 2024 at 11:08. Reason: Trimming the quoted post to the relevant portions for better readability. Thanks!
DHARM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th June 2024, 19:20   #154

Re: Used CRV diesel vs Xuv 700 AXL

Originally Posted by utkarshgoel View Post
I have a diesel ecosport 2017 and I love to drive this car. But now due to its age, 75k odo, ford not in India and requirement of 7 seater, I am planning to upgrade. I would like to drive a fun to drive car preferably diesel.
Regarding budget, I know I cannot stretch beyond 30 in any case.
My annual kms are 10k.
I looked at all options available in new car market.

I am confused about what should I do.
1. Go for new Xuv AXL right now.
2. Go for Crv 2019 and take risk
3. Wait for Xuv 700 facelift or Alcazar facelift.
Hey!
Personally as an owner of the new Safari facelift, I feel like I have the right to speak about this. The XUV is the safest bet. Overall, I feel that the facelift Safari is a better car than the XUV, but the only reason I'd recommend the XUV is because of the fact that the Tata service centre is not reliable. Some places are great and some places are terrible. For example, Jasper Tata Vijayawada, which is the showroom we go for, is brilliant. We as customers are always well taken care of. The servicing is done very quickly.

We've covered almost 6k KM in our car and have gone servicing twice. The first service finished within a day and the second time, we had a software update which finished within 2 hours.

So overall, it all depends on how your sevice centre is. If you have some connections at the showroom, you're covered, and you should go for the Safari. If you don't and don't trust the showroom in your city, your safest bet is definitely the XUV. The Alcazar is great, but compared to these two, it's not up to the mark.

Last edited by KarthikK : 26th June 2024 at 11:10. Reason: Trimmed the quoted post to the relevant portions for better readability. Thanks!
Slomobros is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th June 2024, 19:30   #155

Originally Posted by jithin23 View Post
I'd suggest to go for Innova crysta than the XUV700. The XUV700 is no doubt feature loaded and 70% similar to a Ford (courtesy the Ford territory inspired body, independent suspension, steering wheel and some tech from the erstwhile Mahindra - Ford partnership), however has a higher maintenance cost and occasional niggles as compared to the EcoSport. If you're open to used, I'd suggest to go for an Innova crysta(used or new both are good) or an Endeavor (parts are still available) or a Skoda Kodiaq. If you're keen on new, you can wait for the new Isuzu MU-X, Alcazar (though questionable safety, has a decent pep for it's size and engine) or the Jeep Meridian (with discounts it's a mechanically sorted car).
Very good suggestion. However I am from tier 2 city and only major brands are available here. No isuzu or Jeep. Alcazar I was planning but whatever hyundais and kias I have driven uptil now, they are not so confidence inspiring. So left with Crysta which doesn't have Automatic.
How is an old Kodiaq. Anything known about its reliability?
utkarshgoel is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th June 2024, 15:19   #156

Very good suggestion. However I am from tier 2 city and only major brands are available here. No isuzu or Jeep. Alcazar I was planning but whatever hyundais and kias I have driven uptil now, they are not so confidence inspiring. So left with Crysta which doesn't have Automatic.
If you're going for a used crysta, you will find 2.8L AT(a brilliant engine and automatic transmission). 2.4 AT was present from 2020-22 till the launch of hycross. Kodiaq is best to pick ones within warranty(2019-21 vintage) as the electronics are aplenty. Kodiaq is a basically a lesser version of the Audi Q7. If service is a concern, you will get a well kep crysta Automatic from Delhi NCR for 13-16L depending on the no.of owners and variant.
Old 20th June 2024, 15:28   #157

If you're going for a used crysta, you will find 2.8L AT(a brilliant engine and automatic transmission). 2.4 AT was present from 2020-22 till the launch of hycross. Kodiaq is best to pick ones within warranty(2019-21 vintage) as the electronics are aplenty. Kodiaq is a basically a lesser version of the Audi Q7. If service is a concern, you will get a well kep crysta Automatic from Delhi NCR for 13-16L depending on the no.of owners and variant.
jithin23 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th June 2024, 19:20   #158

Hello !

I was in the same dilemma while choosing between
Safari and XUV700.

The updated Safari/Hector Twins are a looker and come laden with tech for sure but pay a quick visit to Tata service centre and you will be sorted.

XUV700 is not exactly niggle free but it’s a better rounded product between two and still offers superior value for money.

Toyota Innova is a great car but it holds on the resale value pretty much ,never found a good used car with in sensible price range.

I would avoid ‘Niche’ Brands and Models in tier-2 cities ,niche is classified on sales volume.

My suggestion would be XUV700.
Old 20th June 2024, 22:36   #159

Any reason why the Hector dropped out?
Maintenence is cheap, the car is niggle free, and I believe you have a service centre available in your location. And the MG service and buying experience is a class apart. At least has been for me.

The xuv700 would be my first choice as I believe the niggles would be ironed out by now. But there's a cost factor thar you mentioned. The hector is a much better place to be in compared to the Innova, that I can guarantee.
mayankk is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th June 2024, 22:55   #160

Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
Any reason why the Hector dropped out?
Maintenence is cheap, the car is niggle free, and I believe you have a service centre available in your location. And the MG service and buying experience is a class apart. At least has been for me.

The xuv700 would be my first choice as I believe the niggles would be ironed out by now. But there's a cost factor thar you mentioned. The hector is a much better place to be in compared to the Innova, that I can guarantee.
You are right.
Hector was always high on priority but automatic is only in Petrol and to be honest it was not fun to drive. It didn't feel too lethargic but the fun part seems missing. However if Xuv 700 doesn't workout, Hector will be the best option.
utkarshgoel is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th June 2024, 10:38   #161

On other hand mind says that I should save more money and not spend so much on a depreciating asset.
In a market where seven seaters are spread widely across the budget it gets hard to choose since top end variants of some cars overlap with base models of the next segment. Decent "family movers" start from the top end variants of Carens and Alcazar but they clearly do not fit your demands. I would strongly suggest getting a used Crysta or the XUV700 AX5 Select variant. Surely there are some creature comforts missing in this particular variant but it is still a more value for money variant with some room for upgrade. 2018/19 Crysta is another great choice but doesn't depreciate much so you have to pay a lot for a used piece. Remember when buying a MPV the comfort, maintenance and reliability should be preferred over anything and unless you keep it for 8+ years and have a secondary car one should not spend too much on it.

Also with a running of around 10000 kms a year would you consider getting a petrol version?
vyom_elan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th June 2024, 13:48   #162

Originally Posted by vyom_elan View Post
In a market where seven seaters are spread widely across the budget it gets hard to choose since top end variants of some cars overlap with base models of the next segment. Decent "family movers" start from the top end variants of Carens and Alcazar but they clearly do not fit your demands. I would strongly suggest getting a used Crysta or the XUV700 AX5 Select variant. Surely there are some creature comforts missing in this particular variant but it is still a more value for money variant with some room for upgrade. 2018/19 Crysta is another great choice but doesn't depreciate much so you have to pay a lot for a used piece. Remember when buying a MPV the comfort, maintenance and reliability should be preferred over anything and unless you keep it for 8+ years and have a secondary car one should not spend too much on it.

Also with a running of around 10000 kms a year would you consider getting a petrol version?
Thanks for your suggestion, but the family is not in favour of Crysta. Your suggestion of AX5 or Select is great. I can also wait and see what new Alcazar has in store. Maybe they can put a Tucson engine in it
Old 17th July 2024, 20:55   #163

Folks, I am contemplating a new car to replace my XUV500. Given that auto marketing is falling might be good time to get a new one on bargain and still get decent resale value. My requirements are
  • SUV & spacious 5 seater. Not a 4+1
  • Diesel (preferred given lower cost of ownership, petrol is ok too)
  • AWD (never felt the need on my XUV500 in 10yrs, but why not)
  • 7 str (rarely used but comes in handy once a yr when extended family visits, not mandatory)
  • Budget - lets say south of 50 lacs
  • High reliability (XUV500 has been bullet proof and happy with after sales as well)

Options on hand are Kodiaq, Tuscon, XUV700, Safari, Meridian. Need some thoughts on the forum on whether is there any logic of me looking beyond XUV700. Would 10lac more on tuscon feel justified or 20 more on kodiaq?
Old 27th July 2024, 00:54   #164

Fastest Diesel AT SUV South of 25 Lakhs

I am on the lookout for a Diesel AT SUV (anything from Creta/Seltos, to Harrier/Safari to Scorpio/XUV700).

My one consideration always is: It should be FAST. I should not feel bored driving it even after 7 years. Surprisingly, my 7-year old Ford Aspire still fits the bil. It is always fun to drive. But, it’s time for an upgrade.

The best way to go about deciding always is: Drive for yourself! I did that - all the above mentioned cars. The reason I am posting this question: Simply because the ScorpioN has such a tall commanding position, pleasant interiors, super light steering - it sort of clouds your judgement, I feel.

More experienced BHPians and those who have lived with their cars for sometime:

If I am in the market for a FAST and Fun to Drive Diesel SUV south of 25 Lakh, what will you recommend ? Scorpion, XUV700, Safari, Harrier, Creta or Seltos? Or something else, altogether!

I can live with various things: Slowing down on curves, less confidence inspiring 120 kmph, pedestrian interiors, lack of creature comforts, bad audio system etc. But what I can’t skimp on is: Pushing the pedal and not getting the grunt - both when starting from still as also when accelerating from 80 kmph.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

@GTO reviewed that ScorpioN is peppy but not FAST. But how does ScorpioN compare with the other Diesel SUVs? And given my needs, is there a better buy that I am not considering?

PS: I posted the same question in the ScorpioN review thread before stumbling onto this thread. I am not entirely sure how to delete a post. I will continue trying. If unable, Mods please delete the post from the ‘ScorpioN Review’ thread. Thankyou and apologies for putting you through the extra trouble.

Last edited by manishk83 : 27th July 2024 at 01:07.
Old 27th July 2024, 06:55   #165

Originally Posted by manishk83 View Post

Fastest Diesel AT SUV South of 25 Lakhs

I am on the lookout for a Diesel AT SUV (anything from Creta/Seltos, to Harrier/Safari to Scorpio/XUV700).

My one consideration always is: It should be FAST. I should not feel bored driving it even after 7 years. Surprisingly, my 7-year old Ford Aspire still fits the bil. It is always fun to drive. But, it’s time for an upgrade.

The best way to go about deciding always is: Drive for yourself! I did that - all the above mentioned cars. The reason I am posting this question: Simply because the ScorpioN has such a tall commanding position, pleasant interiors, super light steering - it sort of clouds your judgement, I feel..
We have an XUV 700 AX7L Diesel AT in our family and I am pretty sure it has a sub-10-second 0 to 100 time and it's pretty fast, the next best ones should be the Harrier and Scorpio-N. We have a Seltos Diesel AT and it's nowhere near as fast as these three.

So Ideally you should stay with the Indian cars here, Mahindra XUV700 leads the pack with power and torque advantage over all the other cars in this price range and it shows in its sub 10 second 0 to 100 speeds. The Scorpio-N would make for a tough all-rounder, my cousin owns one and he is more than happy with its performance too.

Last edited by bijims : 27th July 2024 at 06:58.
bijims is offline   (2) Thanks