Hyundai Alcazar 10 1.61%
MG Hector Plus 22 3.54%
Other (please specify in your post) 14 2.25%
Voters: 622. You may not vote on this poll

Old 15th August 2022, 06:26   #121

Re: Forced to buy a car 20-25L - confused

If you are open to an EV, the Nexon or ZS may be good options to consider. You will not face the scrapping rules applicable to petrol vehicles. Also, since your running is mainly within the city, an EV may fulfil your requirements better.
Nissan1180 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2022, 07:40   #122

Car buying for the sake of tax benefit alone is not a good idea. First you need to really establish if you have a use case. It appears you are fond of bikes, rather than cars.

If you still decide to buy the car, I would say that you should buy the car that you are really comfortable living with for the next x years (including the ownership experience like maintenance aspects, and breakdown downtime, if any), and be a bit patient on the waiting periods. XUV700 is no more a new launch, so we can expect the waiting period to continue to reduce. With that, since you like SUV700, that could be the way to go.

Finally, before you take the plunge, please assess the financial consequences in case you change your company in the short, medium or long term.

TLDR: Car is a depreciating asset, not a growing investment, so spend, only if you can justify the use case.

Last edited by ajayc123 : 15th August 2022 at 07:42.
ajayc123 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2022, 13:12   #123

Originally Posted by Nissan1180 View Post
If you are open to an EV.
Missed to mention above but can't consider EVs. Parking is across the road and in the open.
RabidBull is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2022, 13:57   #124

Originally Posted by ajayc123 View Post
TLDR: Car is a depreciating asset, not a growing investment, so spend, only if you can justify the use case.
Indeed, have thoroughly evaluated the financial implications. Leaning towards your suggestion of waiting out for xuv700, also there could be new/updated cars available within 6months. Thanks Ajay.
RabidBull is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2022, 19:58   #125

A new office car- which one to choose

Hello TEAM-BHPians,

I need some wisdom words from you all in choosing my new ride.

My company car is due in January 2023 onwards. The company car is provided to me for my use (office or private both), these cars were bought in company name and fully paid in cash by company. All expenses of the car are also covered by company. I have to bear some taxations as it comes under perk.

Previous company cars used: Honda city, VW Jetta (Indian gen 1), XUV500
Monthly usage: 1600-1800Kms
The choice of car is left to me and budget are open. The probable budget is around 35-40 lacs INR. But i usually do not want to be too extravagant and feel that i should set a clean example as a manager.

Now coming back to the topic which car? The brief requirements are:

1. A decent car is must which will go well with the prestige of position
2. An Extremely reliable car, i hate the niggles and unwarranted service center visits (Honda was excellent in this regards, others two were mix bag, specially the Jetta)
3. I need an automatic, CVT or TC, nothing else
4. I need a car which is not too tiring on long distances, decent lumbar support and decent rear seats comfort for family (wife+2 kids) as they also share back seats on long hauls (read 500Kms in one stretch)
5. Fuel option is open, but fun to drive factor is very much needed. I drive the car myself
6. High ground clearance is must- Struggled with city and Jetta
7. Decent book space- to the tune of at least Honda city
8. Other features, bling, add on are all welcome
9. Any other suggestions are welcome, used car route is also ok if any good luxury examples comes in
10. 3rd row not must

I am contemplating on following options as of now. I have lot of time in hand so I could handle some waiting period as well:
Jeep compass (or meridian)
XUV700
Toyota Innova
Hyundai Tucson
Honda's upcoming SUV ( launch April 2023)
Skoda Kodiaq
Pre owned: BMW X1, 3 series (can compromise few things for this sedan as i have ecosports for rough road trips), Toyota fortuner, Honda CRV

Thanks for your suggestions and comments. Regards UD

Last edited by UD17 : 3rd September 2022 at 20:41.
UD17 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2022, 05:57   #126

Re: A new office car- which one to choose

Originally Posted by UD17 View Post
in the order preference): Honda, Mahindra, Ford, FCA, MSIL, VW/SKODA, MG, TATA

Thanks for your suggestions and comments. Regards UD
Well let's look at your options by going through your brand preferences, looking at your car history (especially the Jetta and XUV500) I'm assuming the budget is around 20-25L (+/- 1 lakh) .

1. Honda - Despite having a smashing portfolio everywhere else Honda Cars India's lineup is pathetic at best with the only competent car being the Amaze (a massive downgrade) and the City (good car but I'd consider it a downgrade from a XUV500).

2. Mahindra - Well their entire lineup of SUV's today is smashing, the XUV700 is the logical upgrade but wait times are a big concern with Mahindra as a whole right now. The adjacent Scorpio-N is also good if you're into off-roading but for road based driving the XUV700 is better. Alturas G4 while a great car is a aging and is expensive. Thar is ruled out for practicality reasons.

3. Ford - Well RIP Ford Motor India, as you know the company has unfortunately left the Indian market. Every time I come across an Endeavor 4x4 on the road or pictures of the new 3rd gen Endeavor/Everest I die a little on the inside, especially given the tasty engine options like the 2.3L Ecoboost, 2.0 Turbo Diesel (both single and twin turbo versions) and the aptly named 3.0L "Power Stroke" Turbo Diesel V6.

4. FCA (or Jeep to be specific) - While the Compass is a great car, the alarming QC issues at Jeep (and FCA as a whole) strike it off the list for me.

5. MSIL - Nope no options here, the new Grand Vitara (strong hybrid) looks decent but I'd rather wait for a XUV700.

6. VW/Skoda - Both the Taigun/Kushaq and Virtus/Slavia twins are excellent options but your need for a niggle free ownership experience and a TC/CVT eliminate any chances.

7. MG - Chinese brand, enough said.

8. Tata - Both the Safari and Harrier are brilliant options but Tata after-sales is hit or miss. Some have had niggle free experiences while some are usual Tata.

I'm surprised you didn't mention the Toyota Innova, especially as the new Innova launch is nearing.

Your main options are these four cars:

1. Tata Safari

2. Tata Harrier

3. Mahindra XUV700

4. Toyota Innova (upcoming)

Options one segment below:

1. Gen 5 Honda City

2. Toyota Urban Cruiser Hyryder/Maruti Grand Vitara.

3. KIA Sonet Diesel

Options one segment above:

1. Citroen C5 Aircross

2. Hyundai Tuscon Diesel

3. VW Tiguan and Skoda Octavia/Superb (If you're willing to gamble with a DSG for some fun engines, especially the 1.8L TSI)
GreasyCarb55 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2022, 06:24   #127

As far as the brands preferred goes:
Honda has nothing great to offer besides the City and City Hybrid eHEV (which lacks the boot space of the original City)
The XUV700 would be the best bet from Mahindra, go for the fully loaded AX7 Diesel AT AWD Luxury Pack, if you would like a 7 seater else the 5 seater would be good too.
As far as VW is concerned the Tiguan is your best bet, although on the costlier side.
The Jeep Meridian and the C5 Aircross are good options from the FCA stable although costly.
The MG Gloster is the best MG has to offer and could be considered but is costly as well.

The Upcoming Toyota Innova Hycross would be a great option but isn't in the preferred brands list.
krsiva is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2022, 07:48   #128

Toyota Camry.

The ground clearance is a little iffy, but it's adequately fun to drive even though it doesn't seem like it.

Add to that terrific fuel economy from the hybrid tech.

Also, it's not as extravagant as, say, a Mercedes, so you'll be happy on that front as well.
voldemort is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th October 2022, 16:32   #129

What car for family, luggage and 2 Dogs?

I currently own a Duster 2020 AWD ( of the last batch ever built in India ).

Just after I purchased the car, Covid set in. Notwithstanding , I have completed 31 thousand kms till date.

Now the dilemma: Within lockdown, I have got 2 dogs, and now a family of 3 has become a family of 5. It is very difficult to travel together and outstation trips have reduced a lot because of that. I had tried keeping my pets with pet hostels, but the experience has not been that great.

Requirements:
1. Spacious to carry luggage , 2 dogs and 3 of us.
2. Suspension has to be comparable to the duster.
3. Light Steering
4. It has to be an automatic.

I have looked at various cars between 15-25 lakhs and here are my observations:

1. XUV 7OO: This is the car that ticked all the boxes, only if they could deliver it faster. Duster spoils you with the excellent ride quality and this car matched and bettered it!! The only bad part is non existent boot space and no middle row captain seats. I was looking at AWD AT
2. Safari : The best looking car perhaps. I am smitten by it! However, the bad parts stick out like a sore thumb. The third row space is not that much and boot space with all the rows up is non existent. The steering is as hard as my Duster and with tennis elbow starting to crop up, I wanted an easy steering. Delivery in 7-10 days promised.
3. KIA Carens: This car surprisingly has more third row space than the first 2 options. It has better boot space and better third row space as well. Not to mention, it is loaded with features. Wifey and daughter liked the car very much. I am still on the fence. The car is booked long back, and after rejecting allotment once, I could get delivery in 2 weeks.
4. Scorpio N: A nothing car really, as per as my requirement. Looks big from the outside , but is not so big on the inside. Has non existent third row and also cannot carry dogs and luggage with third row folded. It does not even have a flat floor. Booked, but booking withdrawn.
5. Tata Hexa ( Used) : I simply love this car. It ticks all my boxes as well. However, wifey does not want a used car to replace our Duster, and there ends all conversation
6. Kia Carnival (Used): Used Carnivals cost a bomb in Bangalore. It is literally a 3 BHK on wheels.

Can anyone suggest which car I should go for, in this list or outside as well. Although a BHPian friend has given a good price for my AWD and the deal is almost done, I am also open to the option of keeping it and getting another car as well.
Old 7th October 2022, 17:45   #130

Re: What car for family, luggage and 2 Dogs?

This surely is a dilemma and I had seen a friend of mine facing the same situation. What I understand is that the primary consideration for this would be to have a flatbed (flat surface) once the third row seats are tumbled at the back for the dogs.

We may argue that a dog cage or a big dog accessory might not be required to be placed in the car, but there will be cases where this becomes a mandatory.

/Govind
Old 7th October 2022, 18:34   #131

Originally Posted by Govind View Post

We may argue that a dog cage or a big dog accessory might not be required to be placed in the car, but there will be cases where this becomes a mandatory.

/Govind
My dog crates are foldable and I need to keep both the dogs in different rows. Hence my requirement still stands. Thanks for the input though.
adg_andy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th October 2022, 00:21   #132

Originally Posted by adg_andy View Post
Can anyone suggest which car I should go for, in this list or outside as well. Although a BHPian friend has given a good price for my AWD and the deal is almost done, I am also open to the option of keeping it and getting another car as well.
Bumping this thread for visibility. My AWD will be going away by end of the month. I need a replacement . Kindly suggest!!
Old 13th October 2022, 20:44   #133

... I currently own a Duster 2020 AWD
...I have got 2 dogs, and now a family of 3 has become a family of 5...

Requirements:
1. Spacious to carry luggage , 2 dogs and 3 of us.
2. Suspension has to be comparable to the duster.
3. Light Steering
4. It has to be an automatic.

...my observations:

1. XUV 7OO: This is the car that ticked all the boxes, only if they could deliver it faster....
2. Safari : ... The steering is as hard as my Duster and with tennis elbow starting to crop up, I wanted an easy steering. Delivery in 7-10 days promised.
3. KIA Carens: ... I am still on the fence ...
4. Scorpio N: A nothing car really, as per as my requirement ...
5. Tata Hexa ( Used) : I simply love this car. It ticks all my boxes as well...
6. Kia Carnival (Used): Used Carnivals cost a bomb in Bangalore. It is literally a 3 BHK on wheels.

Can anyone suggest which car I should go for, in this list or outside as well ...
Bumping this thread for visibility. My AWD will be going away by end of the month. I need a replacement . Kindly suggest!!
Mate, about the dog crates, since you have specific requirements, it would be best for you to check the car physically and see what works for you.

Knowing better about what specifically you value would help with suitable suggestions. Sharing some thoughts:
  • Based on what I felt while driving Duster's sibling, the Nissan Kicks, in terms of driving character, it is the Harrier which was the closest. Safari, of course, is very similar to the Harrier. All have hydraulic steerings, a sorted torsion beam rear suspension, and a good chassis.
  • Duster, Kicks, Harrier+Safari have Hydraulic steerings. They are often hard at low speeds, but more communicative and engaging. More on Hydraulic va Electric Steerings in link 1 and link 2

I find it a bit surprising that you are okay with the steering of the Hexa considering it too is an HPS, and based on a friend who has owned one, rather hefty too. Please check that part if you do want a light steering at city speeds. At higher speeds though, an HPS typically becomes much lighter.
  • To get more boot space with all 3 rows up, one needs a longer car, or one with a small hood which makes it more like an MPV. One needs to choose one's compromise.
  • If XUV700 is what works for you, you could consider the AX5 model, as that is said to be relatively easily available with many dealers. Might be worth focusing on if you really need an AWD. Though there are other things to appreciate in this one, I did not like the overly light steering which is devoid of feedback - something which doesn't match the overall character of the car; especially when mated to that superb engine.
  • Of the ones you have listed, I find the Safari most engaging and enjoyable to drive (Harrier, even more so), but it has other issues. The Harrier, specifically has the lowest centre of gravity, which gives it dynamic advantage while driving. My pick for highway drives. IMO it also has a slightly better ride than the XUV700 in most situations.
  • MG Hector has a large boot and is a practical car in many ways. Excellent city-speed ride; better than the XUV700 and others. The enjoyable diesel engine doesn't come with an AT though. With a fairly wide torque band in the diesel, it might not need as many gear changes as lesser powered vehicles. Many dismiss this as a "Chinese Tablet" etc, but I find it the most well rounded car in the segment for many users. The company's future in India does cause some concern though.
  • Kia Carens: You might want to check on the safety record. Some discussion in the last few posts about Kia in the thread linked below.
From what I can gather, your choices might be to follow up with Mahindra dealers and make a change in the variant of the XUV700, to live with the hydraulic steering in the Safari, which has it's own pluses. One could go with the Carens but I don't expect it to be enjoyable to drive. If you can do with an MT, Hector too is certainly worth a look.

I could go on with many details about many of the cars in the segment, as I have extensively test driven them and considered them for my own purchase. My focus was to have an enjoyable driving experience and a comfortable seat and cabin. Have written fairly extensive Test Drive Reports on the segment and there are many discussions around that in the following thread:

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/suvs-...scorpio-n.html (Choosing an SUV up to 22L | Seltos, Harrier / Safari, Hector Plus, Compass, XUV700, Kicks, Scorpio N)

One could have more discussions after you have gone through at least the TD reports on it.

Edit:
Originally Posted by UD17 View Post
Jeep compass (or meridian)
XUV700
Toyota Innova
Hyundai Tucson
Honda's upcoming SUV ( launch April 2023)
Skoda Kodiaq
Pre owned: BMW X1, 3 series (can compromise few things for this sedan as i have ecosports for rough road trips), Toyota fortuner, Honda CRV
Of the ones you have listed, and for the use-case, the Hyundai Tucson might be a very good one to go for. Quick thoughts:
  • Built to international standards; a premium offering from Hyundai.
  • Hyundai service with a large network.
  • All wheel independent suspension.
  • Not seen as a splurge while still more prestigious than many others on the list; unlikely to be common,
  • Practical size and height. Spacious inside.
  • Tech laden, with lesser likelihood of issues, considering it is built for the international market and would likely have been tested way more than what one might expect of, say, an XUV700 or Safari.

Last edited by Poitive : 13th October 2022 at 21:02. Reason: Refinement with minor content addition; Edit section.
Poitive is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st February 2023, 10:23   #134

How I ended up booking XUV700 MX Petrol, yet seems this search is incomplete.

I bought Hyundai Xcent S Petrol 9 years ago and it felt like an easy decision back then in 6L range but now I have a problem of plenty when it comes to options in 15L range..
So I will start with my requirements:
1. It has to be a SUV (Ground Clearance, Visibility, Commanding Position)
2. Sufficient Boot space as I feel 400L in my xcent becomes insufficient at times
3. Build Quality, at least 4 Star

And now the shortlist:

MG Astor
  • Unladen Ground Clearance is 180mm, too less for an SUV
  • Low Mileage [Not big concern as I barely drive 1k in a month]
  • Looks more of an upscaled hatchback
  • Not sure how anti-China sentiments may impact its presence in long run
Taigun/Kushaq
  • AC Issue - Looks like its solved but cannot be confirmed till it is tested in June
  • Unladen Ground Clearance of 188mm is barely sufficient
  • Looks quite small compared to Creta/Selto.. (Subjective)
XUV300
  • Ground Clearance of 180mm is again a dampener
  • Boot Space is where it loses. I cannot think if a Car with < 300L Boot space
I did not consider Seltos/Creta because of the build quality.
I liked Hyryder Mild Vaiant but its again Maruti with changed log and they are indirectly not inclined to sell Base/E models which are in my budget.

So I finally stretched my budget and booked XUV700:
  1. It has a road presence like no others in the aforementioned cars.
  2. Roomy from inside
  3. Sufficient Ground Clearance of 200 mm and Amazingly Big Boot Space.
  4. Its a powerhouse with 2L turbo charged Petrol engine and this is where I am compromising at mileage at the same time.
But now comes the confusing part because of uncertain delivery timelines and missing pieces.
  1. Second Key is not coming in some cars which is an insurance risk despite assurance by the dealer.
  2. Android Auto still not available in the base variant despite being in the features list
  3. Accessories would cost me 1L which will again be further dent on budget
  4. Mahindra is giving me at least 70k less for my Xcent and selling it somewhere else will jeopardize my NCB transfer (i have 50%)
So somewhere I feel like going back to Taigun 1L .. please advise
Old 21st February 2023, 11:42   #135

Re: How I ended up booking XUV700 MX Petrol, yet seems this search is incomplete.

Originally Posted by rajansehgal72 View Post
[*]Accessories would cost me 1L which will again be further dent on budget[*]Mahindra is giving me at least 70k less for my Xcent and selling it somewhere else will jeopardize my NCB transfer (i have 50%)[/list]So somewhere I feel like going back to Taigun 1L .. please advise
When you are already stretched in terms of the purchase budget, its not recommended to go for a big car like XUV7OO which will have significantly higher running costs in comparison to a smaller vehicle like Taigun.

If you are expecting the need for a bigger vehicle like XUV in near future, you may as well stretch your budget for it, there is no replacement for size.