Jeep Meridian 8 4.10%
Mahindra Alturas G4 5 2.56%
Others (please specify in your post) 4 2.05%
Voters: 195. You may not vote on this poll

Old 8th September 2022, 17:37   #16

Re: 2022 Hyundai Tucson vs Jeep Compass vs Citroen C5 Aircross vs Others

I would any day bet on a Hyundai Tucson than the others. Citroen may not be around in 2-3 years time, I give it a max of 5 years in India. Jeep, Skoda, VW is for the deep pocket risk takers. C5 is for the guys who go to the casino to gamble. Alturas is done and dusted!
Durango Dude is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th September 2022, 17:44   #17

The length of Tucson is 4630mm and not 4530mm.

I have voted for Tucson Diesel. It is complete package for me and has the right tick marks for what I am looking for.

Second would be Kodiaq.

For anyone voting for C5 now, please do check the updated pricing announced today for facelift
neel911 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th September 2022, 18:28   #18

Voted for Meridian. For those looking for a fun to drive diesel mill with excellent handling, I guess Meridian fits the bill. The suspension and auto gearbox tuning seems better than compass and also it offers more space than compass.
Old 8th September 2022, 19:38   #19

I think with the lacs of Creta and similar owners looking for upgrades (myself included), this is likely to be a hot segment soon. This is incidentally also the segment where we see the proper models being offered by the various manufacturers (and not your watered down/ third world models).

I’d go for the Tucson diesel automatic among these. It’s got a punchy engine and decent gearbox. Decent styling (though not timeless like the Europeans), very good feature list, ADAS, and the Hyundai is likely to have better reliability and service support compared to the competition.

The Kodiaq is overall a very nice car. Perhaps the best among the lot. Good exterior styling, even nicer interiors, pliant ride and handling, a punchy engine, and the option to carry seven people over a short distance. However the petrol is a guzzler and wouldn’t suit my needs. If I were buying a petrol, this would be it.

The Citroen C5 is a decent car overall. Good looking, great ride, fast diesel automatic, and the facelift seems to have a better interior than the current car. But Citroen’s dealer and service network is too sparse and the resale value is likely to be peanuts. But a great package for someone willing to take the risk.

The Jeep Compass is the nicest looking car, has a very nice interior with the facelift, and has perhaps got the best suspension and driving dynamics among the lot. But it’s way too unreliable (have send broken down Compasses in both Mumbai and Kerala being flat bedded or pushed to the side of the road, and the horror stories even on our forum are more a norm than an exception), and having owned a Fiat Linea for 7 years/ 1.7 lac kms, the service, parts availability etc also not the best. Also the AT box sucks power out of an already unexceptional engine, and the car overall is a bit small vis a vis the price.

The Tiguan is simply overshadowed by the rest. It’s simply too bland inside out and no diesel means a majority of buyers would not even consider it.

Last edited by one-77 : 8th September 2022 at 19:53.
one-77 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 8th September 2022, 20:11   #20
pms

Would go with Tucson Diesel automatic as its a more rounded package with Hyundai's service reliability and reach. I felt Tucson being a Jack of all trades and master of none. Even if one takes ADAS out, you still get many usable features in Tucson with good drive experience from the Diesel engine.

Pricing when compared to the previous generation is bit disappointing though, but which brand isn't doing it?. Value for Money purchase has become notional now, varies from customer to customer and depth of one's pocket. Price hike of C5 is surprising and am not sure to understand what's the strategy of Citroen with negligible sales & product portfolio.
pms is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th September 2022, 21:55   #21

Originally Posted by RahulNagaraj View Post

Hyundai Tucson Pros
Good comparison.

Just a small correction, the Tucson is 4,630 mm long, not 4,530. Might have been a typo.

Here would be my picks, in the order of preference -

1) Tucson (by far)
2) Tiguan
3) Kodiaq

4) None (the others are - too unreliable (read Jeep)/ sparse dealer network (read Citroen)/ uncertain future (read Alturas))
inwester is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th September 2022, 18:35   #22

Not sure why the C5 gets so much skepticism here. Sure the dealer network is sparse but in the areas that they have presence, if one has the budget - the C5 is an excellent choice. Skimming through T-BHP itself, and reading the horror stories of the so called "value for money" SUVs/C-SUVs (cough cough - Jeep, MG, Tata, Kia) its a no brainer that a premium paid for reliability and outstanding craftmanship is well worth it. And it packs in most relevant features too, give or take a few. With almost a year of ownership under my belt, I have had ZERO complaints about the car (not a squeak out of place) or the ASS support, updates etc. The new Tuscon is the only car that comes to my mind as a worthy competitor to the C5.

Last edited by Frusciante : 9th September 2022 at 18:37.
Frusciante is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 10th September 2022, 10:49   #23

Originally Posted by Frusciante View Post
Not sure why the C5 gets so much skepticism here. its a no brainer that a premium paid for reliability and outstanding craftmanship is well worth it.
Voted for C5 myself. BUT C5 still do not have enough data points in Indian conditions (as sales are very dismal and its newer car in India) to term C5 as reliable. The build quality is wonderful, the ride & handling is equally good.

For these reasons i voted for C5, other cars looked well balanced but lack in few areas which is important to me.
UD17 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th September 2022, 10:52   #24

Its a Heart Vs Head decision.

Head says go for the Tucson, as it seems most bang for buck.

But the heart says Citroen C5 Aircross.

Having driven the C5 for nearly 9,000kms in past 4 months , all i can say is that , you will not regret getting one of this.
Anyone who has driven Older Skoda and other European cars with solid build, will definitely appreciate the Citroen.

It gives you that proper premier European car feel , which i am sure the Koreans just cannot match.
SRISRI_90 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th September 2022, 19:51   #25

Jeep Compass is my pick eyes closed simply because I own one

I have checked out Tucson in person, trust me the pictures dont do justice. It is mean, it is a beauty and the wheels are large. You will not mistake it with Creta. Having said that, the design will not age well in next 4-5 years.

Jeep Compass is already on the 2nd generation in India and yet the 2017 model Jeep Compass aged well like a fine wine.

Alturas is my next pick, it is a shame that M&M had killed it. XUV700 can never replace the Alturas, period.
Old 11th September 2022, 12:14   #26

As a happy owner of 2020 Tucson, I think it would be a wise choice to vote for the Tucson in this crop of cars. Else, just go ahead and get a Fortuner.

For a daily driver, where you need some luxury, some driving dynamics , some reliability, good safety and lots of peace of mind - Tucson delivers. It is not the best in each of its strengths, but seems like a good package overall.
Old 11th September 2022, 19:16   #27

Diesel - Hyundai Tuscon, kinda over priced but recent C5 Aircross price hike makes it comparatively VFM.

Petrol - Skoda Kodiaq, I don't think this car needs an introduction.

Honorable Mention - Jeep Compass Petrol, while the Diesel is the Logical option for most people (More power, way more torque and lower running costs). The 1.4L Turbo Petrol in the Compass is a very close relative if not the same engine as some EU market small sporty cars like the Abarth 595/695 and Fiat 124 Spider.

To quote Jason Cammisa (my fav car journalist) from his Fiat 124 review "We know from the Fiat 500 Abarth that the engine in this car (FCA 1.4L Turbo Petrol), if you uncork the exhaust sounds like the Tasmanian Devil with indigestion it goes WAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH and makes all these Ferrari sounds"

A Jeep Compass petrol with an FFE system has the potential to be one sweet sounding SUV but the FCA QC issues make me avoid JEEP.
Old 11th September 2022, 23:28   #28
One

Out of the cars mentioned here, have driven the following in different road conditions:

2022 & earlier Hyundai Tucson
Citroen C5 Aircross
Volkswagen Tiguan
Skoda Kodiaq
Jeep Meridian

Also have sat for a decent amount of time in Compass. I won't get into pricing because I think at this stage, most cars are priced differently. Also 4x4/ AWD are areas which are extremely personal so won't get into them while comparing these cars.

The things that matter to me are driveability, comfort, safety and peace of mind. Based on this, I would say that

"Diesel Tucson is the closest to a perfect car currently amongst all these choices". In terms of value for money, in the 30-50 lakh range it is probably next only to XUV7OO (I don't stay in NCR so I don't know if I would have a different opinion if I did)

Driveability:
The gearbox of Tucson is something unmatched amongst all these options. Am a sedate driver and yet the gearing of others leaves a lot to be desired.
- The Meridian is confused between gears 1-3 and in city traffic with variable speed situations, it is just not a pleasant experience.
- The C5 is a similar experience with nothing to write about in lower gears.
- The Kodiaq / Tiguan are even more unpleasant at lower speeds within the city.
The diesel Tucson is never confused and right on point. You can quickly accelerate or decelerate giving a high level of control. And nothing like "x car is good in y conditions". Else even the petrol Tucson is fine within city driving so no point in saying car X is great in highways.

Handling of Meridian is better then C5 but Tucson is at par. Can't recollect Tiguan & Kodiaq anymore in terms of exact comparison but it wasn't as if they handled so much better that I would still remember them. These are no sedans so would club them as roughly same.

Comfort
The suspension of C5 is extremely nice, Meridian as well. But it is not as if Tucson is bad. The ride quality is not C5 level but it is not too far behind. The Verito and Hexa are probably the only cars with C5 level comfort at front seat. Back seat, Verito is definitely at par if not better, Tucson is probably equal if not extremely close to C5 in the second row.

Second row space is least in C5 due to its independent 3 seats and rest all cars are probably at par. With the lack of bench seats, even the Fortuner is not a great three seater at the middle row. So don't think three above average height people are ever going to be comfortable for long rides in any of these cars.

With respect to comfort in 3rd row, both Meridian and Kodiaq are low in space, high in roll there. To think kids can sit there is unfair for them as the roll is significantly high but they are unaware of it in terms of being able to express it. If one considers these two cars as 5 seaters carrying extra boot space then a Tucson is a 5 seater with enough boot space.

Safety
Ignoring subjective concepts like "feels heavy" and "thud on closing", am not aware if all these vehicles have been tested on standardized tests. Regular Tucson that I am assuming we get is rated high (am ignoring the variant which got 0 stars and happy to be corrected if we get that variant here), CKD ones like Kodiaq, C5 should be good. Not sure about the rating of the lower variants of Compass or the Meridian. No real winners here as seems an overall solid segment safety wise.

Peace of mind
I mean this is a clear winner - Hyundai. Jeep is not known for reliability anywhere in the world, Skoda in India is yet to inspire confidence. The number of issues reported on forums for these two brands are not exactly what I need after spending any amount of money. Tucson also has three years of full maintenance thrown in so while comparing prices, one needs to be careful of comparing exact prices keeping all T&C in mind.

There are obviously few things which are amazing in specific cars. For example the C5 has amazing insulation from external noise but not so much from noise travelling internally from wheel well or foot well.

Some subjective things like "feel" etc are areas where I don't let myself get biased. I mean I find the Fortuner well kitted in terms of useful features even if the aesthetics may influence a person to think otherwise. So all the cars mentioned here are overall well built in terms of fit and finish and I will not go tearing my hair to find issues in them where not a lot exist. I also don't read reviews here before driving a car - I would rather ensure the tyre pressure is proper, drive for a few hours and then form my opinion.

I also didn't get into looks aspect, I like my cars to look good, the C5 is best looking for me here closely followed by Kodiaq but am fine with decent looking as factors highlighted in main part of post are more important to me.

To summarise, a diesel Tucson for me is a complete car with nothing really off in it - has the best gearbox amongst all these across all driving conditions, is comfortable, is safe and being a Hyundai can't be worse in servicing as compared to any other brand mentioned here. The earlier variant was extremely high value and the current variant is value when compared to the most other cars around it.

"The only three things I can think which go against are all subjective:
1. The design which might not be to everybody's taste
2. The tag Hyundai which not might be "aspirational" for everyone.
3. The window line at the back is too high for shorter folks which prevent a clear view outside.

But if one wants the car and the experience while driving and maintaining it, Tucson is the one I would go for if I was looking for a 5 seaters in this segment.

Last edited by Rudra Sen : 14th September 2022 at 11:10. Reason: Edited
One is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 6th November 2022, 00:59   #29

Confusion between VW Tiguan Vs Hyundai Tucson.

The heart says Tiguan cause of its looks and badge but the mind says Tucson cause of more features.

Hello, everyone! It's been almost a year since we started to look out for a luxury crossover/SUV(5-seater) and after checking out almost every car of the segment(size-wise) from Compass to the Merc's GLA we have come down to shortlist the final two which are:
VW Tiguan 2.0 TSI, Elegance and Hyundai Tucson 2.0 Diesel, Signature 4WD.

Looks wise I prefer the Tiguan more from the front end and Tucson more from the side end. The rear end for both the vehicles hold is a tie cause one is just very bold(Tucson) and the other is minimalistic with edgy tail lights(Tiguan).

There is a little inclination towards the Tucson cause on this particular diesel engine but Tiguan's looks are very tempting. Even though it doesn't look bad or anything I just don't understand the front-end looks of the Tucson.

The performance on both the cars is phenomenal as I was able to experience it as a passenger during the test drives.
Drive and handling-wise, my Dad made it clear that the VW felt close to a sedan and the Hyundai had a bit of a body roll and bumpy ride(less bumpy in 4WD). So, VW seems to be better but Hyundai isn't far behind either. Almost a tie here. Why won't Hyundai give paddle shifters in this one?! Just sad. Tiguan has them though.

The ADAS features on the Tucson are appreciated but we are not very keen on using them cause of the Indian conditions. The Blind spot indicators and the 360-degree cameras were very impressive and felt essential (Tiguan skips on these).

We are also planning to get the extended warranties no matter which car we go for out of these two as we want the ownership experience to be smooth and without any headaches and worries.

Being the newer model in the market Tucson does hold certain advantages over Tiguan as it's offering more features. Which I am highlighting in the photo below.

I hope that the experts could also help with this one. If I missed any other differences/advantages, do point them out.

2022 Hyundai Tucson vs Jeep Compass vs Citroen C5 Aircross vs Others-differencesadvantages20221106-12.38.06-am.png  

Mahin_P21 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th November 2022, 16:59   #30

If I was in you place, would go ahead with Tiguan. Tucson had more body roll than my liking, while Tiguan was a hoot to drive. I love stiffer suspension set up, so the suspension in Tiguan is to my liking. Also feel Tiguan will age better. In addition I felt the interiors in Tiguan better than Tucson. Tiguan is a looker, subjective though. And finally I would prefer to put 40+ lakhs in a VW than Hyundai.
Advantages for Tucson for me is it’s spacious and diesel economy. Personally don’t find anything else.

Last edited by sunikkat : 6th November 2022 at 17:01.
sunikkat is offline   (4) Thanks