Team-BHP > What Car? > SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 13th July 2007, 19:28   #1
BHPian

Graduating from car to SUV..need help.

Hi guys,

I have been driving a M800 for the past 4 years and I really like the car.
I like to drive to anyplace outstation I'm going. The problem is this car is a gem for city driving but it is too fragile for the highway. It gets unsettled by bad roads and high speed driving is plain adrenaline rush.
Nobody treats it with respect in the highways starting from lorries to cycle and they try to push you off the road. One bad stretch and my wheels are all bent.

Hence I thought I will graduate from that to an suv. Initially I had plans on getting a Swift D but now I'm thinking of an entry level Suv.

Please help me choose. Since my budget is low the choices or pretty limited.

1. Mahindra Bolero
2.Tata Sumo Victa
3. Second hand scorpio or safari.

The main criteria should be that the vehicle should be rugged and can taken on moderate mud roads and back roads.

It should not have high maintainence however I don't mind crudeness upto certain degree.

MY budget is 5.5 to 6 L max.

help!

Bala.
Old 13th July 2007, 22:39   #2
Senior - BHPian

for the price the best to a suv is the mahindra bolero

i had one for 6 months and its a good car and will take you any where and its very strong

and have a look at m2di scorpio its a lac cheaper than a normal scorpio

the difference between normal scorpio and m2di is that it has the bolero engine
rest is same as the normal base model scorpio

and as for second hand look at the safari
Old 13th July 2007, 22:45   #3
Distinguished - BHPian

The Bolero. It does what its supposed to very well
Old 13th July 2007, 22:48   #4
Senior - BHPian

I suggest a new Safari TCIC. But you will have to increase your budget a little bit though.
Old 13th July 2007, 22:52   #5
BHPian