Old 14th January 2008, 21:41   #1

Post Autoexpo - still frustrated

Waited for the autoexpo in anticipation of a good diesel upgrade for my baleno around the 12-15L bracket, but no announcements in that segment! It looks like the automakers dont seem to believe that the 10-20L bracket is not a priority.

- The GV was an option, but with thoughts of a Rs4/liter of petrol, diesel seems to be the way to go
- The Endy's middle/last seat comfort factor did not cut ice
- Tuscon is too old and not fitted out for the price
- The Magnum and Civic did not impress me too much..

Looks like the Captiva and the SantaFe have fallen into the 20L+ bracket. Doubt if the Outlander is going to be priced below the 20L mark.

Dont know what is yet to be announced as yet.. Continue waiting in hope or settle for one in the list above?
Old 14th January 2008, 22:02   #2

I agree, nothing much has changed in your asking braket...

You could still look at the Skoda Laura (D) and Mitsubishi Cedia (P)
Old 14th January 2008, 22:04   #3

These are the options you have in the 12-15 lacs -

Verna ( Very very good diesel, saves you almst 4 -6 lacs - so well under yr bidget

Skoda Laura Ambiente - at 13.xx lacs ex showroom, isn't this a very obvious choice if you have the budget.

Magnum - already on yr list !!

So you have some options. Outlander, Fortuner are still to be launched ( if at all )
Old 14th January 2008, 22:26   #4

How about Civic Hybrid/Ford Endeavour/Grand Vitara? If you are OK with SUVs.
Old 14th January 2008, 22:28   #5

Originally Posted by vkochar View Post
Skoda Laura Ambiente - at 13.xx lacs ex showroom, isn't this a very obvious choice if you have the budget.
Laura Ambiente has been so successful, sales of Laura went past those of its cheaper sibling- the Octavia.
Old 14th January 2008, 23:30   #6

What are your preferences?like ride,comfort,performance,cruising ability,showoff factor.....etc

Depending on your preferences you can buy anything from
1.magnum
2.laura
3.embera diesel
4.pajero
or you can extend your budget and go in for santafe or captiva.
Old 15th January 2008, 00:44   #7

Originally Posted by vkochar View Post
Would be my choice too! Very good car. Take a test drive and judge for yourself.
Old 15th January 2008, 00:46   #8

Since you were considering the endy, why not the tata safari ? Could save a bit of money too.
Old 15th January 2008, 01:02   #9

Originally Posted by razor4077 View Post
Would be my choice too! Very good car. Take a test drive and judge for yourself.
Did you consider the maintenance cost for Skoda cars ?. Though I have never owned one, I moved away after hearing stories about it
Old 15th January 2008, 01:15   #10

Originally Posted by rangaraj View Post
Waited for the autoexpo in anticipation of a good diesel upgrade for my baleno around the 12-15L bracket, but no announcements in that segment! It looks like the automakers dont seem to believe that the 10-20L bracket is not a priority.

Dont know what is yet to be announced as yet.. Continue waiting in hope or settle for one in the list above?
Hyundai new Elantra diesel (named as Avante) was announced at the Expo
Old 15th January 2008, 01:40   #11

Originally Posted by swageo View Post
Did you consider the maintenance cost for Skoda cars ?. Though I have never owned one, I moved away after hearing stories about it
We actually owned an Octy for 4+ years, so yes, I do know about these costs first hand. And you're right, these are fairly high. But when you compare a Laura to its competitors in the 12-15 lac range, none of the cars are really cheap to maintain. So I guess that is something that comes with the territory...
Old 15th January 2008, 09:20   #12

Originally Posted by razor4077 View Post
We actually owned an Octy for 4+ years, so yes, I do know about these costs first hand. And you're right, these are fairly high. But when you compare a Laura to its competitors in the 12-15 lac range, none of the cars are really cheap to maintain. So I guess that is something that comes with the territory...
Accord seems to be really cheap to maintain, and civic too. Again, I am talking based on various threads on this forum.
Old 15th January 2008, 09:27   #13

How about 10-12 tata nanos !!
Old 15th January 2008, 09:47   #14

You can expect a face lifted Okty in the market soon. That brings one more to your list. If you are buying a Skoda make sure its going to taken care of well coz if you dont it will prove to be really expensive to maintain on a long run.
Old 15th January 2008, 10:40   #15

Test drive the Pajero , even if you do not plan to buy it. Even though the design is dated, It is a good vehicle in my opinion. Overproced by 4 lakhs , but which vehicle in that segment isnt?