Old 10th February 2008, 16:49   #61

Oops my bad,
forgot to paste the link to my picture. hehe
here it is:
Old 11th February 2008, 09:04   #62

so much of action when i wasnt there. lol

xehaust - i think you hve one of the earlier batches of innovas which explains how you got it in blue and the cushion along with it. they dont give cushions any more.
Old 11th February 2008, 09:07   #63

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
I agree with vid, the 3rd row is quite comfy and 6 footers can sit there. Also it depends how you have arranged the seating, if the driver seat is pushed back to the max, then the middle seat will be pushed back further and then the last row passengers wont get much leg room.

Nice post Xehaust, but i cant see your car pics.
im 6'3" and with the middle row seats reasonabyl back im pretty comfortable in the 3rd row.
Old 11th February 2008, 15:29   #64

> Recently, ive heard of Toyota Service Centres with Express Service wherein
> they do the needful in a span of 2-3 hrs and have a seperate area for you
> to sit in comfort and watch

I can vouch for their Express service at Cochin. My last two services were in that category. The last one had an oil change and a request to center the steering wheel.

Both the services were done and delivered in two hours, though they say one hour. In the second case, though the vehicle appointment was at 10.30AM, reached at 10.20AM and the service guy attended to it by 10.30AM, it was taken into the service bay only after 11.15AM. Somebody else came late that morning and upset the schedule. The car was ready even with a wash and all at 12.30PM.

The waiting lounge has a huge glass side looking into the service section. Except the washing part, all other jobs can be seen from the lounge and intercom facility is provided to talk with the person who is attending to the vehicle.
Old 11th February 2008, 16:37   #65

Thank you for sharing that with us Rajesh.
Could you by chance know where there is a Express Service in Mumbai?
Old 11th February 2008, 17:07   #66

> Thank you for sharing that with us Rajesh.

No problem!

> Could you by chance know where there is a Express Service in Mumbai?

The following is what I got from Toyota's website. I think it would be easier for you if you just phone and ask. I am too far!

Lakozy Toyota
504, Link Road
Chicholi Bunder
Malad (West)
Mumbai-400064
Phone :91-22-6781-7777 / 7744
Service Center No :+91-22-2844-0222 / 6781-7712 / 13
Fax :91-22-2881-7771 / 6781-7767

Madhuban Toyota
16, L B S Marg
Kurla West
Mumbai-400070
Phone :91-22-6643-9999
Service Center No :+91-22-6643-9999
Fax :91-22-2502-8141/2502-8143

Millenium Toyota
Arpanna Motors P. Ltd.
'SREE KEDARNATH' Opp. Gokul Anand Hotel
Overipada, Western Express Highway,
Dahisar - East
Mumbai - 68
Phone :91-22-28920101 - 09
Fax :91-22-2891-9343

Shinrai Toyota
35, Dr. E Moses Road
Worli Naka
Mumbai-400018
Phone :91-22-6613-1500
Service Center No :+91-22-6613-1537/40
Fax :91-22-6613-1598/ 6662-5326
Old 11th February 2008, 17:32   #67

Thank you for the help.
Should have done so myself, guess i was a bit lazy..ok ok, very lazy
Old 11th February 2008, 18:04   #68

In Bangalore also they have 60 minutes general work service I havent tried yet but I heard its worth if we need to do general sevice with washing.

If there is any major or time consuming work involved then it cant be completed in 1 hr. Otherwise its worth service which would save time because within 1 visit service would be done.

Ravi.
Old 11th February 2008, 19:46   #69

Originally Posted by btirthankar View Post
Sharing some photos of Much Needed Toyota Innova Accessories that we dont get in India

Esp the Front and Rear Bumpers as show here. I am sure our accessories manufacturers can make one of these.

Originally Posted by btirthankar View Post
These bumpers also have a step on rubber surface so don't get scratched. Can we locate one in India?

Those bumpers are available here from a company called Hiker extreme. Only difference is those are unpainted whereas here they are like body coloured. I believe they cost 7-8K.
Old 3rd March 2008, 11:30   #70

Innova Variant Choices (Narrowed down)

Originally Posted by Xehaust View Post
Hey B Tirthankar, this one is for you..
Hey Guys!

Was completely out of action all these days!

The time has come and my choice has narrowed down quite a bit:
  1. Only Black
  2. Only Diesel (My running is avg - 2500 kms per month = 1000 kms city + 1500 highway)
  3. Compromises due to G1
  • with single AC ( self drive strictly for 3 more years now) and 8 seater.
  • Maybe g1 has only front power windows and PVC seats
Xtras for G1 : aftermarket alloys (20K), ICE (15K) and Sunroof (possibly 15 K), fabric seat covers (say 5K)

Now whether to buy it in Hyderabad or Kolkata (am shifting Kolkata next month and cant wait to buy the car here)

I dont mind driving with AP regn in Kolkata (Ive been running WB opel here in Hyd and countrywide - boldly)

The road tax in Kol is 39 K for 5 years for 8 seater and 46K for 7 seater for 5 years. In AP Road tax is 78000 for Lifetime (15 years)

I am getting higher resale for Opel in Hyd (1.2 lacs) and Kolkata (no buyers at all!) Alternate choices for Innova has been Getz (CRDi) and Corolla (Base version) . Scorpio is a strict no-no.

Inviting comments:
  1. Shd I still go for G1 ?
  2. Shd I buy in Hyd (considering lifetime tax and my old car resale)?
Old 3rd March 2008, 12:42   #71

Final Test Drive of a prospective buyer: Innova G1 Diesel

i just took test drive of G1 Diesel and am convinced abt smoothness of diesel and particularly made myself understand in detail the features of G1 Vs G4.

Maybe I need to buy a Centre Console 5K, Door Trim, Alloys (Org Toyota quoted 40K!) Running board, fabric seat covers (later), sunglass holder.

I drove the car in hot sun and the Ac was effective. I repeat, this car will be self driven.

So 90% of doubts clear. Most being the variant choice.

Now I have to dispose of my Astra (talks are on) and get 90% finance.

Guys I really need your help for confirming the 'going' dealer discounts in the market.
Old 3rd March 2008, 13:05   #72

G1 Innova pictures

Picasa Web Albums - Tirthankar - Innova G1 Fea...
Old 3rd March 2008, 14:26   #73

hi birthinkar. i saw your pictures of the g1 and im glad you like it. im surprised the centre console on the g1 and the g4 is totally different.

if your definitely buying the g1 here are my suggestions -

try and change the centre console(the thing between the front two seats) to the one on the g4. you will get extra storage space and play to keep knick knacks and other things. also you will have the centre armrest which helps on long drives,

get sunfilm all around and spend extra on this since its only a single ac and you should block out as much heat as possible so that the ac is effective in the summer months. (2-3k for sides and back, 5-7k for front)

alloys will cost around 20k. dont buy the toyota ones they are overpriced and you can get better designs. also change the tyres to michelin xmv8 (you can keep the stock size or go wider to 225/60 r15). when you order the innova make sure they give you bridgestone tyres since these have a much higher resale value when your changing your tyres. the goodyears dont fetch much. (5-10k for all 5 tyres together after exchange) also exchange your tires first thing when you get out of the showroom.

you dont have a head unit on the car so spend a little more than 15k. i suggest you buy a good headunit. component speakers for the front and stock speakers in the rear doors (since it is self driven you dont really need good speakers at the back) and buy an amp and a sub. should come within 30k?

the running boards dont make sense and they barely help and also spoil the look of the car.

sunglass holder you can get off the g4 version.

and last but definitely not the least -

PETES.
Old 3rd March 2008, 14:46   #74

Since its self driven, G1 is more than enough based on budget/requirement, the money you save can be used on accessories you planned, perfect idea!

I too was surprised about centre console of G1. Toyota does lot of cost cutting:( very strange company for not offerring few basic features in base/middle versions.

If someone is occupying 3rd row seat AC effect will be poor in G1 or front occupants need sweator to make 3rd row occupants happy. Make sure you know all these facts and go ehad and buy G1 which is VFM version for self driven owner.

G1 will have all door power window i feel, sun glass holder comes with G3(discontinued), V so you need to buy it if needed.

Innova need tyre change if it coems with goodyear GT3 which is not good at all with Innova. I sugegst go for 225/60 R15 Michellin MXV8 very good tyre for Innova.

I suggest you buy Innova Kolkatta instead of Hyderbad because in couple of years innova might be replaced by new vehicle so I suggest since you are moving Kolkatta buy there itself. if you come head to hyderband 5 years later you can still get better resale value for Innova. so buying in Kolkatta is ideal.

Ravi.
Old 3rd March 2008, 17:34   #75

aftermarket fitments

Originally Posted by ravibhat View Post
Since its self driven, G1 is more than enough based on budget/requirement, the money you save can be used on accessories you planned, perfect idea!

I too was surprised about centre console of G1. Toyota does lot of cost cutting:( very strange company for not offerring few basic features in base/middle versions.

If someone is occupying 3rd row seat AC effect will be poor in G1 or front occupants need sweator to make 3rd row occupants happy. Make sure you know all these facts and go ehad and buy G1 which is VFM version for self driven owner.

G1 will have all door power window i feel, sun glass holder comes with G3(discontinued), V so you need to buy it if needed.

Innova need tyre change if it coems with goodyear GT3 which is not good at all with Innova. I sugegst go for 225/60 R15 Michellin MXV8 very good tyre for Innova.

I suggest you buy Innova Kolkatta instead of Hyderbad because in couple of years innova might be replaced by new vehicle so I suggest since you are moving Kolkatta buy there itself. if you come head to hyderband 5 years later you can still get better resale value for Innova. so buying in Kolkatta is ideal.

Ravi.
I see Hyderabad cars have higher resale than Kolkata. If I ever need to sell it I can drive down here and do so and take a flight back. I'm still thinking.

The dealer here may give me a higher discount for a 2007 mfrd model.
Kolkata has one dealership (greater monopoly)
They dont keep Black
They could not confirm the dealer discount
I still have to pay road tax every 5 years @ 40K now and maybe 70K 5 years form now. etc..

Just went to an accessories dealer to get prices of aftermarkets (quoted on a bit high side here in hyderabad)

items particulars prices center console G4 3500 seat cover velvet 4000 non velvet 2500 running board
3400/5200 door beading V 2400 film
1800-3500 Alloy wheels Under exchange 22K Bumper black matt fiber 6200 Sunroof manual 15000 Monoblock amp
10000 4 channel amp pioneer 6800 5 channel amp sony 5500 woofer 10" 4950 component speakers 2 pair 13000