Old 3rd March 2009, 20:46   #31

Originally Posted by DieselFan View Post
Ever wondered why Safari has the lowest after sales value in that segment??

After sales value is the true reflection of reliability and expenses incurred on the used car.
Words that add up to more than the sum of the parts!

I'd say, Abhi, if you find the Innova acceptable by way of looks, that is the one for you.
You've said you can accept the looks. After all you'll be inside! It doesn't really matter what it looks like to passersby!
Seems the perfect vehicle for your needs. You'll grow to love it like no other!
Old 4th March 2009, 01:53   #32

@abhi: I'd say if you heart says go, then go for it!!! Niggles are part of any ownership!!! So don worry!!! I think zenx's thread covers almost all bits of the Beast!! So its upto you to decide!! If you wanna check out my car do PM me dude!!!
Really appreciate the gesture Ramesh
My folks are visiting ATM and are here for another week
will get in touch with you with more questions after that

just to add to the discussion, I TDed a scorpio y'day and although it's probably a great vehicle, for me at least, it never evoked any desire to own it
Old 4th March 2009, 17:52   #33

Offroading isn't really high on my priority list...
a composed ride over terrible roads coupled with impeccable highway manners while retaining the capability to drive around in the city...
all this in a package 10L or low...
The only vehicle that fits your requirements to the T is the Innova:

1. Supreme reliability. There is inherent appeal in a car that performs the same way, with zero trouble, at even 2.0 lakh kms.

2. Best handling, road manners & stability of any SUV / MUV under 10 lakhs.

3. Will probably work out the cheapest if you factor in maintenance + resale.
Old 4th March 2009, 20:30   #34

I agree with GTO, and think Innova is the way to go.
Old 5th March 2009, 00:35   #35

Although I don't mind the Innova, the WAF is mucho lower for it
Will probably try to convince the high command to agree to do a TD for both one after the other...
seems like the decision cycle time is going to get stretched
Old 5th March 2009, 02:57   #36

Please go for the Tata Safari and IMO you will not regret. The 4x2 safaris have been quite reliable. Only a few 4x4s have shown some problem. Tata has sold more than 11000 Safaris in the past year and I do not think they could have done it if the Safari had a bad reputation.
Old 5th March 2009, 03:27   #37

Originally Posted by BlackPearl View Post
Please go for the Tata Safari and IMO you will not regret. The 4x2 safaris have been quite reliable. Only a few 4x4s have shown some problem. Tata has sold more than 11000 Safaris in the past year and I do not think they could have done it if the Safari had a bad reputation.
Many of the problems seem to related to the new 2.2 VVT engine. Nothing to do with 4x4. Only tsk had issues with his front hub none of the other have had issues with the 4x4 system. So I am not sure how you came to this conclusion.
Old 5th March 2009, 03:37   #38

After sales value is the true reflection of reliability and expenses incurred on the used car.
In one of the Tata service centers while servicing my car, I just aked a mechanic pointing to a Safari about its servicing, He said " That one... its a lot expensive to maintain after the warranty period, parts keep going every now and then 10K, 15K bills are common"
Old 5th March 2009, 10:23   #39

Very surely your requirements fit the innova cleanly. But when your heart resides in the SAFARI then there is nothing that will change your idea.

I own a safari Lx and i have modified(exteriors & interiors only) it so much out of love for the machine.

Firstly safari is a good car i have driven 50k in 18months and i have never had any major problems and the A.S.S in mysore is excellent, they take personal care of the vehicle, even after 50k kms it rides like a new car but do not expect the refinement of a innova.

I would say if you are inclined go for it!!
Old 5th March 2009, 10:54   #40

Originally Posted by for_cars1 View Post
In one of the Tata service centers while servicing my car, I just aked a mechanic pointing to a Safari about its servicing, He said " That one... its a lot expensive to maintain after the warranty period, parts keep going every now and then 10K, 15K bills are common"
Hi abhi182, suggesting that you take time do some research yourself, rather than give in to comments like the ones posted above. For which you can take a look at either the spare parts hoarding mounted on the walls of TASS's, or reading the spare parts survey for Indian cars/UV's done in Autocar India's March 2009 issue. For the Safari DiCOR, the fuel filter and the clutch+pressure plate are the two expensive service items, while the rest (front door, tailgate, side mirror) are incidental expenses. The other contendor vehicles are no different here, with each of them having their own list of expensive service items.

If your purchase decision is based on resale value, or even the service bills, then sorry to say that the pleasure of owning a vehicle in this category is half subdued already :(

Last edited by dkamath : 5th March 2009 at 10:55.
Old 5th March 2009, 11:36   #41

Abhi, forget about the Tata safari 2.2.

IMO someone who wants to buy a safari wont think so much - They go straight to a TATA dealer, TD the safari and then just book it. I have seen some people who bought other SUVs and they still seem to miss owning the safari. For just 10 lacs i am not sure which SUV can deliver so much bang for the buck.

Last edited by chaxy : 5th March 2009 at 11:40.
Old 5th March 2009, 12:25   #42

Originally Posted by chaxy View Post
For just 10 lacs i am not sure which SUV can deliver so much bang for the buck.

The above are statements only increase the apprehension!

Go with your heart if you are the type.
Let your mind rule, if that is the kind you are.
No body else can really decide it for you.
Old 5th March 2009, 13:50   #43

All the cons being talked about Safari niggles are majorly from non Safari owners.

We Safari guys know what that car is actually all about.

Dont let others decide what you want to buy, You've already made the decision.

Go by it, Best of luck for your new Buy in advance.

Do keep us posted.

Last edited by Samurai : 5th March 2009 at 15:50. Reason: mind your language
Old 5th March 2009, 17:50   #44

Why isn't the Mahindra Scorpio mHAWK 2.2 on your list? It drives a charm in Cities as well as on Highways!

It also comes under your 10L budget? The forum shows its more reliable than Safari but to each his own as I dont own a SUV!

Cheers~
Old 5th March 2009, 17:58   #45

1. Supreme reliability. There is inherent appeal in a car that performs the same way, with zero trouble, at even 2.0 lakh kms.
I am sure you mean it 'relatively'