Old 15th August 2009, 12:44   #46

Range rover all the way!
Old 15th August 2009, 22:51   #47

Originally Posted by Sn1p3r View Post
@flyingspur: He went from Merc to Merc. I am a bit confused as you second the thought.
I seconded your opinion that "Mercedes is pushing its previous owners to upgrade to a higher segment"
Old 16th August 2009, 12:21   #48

Originally Posted by flyingspur View Post
I seconded your opinion that "Mercedes is pushing its previous owners to upgrade to a higher segment"
Not only that but upgrades within the same model too. I was asked to upgade my E class ( non electric seats n no chrome tail pipes) to the one with all this in the second month, which i refused. Now after a year they want me to change to the new shape E class when it releases. I have refused that too.

Sometimes they forget the model you own also. My aunt was asked to so call upgrade her 2004 S500 to the current S350, she curtly told them she owns the new S500 as well, and does not want to down size.
Old 16th August 2009, 12:50   #49

@ speedy - That's unbelievable man. I flipped out laughing. Are Mercedes sales stagnant?
Old 16th August 2009, 13:36   #50

Originally Posted by rankoz350 View Post
Range rover all the way!
For 30lakhs? Which year / decade?
If u know some dealer selling a new and genuine one for that price, I'm interested!
Old 16th August 2009, 18:51   #51

Originally Posted by flyingspur View Post
@ speedy - That's unbelievable man. I flipped out laughing. Are Mercedes sales stagnant?
Yes it looks like that. The competition is getting to them and they are trying everything to hold the customer back. Bmw is a major concern to them as of now as it is eating away into their sales.

Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
For 30lakhs? Which year / decade?
If u know some dealer selling a new and genuine one for that price, I'm interested!
, I am in queue too tejas. Probably get a 94/96 Discovery or Range Rover with some money to spare for the parts it would require.
Old 26th August 2009, 01:32   #52

Vehicle Confusion! - Experienced it? Honda CR-V

It feels real nuts sometimes when you want to buy a Vehicle which can offer total comfort!

After much research; I decided to go in for a:

Skoda - Then dropped the idea.. Am I a nut to buy it after reading the experience people faced in Team BHP??

Honda Civic - Dropped the idea.. Why? Rear Leg Space

Toyota Altis - Again Rear Leg space issue and comfort levels..

BMW & Audi came in my list but the I have kept them on hold!

----

Now the current status is that I am thinking about Honda CRV, why?

I like the look, huge feel, interiors, exterior.

But I have a few queries,

1. How is the comfort level for the Rear Passenger? My mom suffers from a back problem she needs good leg space and comfort levels!

2. How is the handling & comfort at Top speeds like 140-170 kmph? Does it goto that speeds? Whats the highest comfortable speed with CRV users?

3. How is the breaking performance when we talk that speed levels?

4. Now I see it comes with integrated MP3 player with controls on the steering, I am looking to install a DVD player with Screen at the front and 2 screens at the headrests respectively.

Again those warranty void issues! Can I upgrade without causing warranty issues? Will the new system work with steering mounted controls?

5. 2.0 Engine or 2.4 Engine?

6. Really worth my hard earned money? Price tag: 20lac-25lac.

7. Is the CRV something I drive with peace of mind and comfort?

.. sorry for so many questions..

Last edited by aah78 : 26th August 2009 at 20:36. Reason: Please limit smileys to 2/post. Thanks! Thread title Edited. Merged with existing.
Old 26th August 2009, 12:28   #53

30L
Practical / recommended choise - Captiva / fortuner
VFM choise - Superb / Accord Petrol
Unique choise - Nissan Teana / New Camry - Both not VFM
Entry Lux choise - A4 / C-Class
Senseless Choise today - Accord V6, Superb Diesel, CRV
Old 26th August 2009, 13:04   #54

Originally Posted by ACM View Post
30L
Practical / recommended choise - Captiva / fortuner
VFM choise - Superb / Accord Petrol
Unique choise - Nissan Teana / New Camry - Both not VFM
Entry Lux choise - A4 / C-Class
Senseless Choise today - Accord V6, Superb Diesel, CRV
You can also add a Volvo s80.
Old 26th August 2009, 13:59   #55

Volvo S80 starts with minimum 35Lacs, that would exceed his budget.
Nothing personal, and you are offcourse entitled to your opinion but camry is unique because it doesn't sells, it is highly priced for the features it gives.
While i would suggest Audi A4. Good looking car with decent comfort levels.
Old 26th August 2009, 14:04   #56

CRV landed price would be 27L+

2.0 is better than 2.4 Engine

Captiva is better as a package, due to diesel.

fortuner is even better, but less car like.

Added music systems would not work through the stearing mounted controls.
Old 26th August 2009, 15:40   #57

Have replied inline in BOLD

Originally Posted by humm View Post
1. How is the comfort level for the Rear Passenger? My mom suffers from a back problem she needs good leg space and comfort levels!

Rear seat comfort is average and tends to get bouncy. Bigger problem being if not belted up, you get tossed around on corners and can fall off under heavy breaking. Especially if you have leather upholstery.

2. How is the handling & comfort at Top speeds like 140-170 kmph? Does it goto that speeds? Whats the highest comfortable speed with CRV users?

Pretty decent for a cross over, as speeds increase ride also improves. 160 ish is possible with 2.4 engine but slightly scary thanks to the tall stance.

3. How is the breaking performance when we talk that speed levels?

This is top class!

4. Now I see it comes with integrated MP3 player with controls on the steering, I am looking to install a DVD player with Screen at the front and 2 screens at the headrests respectively.

Again those warranty void issues! Can I upgrade without causing warranty issues? Will the new system work with steering mounted controls?

Tricky one since Honda dealers are a pain in this warranty department

5. 2.0 Engine or 2.4 Engine?

FE 2 liter, Driving pleasure 2.4L

6. Really worth my hard earned money? Price tag: 20lac-25lac.

Personally i wouldnt spend or let someone i have influence spend in the future

7. Is the CRV something I drive with peace of mind and comfort?

Relative question, but if you stick to strict 5k kms service as Honda recommends and follow all their instruction. Yup they are pretty reliable.
If you are looking for total comfort you shouldnt look at these cross overs. Altis i still insist is the best buy and will fit the bill to a T.
Old 26th August 2009, 17:08   #58

Have a test drive of Captiva or Fortunner.Will surely like one.

Captiva for its features it has,I'm not sure abt the comfort.but less resale value.

Fortunnerrovides a good rear seat comfort for your mom.Noting to write home abt the
Reliability,but don't expect much features when compared to captiva.

If you look for a CR-V,better own a petrol pump for yourself.
Old 26th August 2009, 17:15   #59

Noting to write home abt the Reliability,but
What????:O It is a Toyota, for God's sake. Nothing if not reliable!!!
Old 26th August 2009, 17:28   #60

Originally Posted by Ramsagar View Post
Have a test drive of Captiva or Fortunner.Will surely like one.

Captiva for its features it has,I'm not sure abt the comfort.but less resale value.

Fortunnerrovides a good rear seat comfort for your mom.Noting to write home abt the
Reliability,but don't expect much features when compared to captiva.

If you look for a CR-V,better own a petrol pump for yourself.
You drove a Fortuner and felt so?

CRV gives decent mileage for its class/size; right Jaggu?

Originally Posted by anurag_p80 View Post
What????:O It is a Toyota, for God's sake. Nothing if not reliable!!!