Old 22nd September 2009, 11:32   #1

Scorpio vs Innova for an extended Road Trip

This forum is a real boon.
I am looking at buying a SUV/MPV.
My wife and I will be travelling in India for the next 18 months or so.
We plan to start in Nov.
My budget is around 10 Lakhs for a new vehicle.
We have a 4 year old golden retriever (80 lbs) whom we plan to take wherever possible.
Rest of the time she'll be staying with my mom-in-law.

* We do not need 3rd row seating - We plan to use that space for the dog.
It's ok if it's a removable 3rd row seating (may be it'll be easier to sell the car later).
* Rear AC vents will be desirable since the dog will be at the back.
* Most of the time it'll just be my wife and I - Plan to use the second row for luggage.
* We plan to drive on our own
* Plan to keep it for around 18 months
* Will be driving it on all kinds of roads - highways, plains, hills etc

Based on the prelim research, I have shortlisted Scorpio and Innova.
We are currently in California - Will be reaching India mid Oct.
Hence all the research has been online - no test drives etc.
Any other car suggestions?
I'd have liked to get a good used car. But not sure if I want to go that route.
I guess buying 'new' is relatively hassle free.

Any advice would be highly appreciated.
Thanks and have a nice day.
cheers,
Madhu
Old 22nd September 2009, 12:46   #2

Originally Posted by 10yearitch View Post
We plan to start in Nov.
We have a 4 year old golden retriever (80 lbs) whom we plan to take wherever possible.

It's ok if it's a removable 3rd row seating (may be it'll be easier to sell the car later).
* Most of the time it'll just be my wife and I - Plan to use the second row for luggage.

cheers,
Madhu
For your budget and your needs, the Innova sounds like the most logical option. For the top-end Innova, you will have to stretch your budget a bit, please check the OTR prices for the same. The Innova has car-like manners, so driving it will be much easier compared to the Scorpio, less body roll too. There is little doubt about Toyota's reliability.

That said, the Scorpio is quite a capable vehicle on its own. The best option is to land up in India, do a TD of both vehicles and then decide what suits you best.
Old 22nd September 2009, 13:36   #3

Go in for the Innova without a second thought. Believe me, you won't regret it.
Old 22nd September 2009, 13:52   #4

My suggestions below:

Please go with the Innova and you will thoroughly enjoy yourself. It is extremely comfortable and reliable too - Diesel power means it will not cost you an arm and a leg on your travels.

The Scorpio is a great vehicle but in terms of sheer comfort and luxury the Innova scores a bulls eye.

The last row area, where the doggie will be resting is any day more comfortable and less claustrophobic in the Innova when compared to the Scorpio.

The suspension set up of the Innova ensures that its passengers travel in great comfort with relatively little or no bounce.

In terms of sheer driving comfort and pleasure, the Innova is almost car-like and will certainly be less of an effort than the Scorpio.

The only small drawback is that you might find it a tad tough to park up in our crowded cities and towns. However, since I m led to believe that much of the travel will be on the open road, I guess you can live with this relatively small drawback.

You might want to check out the Mahindra Xylo too, which is an extremely "value for money" alternative to the Innova but in terms of sheer quality of fit, finish and finesse, the Innova scores again.

Used cars will be available in the market place but if you are buying, then buying new would be best.

You could also consider leasing/ renting an Innova from a reputed car rental company after of course negotiating the rates with them, for the time period which you intend to use it for.

This may save you some considerable moneys when compared with buying outright.

Cheers and enjoy your driving trip!

Originally Posted by 10yearitch View Post
We plan to start in Nov.

cheers,
Madhu
Old 22nd September 2009, 14:06   #5

Looking at your drive plans Innova would be the right choice.

One of my friend is having an Innova and have driven it a couple of times on the highways as well as city and the drive comfort it real good in innova.

Hope that helps you.

Vivek
Old 22nd September 2009, 19:54   #6

i suggest the innova for the fact that it handles much better than the scorpio and it has toyota reliability. if your driving all around you dont want something to go kaput.
Old 22nd September 2009, 22:54   #7

INNOVA!!!
We, as in my mom, my dad and their doggie (me) have gone from mumbai to kashmir a number of times and we bought the Toyota qualis for this purpose only.
The Qualis is the Predecessor of the Innova and has been extremely reliable, the car has run more than 1.25 Lac kms in 5 years and in that 80k kms are on open highways.
Do not worry about reliability of toyota as it cant get better than this and yes a new car would be alot more hassle free and also you will get warranty for the first year so any where in india you can be helped for free.
Old 22nd September 2009, 23:00   #8

Innova all the way. There is no reason for any doubt. Its the most comfortable people carrier with good ride quality, reliability, space, everything you need to have for long distance travelling.
My parents once covered Agra-Ahemdabad in one day. Yes, they crossed one entire state. The most important factor is that Innova is very stress-free car to drive. This is a big plus on Indian roads.

But the high end versions are more than Rs. 10 lakh. You will have to extend the budget a bit to get model with ABS and airbags.
Old 22nd September 2009, 23:41   #9

Innova any day . I too bought it last year and extremely satsfied with.Although just driven 25k kms there hasnt been a single problem or niggle that i would have to tell the service guys to check.

On the other hands scorpio has minor niggling issues.
Although Scorpio offers good road presence.

Unmatched Reliability & Top Notch Quality - thats Toyota innova.
Old 23rd September 2009, 10:23   #10

Thanks a lot guys. This is really helpful.
My bro has an Innova - Even he has been recommending the same.

I love the ride and feel of an SUV. I have never driven a family van before.

Like you suggested, I shall definitely test drive these 2 cars in India.

I have family in Bombay, Thane, and Gurgaon.
Is there any difference in terms of price or selection in these cities?

Thanks again for all your inputs.
Madhu
Old 23rd September 2009, 12:55   #11
evo

An 18 Month road trip! Whoa! Congratulations! You have no clue how brilliant that sounds!

I would recommend an Innova too, however in order to make the best of it financially, it may be wise to buy used.

It will be much cheaper to buy and the hit that you will take on depreciation post 18 months will be much lesser than on a new one (obviously).

The good bits about buying used (Innova specific):

*Toyota reliability, so used shouldnt be an issue.
*A facelift came out recently (mostly cosmetic) so pre facelift cars have lost some value and thereby are more attractive.

Incase you do decide to buy a New Innova, then buying the base model maybe the best idea as the vehicle being very 'taxiable' can be sold with the least loss due to depreciation. Ofcourse, 'the lesser it costs, the lesser it depreciates' adage also holds true in this case.

A caveat though, the base model doesnt have rear AC vents.

As far as the ride of an SUV is concerned, IMHO you maybe overestimating the Scorpio, but thats just my view.

In terms of where to buy from, Delhi/Gurgaon will be much cheaper than Mumbai, whether you buy new or used.

Happy roadtripping and do keep us posted on what you do!

On another note, if you want a slightly faster car, you can get a petes box for your Innova!

Last edited by evo : 23rd September 2009 at 12:57.
Old 23rd September 2009, 16:42   #12

In Innova pls choose the top end model will be very useful as you drive yourself & can enjoy all the comforts from it.
There is almost 2L difference between G4 & V model.

Guys,is the V model expensive or nominal for the features it offers?
ACC
Airbags
Audio controls on steering
Rear view sensors
Music system(Does G4 has it?)
Electric mirrors
Alloys

mmmhhhh seems to be its worth.But the negative is you are having it only for a short period

Last edited by Ramsagar : 23rd September 2009 at 16:45.
Old 23rd September 2009, 21:21   #13

The cheapest place to buy it would be gurgaon followed by Delhi and then Mumbai.
The difference would be around a lac rupess between gurgaon and mumbai.
Old 23rd September 2009, 21:53   #14

A no brainer.
Innova should be the only choice- used or new depends upon you completely.
Buy it from gurgaon which will have the lowest rates from your given cities.
cheers!
Old 24th September 2009, 01:26   #15

@Evo, Yeah we are super excited about the trip.
Will check the used cars as well - I am ok as long as the car does not give any mechanical problems.

Thank you all for the inputs.
Will keep you posted on how it goes.
Madhu