Old 20th January 2011, 17:30   #76

Re: Do I really need the THAR? EDIT: Booked Getaway!

Congrats.

Does the Getaway come with the pre-mHawk Engine?
Old 20th January 2011, 20:27   #77

Originally Posted by Spitfire View Post
Congrats.

Yes. It comes with the older 2.6 CRDe
Old 20th January 2011, 22:30   #78

Congrats MC, All the best the with Getaway. When do we get to see it in flesh ?
Old 20th January 2011, 22:35   #79

Congarts and Great Choice MileCruncher

Getaway took my attention when I saw in Autoshow @ HICC last year..

Indeed its perfect choice amongst all the available options
Old 20th January 2011, 22:59   #80

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
Wishing you 39 more days of eager expectation and hope within the gestation period, before the delivery happens. Maybe you can already start shopping for the new baby.

Congratulations in advance! One more round of congratulations to go when the delivery happens!
Thanks Doc! As off now only thing in the shopping list is ICE and some tarpaulin covers. May be more later.
Originally Posted by zen91 View Post
Ani Bhai, Congrats! on booking the Getaway. This was really fast as I guess it was only last week that we were discussing on the ergonomics of the new Scorpio's.

I am sure you would enjoy the new beast to the fullest.
Thanks Brajesh Bhai! The thought about Getaway was quite sudden actually!
Originally Posted by IronWolf View Post
Congrats Ani.. Spoken like a true MileCruncher.

Am sure it will be worth the wait. Trusted Bolero on sale/sold?
Bolero will put on Sale in the next 2 weeks. Need a ride till the Getaway comes
Originally Posted by amtak View Post
Pardon my ignorance but how does the Getaway look nowaday? Does it have the new Scorpio face or the old Scorpio one? Rest all, it is one hell of a machine.
Yes its the new look but still without ABS and ICE.

Originally Posted by genesis View Post
3rd thing (from the same Gypsy as HVK):

You go thru wildlife sanctuary in Tamil Nadu and they tell you
"' saar open vehicle not allowed. elephant problem. Saar twenty rupees saar"...

Congratulations on making a decision and getting on with life
Ok Saar, will carry lotsa 20 rupees. And thanks!
Originally Posted by pjbiju View Post
MileCruncher GOT AWAY from the Thar in a GETAWAY. Cool !!! And this must be the fastest getaway that M&M has sold.
Thar hates Getaway.
ROTFL!!!!
Originally Posted by BolBolero View Post
Congrats Ani, on the new purchase. May you Crunch many Miles in your ride!
Thanks Gautam!

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Congrats Milecruncher for your decision to getaway from work in your " Getaway" not that you needed a vehicle to do that
Thanks Mobike008.

Btw I don't need to getaway from my office, I carry my office with me.
Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
I admire your courage to choose vehicles that very few can dare to

Happy Milecrunching!!!

Congrats.

Yes the 2.6CRDe engine

Thanks Sameer and Deepak! Vehicle arrives in 6 weeks.

Some more Getaway videos

http://www.youtube.com/user/feliscre.../6/kw9Ik6HP5sQ

P.S: Looks like the Nano is also coming to keep the Getaway company lest it feels lonely

Last edited by MileCruncher : 20th January 2011 at 23:14.
Old 21st January 2011, 02:50   #81

Am just figuring out some beefy looking vehicle with fogs and huge tires. Any plans on the same?
Old 21st January 2011, 11:39   #82

Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
Yes. It comes with the older 2.6 CRDe
Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
Yes the 2.6CRDe engine
Oh thanks for confirming.

And why is that so? To keep the cost down?
Old 21st January 2011, 12:53   #83

Oh thanks for confirming.

And why is that so? To keep the cost down?
I would think that this could be because the Getaway is sold as a load mover in export markets, a rugged engine would be helpful. m-Hawk being a aluminum block engine may not be so rugged.
Old 21st January 2011, 12:55   #84

Congrats AB, so we will see more off-road trip from you
Old 21st January 2011, 13:46   #85

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
I would think that this could be because the Getaway is sold as a load mover in export markets, a rugged engine would be helpful. m-Hawk being a aluminum block engine may not be so rugged.
I second your thoughts since the Scorpios being sold to the Army too are CRDe 4wds and not MHawks.

Any other pointers from anyone else?
Old 21st January 2011, 14:08   #86

Milecruncher, Congrats on the new Getaway.

Had a query, Can the back of the second row seats reclined?
Old 21st January 2011, 14:12   #87

Originally Posted by SanScorpio View Post
Milecruncher, Congrats on the new Getaway.

Had a query, Can the back of the second row seats reclined?

For your second query, seriously no idea as I have not sat or seriously looked around the vehicle in person. Especially the new look Getaway. So am in as much dark as you

BTW I have decided on the following customisation list from the factory especially since its made to order and the export versions are supplied with it.
  1. Changing Final Drive Ratio from 4.3 to 4.55 as the Getaway comes with bigger tyres. This will increase the acceleration.
  2. Changing Open Diff at rear to Limited Slip Differential.

Apart from this, I would need to get the following:
  1. Hella's
  2. Rear detachable frame for soft top as seen in the video below
  3. Tarpaulin cover for water proofing of luggage on long trip.
  4. Nylon or any such material net for keeping luggage in place in the load bay.

Can anyone guide me where I can get items 2 to 4?
Old 21st January 2011, 23:09   #88

For item 4 you could try the bungee cords available at high quality adventure shops.The imported ones are really good.A few touring friends have them and they are infinitely stretchable and resistive to failure.
Old 21st January 2011, 23:32   #89

Milecruncher: You could make a cover like this which could protect your luggage while travelling and also it looks good.
Do I really need the THAR? EDIT: Booked Getaway!-trailerhitches.jpg

The other one which i love is this
Do I really need the THAR? EDIT: Booked Getaway!-yellowzr5.jpg

The cover in the video will offer you space but could be noisy while travelling at speeds.
Old 22nd January 2011, 20:17   #90

Originally Posted by maddy42 View Post
Milecruncher: You could make a cover like this which could protect your luggage while travelling and also it looks good.
Attachment 486892

The other one which i love is this
Attachment 486906

The cover in the video will offer you space but could be noisy while travelling at speeds.
Thanks Maddy.

I think I'll go with the second option as I can takeit off any time I want and also accomodate people sitting. Can't do that in hard cover.