Team-BHP > Shifting gears > The Team-BHP Meet Section

Old 10th November 2006, 08:49   #61

I 2nd NC on the venue part. The last meet took us a torturous 1.5 hours to reach Bandra from town. Takes away all the fun of attending the meet. Mind you I dont mind driving 1-1.5 hours for dinner but on decent traffic not bumper to bumper grind.

Anyways I am in if someone else will do the driving(not my car). Also do you think it is a good (read safe) idea to have a meet so far away at night when majority are going to be sloshed and then try their antics on the road.

What happened to TBhp policy No drinking and driving.

Viper
Old 10th November 2006, 09:08   #62

OK -

1) I did not think about the drinking and driving so far bit.

2) Yes, I remember last time I went to Dara's, it took me 2 hours

3) N_C is very dear to us.

So my dear Gautam, since you live in Chembur and there are many places like Chota's - do you have any suggestions?
Meanwhile I have still asked someone and will have concrette news by today.
Old 10th November 2006, 10:05   #63

Lets keep the venue at a central location where all from town and the suburbs will be able to make it without too many traffic hassles. That way everyone's needs will be taken care of . Last time Bandra was decent. Any other joint around there?
Old 10th November 2006, 10:14   #64

I don't think Golden Moments will want us back after all the back slapping and other slapping that happened last time...
Old 10th November 2006, 11:29   #65
elf

Sam & me discussed Goldem Mommemts in desperation yesterday, & came to the conclusion that it was a bit shaky.

Figured the only way we'd be able to have the meet there would be to get another two members to book the place, instead of Mummeet & me, coz we'd be recognized. But then we'd have another problem because once the owner saw the lot of us again, it would be time to hit the road Jack.

Also, my ego wouldn't survive if I was asked to leave Goldem Mummemts. Being chucked out on my ear by Punjabi bouncers, from a former dance bar owned by a Sardar that lets even taxi-wallahs in ain't my cuppa tea. Or wine, thankyouverymuch.

I'm cool with whatever, whenever, before November 28th.

We could also drive to Lonavala or Panvel for dinner, which would be quite nice on a Saturday night, but that again breaks the drink & long drive rule...
Old 10th November 2006, 12:02   #66

i may have a good solution, concrete and agreeable to all. Please wait till the end of today.
Old 10th November 2006, 18:45   #67

The Booking is done :)

OK Boys,

I used the influence of a very good friend and have sorted us all out for Saturday 18th november.

Venue: Sea Lord Restaurant, Worli

This is a medium to expensive restaurant that many of you may have already visited. Decent family place, much superior to Golden Moments (which was fun too). I have reserved the small party room through the offices of the owner of the restaurant. There is ample parking and a Valet too.

Full Address:
Sea Lord Bar and Restaurant,
108, Neelam Building,
R.G. Thadani Marg,
Worli Sea Face Road,
Near Podar Hospital, Mumbai 18.
Tel: 022-24927009
022-666333780

The Deal:

Though they normally do not allow it, we are allowed to bring our own alcohol bottles. Please bring them in plastic bags, not open.

The charges are Rs. 300/- nett per person.

Seal Lord will serve us Soft Drinks, Water, Soda and Ice. Beer will need to be purchased.

Food:

3 non veg starters
2 veg starters (he said he will be extra careful about the veg people )
2 Non veg Main courses
2 Veg Main Courses
Rotis
Rice

The deal is excellent as the boss is a close friend of my contact. Please dont ask to reduce the food and lower the cover charge etc etc, he will not take less than 300 bucks a head. So this time, let us try and enjoy the food too.

Apart from this he has been warned that we are a bunch of loud people and the big boss says it's perfectly ok, as it is a private room.

How it will work:

Each one of us will pay the Manager Mr. Sukumar a cover charge of Rs. 300/- when we enter. This way you can pay up, relax, kick back, chill, eat, drink, enjoy yourself and leave whenever you like. No pressure, no worries.

Those who want cigarettes, beer or anything off the pre-decided menu can order the same from the waiter. He will bring it to you with a bill. You then clear the bill immediately with the waiter.
At the end of the night, there is no bill to be paid.

After the evening is over, we can perhaps sit at the worli sea-face for a while, a favourite pass-time of some of the senior BHPians anyways.

I have assured the restaurant that if we are satisfied, we will do this again some other time.

The party room has been booked for saturday the 18th. Please get to Sea Lord, ask for Mr. Sukumaran and tell him you are from team-bhp and he will direct you to the private party room.

Now, boys, please post a list of confirmations as soon as possible.

And you are all very welcome (third smiley, it's the thought of the smiley that counts)

P.S. I don't need to say it, but I will anyways. All newbies/ first timers etc are all very very welcome. There may be some jesting and leg pulling but you can really enjoy if you want to.

PPS: We have yet another surprise Chief Guest, someone not from Mumbai that everyone knows and likes See you there.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 10th November 2006 at 18:50.
Old 10th November 2006, 19:01   #68

A list of people

1) Elf
2) Sam
3) Boom Shiva
4) Ma(N)son
5) Swaley
6) Yogi
7) Viper
8) Rtech (If I may)
9) Normally_Don (If I may)
10) Pdev
11) Kooldude (I assume yes, because you posted)
12) Emraan Haashmi a.k.a gr8nuzzler a.k.a. gr8molestor
13) Shrivz (last minute confirmation)
14) Technocrat (last minute confirmation)
15) Baleno Power (on time)
16) Ford Rocam (If I may)
17) Dippy
18) Danalanlanalanlan (If I may)
19) Surprise Chief Guest
20) Kartik
21) Power Freak

Last edited by normally_crazy : 10th November 2006 at 22:58.
Old 10th November 2006, 19:04   #69

Hey Sam you have cracked a good deal man, really appreciate your efforts .

I AM IN (ON TIME)

DeVaNg
Old 10th November 2006, 19:20   #70

Directions to the venue:

Members from suburbs: take a right from the Poddar Hospital signal, this is the signal just before the main worli naka junction, after taking the right turn, drive along for a few metres, skid one crossing, a few more metres and there's sea lord for you on the left side. Neighbouring to sea lord are CCD and Sadanand (slightly more prominent than sea lord).

Members from town:

Take a left from the signal after Worli naka and follow directions above.

Sam: good arrangements
surprise chief guest et all, nice nice!!

manson.

Last edited by manson : 10th November 2006 at 19:22.
Old 10th November 2006, 20:44   #71

IAM in but if theres BKC then will come after that.......wow now this time we have a chief guest....is the dude going to give us BHASHAN!!!!!!
Old 10th November 2006, 21:07   #72

Well, looks like we may have 2 special persons travelling to be with us Excellent. Excellent.
This apart from Shrivz and Technocrat who may drive in from Pune.

Danlalalalan What BKC? Bandra Kurla Complex show?? That's the NEXT weekend.
Old 10th November 2006, 21:12   #73

Good one sam i am in for this but theres one request kindly ask those guys to make some arrangement for music system Mp3 etc hip-hop/rock desi songs so that we can listen/dance to the tune of Alice!
Old 10th November 2006, 21:38   #74
elf

Oh Lord! Sea Lord!!! I go there damn often.

Oh well... It used to be a really nice place...

Last edited by elf : 10th November 2006 at 21:39.
Old 10th November 2006, 23:01   #75

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi
9) Normally_Don (If I may)[/b]
Offcourse Sam darling you can. And thats a BRILLIANT DEAL you got Sam. Good job....and like Ford Rocam asked - can music be arranged ?