Team-BHP > Shifting gears > The Team-BHP Meet Section

Old 30th July 2010, 19:21   #271

Am going to miss this one too

yzfrj
You came to Cochin and am going to Chennai!
Old 31st July 2010, 08:46   #272

Done.. In front of Bharat Mata College at 4.30PM, Sunday.
Meet you guys there.
Old 31st July 2010, 23:44   #273

Originally Posted by Soccerfan View Post
I'm in. Please let me know how to reach this bharat matha college junction. i stay at kakkanad
Go down Seaport Airport road around 5kms from Kakkanad (towards - Airport / Kalamassery direction) Left side

Hint : The long straight after IBP ends with a mild right hand turn (up-hill)
Its around 150Mts after the turn on the left.

Originally Posted by vaisakhr View Post
Am going to miss this one too

yzfrj
You came to Cochin and am going to Chennai!
Tough luck bro

Originally Posted by naveen.raju View Post
Done.. In front of Bharat Mata College at 4.30PM, Sunday.
Meet you guys there.
Perfect...! I'm Pm'g my cell number just in case.
Watchout for a Black Swift / Silver Baleno or Both
Old 1st August 2010, 05:16   #274

Am on my way to chennai. Left tirur now. Have a great time guys.
Old 1st August 2010, 08:15   #275

Originally Posted by yzfrj View Post
Go down Seaport Airport road around 5kms from Kakkanad (towards - Airport / Kalamassery direction) Left side

Hint : The long straight after IBP ends with a mild right hand turn (up-hill)
Its around 150Mts after the turn on the left.

Tough luck bro

Perfect...! I'm Pm'g my cell number just in case.
Watchout for a Black Swift / Silver Baleno or Both
Will do that. I will be driving a White Swift. Meet you thr.

Am on my way to chennai. Left tirur now. Have a great time guys.
Too bad. Meet you next time.
Old 1st August 2010, 13:21   #276

update the thread with report and pics. Am on my way home after the exam

Last edited by vaisakhr : 1st August 2010 at 13:24.
Old 1st August 2010, 23:45   #277

Friendship Day Meet - Cochin

Thanks Guys for the fun time today. It was a welcome change form the "normal" grind.

Attendance :

naveen.raju , josejoseph , firestorm (aka bittu) , yzfrj (myself), Praphul and his Bro Praseen (2 petrol heads who are not on the forum)

Started with the "gang" to the checkpoint @ BMC (Bharat Mata College) around 3:50pm from home which is just 5.5Kms away.

Took it really slow couple of signals en-route helped the cause.
Got a call from Naveen @ 4:25 pm stopped and picked up it seems he has overshot the location by 500mts. We ended up reaching BMC at the same time.

Naveen, Praphul, Bittu, Praseed
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5300.jpg
Naveen's ride
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5301.jpg

Jose would be delayed till 5pm. We chatted away and finally started towards the "hill" with a planned tea stop. Jose arrived just as we were about to start @5:10pm

Tea break lasted for around 20mins.

Bittu got a call and had to rush home with Praseed. Said he will meet us at the "Hill"

Ready to roll after tea
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5302.jpg

So we pressed on and reached the "Hill" by 5:50pm.
Surface is Gravel with lots of loose rocks = no grip = fun
The chopped Hill with Jose 5speed 800
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5303.jpg

Hill has changed a lot. There was a motocross track (mud jumps and the works) on top of it. Now half the hill was missing. We pressed on stopped and climbed the thing on foot and spotted a "spot" that will the apt for the next stop.
Walking to the top Jose, Praphul, Naveen
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5304.jpg
New spot "spotted"
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5305.jpg
Short drive on Gravel with 0 grip and we were there.
We climb down and the cars are waiting
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5306.jpg
Jose wrestling with the cam. But on the flip side this guy is really cool behind the wheel of his 800
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5307.jpg
Pose for the pic, Naveen can't get enough of his Swift ogling away.
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5310.jpg
A jeep going ape on the terrain
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5311.jpg
close up the hard way (have a video will upload soon)
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5312.jpg

Soon bittu and Praseed joined us again.
The "lost sheep" is back
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5313.jpg

Topics varied from mods to child seats
Tyre choices
Planned upgrades
Next set of tyres
"mileage kya hai"
Seat covers
Rx stories
Driving stories
Chennai to pudupet stories
restoration to performance mods.

Then it hit us all the cars in the meet were Maruti cars.
800 5 Speed accept no substitutes.
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5315.jpg
Naveen's Swift
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5316.jpg
My (err my dad's) Swift
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5319.jpg
The "BAR" car (Sticker on Jose's 800)
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5321.jpg
Bittu's Baleno with the new ES100 rubber
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5322.jpg
All in one
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5323.jpg
All in one 2
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5324.jpg
The done up grill
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5330.jpg
I cheered for the Other "H" (H in OHC)
Vtec and more leg pulling and as the sun going down we decided we will compare HID's in

Projector Vs Stock
4300K Vs 6000K
Autogauge Vs Philips

Projector (4300k) - Low
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5331.jpg
Projector (4300k) - High
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5332.jpg
Projector (4300k) - High
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5333.jpg
Projector (4300k) - Low
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5334.jpg
Left side of the pic is the light from Projector(4300k) Right side is HID's (6000k) in stock headlight unit
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5335.jpg
Stock headlight with HID (6000k)- High
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5337.jpg
Stock headlight with HID (6000k)- Low
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5338.jpg

Result : Projector Rules, stock + HID is better than Halogen.

And we saw the "ring"
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-img_5339.jpg

Exchanged phone numbers and we bid Adios.

A shot and rather brisk formation drive back and we parted ways.
Oh boy what fun.

What a day to finish off friendship day a meet to make new friends.

Until next time amigos.

Adios...!

update the thread with report and pics. Am on my way home after the exam
Hope it was good.

Last edited by yzfrj : 1st August 2010 at 23:59. Reason: Better readability
Old 2nd August 2010, 05:43   #278

Thanks guys.
It was real fun and the return drive was even more packed (with the BMW X6)
@vaisakhr -- missed u. Don't worry, catch u next time.

Last edited by firestorm : 2nd August 2010 at 05:55.
Old 2nd August 2010, 09:56   #279

Originally Posted by yzfrj View Post
Thanks Guys for the fun time today. It was a welcome change form the "normal" grind.

Attendance :

naveen.raju , josejoseph , firestorm (aka bittu) , yzfrj (myself), Praphul and his Bro Praseen (2 petrol heads who are not on the forum)

Started with the "gang" to the checkpoint @ BMC (Bharat Mata College) around 3:50pm from home which is just 5.5Kms away.

Took it really slow couple of signals en-route helped the cause.
Got a call from Naveen @ 4:25 pm stopped and picked up it seems he has overshot the location by 500mts. We ended up reaching BMC at the same time.

Naveen, Praphul, Bittu, Praseed
Attachment 397371
Naveen's ride
Attachment 397372

Jose would be delayed till 5pm. We chatted away and finally started towards the "hill" with a planned tea stop. Jose arrived just as we were about to start @5:10pm

Tea break lasted for around 20mins.

Bittu got a call and had to rush home with Praseed. Said he will meet us at the "Hill"

Ready to roll after tea
Attachment 397373

So we pressed on and reached the "Hill" by 5:50pm.
Surface is Gravel with lots of loose rocks = no grip = fun
The chopped Hill with Jose 5speed 800
Attachment 397374

Hill has changed a lot. There was a motocross track (mud jumps and the works) on top of it. Now half the hill was missing. We pressed on stopped and climbed the thing on foot and spotted a "spot" that will the apt for the next stop.
Walking to the top Jose, Praphul, Naveen
Attachment 397375
New spot "spotted"
Attachment 397376
Short drive on Gravel with 0 grip and we were there.
We climb down and the cars are waiting
Attachment 397377
Jose wrestling with the cam. But on the flip side this guy is really cool behind the wheel of his 800
Attachment 397378
Pose for the pic, Naveen can't get enough of his Swift ogling away.
Attachment 397379
A jeep going ape on the terrain
Attachment 397380
close up the hard way (have a video will upload soon)
Attachment 397381

Soon bittu and Praseed joined us again.
The "lost sheep" is back
Attachment 397382

Topics varied from mods to child seats
Tyre choices
Planned upgrades
Next set of tyres
"mileage kya hai"
Seat covers
Rx stories
Driving stories
Chennai to pudupet stories
restoration to performance mods.

Then it hit us all the cars in the meet were Maruti cars.
800 5 Speed accept no substitutes.
Attachment 397383
Naveen's Swift
Attachment 397384
My (err my dad's) Swift
Attachment 397385
The "BAR" car (Sticker on Jose's 800)
Attachment 397386
Bittu's Baleno with the new ES100 rubber
Attachment 397387
All in one
Attachment 397388
All in one 2
Attachment 397389
The done up grill
Attachment 397390
I cheered for the Other "H" (H in OHC)
Vtec and more leg pulling and as the sun going down we decided we will compare HID's in

Projector Vs Stock
4300K Vs 6000K
Autogauge Vs Philips

Projector (4300k) - Low
Attachment 397391
Projector (4300k) - High
Attachment 397392
Projector (4300k) - High
Attachment 397393
Projector (4300k) - Low
Attachment 397394
Left side of the pic is the light from Projector(4300k) Right side is HID's (6000k) in stock headlight unit
Attachment 397395
Stock headlight with HID (6000k)- High
Attachment 397396
Stock headlight with HID (6000k)- Low
Attachment 397397

Result : Projector Rules, stock + HID is better than Halogen.

And we saw the "ring"
Attachment 397398

Exchanged phone numbers and we bid Adios.

A shot and rather brisk formation drive back and we parted ways.
Oh boy what fun.

What a day to finish off friendship day a meet to make new friends.

Until next time amigos.

Adios...!

Hope it was good.
Guys, that was one hell of a meet. Quite different from the usual one. A bit of offroad involved too.

As yzfrj had mentioned, I showed up at 4.20PM but missed the point. Called them up and they directed me towards the spot.
Finally, saw yzfrj's Swift. Met his friends and after a brief chat decided to stop for tea. Jose showed up at 5PM and we pushed off.
After that quick pitstop decided to conquer the "hill". Bit tensed after seeing the terrain, but managed to drive up the hill with my 205/50/R15 shoes

Finally firestorm joined us with his Baleno and showed us his custom diy grill. That was really cool.
Exchanged few thoughts/experiences, saw some off road action, some quick clicks and videos. Finally after 3 hours, we decided to call it a day.
Some quick no exchanges and missed calls, we pushed off. The meet was complete when we all spotted a brand new BMW X6. Though all of tried to catch him up, we failed. That car had some insane acceleration.

Thanks guys for showing up for the meet. Really enjoyed it. Hope to meet you guys soon.

PS - @yzfrj - Hope your Photom pidikunna machine is alright?

Cheers..!
Naveen
Old 2nd August 2010, 10:03   #280

Nice update. Hope to catch you all on next meet.
Old 2nd August 2010, 10:19   #281

Originally Posted by naveen.raju View Post
PS - @yzfrj - Hope your Photom pidikunna machine is alright?
Technically the "Photom pidikunna machine" is not mine
Its fine bro. Have't downloaded the videos yet...!

To be fair I'm always off the traffic light first something that was with me from the Rx days. 100mts and I lift off as you saw. Maybe his ego got hurt with 407hp and 0-100 in 5.4 sec. But the guy who was driving that thought I'm a boy racer or something (an unfortunate side effect of HID's ) and was pulling crazy moves that too with a 7-8yr old boy in the front passenger seat.

I eased off so did't manage to get a pic :(

Surprisingly we (me and bittu) did catch up with the X6 at edappally as we turned towards our home.

EDIT :
Originally Posted by sajjt View Post
Nice update. Hope to catch you all on next meet.
Sure. Hope the next one will be pretty soon.

Last edited by yzfrj : 2nd August 2010 at 10:25.
Old 2nd August 2010, 10:29   #282

Hello All,

Here are some pics from my side.

As usual, I arrived late. I'm meeting Riju for the first time. Also met 3 of Riju's friends Bimal, Praphul and Praseen who are also car buffs.

We then had a cup of tea and Riju took us to the 'hills'. Sad part is that where it once stood a hill, is now mowed down and being converted to a plane ground for setting up a some kind of establishment.

We lingered there for around 2 hours, took many pics, discussed about cars and other mundane matters.

When it started to get dark, it was time to test the lights on Naveen's and Riju's Swift.

After that We parted ways promising to meet again.

The best thing I like about such meets is that though we meet people for the first time, we never talk like strangers. We talk like childhood buddies.

Many thanks to Riju for organizing this meet and taking us to the 'hill'. And thanks to Naveen, Bimal, Praphul and Praseen for the company.

Looking forward to more meets.

Thanks and regards,
Jose.

Now the pics:

L-R: Riju's friend Praphul, Riju and Naveen
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-01-praphul-riju-naveen.jpg

Our cars parked
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-02-cars-parked.jpg

Naveen and his ride
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-03-naveen-his-ride.jpg

My M800
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-04-my-800.jpg

Wheels on Naveen's Swift
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-05-stamford.jpg

Riju capturing some guys who are off-roading in the hills
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-06-riju-capturing-offroading-jeep.jpg

Cars lined up
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-07-cars-lined-up.jpg

Baleno eyes
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-08-baleno-eyes.jpg

Riju's HID
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-09-rijus-hid.jpg

Naveen's angel eyes
Quick mini-meet(s) in Kochi (Cochin)-10-naveens-angel-eyes.jpg
Old 2nd August 2010, 11:00   #283

Originally Posted by josejoseph View Post

Baleno eyes
Attachment 397528

Hey Jose,

Thanks buddy for that wonderful snap. Surprised to see the eyes of the Baleno !!!
Next time v ll try for a lengthier meet with long drives or so . . .
Also will try to include some more fellow bhpians.

Last edited by firestorm : 2nd August 2010 at 11:01.
Old 2nd August 2010, 11:26   #284

Originally Posted by josejoseph View Post
The best thing I like about such meets is that though we meet people for the first time, we never talk like strangers. We talk like childhood buddies.
So true Jose. It was a pleasure meeting you.

Originally Posted by firestorm View Post
Next time v ll try for a lengthier meet with long drives or so . . .
Also will try to include some more fellow bhpians.
Yeah a "drive" and we know the best route for it don't we ?
Any useful video's ? Upload maadi.
Old 2nd August 2010, 11:44   #285

Damm ... I just missed the event. I was there, around Kakkanad. will catch you in next meet guys ..

Last edited by Antonian : 2nd August 2010 at 11:46.