Team-BHP > Shifting gears > The Team-BHP Meet Section

Old 30th July 2019, 11:52   #31

Re: Gujarat Team-BHP Meet - 28th July, 2019

Originally Posted by SJM1214 View Post
The Ahmedabad BHPians had a problem in calling this meet as Monsoon Meet. Their simple argument was "Ahmedabad mai Barish to ho nahi rahi hai, kaise monsoon meet" ( There is no rain in Ahmedabad, it cant be called a Monsoon meet). So, we didn't even keep the tag "Monsoon" in the name of the meet thread. For all of us, it was just another meet.
In the end, It was indeed MONSOON meet! Thanks SJM1214 for organizing another successful meet.

Few highlights:
  • Vigsom's insights on keeping cars up to date! Thanks for Lucas advise.
  • Meeting many members in person for the first time!
  • Discussing vintages passionately with carerra555, Abhikb & Nisarg86
  • Drooling over Lincoln Continental Mark IV
  • Left detour with Abhikb & N4Nikunj

I really missed:
  • Collection was mainly Pre-War era. There were very few 60's & 70's displayed.
  • It would have been great if history of vehicle would have been provided.

Congratulations to da.maulik for Figo
zalaps is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 30th July 2019, 11:52   #32

Dear All,

It was a great usual meet turned out to be monsoon meet. It was fun meeting everyone and discuss everything related to cars.

Rain gods were extremely happy seeing us meeting and greeted us with full throttle.

Congratulations da.maulik for Ford Figo. Very sweet deal you've got.

Some snaps from my side

PC: da.maulik

Gujarat Team-BHP Meet - 28th July, 2019-1.jpg

With Abhijeet's Newly acquired Lexus. Thanks for ride buddy.

Gujarat Team-BHP Meet - 28th July, 2019-2.jpg

With da.maulik's newly acquired Ford Figo. He offered me the wheel as soon as he got the delivery.

Last edited by N4Nikunj : 30th July 2019 at 12:09.
N4Nikunj is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 30th July 2019, 12:04   #33

Thanks for putting this blog together! It was a great meet, albeit with the rain playing spoilsport for our dinner plan! It was indeed a pleasure to meet all of you and talk about cars, cars and then cars!

Since the forecast had already predicted rains Sunday, we ditched our plans to drive to the destination and ride instead. And the rain gods didn’t disappoint us.

Word on our WA group is that our da.maulik bought the rain all the way from Bhuj.

How can we miss the Paneer dinner!! Suggestions ranging from the restaurant within the Museum to Sigdi (33 KMs from the meet location) were all locked in the boot and ended up having Paneer (veg chicken for someone who doesn’t eat veg on weekends ) at the Honest outlet nearby.

And the ride back home was rain-filled one for us too.

Trivia: Folks from Anand (75 odd KMs from the meet location) and Khalil and I from Ahmedabad (approx. 25 KMs from meet location) reached home around the same time after dinner!
R-Six is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 30th July 2019, 12:28   #34

Had a wonderful time and the first meet was memorable though it was too hectic, the only problem was could not spend more time with all of you Waiting for the next meet, hopefully a longer one.

As for dinner, I think was the only one who was able to have non veg, the original one and not veg chicken
san2 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 30th July 2019, 13:06   #35

Originally Posted by SJM1214 View Post
We didn't get to decide the car of the day.
I think it would be unfair to declare one car in that collection the "Car of the day".

Considerable effort has gone into keeping those old ladies ship shape and all of them are already in the Hall of Fame.

My personal favourite was the dark blue Sixty Special with the right dose of chrome and silver.

Gujarat Team-BHP Meet - 28th July, 2019-sixtyspecial.jpg
Gujarat Team-BHP Meet - 28th July, 2019-sixtyspecial1.jpg  

Last edited by vigsom : 30th July 2019 at 13:17.
vigsom is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 30th July 2019, 15:44   #36

This the Al-saba edition if I am not mistaking.

My favourite ....
Old 30th July 2019, 17:34   #37

Originally Posted by vigsom View Post
I think it would be unfair to declare one car in that collection the "Car of the day".

Considerable effort has gone into keeping those old ladies ship shape and all of them are already in the Hall of Fame.

My personal favourite was the dark blue Sixty Special with the right dose of chrome and silver.

Attachment 1900519
It is chevrolet impala. Most probably year 1958 or 1965 model.
Nilay is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th July 2019, 19:07   #38

Originally Posted by Nilay View Post
It is chevrolet impala. Most probably year 1958
It is a Cadillac Fleetwood Sixty Special of 1958 vintage; just can't take one's eyes off her.
vigsom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st July 2019, 14:21   #39

The feeling is mutual on my end as well. A great meet, & thank you SJM1214 for organizing it & especially staying in touch over SMS with me for updates since I do not use wats app.

Originally Posted by zalaps View Post
[*]Discussing vintages passionately with carerra555, Abhikb & Nisarg86
The passionate discussions went a long way. Let me give some more details why 4 of us took so long to come out. It was not just the cars but we started comparing the cars design to humans. We discussed how the car designs were inspired by how human's looked. Few examples as under:

Jaguar Mark V's covered rear wheel should be inspired by this hairstyle.

Gujarat Team-BHP Meet - 28th July, 2019-img_5047.jpg

Buick's vertical grill design. Zalaps's dad taught him back then, that if the car has a vertical grill it is Buick.

Gujarat Team-BHP Meet - 28th July, 2019-img_5046.jpg

Then we drooled over the Rolls Roycle dual headlamps & found something beautifully feminist. Zalaps, see the Buick's bumper in the above picture, are those the cones you were talking about? Can you explain to others too what we discussed without getting banned or getting an infraction? I wished to upload the picture of resemblance of the Rolls Royce head lamps, but I couldn't find a proper picture of it. Thus its safe to assume whatever happened was for good & I won't be banned here.

Once again, thank you to the organizers & everyone for showing up, was great to meet you all. Cheers, Karan.
Carrera555 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 11th September 2019, 11:49   #40

Originally Posted by Carrera555 View Post
Can you explain to others too what we discussed without getting banned or getting an infraction?
Those were Dagmar Bumpers! Here is 1958 Eldorado Seville for example.

More details on Actress Dagmar is here

Wiki says,
In 1950s auto design, the slang term "Dagmar bumper" emerged to describe dual chrome pointed projections on the front ends of Cadillacs, Buicks, Packards, and other U.S. automobiles, an allusion to the actress' physique and trademark attire.
Gujarat Team-BHP Meet - 28th July, 2019-1958_cadillac_eldorado_seville.jpg  

Last edited by zalaps : 11th September 2019 at 11:50. Reason: Added Link
zalaps is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th February 2021, 13:26   #41

Hello Gujarat BHPians, there is a mega-meet happening in Mumbai/Pune. How about we do something for us too. I've never met any of you all. Its going to be my first meet. I know covid is still not over, but we can take all the necessary precautions and set a plan. To the BNPians who planned it previously, please let me know of any help i can be.